??!
4 photos
Breville The Custom Loaf Pro BBM800

Breville The Custom Loaf Pro BBM800

MPN: BBM800BSS
3.9 from 91 reviews

Reviews

(49)
(13)
(9)
(7)
(13)
  • Bread Quality & Consistency
    4.3 (7)
  • Build Quality
    4.8 (8)
  • Value for Money
    4.3 (7)
  • Ease of Use
    4.8 (8)
  • Cleaning & Maintenance
    4.1 (8)
  • Noise Level
    4.0 (8)

marba

marbaNortheast, VIC

  • 3 reviews
  • 2 likes
  • Verified purchase

Excellent machine. Absolutely hate the paddle!

published

I have had 4 breville bread machines and 1 Panasonic bread machine over 25 years. The Breville BBM 800 Is by far the best. Very easy to program. Makes great sourdough.
Why have they stopped supplying them with a fixed paddle?
The collapsible paddle is a big problem. It jams flat very early in the process, and I have to check it all the time, or I have will have an unmixed loaf at the end. This means that you cant put an overnight loaf on to bake.
I do all the suggestions posted on product reviews. Cleaning, soaking, brushing.
This vital part needs to have grub screws attaching it to its shaft, so that it can be taken apart for cleaning, instead of a dowel pin. Or give users the option of a non collapsible blade, when purchasing.

Purchased in December 2017.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Bread Quality & Consistency
See all answers

mollydooka

mollydookaPerth, WA

  • 11 reviews
  • 2 likes

Best bread machine to date

published

Purchased in June 2019.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Bread Quality & Consistency
See all answers
Paddomike

PaddomikeSouth East Queensland, QLD

  • 2 reviews

Easy to use versatile bread maker

published

We have been making our own bread for over 30 years now, and this is our fourth Breville bread maker, and the best one so far. We have had it for over four years. We make 3 loaves a week on average. It is easy to use, and easy to set your own program, a must with some mixes. It is reasonably quiet and all features work well. Love it.

Purchased at Myer for $329.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Bread Quality & Consistency
See all answers
Gary

GaryHunter Region, NSW

Great Bread Machine

published

From the delighted calls of wow! and yum! I'd say that the taste and textures of the bread produced is top of the line.
I've owned three bread makers now since c1995. This is the best so far mainly because of the collapsible paddle. It works like a dream.
The machine itself is clean and sleek, the instruction manual well laid out and very well written albeit for a couple of spelling mistakes.

Purchased at Appliances Online for $294.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Bread Quality & Consistency
See all answers

mitchger

mitchgerSydney, NSW

  • 36 reviews
  • Verified purchase

Loved it

published

This bread maker was a pleasure to use and it looks the part. No problems. The instructions were easy to understand, the screen was big and clear, and it was all round very easy and effective.

Purchased in October 2016 at Myer for $329.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Bread Quality & Consistency
See all answers

Smaths

SmathsSydney

  • 15 reviews
  • 5 likes
  • Verified purchase

Good Bread maker, with loads of features but not the best

published

Purchased in March 2019.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Bread Quality & Consistency
See all answers

Mr E

Mr EPerth

  • 4 reviews
  • 1 like

Almost perfect

published

Purchased in February 2019 for $269.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Bread Quality & Consistency
See all answers

Tony B

Tony BFar North Queensland, QLD

Sticking, hard to move collapsible paddle

published

I make bread almost every day. I have always cleaned the paddle with a toothbrush to remove all bread I could see. It eventually became very stiff. The only way I resolved this was by unscrewing the 1.5mm hex screw on the paddle end manually cleaning the bar and the hole it went into. Now it’s as good as new again

Purchased in April 2018 for $289.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
See all answers
Chrissy

ChrissyCentral West, NSW

Love this machine

published

We searched the internet to find the best bread maker and chose this machine. It’s brilliant. Measure, pour in and the machine does the rest. We run a small bnb and make small loaves for our guests. It’s easy, fun and fabulous!! There are heaps of YouTube videos to learn from on line.
Highly recommended for bread making newbies like me.

