??!
1 photo
Breville Coffee & Spice BCG200

Breville Coffee & Spice BCG200

MPN: BCG200
3.7 from 38 reviews

Reviews

(16)
(9)
(4)
(3)
(6)
  • Incentivised Review Yes (0%) · No (100%)

Jen

JenSouth East Queensland, QLD

  • 2 reviews

Perfect for grinding herbs

published

This affordable and compact unit quickly and easily turns my dried herbs into fine powders. Easy to clean too, though the plastic lid is prone to trapping a bit of water.

Purchased in December 2019 at David Jones.


annazianna

annaziannaGreater Melbourne (Outer), VIC

  • 39 reviews

Good so far, touch wood

published

I've had very mixed experiences with Breville to put it politely and so I am pleased to say that this new spice grinder appears to be working well so far. However I've probably only used it for a month and so the real test will be how long it lasts. I would still probably recommend the Cuisinart one over this one though (my Cuisinart broke down recently after 3 years) because that one grinds pepper into a finer powder.

Director

DirectorBrisbane

  • 16 reviews

Was good while it lasted.

published

Bought this item in November 2017 and unlike some other Breville products apparently this one only has a 12 month warranty. It didn't get used too much, maybe a dozen times or so and was always cleaned and didn't get wet. Was only used to grind spices for curry so didn't even have to handle hard coffee beans. Today it seized up completely with smoke coming out of the bottom and everything. Not happy.

Edit: After writing this review I dismantled the unit and it looks like there is a seal underneath the hopper coupling that has cracked allowing the rotor shaft to move out of position and lockup. I gave the rotor shaft a push which freed it up and the unit works again but without the seal I can't say for how long.

Purchased in November 2017 at Harvey Norman Appliances Physical Store for $49.90.

FreshGal

FreshGal

  • 4 reviews
  • 1 like

Perfect and so easy to use

published

I’ve had this grinder for years now and think it’s wonderful. From grinding peppercorns to grinding coffee beans, it’s the jack of all trades. My only bugbear is how hard it can be to clean without hurting your fingers

Purchased in January 2015 at Myer for $45.00.


OMWH12

OMWH12Melbourne

  • 10 reviews
  • 2 likes

Love it!

published

We bought this grinder to replace our beloved Krupps grinder. We were hesitant at first because we thought a burr grinder would be better, but this was MUCH cheaper and surpassed our expectations.

It's not too loud, and it grinds coffee perfectly for a really good cup. It's easy to clean and doesn't take up much space on a benchtop. Recommended.

Purchased in June 2019 at Myer.


JRT

JRTVictoria

  • 4 reviews
  • Verified purchase

Very happy with this product

published

Despite the average overall reviews from users, I am very happy with this product. Has a good capacity, grinds very evenly for a blade-type grinder. There are no corners in the grinding chamber for the grounds to get stuck, making it easy to clean as well. Been using nearly every day for a year and it shows no sign of failure or wear. The cord storage at the bottom isn't ideal, but it isn't terrible either - can still store the unit neatly in the cupboard. Good value for money.

Purchased in August 2018 for $50.00.


Good for the price.

published

I use this for milling/blending things like linseed, pumpkin seed, and sesame. It is ideal for slicing up small seeds like this, in a way my food processor is not.
It is recommended that you mill plain white rice between usage of aromatic or oily seeds. This works well, but I do wish Breville would occasionally make a product that has dishwasher safe components, because it is time-consuming to clean.

Purchased in June 2019 at Noel Leeming Physical store for $49.99.


Sam

SamSydney, NSW

  • 9 reviews
  • Verified purchase

Great product

published

This is a great product. Very easy to grind my spices and coffee beans. Easy to store. Very cute size. Not very expensive. Never had any problem. Have been using since 4 years.

Purchased in June 2015 at Myer for $49.95.

smoynihan

smoynihanGreater Melbourne (Inner), VIC

  • 2 reviews
  • 1 like

Very limited lifetime

published

Didn't last very long, less than 2 years before I could smell burning plastic coming from the motor and it stopped working. Would happily pay double for something that can last 10 years.

Purchased in July 2017 at The Good Guys for $50.00.

Elly

EllyGreater Melbourne (Metropolitan), VIC

  • 5 reviews
  • Verified purchase

Good for coffee, not powerful enough

published

I bought the first Breville BCG200 and used it for almost two months, till it broke suddenly, fortunately the good guys replace it with the second one. Then I grind cloves, and it jammed and stop working, but in store it starts working again.
Overalls it has good quality for this price. it doesn’t work very well for spices. Maybe the should change the title to just coffee grinder

Date PurchasedJul 2018

kol

kolNelson NZ

  • 2 reviews
  • Verified purchase

Perfect for flax seed :-)

published

I've tried so many grinders that don't reduce flax (linseed) seeds to a usable consistency without leaving so many un-ground non-digestible seeds. This one does !! - perfect in just a few seconds, woweeee! The only negative is being able to easily clean the grinder, as flax seeds are oily. The base of the unit is not removable so one has to be satisfied with only wiping it around with a cloth. Immersion is not an option but possibly, on occasion, I might carefully quickly slosh some soapy water into the base and empty straightaway and dry. A small price to have such 'commercially appearing' ground seeds.

