1 photo
Breville Dose Control Pro BCG600SIL

Breville Dose Control Pro BCG600SIL

MPNs: 580, BCG600 and BCG600SIL
3.0 from 17 reviews · View Statistics
See the Best Coffee Grinders / Roasters in 2021 as rated by Australians on ProductReview.com.au.
Listing monitored by Breville

Reviews

Previous
Next
Candy
Candy
  • 7 reviews
  • 1 like

Does the trick

published

Makes a huge difference to the quality of the coffee. Does the trick for me and happy with the purchase. Takes 10 seconds to make two shots, ground to perfection.

Purchased in July 2020 at Target Australia for $199.00.

Incentivised Review No
Adam Bloomfield
Adam Bloomfield
  • 2 reviews
  • 1 like

Not made to last

published

Worked great for 3yrs. Motor burned out this morning. Also have a breville coffee machine that was purchased at the same time and is starting to fall apart. Won’t be purchasing Breville products anymore as they dont last.

Incentivised Review No
Bob
BobUlladulla
  • 5 reviews
  • 10 likes
  • Verified

Impeller worn out and not replaceable

published

We bought a BCG600SIL in June 2016 and have used it each morning to make 2 double-shot espressos, so it has ground only about 3500 shots. The plastic impeller has worn out and the machine now jams. Breville does not provide replacement impellers, and the machine is out of warranty. We now have to send an otherwise good appliance to landfill because of one cheap not-fit-for-purpose part. Not good enough Breville!

Date PurchasedJune 2016
k2surf
k2surfCentral West, NSW
  • 22 reviews
  • 5 likes

A good budget coffee grinder

published

Purchased in June 2018.

Incentivised Review No
k2surf
k2surf

Watch out when closing the bean basket, you can easily crack the plastic when turning the handle. Make sure all the beans are out and you have thoroughly cleaned the hopper before attaching the bean basket.

Coffee Grinders / Roasters

Find out how Breville Dose Control Pro BCG600SIL compares to other Coffee Grinders / Roasters

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Chris
ChrisPerth, WA
  • 5 reviews
  • Verified

It works perfectly

published

I have only had this grinder for little over a month and basically just use it to grind coffee beans to make Espresso in a Moka. The grind settings go from very fine to coarse. I only grind a small amount each time on setting 12 and so far have had no problems at all.

Date PurchasedFeb 2018
Rach
RachHobart
  • 2 reviews
  • 1 like

Impeller problem

published

About 8 months after purchase we srarted having grind problems. The machine kept stopping and getting clogged. I thought the problem was the beans. Kept trying new ones. Now I've discovered that the fault is the impeller and Breville doesnt sell this spare part. Can't believe that such a big company has such small regard for its customers.

Date PurchasedJuly 2016
Lindsay
LindsayVictoria
  • 4 reviews
  • 2 likes
  • Verified

Grinds OK But Problems Start After Only 20 Months and Out Of Warranty

published

Found to grind coffee very well but has few design flaws and control switch is giving problems after only 20 months from purchase date. Design flaws include grind setting very easily moved inadvertently if someone moves the grinder on the bench and control switch timer is often moved from the set position simply by pressing the start button where the finger must turn slightly on the button. Now after 20 months the grinder may start unexpectedly just by adjusting the timer setting, the timer setting has become so worn where the notched 1 second settings can no longer be found and sometimes the grinder fails to switch off and by the time you switch off at power point, a few shots of ground coffee are wasted.

Date PurchasedJan 2016

Related Articles

Previous
The top-rated kitchen appliances for 2020!

Whether you love or loath being in the kitchen, our community of reviewers have determined that out of almost 5,000 appliances on ProductReview.com.au, these are the best available!

Nathan S.
Nathan S.1 Nov 2019
the-top-rated-kitchen-appliances-for-2020
Fridge and Dishwasher Awards for 2020!

These large kitchen appliances are the backbone of your kitchen, meant to last you many years. The initial cost of a fridge or dishwasher is high, so to make sure you're not buying a lemon, here are the top fridges and dishwashers of 2020. Our reviewers have provided detailed ratings for important factors to consider when choosing a refrigerator or dishwasher, such as Noise Level and Internal Layout.

Wendy Z.
Wendy Z.12 Nov 2019
fridge-and-dishwasher-awards-for-2020
Award-winning-coffee machines in 2020!

The awards for top coffee machines (manual/semi-automatic, capsule/coffee pod and fully automatic) of 2020 are here! View in-depth ratings for different aspects of the coffee machine, such as Milk Frothing and Cleaning & Maintenance.

Wendy Z.
Wendy Z.5 Nov 2019
award-winning-coffee-machines-in-2020
Next
zephy
zephyMelbourne
  • 3 reviews
  • 5 likes

you get what you pfor...if you research more about the product you get MORE than what you paid

published
Date PurchasedFeb 2016
  • Verified

Will not last

published

Experienced the same problem as many other users with the impeller that wore out after 18 months, making the grinder unusable. So the unit got the way of the landfill since Breville considered it out of warranty. Bought a Rancillo, more than twice the price, but expect it to be working for much longer.

