??!
5 photos
Panasonic SD-2501

Panasonic SD-2501

MPNs: 35902769, PSD2501 and SD2501
4.5 from 216 reviews

Reviews

Review distribution

5 star
160
4 star
31
3 star
7
2 star
9
1 star
9

Kris B.

Kris B.

  • 4 reviews

This is the perfect Breakmaker for me. Lord Help my weight!

published

Fast, easy and so good! This bread maker has been a heaven send to our family. We love that you can program it to have bread ready for when you wake up in the morning. It's easy to clean and I haven't had a single problem with it since I bought it. So happy!

Purchased in July 2019 at Harvey Norman for $359.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Bread Quality & Consistency
See all answers
1 comment
Panasonic
Panasonic Australia C.Panasonic

Hi Kris, thank you for your great feedback, sounds like you wake up to a lovely smell of fresh bread everyday! Here are some more recipes you may want to try out. Happy baking.
https://www.theideaskitchen.com.au/category/recipes/bread-maker/


Geoffrey_Cartridge

Geoffrey_CartridgeAU

  • 20 reviews
  • 39 likes

Bought second hand. A brilliant bread maker, just so reliable.

published

Purchased in February 2019 for $20.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Bread Quality & Consistency
See all answers
1 comment
Panasonic
Panasonic Australia C.Panasonic
Debra

DebraCanberra

  • 3 reviews
  • 1 like

Very ordinary

published

I have been using this for a couple of months now, my previous breadmaker having finally died after 14 years of great bread. I use bread mixes, so I can vary my style of bread without having to keep lots of different ingredients. I am most unimpressed. The bread doesn't rise at all well, and is strangely spongy in texture. I have tried extra yeast and extra water as suggested in the manual. No joy. There is only one brand of bread mix available these days (certainly at any of the supermarkets I can get to - rural NSW). I think I will go back to the old brand of breadmaker and cut my losses. It can't be any worse.

Purchased in June 2019 for $219.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Bread Quality & Consistency
See all answers
1 comment
Panasonic
Panasonic Australia C.Panasonic

Best Breadmaker

published

I have made white, wholemeal, multi grain and spicy loaves. All have turned out perfectly. The blade comes out clean and doesn't take chunks out of the bread. It is very quiet. Would recommend this product 100%.

Purchased in July 2019 at Noel Leeming Physical store for $249.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Bread Quality & Consistency
See all answers
1 comment
Panasonic
Panasonic Australia C.Panasonic

Hi Rhonda, thank you for taking the time to provide your 5 star review. We appreciate the feedback on your bread maker and how well it is functioning for you.


Bread lover

Bread loverGoldfields, WA

Perfect every time

published

I've used this bread maker every day for last four months and it has given me perfect bread every time. It uses little sugar compared to others, has a great range of recipes with it and the timer means I can get up or come home to freag bread. I've made the bagels , pizza dough etc as well as many of the loafs and all worked brilliantly. Highly recommend

Purchased in February 2019 for $240.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Bread Quality & Consistency
See all answers
1 comment
Panasonic
Panasonic Australia C.Panasonic

Hi bread lover. Thanks for the great review. So fantastic to hear about your great experiences. Happy baking.


SD 2501 Excessive flour on side and in the middle

published

Followed the instruction for putting correct amount and sequences for first time with time setting with menu 1. white bread was not risen probably and has excessive flour on the side and the instruction seems have way too much salt and too salty. Second time when kneading I saw paddle could not knead the flour on side and far corners. I ended up using plastic folk to stir the flour at corner....It should work automatically but it seems not. Can anyone help? Love to make better bread for mother's day.

Purchased in May 2019 at Bing Lee for $216.00.

4 comments
Panasonic
Panasonic Australia C.Panasonic

Hi Jenny, did you have any luck with making bread for mothers day? Apologies we didn't see your question prior to this.

Jenny
Jenny
Panasonic
Panasonic Australia C.Panasonic

Hi Jenny, you shouldn't have to manually assist the machine, if you are following the ingredients instructions in the manual. Please call our customer service team on 132600 if you still experience the same issue.


