1 photo
Breville Coffee & Spice BCG200

Breville Coffee & Spice BCG200

MPNs: 1016, BCG200 and BCG200BSS
3.6 from 43 reviews · View Statistics

Reviews

  • Build Quality
    1.0 (1)
  • Value for Money
    2.0 (1)
  • Ease of Use
    4.0 (1)
Previous
Next
Carlos
CarlosAU
  • 2 reviews

Not made to last

published

I could not even grind one lot of beans. Filled to the max line and it went for 10 to 15 second befor it stopped and started to smell very odd.

Purchased in May 2021 at JB Hi-Fi Retail Stores for $59.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Mazharul I.
Mazharul I.Sydney, NSW
  • 2 reviews

Broken just after 1 year!

published

I bought this product from goodguys on 25/7/19 and broken just after 1 year which is the default warranty period! Do they make it for 1 year (found similar experience from others)?

Purchased in July 2019 at The Good Guys for $44.95.

Incentivised ReviewNo
Bill
BillMelbourne
  • 43 reviews
  • 31 likes

12 months and blew up!

published

Was working nicely for dry spices and ingredients like ginger and galangal. Just after 12 months it stopped a few times as if the grinder was jammed. Today the motor started smoking and died. It was easy to use and clean but disappointed with its short life. Have now bought a semi commercial grinder from Nisbets. Fingers crossed.

Purchased in September 2018 for $50.00.

Incentivised ReviewNo
Coffee Grinders / Roasters

Find out how Breville Coffee & Spice BCG200 compares to other Coffee Grinders / Roasters

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Nirbas B.
Nirbas B.Metropolitan Adelaide, SA
  • 6 reviews
  • 1 like
  • Verified

Perfect grinder

published

We can adjust the thickness of the grounded powder. This machine comecomed with an easy clean, removable stainless steel bowl to minimise flavour transfer between ingredients, while delivering freshly ground coffee, herbs and spices in seconds. Strongly recommend.

Joseph Leeton
Joseph LeetonMetropolitan Adelaide, SA
  • 33 reviews
  • 18 likes

Small but powerful

published

Despite its small size this little gem works well. We use it to ground spices and it never fails. Easy to use and clean, plus a small footprint on our limited work space. Very reasonable price.

Incentivised ReviewNo
Related Articles
Previous

The best kitchen appliances in 2020!

Whether you love or loath being in the kitchen, our community of reviewers have determined that out of almost 5,000 appliances on ProductReview.com.au, these are the best available!

Nathan S.
Nathan S.1 Nov 2019
the-best-kitchen-appliances-in-2020

Best Fridges and Dishwashers in 2020!

These large kitchen appliances are the backbone of your kitchen, meant to last you many years. The initial cost of a fridge or dishwasher is high, so to make sure you're not buying a lemon, here are the best fridges and best dishwashers of 2020. Our reviewers have provided detailed ratings for important factors to consider when choosing a refrigerator or dishwasher, such as Noise Level and Internal Layout.

Wendy Z.
Wendy Z.12 Nov 2019
best-fridges-and-dishwashers-in-2020

Best coffee machines in 2020!

The awards for best coffee machines (manual/semi-automatic, capsule/coffee pod and fully automatic) of 2020 are here! View in-depth ratings for different aspects of the coffee machine, such as Milk Frothing and Cleaning & Maintenance.

Wendy Z.
Wendy Z.5 Nov 2019
best-coffee-machines-in-2020
Next
Jen
JenSouth East Queensland, QLD
  • 2 reviews

Perfect for grinding herbs

published

This affordable and compact unit quickly and easily turns my dried herbs into fine powders. Easy to clean too, though the plastic lid is prone to trapping a bit of water.

Purchased in December 2019 at David Jones.

Incentivised ReviewNo
annazianna
annaziannaGreater Melbourne (Outer), VIC
  • 43 reviews
  • 8 likes

Good so far, touch wood

published

I've had very mixed experiences with Breville to put it politely and so I am pleased to say that this new spice grinder appears to be working well so far. However I've probably only used it for a month and so the real test will be how long it lasts. I would still probably recommend the Cuisinart one over this one though (my Cuisinart broke down recently after 3 years) because that one grinds pepper into a finer powder.

Incentivised ReviewNo
Director
DirectorBrisbane
  • 16 reviews
  • 20 likes

Was good while it lasted.

published

Bought this item in November 2017 and unlike some other Breville products apparently this one only has a 12 month warranty. It didn't get used too much, maybe a dozen times or so and was always cleaned and didn't get wet. Was only used to grind spices for curry so didn't even have to handle hard coffee beans. Today it seized up completely with smoke coming out of the bottom and everything. Not happy.

Edit: After writing this review I dismantled the unit and it looks like there is a seal underneath the hopper coupling that has cracked allowing the rotor shaft to move out of position and lockup. I gave the rotor shaft a push which freed it up and the unit works again but without the seal I can't say for how long.

Purchased in November 2017 at Harvey Norman Retail Stores - Appliances for $49.90.

