??!
5 photos
Panasonic SD-2501

Panasonic SD-2501

MPNs: 35902769, PSD2501, SD-2501 and SD2501
4.5 from 246 reviews

Reviews

4.5

246 reviews
5
(181)
4
(39)
3
(8)
2
(9)
1
(9)
  • Build Quality
    4.7 (33)
  • Value for Money
    4.5 (33)
  • Ease of Use
    4.8 (34)
  • Cleaning & Maintenance
    4.8 (33)
  • Noise Level
    4.6 (34)
  • Bread Quality & Consistency
    4.7 (34)
Previous
Next
Woody

WoodyPerth

  • 2 reviews
  • 3 likes

Excellent breadmaker

published

I bought the Panasonic SD 2501 at Bridgetown Retravision , after a lot of research. No regrets.
It's whisper quiet, and bakes a beautiful loaf. I've so far made a herb and garlic loaf, plain white loaf and today a rye load. They were all fabulous. I didn't use premixes, the recipes in the book that comes with it are easy to follow, and the machine does the rest. Have had Breville in the past, but this machine is outstanding

Purchased in August 2020 at RetraVision for A$275.00.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
Bread Quality & Consistency
See all answers
1 comment
Panasonic
Panasonic Australia C.Panasonic

Hi Woody, thank you for the fantastic review. We do appreciate you taking the time to provide your 5 star review. Please see some more great recipes that we are always updating https://www.theideaskitchen.com.au/category/recipes/bread-maker/

Anorax

AnoraxSydney, NSW

  • 10 reviews
  • 4 likes
  • Verified purchase

The perfect breadmaker except ...

published

The SD-2501 is a fantastic breadmaker. It has a very easy to use menu and the provided instruction manual has a lot of useful information and recipes. The bread it has made is excellent.

But there is one important caveat. DO NOT use dried fruit or nuts that are not soft. We decided to try the banana bread recipe that uses banana flakes. It seems the diamond-fluro coating is extremely thin and we now have circular wear rings in the base of the bread pan after baking this recipe once in our almost new breadmaker.

To be fair it is noted on page 14 of the manual that "Using large, hard seeds may scratch the coating of
the dispenser and bread pan."

Purchased in July 2020 at Appliances Online for A$237.00.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
Bread Quality & Consistency
See all answers
1 comment
Panasonic
Panasonic Australia C.Panasonic

Hi Anorax, thank you for taking the time to provide your feedback, we do appreciate the review. Here are some other great recipe tips for your breadmaker https://www.theideaskitchen.com.au/category/recipes/bread-maker/

Simon

SimonAU

  • 4 reviews
  • 1 like

Not Coming up to Expectations.

published
Bread Makers

Find out how Panasonic SD-2501 compares to other Bread Makers

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Zippy7

Zippy7Sydney Surrounds, NSW

  • 3 reviews
  • Verified purchase

Great bread maker

published

Purchased in January 2020 at JB Hi-Fi for A$209.00.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
Bread Quality & Consistency
See all answers
Nala

NalaMelbourne

  • 6 reviews
  • 2 likes

Perfect - even for a novice like me

published

Purchased in July 2020 at The Good Guys for A$250.00.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
Bread Quality & Consistency
See all answers
Robt3

Robt3Greater Melbourne (Outer), VIC

  • 2 reviews

Fruit and nut dispenser

published

Purchased at The Good Guys for A$300.00.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Noise Level
Value for Money
Bread Quality & Consistency
See all answers
jindavic

jindavicSouth East Queensland, QLD

  • 2 reviews

Great bread maker

published

It’s a great bread maker And has been absolutely perfect cooking bread or making pizza dough nearly every day, but after 5y the paddle and pan have lost their non stick coating and motor on pizza mode seems to have lost grunt. The toss up is will the next one loose it’s coating

Purchased in March 2015.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
Bread Quality & Consistency
See all answers
Joseph

JosephCentral Highlands and Goldfields, VIC

Good but there's a catch

published

I'm on my second of these and they perform very well. The downside is that the non-stick coating in the pan and on the paddle don't seem to last. I make a loaf every other day, usually multigrain type flour and I guess the hard seeds are too much for the coating. When this happened with my first unit I was torn between buying a new breadpan and paddle (for around $200 or so) or an entire new unit for around $300. In the end I bought the new unit. Now after a couple of years the same thing has happened. As much as I want to stick with Panasonic, I can't keep doing this. I'll give the cheaper Breville unit a try and see whether that non stick lasts longer.

Purchased in July 2018 for A$325.00.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
Bread Quality & Consistency
See all answers
Apple

AppleGreater Melbourne (Metropolitan), VIC

  • 13 reviews
  • 2 likes
  • Verified purchase

Easy to use. Quality and convienence

published

I loving making bread. this machine very easy to use basically two steps. you put ingredients in and take it out nice and fresh bread ready. Machine will get everything else done for you.