Date PurchasedFeb 2016
Coffee Grinders / Roasters

Find out how Breville Dose Control Pro BCG600SIL compares to other Coffee Grinders / Roasters

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
jasonr101
jasonr101Melbourne
  • 2 reviews
  • 3 likes

Parts wear out too quick

published
Date PurchasedMar 2016
Anon
Anon
  • 13 reviews
  • 6 likes

So hard to clean

published

I bought this grinder from myer along with the duo temp machine. The coffee machine is great but the grinder is just okay. My biggest grief was that I couldn't get the grinder apart to clean it! What a pain! I rang customer service for assistance and the person on the phone was rather useless and couldn't help me at all. So I took the grinder to a local service centre and it took two of them to pull it apart! Now it's been cleaned out and greased up so it works better but it could have been ultimately been better.

Date PurchasedJuly 2017

Breville BCG600SIL - DON'T BUY !!!

published

Purchased the grinder more than 8 months ago and i was happy in the beginning until the impeller start wear off which created lots of problem and frustration. The symptoms it grind the beans but it won't dispenses the ground coffee. You can't even find anything on the internet how to service the unit. To have the unit sent back to Breville for servicing would cost lots of money and it would be pointless as they are using the same impeller which eventually you will have similar problem in few months time. Until now, i am still trying to find ways to replace the impeller. I won't not recommend anyone to purchase this grinder.

Date PurchasedFeb 2016
Coffee Grinders / Roasters

Find out how Breville Dose Control Pro BCG600SIL compares to other Coffee Grinders / Roasters

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
mikema
mikema
  • 40 reviews
  • 37 likes

Durability is the issue

published
Date PurchasedSept 2013
Breville
BrevilleBreville

Hi Mikema - your comments will be forwarded to the design team. Thanks for your comments. The Breville team

Miguel28
Miguel28Higgins
  • 2 reviews
  • 2 likes

Does a great job.

published

I really like this machine - simple, but reliable and grinding the coffee to the right size and quantity. Owned it for about a year now.
I noted people mentioning it is a bit messy. That is true, but I think that might happen with every grinder of this type. Totally worth the cost.

Buth
ButhSydney
  • 2 reviews

Great grinder

published

This is a great little unit. Compact however it create a little bit of mess however nothing compared to my previous grinder.

The dosage control works really well once you have worked the timer. It is pretty quiet as well. All in all for the money spent $169, it is good value

I would recommend it to others.

Questions & Answers

jon newt
jon newtasked

Hi my timer seems to be not working on one second it overflows our single basket so we have to use it manually all the time is this solvable or replacement!

1 answer
Yeung Fan F.
Yeung Fan F.

It is working for me but not precise, I’ve to tune and test it a few time to get to the right timing

Alex J.
Alex J.asked

I'm presently thinking about purchasing this machine however is the impeller issue solved? I purchased a De Longhi KG364J which is much cheaper but has the same issue, the burrs are not replaceable.
I am surprised that in this day and age of the internet information sources, manufacturers are taking customers for granted and expecting them to shell out their hard-earned dollars for shoddily designed goods that wind up in the tip in just a few years. Don't be surprised that these goods will remain on the shelves.

3 answers
Bob
Bob

Breville has allegedly changed the impeller on the Dose Control Pro, so the problem might be fixed. But it might not. We have gone back to using our Sunbeam Café Series EM0480, which we bought 11 years ago. I can't remember why we stopped using the Sunbeam and got the Breville, but whatever the reason it must have been a minor issue because it is working perfectly now.

Alex J.
Alex J.

Thanks for that, I’m looking at the entry level Baratza version 2 at the moment.
Kind regards AJ

Yeung Fan F.
Yeung Fan F.

I bought this about mid last year from Myer, confirm the impeller is replaced with a stainless steel version

Happily using it as a general consumer who use it twice a day

dgm308
dgm308asked

My understanding of current Australian consumer Law is that you are required to have replacement parts available for a number of years. On top of this the warranty period the manufacturer gives is irrelevant in 2019, it is deemed that a product should work for a length of time that a reasonable person would expect for an item of it's type and in line with the advertising. This period would be a number of years beyond the time it takes for the impeller to fail.
With this in mind will Breville be helping out their valued customers?

No answers
See all Breville Dose Control Pro BCG600SIL questions

Get an answer from our members and Breville representatives

Details

CategoryCoffee Grinders / Roasters
Price (RRP) $249.00
TypeAutomatic
Grinding MechanismConical Burr
Coffee Bean Capacity340 g
Number of Grind Settings60 settings
Power130 W
Dimensions 343 x 161 x 204 mm
Manufacturer Warranty1 year(s)
ManualDownload manual
Visit official website
  • MPN: 580, BCG600 and BCG600SIL
  • GTIN13: 9312432023252

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.