Lesley Browning

Lesley BrowningAU

  • 2 reviews
  • 1 like

LOVE IT

published

Absolutley love this machine, makes an awesome loaf of bread & actually stays fresher for longer than my old Breville. Bought at the good guys for $215.00 4 days ago & I have now made 3 loaves of bread & everyone has turned out beautifully. I still have a lot of experamenting to do but the recipee books has good information & instructions on many different loaves. It's extremley quite, don't even here the finish beeps, which is a bit annoying as the loaf can be left too long which means sweating crust, also it dose'nt have a viewing window, minor detail though. Would highly recommend this bread maker

Purchased in April 2019 for $215.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Bread Quality & Consistency
See all answers
1 comment
Panasonic
Panasonic Australia C.Panasonic

oldchick

oldchickSouth East Queensland, QLD

  • 8 reviews
  • 3 likes

Edited, having to eat humble bread/pie

published

After much research and review reading here, we purchased this machine last month.
Basically, the loaf comes out like a large brick, never reaching the lip of the pan.
I have tried 3 commercial bread mixes, different sized loaves, 4 hr setting, 2 hr setting, more water, more yeast and all with the same result.
I make a basic loaf every second day and they are so small, often with a air filled top, that some of the loaf is wasted, having to cut that off.
I'm at my wit's end...
****A month later and all is good. Seems my mix was all wrong and trial and error has now fixed my issues, so I'm giving it 5 stars all round!

Purchased in February 2019 at The Good Guys for $219.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Bread Quality & Consistency
See all answers
SAF

SAFGold Coast

  • 3 reviews
  • 6 likes

excellent bread maker; reliable with good results every time.

published
Date PurchasedDec 2018
Director

DirectorBrisbane

  • 16 reviews
  • 20 likes

Panasonic SD-2501

published
Date PurchasedDec 2018
1 comment
Panasonic
Panasonic Australia C.Panasonic

Hi Director, thank you for the 5 star review. Here are some further recipes you may find helpful. https://www.theideaskitchen.com.au/


Willyeckerslike

WillyeckerslikePerth

  • 12 reviews
  • 3 likes

Perfect fresh bread

published

We have had this a few years now. We generally get the Laucke pre mix and just set the timer for great fresh bread in a morning. We have made our own too and our favourite is the raisin bread which is great for toast! I would give this six stars if I could!

Date PurchasedFeb 2015
1 comment
Panasonic
Panasonic Australia C.Panasonic

Hi Willyeckerslike, thank you for the great feedback, your house must smell fantastic with all the yummy bread cooking.


Saddle Saw

Saddle SawRural SA

  • 5 reviews
  • 6 likes

EDITED: Loved it, Hated it, Love it again

published

Purchased in December 2018 at Billy Guyatts for $198.50.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Bread Quality & Consistency
See all answers
1 comment
Panasonic
Panasonic Australia C.Panasonic

Hi Saddle Saw, thank you for taking the time to provide such detailed feedback on the great success you have had with the breadmaker and some options to keep the bread for longer.


mark

markGreater Melbourne (Metropolitan), VIC

  • 6 reviews

Great bread maker

published

Really great bread maker, the bread always turns out perfect, as long as the correct mode is selected and used. There is nothing like having fresh warm home made bread smell through out the house. I would highly recommend this product to anyone looking to purchase a quality bread maker.

Date PurchasedJan 2015
1 comment
Panasonic
Panasonic Australia C.Panasonic

Hi Mark, thank you for the feedback, we appreciate your description on the smell in your house of fresh made bread... makes us hungry thinking of that!! Enjoy your breadmaker!


justmyopinion

justmyopinionAU

  • 6 reviews
  • 2 likes

Excellent machine and capability

published

I've had this for a couple of years now and love it. It does what it says and what functions as its supposed to. I've only made breads. The bottom paddle has come out once.

Pro - works great, delayed start
Con - I wish the bread tin was a wider size.

Date PurchasedNov 2016
TheSnakebite

TheSnakebiteKaiapoi

  • 7 reviews
  • 3 likes

Excellent Breadmaker

published

After researching the various Breadmaker in NZ I opted for this Panasonic version and I really like it. Comes with great recipes and very easy to use. Makes great Pizza dough. Bread seems to turn out good if you stick to the recipes. Plenty of other recipes online as well as this has a solid worldwide following.