Purchased at David Jones for A$200.00.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
Bread Quality & Consistency
See all answers
1 comment
Panasonic
Panasonic Australia C.Panasonic

Hi Apple, thanks for taking the time to provide your 5 star review, we do appreciate the feedback

Bread Makers

Find out how Panasonic SD-2501 compares to other Bread Makers

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Kay Dee

Kay DeeSouth East Queensland, QLD

  • 9 reviews
  • 8 likes
  • Verified purchase

Love it!

published

Love this breadmaker- does a perfect loaf every time! The quick loaf is great & takes less than 2 hours. You can also use the pizza dough setting to make your own bread rolls or cheese & bacon rolls etc. I highly recommend this.

Purchased in June 2015 at Harvey Norman for A$225.00.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
Bread Quality & Consistency
See all answers
1 comment
Panasonic
Panasonic Australia C.Panasonic

Hi Kay, thanks for the great review. Have you seen our Ideas Kitchen where we have some other great things you can cook?
https://www.theideaskitchen.com.au/category/recipes/bread-maker/

Igor

IgorSouth Australia

  • 2 reviews
  • 1 like

Really good maker!

published

One things though, the delay timer, in the way it works, you cant delay 13 hours, basically in 13 hours bread is made already, so delaying time is only 13 hour - length of bread cycle you choose to make. But happy with the machine and amazing bread! the recepies, not following them, I found a mix flower bread, and choose cycle only, easy recipe themselfs dont quite work

Purchased in November 2019 at eBay for A$180.00.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
Bread Quality & Consistency
See all answers
1 comment
Panasonic
Panasonic Australia C.Panasonic

Hi Igor thanks for the 5 star review and the feedback on the delay timer.
Some more recipes you may find useful. https://www.theideaskitchen.com.au/category/recipes/bread-maker/

Adel w

Adel wGreater Melbourne (Metropolitan), VIC

  • 4 reviews
  • 2 likes
  • Verified purchase

Easy to use

published

Got this for MIL during covid lock down.
It Makes good Bread!
Easy to clean, and compact.
Can make just the right amount of bread.
Nice that can add raisins and nuts intermittently.
Adaptable to different recipes.

Purchased in May 2020 at Appliances Online for A$200.00.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
Bread Quality & Consistency
See all answers
1 comment
Panasonic
Panasonic Australia C.Panasonic

Hi Adel, thanks for 4 star review. Some more recipe options for your MIL https://www.theideaskitchen.com.au/category/recipes/bread-maker/

Love this breadmaker

published

Bought this 2 weeks ago. Love this Panasonic, but disappointed when seeing prices other people paid in April $247 at JBHifi and similar price at Harvey Norman in June I was charged ,$349 shameful JB coronavirus exploitation. Anyway I love this breadmaker much better than my previous one.

Purchased in June 2020 at JB Hi-Fi for A$349.00.

Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
Bread Quality & Consistency
See all answers
1 comment
Panasonic
Panasonic Australia C.Panasonic

Hi Robyn thank you for the great feedback on the product. We can't comment on the pricing offered by a retailer in April as here may have been promotions, the RRP is $379 of this breadmaker.

TAO1

TAO1Auckland

  • 5 reviews
  • 2 likes

Amazing

published

Love love! We make bread everyday. Fantastic machine. Makes breadmaking so simple, takes less than 5 minutes then you just press a button and in a few hours a large loaf of gorgeous bread emerges. Wow.

1 comment
Panasonic
Panasonic Australia C.Panasonic

Hi Tao, thanks for the 5 star review, we love how happy you are with the breadmaker

Shenanigans

ShenanigansBrisbane

  • 36 reviews
  • 28 likes

Makes great bread.

published

This bread maker is easy to use and makes a lovely loaf of bread.

We find that we get better results if we use a little less than the suggested amount of yeast - otherwise the loaf can be a bit too light and fluffy for our tastes, (and also makes it hard to slice).

It's footprint is reasonably compact but bare in mind it is quite tall if you will be storing it in a cupboard.

It is quiet in operation, and is easy to clean.

The cycle times can be a bit long - up to 5 hours - but the result is a better loaf so it's worth it.

Purchased in June 2020 at Harvey Norman for A$259.00.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
Bread Quality & Consistency
See all answers
1 comment
Panasonic
Panasonic Australia C.Panasonic

Hi and thank you for taking the time to provide your review. We do appreciate the review. Good things come to those who wait as they say, the 5 hours to take the perfect loaf of bread is worth waiting for!!

Bread Makers

Find out how Panasonic SD-2501 compares to other Bread Makers

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Canberra Shopper

Canberra ShopperCanberra 2600, ACT

  • 19 reviews
  • 12 likes

Home made bread is the best

published

Purchased in November 2019.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
Bread Quality & Consistency
See all answers
1 comment
Panasonic
Panasonic Australia C.Panasonic

Hi and thank you for taking the time to provide your review and the feedback, we do appreciate the feedback you have shared.

