??!
1 photo
Breville Coffee & Spice BCG200

Breville Coffee & Spice BCG200

MPNs: 1016 and BCG200
3.6 from 42 reviews

Reviews

3.6

42 reviews
5
(17)
4
(10)
3
(4)
2
(4)
1
(7)
Previous
Next
Mazharul I.

Mazharul I.Sydney, NSW

Broken just after 1 year!

published

I bought this product from goodguys on 25/7/19 and broken just after 1 year which is the default warranty period! Do they make it for 1 year (found similar experience from others)?

Purchased in July 2019 at The Good Guys for A$44.95.

Bill

BillMelbourne

  • 13 reviews
  • 8 likes

12 months and blew up!

published

Was working nicely for dry spices and ingredients like ginger and galangal. Just after 12 months it stopped a few times as if the grinder was jammed. Today the motor started smoking and died. It was easy to use and clean but disappointed with its short life.

Purchased in September 2018 for A$50.00.

Nirbas B.

Nirbas B.Metropolitan Adelaide, SA

  • 6 reviews
  • Verified purchase

Perfect grinder

published

We can adjust the thickness of the grounded powder. This machine comecomed with an easy clean, removable stainless steel bowl to minimise flavour transfer between ingredients, while delivering freshly ground coffee, herbs and spices in seconds. Strongly recommend.

Coffee Grinders / Roasters

Find out how Breville Coffee & Spice BCG200 compares to other Coffee Grinders / Roasters

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Joseph Leeton

Joseph LeetonMetropolitan Adelaide, SA

  • 33 reviews
  • 17 likes

Small but powerful

published

Despite its small size this little gem works well. We use it to ground spices and it never fails. Easy to use and clean, plus a small footprint on our limited work space. Very reasonable price.

Jen

JenSouth East Queensland, QLD

  • 2 reviews

Perfect for grinding herbs

published

This affordable and compact unit quickly and easily turns my dried herbs into fine powders. Easy to clean too, though the plastic lid is prone to trapping a bit of water.

Purchased in December 2019 at David Jones.

annazianna

annaziannaGreater Melbourne (Outer), VIC

  • 42 reviews
  • 7 likes

Good so far, touch wood

published

I've had very mixed experiences with Breville to put it politely and so I am pleased to say that this new spice grinder appears to be working well so far. However I've probably only used it for a month and so the real test will be how long it lasts. I would still probably recommend the Cuisinart one over this one though (my Cuisinart broke down recently after 3 years) because that one grinds pepper into a finer powder.

Director

DirectorBrisbane

  • 16 reviews
  • 20 likes

Was good while it lasted.

published

Bought this item in November 2017 and unlike some other Breville products apparently this one only has a 12 month warranty. It didn't get used too much, maybe a dozen times or so and was always cleaned and didn't get wet. Was only used to grind spices for curry so didn't even have to handle hard coffee beans. Today it seized up completely with smoke coming out of the bottom and everything. Not happy.

Edit: After writing this review I dismantled the unit and it looks like there is a seal underneath the hopper coupling that has cracked allowing the rotor shaft to move out of position and lockup. I gave the rotor shaft a push which freed it up and the unit works again but without the seal I can't say for how long.

Purchased in November 2017 at Harvey Norman Retail Stores - Appliances for A$49.90.

FreshGal

FreshGal

  • 4 reviews
  • 1 like

Perfect and so easy to use

published

I’ve had this grinder for years now and think it’s wonderful. From grinding peppercorns to grinding coffee beans, it’s the jack of all trades. My only bugbear is how hard it can be to clean without hurting your fingers

Purchased in January 2015 at Myer for A$45.00.

OMWH12

OMWH12Melbourne

  • 10 reviews
  • 2 likes

Love it!

published

We bought this grinder to replace our beloved Krupps grinder. We were hesitant at first because we thought a burr grinder would be better, but this was MUCH cheaper and surpassed our expectations.

It's not too loud, and it grinds coffee perfectly for a really good cup. It's easy to clean and doesn't take up much space on a benchtop. Recommended.

Purchased in June 2019 at Myer.

Coffee Grinders / Roasters

Find out how Breville Coffee & Spice BCG200 compares to other Coffee Grinders / Roasters

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
JRT

JRTVictoria

  • 4 reviews
  • Verified purchase

Very happy with this product

published

Despite the average overall reviews from users, I am very happy with this product. Has a good capacity, grinds very evenly for a blade-type grinder. There are no corners in the grinding chamber for the grounds to get stuck, making it easy to clean as well. Been using nearly every day for a year and it shows no sign of failure or wear. The cord storage at the bottom isn't ideal, but it isn't terrible either - can still store the unit neatly in the cupboard. Good value for money.

Purchased in August 2018 for A$50.00.

Good for the price.

published

I use this for milling/blending things like linseed, pumpkin seed, and sesame. It is ideal for slicing up small seeds like this, in a way my food processor is not.
It is recommended that you mill plain white rice between usage of aromatic or oily seeds. This works well, but I do wish Breville would occasionally make a product that has dishwasher safe components, because it is time-consuming to clean.

Purchased in June 2019 at Noel Leeming Physical store for A$49.99.