Date PurchasedJan 2019
inara

inara

  • 10 reviews

use it every week

published

Need assistance to change settings but one day will get my head around this.
However it makes wonderful bread.
Just put the ingredients in the tin and walk away.
I have only had to adjust the sugar to a little less in the recipes.
I no longer buy bread and this is how bread should taste!
Made rye and carraway for our traditional Christmas Eve Dinner.
We can no longer buy this and sent my brother home with a loaf to freeze.
He commented that this was the closest to what we used to buy at the supermarket.
Looking forward to making spiced fruit bread for Easter.

Date PurchasedNov 2018

CJR

CJR

  • 8 reviews
  • 1 like

Wonderful Large Loaf Machine With Collapsible Blade.

published

Wonderful machine with many different preset functions. The large loaf tin makes for a great size for the larger family loves or simply select a smaller loaf option. It has a nut and seed feeder for adding those different ingredients during cooking. Is a wonderful looking machine also with the stainless steel finish

Date PurchasedApr 2017

Golden Oldie

Golden Oldie

  • 4 reviews
  • 3 likes

Bread heaven.

published
Date PurchasedAug 2018

Expensive rubbish

published

Looks nice that's about it. The machine doesn't have the power to consistently knead a loaf without sticking all the time, and risk burning out the motor. It has to be constantly monitored and the dough freed up by hand so the program can continue. Happens with a variety of flours so not a wholemeal problem. Can't believe I'm one of the few with this problem. Old breville machine was great, shame the build quality has been overlooked in place of stylish looks.

Date PurchasedMay 2017

Rose

RoseVictoria

  • 13 reviews
  • 8 likes

Not only wonderful bread .... pizza, pasta and more

published

Four years of excessive use and it produces the best bread, pizza dough and pasta dough. Works well and only recently commenced making an occasional loud clunking noise with initial settings, but the machine continues through all of its stages without fault. When I offer to bring something to family for dinner, they always ask me to make bread.

Date PurchasedJun 2014
Sandy McC

Sandy McCSouth-Eastern Region, NSW

  • 5 reviews
  • 3 likes

Could have been great but is not acceptable

published
Date PurchasedMay 2015
MaryL

MaryLMelbourne

My poor bread machine

published

I love my bread machine,use it twice a week for the last four years, no problems. Just recently the bread has been coming out like it was punched and twisted before it was cooked. It is awful, its tough and hard and I can't even use it for breadcrumbs.So I stood and watched it and found that it was kneading again half way through the baking process,which explained the horrible bread. Any ideas, can it be fixed?

Date PurchasedApr 2013

Anita

AnitaSydney, NSW

  • 3 reviews
  • 2 likes
  • Verified purchase

Disappointing

published

I have made bread for 18-19 years now, and have had about 8 different bread makers. This machine is not turning out normal looking bread though. It is rough and thick all around, never browns on the top. The top is like a barnacled ocean rock. It never rounds the top like every other breadmaker I have had, and the bread seems insufficiently mixed - I have always used brown and white bread mix together, and with this machine, it comes out in swirls through it. The difference between the bread from my previous machine and this one are starkly different, though it is the same mix. There is no way it will make a tall, smooth, soft crusted loaf.
So to me it's a bit of a dud.
If anyone has a solution for me, please let me know.

Date PurchasedOct 2017
1 comment
Anita
Anita

I have talked to Breville and am taking the breadmaker back for a replacement tomorrow.


Tam

TamCairns, Queensland

  • 37 reviews
  • 28 likes

Awesome!

published

This bread maker is fantastic! I regularly make wholemeal bread with it and it comes out perfectly. I haven’t bought shop bread for 2 months now. It’s so easy to use, just put everything in and leave it to make bread like magic. I do take it out at the start of rise 3 and remove the paddle and that way there’s only a very small hole on the base of the bread. I’ve tried all sizes except the smallest and you get a substantial loaf. I’ve also used it for pizza and pasta dough and both turned out great. Highly recommended. The shape of the loaf on the top can be a little unusual but that makes it feel more homemade.