Bono

BonoSydney, NSW

  • 4 reviews
  • 1 like
  • Verified purchase

Does what it's meant to do very well

published

Did quite some research to select this bread maker and it delivers as expected.
Easy to use, clear instructions, and preset function is really useful to set overnight and wake up to a fresh loaf the next morning. Makes good pizza dough and allows addition of lots of ingredients include seeds, cheese, etc.
Only critique is the loaf size is a little unwieldy for the kids sandwiches.

Purchased in May 2020.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
Bread Quality & Consistency
See all answers
1 comment
Panasonic
Panasonic Australia C.Panasonic

Hi Bono, thanks for the 4 star review, we love hearing how happy our customers are with their breadmakers.

anubis

anubis

  • 3 reviews
  • 2 likes

This is perfect - cannot live without it

published

This is my second bread maker and have found it the best. I bake bread at least twice a week and wouldn't be without it. It is so easy to use and bakes each loaf perfectly no matter which type I bake. It is also great for doing the dough for rolls. It is quite light to lift so easy to put in and out of the cupboard and is also far quieter than my previous machine. Would not hesitate in recommending it to anyone

1 comment
Panasonic
Panasonic Australia C.Panasonic

Hi Anubis, thank you for taking the time to provide your 5 star review. Have you tried some other great recipe ideas
https://www.theideaskitchen.com.au/category/recipes/bread-maker/

Ivy

Ivy

  • 3 reviews
  • 1 like
  • Verified purchase

Fantastic prodcut

published

Timer makes it so much easier for morning fresh bread, great form wholemeal, white bread. it's about 6 thin slices for a loaf of bread. I made pizza dough every second week and it is ready within 45 minutes, for a family of 2 adults and 2 kids.

Purchased in January 2018.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
Bread Quality & Consistency
See all answers
1 comment
Panasonic
Panasonic Australia C.Panasonic

Hi Ivy, thanks for taking the time to provide your 5 star review. Some more recipes your family might enjoy can be found here
https://www.theideaskitchen.com.au/category/recipes/bread-maker/

Makes excellent bread

published

Purchased in January 2015 at Noel Leeming.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
Bread Quality & Consistency
See all answers
1 comment
Panasonic
Panasonic Australia C.Panasonic
Page 1 of 13

Questions & Answers

The wife

The wifeasked

Hi I'm trying to find the best bread maker. None say how much flour is used, as I have one brand i like to use which is a pre measured pack. Do all machines still leave a big hole in the bottom from the mixing paddle? Most of your recipes have sugar Why that is the one ingredient that I can't use and don't want to replace it.
I want to use flour water and yeast and maybe jazz that up.

1 answer
Panasonic
Panasonic Australia C.Panasonic

Dear The Wife, please call 132600 and i'm sure the customer service team will be able to assist you with any inquiries you have around our bread marker.

Thank you

Brett Moore

Brett Mooreasked

Does the bread maker do a good initial mix ? And does it allow the bread to rise or does it "knock it down" an hour into the rise cycle ? Id love to see if the recipe book was accurate. Does it go by weight or by measure ? For example, modern bread requires exactly 2% salt per weight. I recently tried a kogan and it did not have a good recipe using the same salt weight for three different flour weights. Then as the dough was rising, it started a mix for 30 seconds knocking it down again effectively ruining it.

3 answers
Panasonic
Panasonic Australia C.Panasonic

Hi Brett, Thank you for your question. Please call our customer service team on 132600 and they will be able to assist you.

Thank You

Brett Moore
Brett Moore

Talking to your customer service. This machine is already better by the fact each cycle can be extended or shortened.. Mix cycle, proofing cycle and baking cycle. THAT is a winner right there because each batch of flour you buy will have different levels of protein, different water saturation and different levels of amylase. So the ability to customise is critical. Also.. each type and batch of yeast is different so changes may need to be made for a variety of reasons. Can it do this during a cycle ? Can I open the lid and say "hmm this is not mixed enough, or this has not risen enough ? or this needs another 5 mins baking time ? Sadly there is no option to make changes during the process once it has started. If there were an option to add time to each cycle once it started, it would be the perfect bread maker. Perhaps in the next model have an advanced menu where the cycles alarm a a few minutes prior and provide a menu to extend current cycle by X minutes etc. This would be very good and as far as I can tell.. no one else has anything like it.

Brett Moore
Brett Moore

If you wish to have a comprehensive review of your machine, you can send me a machine via the Ambassador program, and I will review it with the precision of a trade qualified baker and I have experience to test it with all its settings and rate it against other bread makers on the market. I can also do a full video review as well to demonstrate the operation and results.

DENEZE M.

DENEZE M.asked

I have just bought the Panasonic sd 2501 and it says to put yeast in first then flour then water on my sunbeam. Bread machine it says put water in first then flour then lastly yeast. Why the difference.why is the Panasonic different.

No answers

Get an answer from our members and Panasonic representatives

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.