?
? !
1 photo
Brass Monkey 50L Dual Zone Fridge / Freezer GH1642

Brass Monkey 50L Dual Zone Fridge / Freezer GH1642

MPN: GH1642
3.9 from 10 reviews · View Statistics

Reviews

  • Build Quality
    3.9 (8)
  • Value for Money
    4.4 (8)
  • Ease of Use
    4.6 (8)
  • Cleaning & Maintenance
    4.9 (8)
Previous
Next

75l Compressor failure after 6 months

published

Fridge lasted about 6months then kept getting f4 error and wouldn't stay cold. Turns out it was the compressor playing up. Took it back and they swapped it for a new one. Hopefully this one lasts longer

Purchased in October 2020 for $699.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
See all answers
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
David C

David CFar North Queensland, QLD

  • 3 reviews
  • 8 likes

Absolutely awesome

published

Purchased in March 2020.

Build Quality
Value for Money
See all answers
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Haydos

HaydosPerth, WA

  • 2 reviews
  • 1 like

First of these fridges and definitely not the last

published

Bought this fridge from the Electronic Barn in sale on recommendation after looking at other more well known brands. I then used it for 4 weeks straight on a 4wd trip across Victoria and Queensland and the fridge did not miss a beat and always stayed cool. Given how much it was opened and closed I found the small drain plug at the bottom super useful. It's a great size and takes up one of my rear seats so I still had plenty of room for other items in my car. Power draw was good, was able to leave the fridge running on my 120ah battery (along with other devices) for 3 days easily. Well worth the money for this fridge, highly recommend.

Purchased in November 2020 for $499.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
See all answers
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Portable Fridges / Freezers

Find out how Brass Monkey 50L Dual Zone Fridge / Freezer GH1642 compares to other Portable Fridges / Freezers

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Jack

JackSouth East Queensland, QLD

  • 2 reviews

Brass monkey fridges rubbish

published
Incentivised ReviewNo
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Bill

BillSouth East Queensland, QLD

  • 2 reviews
  • 6 likes

So far so good

published

Purchased in May 2020 at Jaycar Electronics Physical Store for $479.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
See all answers
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
frans54

frans54AU

  • 5 reviews
  • 6 likes

Value for money

published

The cooler working fast.
Two compartments you set temperature.
You’re choices of freezer compartment.
Low energy use light weight.
Not expensive many options in size!
Look no further!
This is the machine you have been looking for!

Purchased in June 2020 at Jaycar Electronics Online Store.

Build Quality
Value for Money
See all answers
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Shelly

ShellyWide Bay-Burnett, QLD

  • Verified

Time to consider another brand

published

Went on first short break in December, constantly had issues with power although advised 50 litre perfect on a 200 solar panel with 140 amp hour battery. Had solar system looked at although brand new. Second trip went up north for a month. First issue was had to turn off freezer as drawing to much power and only use as fridge.
Rest of holiday stilled plagued with F4 errors, compressor working to hard, although power okay. Should be able to restart in 30 minutes but usually required shutting down overnight. Shop replaced, however new one is so noisy...compressor again, that easier to sell and pay more for a better product, rather than spoil holiday dealing with fridge crap.

Purchased in December 2019 at Road Tech Marine for $449.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
See all answers
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Lee J.

Lee J.Southern and Hills, SA

  • Verified

Better than expected

published

Purchased in July 2020 at Jaycar Electronics Physical Store for $529.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
See all answers
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Joe

JoeGold Coast

  • 3 reviews
  • 3 likes

Dual zone and great value for money

published

Purchased in December 2019 at Baby Department for $450.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
See all answers
1 comment
Joe
Joe

Purchased from RTM

Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Portable Fridges / Freezers

Find out how Brass Monkey 50L Dual Zone Fridge / Freezer GH1642 compares to other Portable Fridges / Freezers

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Ray C58

Ray C58Queensland

  • 5 reviews
  • 7 likes

Good value

published

Two weeks in 40+ degree outside temperatures locked in car it maintained -10 freezer 3 degree fridge temp! I have optional insulation bag. Perfect fridge for emergencies, camping not heavy 4x4 due to not water proof and build.
The touchscreen was a bit annoying as it’s easily touched when accessing the unit but works well.
For the price it’s extremely good value especially for a duel zone and has a 3 year REPLACEMENT warranty which is equivalent to or better than others out there!
Time will only tell how this fridge holds up but so far exceeds expectations!

Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!

Questions & Answers

SamWise

SamWiseasked

We bought one of these and it does this thing where it sounds like the compressor starts and stops and starts and stops ... that kick that someone else was talking about ... it also flickers between 3 and 4 degrees... does this for 30 seconds and then just functions again normally ... is there something wrong with it or is this normal

No answers
Shane B.

Shane B.asked

F1 code ?

1 answer
Greg S.
Greg S.

Battery protection -set the battery protection mode

David Wilson

David Wilsonasked

Gday out there,
I have just purchased a Brass Monkey GH1642 Dual Zone fridge/freezer off line for $400 posted, as my local Jacar said that model was superseded by the GH2032 which isn't Dual and Dual we need.
My concern here is it was off Ebay but from a privateer apparently not a big name retailer and when i asked the seller how i would go about putting in a warranty claim if ever needed there has been no reply. Of course i asked this question after my account was debited, my bad. Any information out in freezer land about who best to contact if it stuffs up in the 3 yr stated period ? all views appreciated.

2 answers
world_traveller
world_traveller

You could try this mob: https://www.electusdistribution.com.au/store/category/brass-monkey-fridge.aspx

David Wilson
David Wilson

Cheers for the reply, i will look into it thanks again.

See all Brass Monkey 50L Dual Zone Fridge / Freezer GH1642 questions

Get an answer from our members

Details

CategoryPortable Fridges / Freezers
Price (RRP) $449.00
Type Dual Zone Fridge + Freezer
Capacity50L
Power SourceCar (Cigarette Lighter)
FeaturesUSB Port
Weight15.5 kg
Dimensions 458 x 723 x 360 mm
Construction MaterialPlastic
Manufacturer Warranty3 year(s)

  • MPN: GH1642

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.