Date PurchasedOct 2017

RJ

RJ

  • 3 reviews

Reliable and easy to use!

published

I was hesitant to buy a bread maker at first as I wasn't sure if it would get enough use, however it has proven me wrong! Use almost every week and great for making quick pizza and pasta dough. bake is consistant and easy to clean up after use. Great for making flavoured breads.

Date PurchasedJul 2014

Ozwelder

OzwelderCentral Queensland, QLD

  • 11 reviews
  • 1 like

Breville used to the the premium bread maker Manufacturer

published
Date PurchasedAug 2017

Page 1 of 5

Questions & Answers

Anthea P.

Anthea P.asked

Hi - is it possible to remove the dough after mixing to bake in the oven?

2 answers
mollydooka
mollydooka

Page 28 of the manual has tips on how to Pause the cycle after the Bake phase, remove the dough and shape it. If you wanted to then put the dough in the oven instead of back into the breadmaker, just press and hold Cancel and then power off.

marba
marba

Your machine has 3 dough settings, Dough, Pizza, Pasta. Scroll down to Dough. Click and start. The machine stops just before baking, after 130 minutes.You can take it out and bake. Handle carefully, as it is not going to rise much more, prior to baking
Under dough, there are 2 subgroups you can scroll down to.
1st click when on dough is pizza, 2nd click is pasta.
I use the pizza setting (50 minutes)for bread rolls, brioche, Easter buns, or anywhere you want to work the dough, and leave for the final rise, prior to baking.
Pasta is for unyeasted doughs, mixes for 14 minutes, no rising to wait for.
Hope this helps.
Marba


Robert King

Robert Kingasked

Hi, just wondering why my new bread machine BBM800 is making a loud knocking noise while it is kneading the dough. This definitely doesn't sound right.

5 answers
marba
marba

Could it be that you do not have enough water in your loaf?
Your bread flours can vary in hydration, from summer to winter.i.e. the amount of moisture that is in them. If not enough water, the dough will be “thumping” against the wall of the bread tin.
Lift the lid of your machine while it is kneading after it has been going after 5 + minutes or when it is making the noise. If the dough looks to have uncombined flour, or the dough is really stiff, kind of “breaking”when it bends, then add 1 tablespoon of water at a time until it is staying in a ball, and is just a little sticky. If it looks like a “comet” on the spindle when it is kneading, then you may have put in just a little too much water, and you can correct by adding flour a little at a time. Too much water water works better than not enough, I find.
I always weigh all ingredients. Cups vary in measurement. [1ml of water weighs 1 gram.]
Hope this helps.
Marba

Robert King
Robert King

Thanks,
I did lift the lid, during the kneading process, and the mixture was well combined and not stiff. All the ingredients were weighted, the sound appeared to be coming from the paddle, a loud knocking noise.
I'll trying it again, and see how it goes.

Thanks for your prompt reply
Robert

marba
marba

What size loaf are you making? I always make large. Small loaves, may thump as the ingredients are flung off the spindle.
Does it make the noise when you run it without any ingredients in the pan, and just the paddle? If yes, does it make the noise when you run it without the paddle? If yes, then it may be a machine fault.
Hope this helps,
Marba


AndreaK.

AndreaK.asked

The select dial on my Breville 800 rotates well but doesn't change from the factory settings! The machine is 2 hours old!!!

1 answer
Paddomike
Paddomike

From the manual. Perhaps you are not pushing the dial to select the new setting:-
SELECT push-dial (turn to scroll, push to select)
- Scroll through 14 settings, 3 crust colours and 4 loaf sizes.
- Use in conjunction with the MODIFY button to change the
default temperatures and times for the preheat, knead,
rise, punch-down, bake and keep warm phases.


Get an answer from our members and Breville representatives


Download manual

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.