1 photo
Breville the Smart Grinder Pro BCG820BSS

Breville the Smart Grinder Pro BCG820BSS

MPNs: BCG820 and BCG820BSS
4.3 from 8 reviews · View Statistics

Reviews

4.3

8 reviews
5
(5)
4
(2)
3
(0)
2
(0)
1
(1)
  • Build Quality
    5.0 (1)
  • Value for Money
    5.0 (1)
  • Ease of Use
    5.0 (1)
  • Cleaning & Maintenance
    5.0 (1)
Previous
Next
Sandra P.
Sandra P.Sydney, NSW

Good repeatable results

published

I’ve been getting very good repeatable results from this grinder, fine enough for espresso with a programmable timer. Cleaning is very easy too with the magnetic removable tray. Only negative is there is a lot of static buildup if you use the container, not a big problem for me as I’m grinding into a portafilter most of the time.

Purchased in August 2020 at Amazon for $249.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
niko87
niko87Metropolitan Adelaide, SA
  • 98 reviews
  • 48 likes

Rubbish

published

Very inconsistent grinding, I usually set it on "6" for espresso, some days the coffee is too fine thus brew doesn't 'yield' proper amount of coffee and at other times the coffee is too coarse so the 'yield' is way too much! This also results in bad tasting coffee. I don't know if I have a, faulty machine but I have emailed breville over a month ago and I am still waiting for a response. What is worse the 'sound' of the grinder when coffee is, grinding is also inconsistent sometimes more loud sometimes less which makes me believe this is the reason of the coarseness inconsistency.

Purchased at The Good Guys.

Incentivised ReviewNo
Tayfun Tuna
Tayfun Tuna
  • 3 reviews

Great grinder

published

I’m not a pro, but an enthusiast. I’m now trying different beans every time to get my coffee right. This machine allows me to fine tune my coffee grounding process.

Very sleek too.

Purchased in December 2020 at The Good Guys for $199.00.

Incentivised ReviewNo
Coffee Grinders / Roasters

Find out how Breville the Smart Grinder Pro BCG820BSS compares to other Coffee Grinders / Roasters

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Pottering11
Pottering11Perth, WA
  • 15 reviews
  • 2 likes
  • Verified

Efficient and easy to use - lots of control to produce a perfect grind

published

Purchased in January 2021 at Harvey Norman Online for $227.00.

Incentivised ReviewNo
Mike W
Mike WPerth, WA
  • 13 reviews
  • 3 likes

Does what it suppose to do

published

Great grinder. Variable speed, effective and functional. Finally a grinder that works. This replaced my kitchenaid so called coffee grinder. It’s use to use. Easy operation with the press of a button and very effective. Finally a product does what it states it does. The KitchenAid grinders in the bin!!

Purchased in December 2020 at Harvey Norman Online for $229.00.

Incentivised ReviewNo
Related Articles
Previous

The best kitchen appliances in 2020!

Whether you love or loath being in the kitchen, our community of reviewers have determined that out of almost 5,000 appliances on ProductReview.com.au, these are the best available!

Nathan S.
Nathan S.1 Nov 2019
the-best-kitchen-appliances-in-2020

Best Fridges and Dishwashers in 2020!

These large kitchen appliances are the backbone of your kitchen, meant to last you many years. The initial cost of a fridge or dishwasher is high, so to make sure you're not buying a lemon, here are the best fridges and best dishwashers of 2020. Our reviewers have provided detailed ratings for important factors to consider when choosing a refrigerator or dishwasher, such as Noise Level and Internal Layout.

Wendy Z.
Wendy Z.12 Nov 2019
best-fridges-and-dishwashers-in-2020

Best coffee machines in 2020!

The awards for best coffee machines (manual/semi-automatic, capsule/coffee pod and fully automatic) of 2020 are here! View in-depth ratings for different aspects of the coffee machine, such as Milk Frothing and Cleaning & Maintenance.

Wendy Z.
Wendy Z.5 Nov 2019
best-coffee-machines-in-2020
Next
Mike W
Mike WGladstone
  • 5 reviews
  • 2 likes

Next model: Smart Grinder Pro is great for home use

published

Coffee snobs were saying you have to spend a lot more for a good grinder, but I realised that you don't have to spend thousands to make espresso at home.
This is a great grinder still within a price range that is realistic for a home appliance.
I got it to complement a Breville Duo Temp coffee machine.

Date PurchasedFeb 2018
Will
WillAustralia
  • 9 reviews
  • 1 like

Brilliant little grinder!

published

Have heard a lot about this grinder and so finally took the plunge last month when it was on sale. My old grinder was a manual one with only grind size settings, and so I became accustomed to using that. The Smart Grinder Pro made things a lot more easier as I can just leave the Group Head on the bracket and walk away while preparing other things. Just like every other machine, it takes a while to get used to the settings and find the optimum setting for your coffee grind. But once you do, it's good times. Note that it's quite loud however.

Date PurchasedMay 2017
IronMaiden
IronMaidenBowral
  • 24 reviews
  • 5 likes

Breville Smart Grinder Pro

published

I had a Sunbeam Cafe Series grinder and it used to spew ground coffee powder all over the counter, the Breville seems to produce little powder, the controls are easy to use and adjust the grind to what ever you are doing your brewing, the results are consistent and I have had no problems. The noise is not too bad, what can you expect with a grinder.

Date PurchasedJan 2016

Questions & Answers

James Mcdonald
James Mcdonaldasked

Can this machine grind for reusable pods?

No answers

Get an answer from our members and Breville representatives

Details

CategoryCoffee Grinders / Roasters
Price (RRP) $399.00
TypeAutomatic
Grinding MechanismConical Burr
Coffee Bean Capacity450 g
Number of Grind Settings60 settings
Power165 W
Dimensions 389 x 214 x 160 mm
Manufacturer Warranty2 year(s)
ManualDownload manual
Visit official website
  • GTIN13: 9312432022439
  • MPN: BCG820 and BCG820BSS

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.