Date PurchasedApr 2018
1 comment
Panasonic
Panasonic Australia C.Panasonic
strikey

strikeyGreater Melbourne (Inner), VIC

  • 19 reviews
  • 5 likes

Over the moon... love it.

published

Was a bit scared forking out $200 for this bread maker because I was worried it would not do the job. See many other reviews complaining about others that are no good. So I know Panasonic is a good name so I bite the bullet and buy iy. First loaf was perfect and stayed fresh for a week. I used Laucke bread mix which is so easy to apply. One TS yeast... then the satchel of bread mix... then water... shut the lid and 4 hours later a great loaf of bread. How easy is that? next I will do sourdough and gluten free to see how it goes.

Date PurchasedNov 2018
1 comment
Panasonic
Panasonic Australia C.Panasonic

Hi Strikey, thank you for the great feedback on the breadmaker. Sounds like you have had great success so far. We tried out the chocolate cake recipe in the office today and it was very yum!! Definitely one to try out!


keisha01au

keisha01auVictoria

  • 14 reviews
  • 10 likes

Best one I've had by miles!

published

I've had Breville, Sunbeam and Aldi breadmakers and none come anywhere near close to the results this machine gives! Bread comes out light, soft and like proper bread, not heavy bricks others produce. I am amazed at how much better this machine works. It works well with regular flour, so I can't wait to see how delicious bread with proper bread making flour will be! I cannot recommend this product highly enough and am thrilled with it. Well worth the extra cost.

Date PurchasedOct 2018
1 comment
Panasonic
Panasonic Australia C.Panasonic

Hi Keisha01au, thank you for taking the time to provide such a comprehensive review, it is great to see how well the breadmaker works for you. Happy baking


John Gallen

John GallenCurrimundi Qld

  • 8 reviews
  • 11 likes

Top Of The Range

published

This bread maker gives excellent results only caution is watch your water measurements too much water ends up with collapsed loaf water just right excellent bread. I found using Panasonic bread mix recipe for the best result premix gives very ordinary bread texture. The fixed blade in the mixture bowl leaves a great loaf of bread. Will not disappoint you just stay right away from Sunbeam.

Date PurchasedSep 2018
1 comment
Panasonic
Panasonic Australia C.Panasonic

Hi John, thanks for the great feedback.


Barbara D

Barbara DAU

  • 4 reviews
  • 3 likes

Fantastic

published

Every loaf is perfect with a very small hole. Works a lot better than the previous machine. Loaf is a good shape to cut and slice. I use about an extra 1/2 teaspoon of yeast. Would definitely recommend. Worth the extra money but have only used premixes. Have not tried adding fruit.

Date PurchasedSep 2018
1 comment
Panasonic
Panasonic Australia C.Panasonic

Hi Barbara, thank you for taking the time to provide great feedback on your breadmaker.


bred cooker

bred cookercorio

  • 2 reviews
  • 2 likes

Delightful machine!

published

Love this breadmaker! They've upgraded the electronics, but kept the same excellent design and programming! Good, solid bucket that doesn't send out of shape! Light years ahead of the rubbish sunbeam so-called smartbake! Panasonic, please don't change your basic design - its great, and when u r on a winner, stick to it!!!

Date PurchasedMay 2018
1 comment
Panasonic
Panasonic Australia C.Panasonic

Hi Bred Cooker, thank you for taking the time to provide your feedback, it is great to see you are so happy with your breadmaker.


Page 1 of 11

Questions & Answers

Kimmie N.

Kimmie N.asked

Can I make small loaves of bread?

No answers

Emmacon

Emmaconasked

I've had my machine for a week now and everything comes out burnt. On light setting for soft bread, the loaf is really dark, and on programme 1 for white, the loaf actually has black on it, it's so burnt. Should I return it for refund?

2 answers
Kris B.
Kris B.

Yeh thats really strange. Are you following the recipes in the instruction manual and weighing all of your ingredients? I've never had these issues at all so it might be best to talk to the manufacturer if you're sure that you're doing everything right. :)

Emmacon
Emmacon

Yes I am weighing everything religiously. Will send back today. For that price I want a machine that makes edible bread.


Rita P

Rita Pasked

I purchased a 3rd Panasonic breadmaker SD 2501 recently and haven't had much success making wholemeal bread. It is very heavy and doesn't rise evenly. I didn't have any problems with the other 2 over many years. Have you any suggestions about how I can improve the quality of the wholemeal bread?

1 answer
Panasonic
Panasonic Australia C.Panasonic

Hi Rita, are you following the instructions in the user manual, or have you been using a specific mix or something from scratch? We would recommend using the guides in the user manual as these are tried at tested on our products.


Get an answer from our members and Panasonic representatives

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.