Sam

SamSydney, NSW

  • 9 reviews
  • Verified purchase

Great product

published

This is a great product. Very easy to grind my spices and coffee beans. Easy to store. Very cute size. Not very expensive. Never had any problem. Have been using since 4 years.

Purchased in June 2015 at Myer for A$49.95.

smoynihan

smoynihanGreater Melbourne (Inner), VIC

  • 2 reviews
  • 1 like

Very limited lifetime

published

Didn't last very long, less than 2 years before I could smell burning plastic coming from the motor and it stopped working. Would happily pay double for something that can last 10 years.

Purchased in July 2017 at The Good Guys for A$50.00.

Elly

EllyGreater Melbourne (Metropolitan), VIC

  • 5 reviews
  • Verified purchase

Good for coffee, not powerful enough

published

I bought the first Breville BCG200 and used it for almost two months, till it broke suddenly, fortunately the good guys replace it with the second one. Then I grind cloves, and it jammed and stop working, but in store it starts working again.
Overalls it has good quality for this price. it doesn’t work very well for spices. Maybe the should change the title to just coffee grinder

Date PurchasedJul 2018
kol

kolNelson NZ

  • 2 reviews
  • 3 likes
  • Verified purchase

Perfect for flax seed :-)

published

I've tried so many grinders that don't reduce flax (linseed) seeds to a usable consistency without leaving so many un-ground non-digestible seeds. This one does !! - perfect in just a few seconds, woweeee! The only negative is being able to easily clean the grinder, as flax seeds are oily. The base of the unit is not removable so one has to be satisfied with only wiping it around with a cloth. Immersion is not an option but possibly, on occasion, I might carefully quickly slosh some soapy water into the base and empty straightaway and dry. A small price to have such 'commercially appearing' ground seeds.

Date PurchasedOct 2018
Coffee Grinders / Roasters

Find out how Breville Coffee & Spice BCG200 compares to other Coffee Grinders / Roasters

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Quickpig

QuickpigSoldiers Point

  • 30 reviews
  • 23 likes

Grinding me down

published

Neat compact design that sadly doesn't work too well with coffee beans. This is my second unit, the first one produced smoke from the start so I swapped it out for a new one and have been very careful not to overfill it. Five months on and once again, smoke has started issuing from the motor. Imho the problem appears to be oil from the beans causing coffee to stick to the bottom of the grinder and the underside of the cutting blade. The extra load this places on the motor causes it to overheat as soon as any additional beans are ground. Let us know what you think Mr Breville.

Date PurchasedMay 2018
R Road

R Road

  • 10 reviews
  • 9 likes

Happy except ground coffee can get stuck on the bottom

published

Good sized hopper for coffee beans and the unit is easy to use. We find some ground coffee gets stuck on the bottom of the hopper under the level of the blades. What a shame in an otherwise good unit. It is a little bulky for a blade grinder and a bit noisy but these aren’t deal breakers.

Date PurchasedJan 2018

Broke 1st time we used it

published

Purchased a few weeks ago and only went to use it this week to grind a small amount of spices- Star anise 2 peices and 3 teaspoons of mustard seed. Machine started and then basically disintergratted with cutting blade seperating from the container, smoking and plastic smell- now unusable. Hopefully the supplier Harvey Norman will replace when we can get back to town next week!

Date PurchasedMar 2018
torac 10

torac 10

  • 2 reviews
  • 3 likes

great

published

at last something the does what it says it does. i bought it to grind up chia seed which it does to a fine powder. it only does small quantity's at a time and if done in short bursts there is no problems. have a bigger expensive processor but will not grind to a powder

Date PurchasedJun 2018
Titi

Titi

  • 5 reviews
  • 4 likes

Not powerful at all

published

Not powerful at all . It’s just a you and not value for money . It’s better to buy a food processor that will do the job and can also be used for other things around the house . I bought this for 2 mnhjs go blend Coffee . Not powerful at all

Date PurchasedApr 2018
Page 1 of 3

Questions & Answers

gemba

gembaasked

Can this product do wet grinding

3 answers
Joseph Leeton
Joseph Leeton

No...it's a fantastic dry grinder though. For wet grinding I use a stick blender with a bowl which has a blade in it.
These a lot of end of financial year end sales at the moment
Advise me what you buy and why?

gemba
gemba

thank you, What would you recommend if i am to get a wet and dry grinder?

Joseph Leeton
Joseph Leeton

I have a Kenwood stick grinder and comes with assesories , some I rarely use but I use the chopping bowl for wet grinding. I use Breville for grinding
The Kenwood isn't cheap but you get a powerful long lasting 800W motor. The model is Kenwood HDP406WH and on special at applianceonline.com.au ...they even after payment if your finances are tight
Let me know how you go

Nicola G

Nicola Gasked

Can you use this machine to grind coffee for use in an espresso machine please?

1 answer
Joseph Leeton
Joseph Leeton

I can't advise you regarding this as I use thegrinder for grinding spices, not coffee.
All I can say is that it can grind whole coriander into a fine powder

Nigel F.

Nigel F.asked

Can.t find the serial & batch numbers on my Breville BCG200 Spice & Coffee Grinder in order to online register it

1 answer
Breville
BrevilleBreville

The batch number is a 4 digit number located on the underside of the unit, its typically embossed. Begins with the number 1.

Get an answer from our members and Breville representatives

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.