Date PurchasedOct 2018

Quickpig

QuickpigSoldiers Point

  • 29 reviews
  • 20 likes

Grinding me down

published

Neat compact design that sadly doesn't work too well with coffee beans. This is my second unit, the first one produced smoke from the start so I swapped it out for a new one and have been very careful not to overfill it. Five months on and once again, smoke has started issuing from the motor. Imho the problem appears to be oil from the beans causing coffee to stick to the bottom of the grinder and the underside of the cutting blade. The extra load this places on the motor causes it to overheat as soon as any additional beans are ground. Let us know what you think Mr Breville.

Date PurchasedMay 2018

R Road

R Road

  • 9 reviews
  • 7 likes

Happy except ground coffee can get stuck on the bottom

published

Good sized hopper for coffee beans and the unit is easy to use. We find some ground coffee gets stuck on the bottom of the hopper under the level of the blades. What a shame in an otherwise good unit. It is a little bulky for a blade grinder and a bit noisy but these aren’t deal breakers.

Date PurchasedJan 2018

Broke 1st time we used it

published

Purchased a few weeks ago and only went to use it this week to grind a small amount of spices- Star anise 2 peices and 3 teaspoons of mustard seed. Machine started and then basically disintergratted with cutting blade seperating from the container, smoking and plastic smell- now unusable. Hopefully the supplier Harvey Norman will replace when we can get back to town next week!

Date PurchasedMar 2018
torac 10

torac 10

  • 2 reviews
  • 3 likes

great

published

at last something the does what it says it does. i bought it to grind up chia seed which it does to a fine powder. it only does small quantity's at a time and if done in short bursts there is no problems. have a bigger expensive processor but will not grind to a powder

Date PurchasedJun 2018
Titi

Titi

  • 5 reviews
  • 4 likes

Not powerful at all

published

Not powerful at all . It’s just a you and not value for money . It’s better to buy a food processor that will do the job and can also be used for other things around the house . I bought this for 2 mnhjs go blend Coffee . Not powerful at all

Date PurchasedApr 2018

Anna

AnnaMelbourne

  • 16 reviews
  • 3 likes

Stopped working after a month

published

Really disappointed with this spice grinder, which was good to start with but stopped working after a month. I have had this experience with a couple of other Breville small appliances (2 mini wizzes - replacement also stopped working) recently, which is very disappointing from what is supposed to be one of the best brands for kitchen appliances. I now have a cuisinart spice grinder which has been still working for almost a year and I would recommend that one over this, despite the slightly stupid design of the lid on that one (an adhesive strip on the top?! What were they thinking?!). Still, at least my Cuisinart appliances have consistently kept working (so far, under a year) which is more than I can say for my Breville ones.

Date PurchasedJun 2017

kimi

kimisydney

  • 5 reviews
  • Verified purchase

good coffee blander

published

purchased at Bing Lee last may. good to use as a coffee blander. suggest only grind about 15-20 seconds for coffee beans. if you grind too long the coffee powder will stuck in the coffee machine. a little bit noisy especially using in the morning. easy to clean. the price is a above average as i only use it to grind coffee bean.

Date PurchasedMay 2017

Jack

JackBrisbane

  • 5 reviews
  • 1 like

Ok to use but not the best one

published

Purchased this machine on sales ( cost me $30);
I've used it for coffee been grinding, and some black pepper and dry herbs as well; the down side is it cannot grind too much beans and i found it cannot grind too fine;
I found it's a bit noisy as well

Date PurchasedJan 2018

Chandra

ChandraSydney

  • 6 reviews

Great little product

published

Purchased this for grinding spices. If you grind the spice long enough, it will eventually becomes powder. Used this to create powdery seaweed and it works very well. A little noisy, but that's normal for this kind of product. Haven't used it for coffee so I cannot comment on that

Date PurchasedJan 2018

Page 1 of 2

Questions & Answers

Nigel F.

Nigel F.asked

Can.t find the serial & batch numbers on my Breville BCG200 Spice & Coffee Grinder in order to online register it

1 answer
Breville
BrevilleBreville

The batch number is a 4 digit number located on the underside of the unit, its typically embossed. Begins with the number 1.


Abb

Abbasked

Can I make chutney with this? Like with fresh corriander, mint, green chillies with some water.
Please answer.
I am desperately looking for a stainless steel grinder.

3 answers
kol
kol

It will certainly smash up coriander seeds (did you mean seeds?) very effectively - i use it for flax and sunflower seeds and it is amazing, just a few seconds! Don't know about the other ingredients you mentioned but can't see why it wouldn't be fine except (!) that the blade is at the bottom so it may require ingredients to fall to this level and possibly fresh leaves, mint etc may not. Maybe a "blender" would work better for you? Bear in mind too, the container is quite small so you'll have to use small quantities. The bowl is removable so quite easy to detach and wash out.

Abb
Abb

Thank you very much for your answer.

Abb
Abb

Thank you very much for your answer.


Sara S

Sara Sasked

Can we use it for wet items??

No answers

Get an answer from our members and Breville representatives

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.