Incentivised ReviewNo
FreshGal
FreshGal
  • 4 reviews
  • 1 like

Perfect and so easy to use

published

I’ve had this grinder for years now and think it’s wonderful. From grinding peppercorns to grinding coffee beans, it’s the jack of all trades. My only bugbear is how hard it can be to clean without hurting your fingers

Purchased in January 2015 at Myer for $45.00.

Incentivised ReviewNo
Coffee Grinders / Roasters

Find out how Breville Coffee & Spice BCG200 compares to other Coffee Grinders / Roasters

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
OMWH12
OMWH12Melbourne
  • 10 reviews
  • 2 likes

Love it!

published

We bought this grinder to replace our beloved Krupps grinder. We were hesitant at first because we thought a burr grinder would be better, but this was MUCH cheaper and surpassed our expectations.

It's not too loud, and it grinds coffee perfectly for a really good cup. It's easy to clean and doesn't take up much space on a benchtop. Recommended.

Purchased in June 2019 at Myer.

Incentivised ReviewNo
JRT
JRTVictoria
  • 4 reviews
  • Verified

Very happy with this product

published

Despite the average overall reviews from users, I am very happy with this product. Has a good capacity, grinds very evenly for a blade-type grinder. There are no corners in the grinding chamber for the grounds to get stuck, making it easy to clean as well. Been using nearly every day for a year and it shows no sign of failure or wear. The cord storage at the bottom isn't ideal, but it isn't terrible either - can still store the unit neatly in the cupboard. Good value for money.

Purchased in August 2018 for $50.00.

Incentivised ReviewNo
Katherine R.
Katherine R.
  • 2 reviews

Good for the price.

published

I use this for milling/blending things like linseed, pumpkin seed, and sesame. It is ideal for slicing up small seeds like this, in a way my food processor is not.
It is recommended that you mill plain white rice between usage of aromatic or oily seeds. This works well, but I do wish Breville would occasionally make a product that has dishwasher safe components, because it is time-consuming to clean.

Purchased in June 2019 at Noel Leeming Physical store for $49.99.

Incentivised ReviewNo
Sam
SamSydney, NSW
  • 9 reviews
  • Verified

Great product

published

This is a great product. Very easy to grind my spices and coffee beans. Easy to store. Very cute size. Not very expensive. Never had any problem. Have been using since 4 years.

Purchased in June 2015 at Myer for $49.95.

Incentivised ReviewNo
smoynihan
smoynihanGreater Melbourne (Inner), VIC
  • 2 reviews
  • 1 like

Very limited lifetime

published

Didn't last very long, less than 2 years before I could smell burning plastic coming from the motor and it stopped working. Would happily pay double for something that can last 10 years.

Purchased in July 2017 at The Good Guys for $50.00.

Incentivised ReviewNo
Elly
EllyGreater Melbourne (Metropolitan), VIC
  • 5 reviews
  • Verified

Good for coffee, not powerful enough

published

I bought the first Breville BCG200 and used it for almost two months, till it broke suddenly, fortunately the good guys replace it with the second one. Then I grind cloves, and it jammed and stop working, but in store it starts working again.
Overalls it has good quality for this price. it doesn’t work very well for spices. Maybe the should change the title to just coffee grinder

Date PurchasedJuly 2018
Coffee Grinders / Roasters

Find out how Breville Coffee & Spice BCG200 compares to other Coffee Grinders / Roasters

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Page 1 of 3

Questions & Answers

Lal
Lalasked

How do you clean the residue that builds up in the lid?

1 answer
Bill
Bill

Hand wash the container and lid in normal soapy water. Don't put it in the dishwasher.

gemba
gembaasked

Can this product do wet grinding

3 answers
Joseph Leeton
Joseph Leeton

No...it's a fantastic dry grinder though. For wet grinding I use a stick blender with a bowl which has a blade in it.
These a lot of end of financial year end sales at the moment
Advise me what you buy and why?

gemba
gemba

thank you, What would you recommend if i am to get a wet and dry grinder?

Joseph Leeton
Joseph Leeton

I have a Kenwood stick grinder and comes with assesories , some I rarely use but I use the chopping bowl for wet grinding. I use Breville for grinding
The Kenwood isn't cheap but you get a powerful long lasting 800W motor. The model is Kenwood HDP406WH and on special at applianceonline.com.au ...they even after payment if your finances are tight
Let me know how you go

Nicola G
Nicola Gasked

Can you use this machine to grind coffee for use in an espresso machine please?

1 answer
Joseph Leeton
Joseph Leeton

I can't advise you regarding this as I use thegrinder for grinding spices, not coffee.
All I can say is that it can grind whole coriander into a fine powder

See all Breville Coffee & Spice BCG200 questions

Get an answer from our members and Breville representatives

Details

CategoryCoffee Grinders / Roasters
Price (RRP) $59.95
TypeAutomatic
Grinding MechanismBlade
Coffee Bean Capacity250 g
Number of Grind Settings1 settings
Power200 W
Dimensions 201 x 117 x 117 mm
Manufacturer Warranty1 year(s)
ManualDownload manual
Visit official website
  • MPN: 1016, BCG200 and BCG200BSS
  • GTIN13: 9312432021012

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.