??!
3 photos
Breville Multi Chef BRC600

Breville Multi Chef BRC600

MPNs: 35904479, BRC600 and BRC600BSS
3.0 from 106 reviews

Reviews

(31)
(15)
(11)
(24)
(25)
  • Build Quality
    2.5 (11)
  • Value for Money
    2.6 (10)
  • Ease of Use
    3.9 (11)
  • Cleaning & Maintenance
    4.2 (10)
  • Slow Cooking
    3.4 (7)
  • Steaming
    2.8 (6)
  • Pressure Cooking
    1.0 (2)
  • Sautéing
    3.5 (4)
  • Rice Cooking
    2.5 (8)
unhappy customer

unhappy customer

  • 2 reviews
  • 1 like

Stop working after about 10 uses in 18months.

published

Very disappointed in this product. Stopped working after about 18months and only used about 10 times (at most). All normal care given, a not so fancy rice cooker of same brand has outlasted this.. do not recommend this product.

Purchased in May 2017 at Myer for $129.00.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Value for Money
See all answers
Maree

MareeNorth Queensland, QLD

  • 2 reviews
  • 1 like

Only had two weeks stopped working

published

We purchased this product two weeks ago to replace another rice cooker, it worked up until a few days ago. Now it doesn't cook the rice, after a few minutes it just goes to the warm setting without cooking the rice, we are going to return and buy a different brand.

Purchased in August 2019 at Joyce Mayne Physical store for $109.00.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Value for Money
Features / Functions
Steaming
Rice Cooking
See all answers
JOOLS

JOOLSGreater Melbourne (Inner), VIC

  • 2 reviews

Love the sear function

published

I have used every function on this cooker, searing, roasting, steaming and cooking rice. I love the way you can sear the meat and or onions before slow cooking. The quality of the food is great - it retains the flavors and doesn't dry out. The only disadvantage is the size - you can only fit a half leg of lamb, which is fine for 2 people but probably not enough to feed a family. The controls are easy to use and easy to adjust the settings. I had had other slow cookers before and would highly recommend this one above others I have tried.

Purchased in October 2017 at The Good Guys for $95.00.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Value for Money
Features / Functions
Slow Cooking
Steaming
Sautéing
Rice Cooking
See all answers
Slow Cookers

Find out how Breville Multi Chef BRC600 compares to other Slow Cookers

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Leslie St

Leslie StFar North Queensland, QLD

  • 3 reviews
  • Verified purchase

Id give it less then one star if i could

published

Purchased in August 2017 at The Good Guys Physical store for $120.00.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Value for Money
Features / Functions
Slow Cooking
Steaming
Pressure Cooking
Sautéing
Rice Cooking
See all answers
mitchger

mitchgerSydney, NSW

  • 37 reviews

Great quality and results

published

Unlike the bulk of the reviews here I've found this to be great! I only use it for rice and slow cooking (and searing beforehand), but it's perfect for both. I have noticed the non-stick is degrading after four years with perfect handling and care but it's nothing major and I'll be happy to replace just the bowl in a couple more years if it lasts that long.

Purchased in November 2015 at Myer for $162.00.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Value for Money
Features / Functions
Slow Cooking
Rice Cooking
See all answers
Jinxy

JinxySydney, NSW

  • 2 reviews
  • 1 like

Joke of an appliance.

published

Pro:
- Device appears well built.
- love the buttons and audio.
- steam tray is great.

Cons:
- Steam escapes under lid rim.
- Because of this it undercooks everything.

Solution:
If the heating bowl had a more aggressive or flatter lip, the steam would be forced through the opening in the lid (like every under $50 rice cooker)

Purchased in July 2019 at Bing Lee Physical store for $110.00.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Value for Money
Features / Functions
Slow Cooking
Steaming
Pressure Cooking
Sautéing
Rice Cooking
See all answers
Mee

MeeTasmania

Perfect Rice Cooker

published

Bought this product to cook better rice, i used Basmati rice and found it cooked really nice, did not stick to bottom like the cheap rice cookers. very happy and cant wait to try new recipies

Purchased in June 2019 at Harvey Norman for $109.00.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Value for Money
Features / Functions
Rice Cooking
See all answers
Shelli

ShelliGreater Melbourne (Inner), VIC

  • 3 reviews
  • 1 like
  • Verified purchase

Poor quality product - new and replacement broke!

published

The first one broke in under one year and occasionally, the rice did not cook thoroughly and you have to press it again. The second one also lasted about a year and started malfunctioning also. I didn't use it every day - maybe about once or twice a week. Really off-putting how poorly made this is and would probably stay away from all Breville products going forward now.

Purchased in November 2016 for $140.00.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Value for Money
Features / Functions
Slow Cooking
Steaming
Rice Cooking
See all answers

Three repeat failures after about 12 months each.

published

Have had three of this model, each failing after about 12 months where cooker turns on but will not heat. I've had two replaced under warranty but last time the message was "next time" it won't be covered. I guess from the warranty claims and comments here they must know there is a design fault (or obsolescence feature)

Purchased in November 2015.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Slow Cookers

Find out how Breville Multi Chef BRC600 compares to other Slow Cookers

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
faerydoc

faerydocGreater Melbourne (Metropolitan), VIC

  • 6 reviews
  • 2 likes

Very disappointed

published

Great little unit that worked really well... However, I have had it for about 2 years, only using it a handful of times (I only use it as a slow cooker). And it's just stopped working. No power appears to be getting through. Pretty upset. Would not recommend.

Purchased in September 2016 for $89.00.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Value for Money
Features / Functions
Slow Cooking
See all answers
Vinnie

Vinnie

  • 2 reviews
  • 1 like
  • Verified purchase

Not worth it!

published
Date PurchasedFeb 2018

Another failure

published

Was a Christmas gift 2017, now 13 months old. Heat plate stopped working. May have used 10 times.

Slow cooker worked well. Never cooked rice fluffy. Often under cooked the rice and burnt/stuck to the bottom

Purchased in December 2017.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Value for Money
Features / Functions
Slow Cooking
Steaming
Sautéing
Rice Cooking
See all answers
Anonymous

AnonymousMelbourne

Really like the multifunctions however there seems to be a fault with this model

published

I really like the multiple functions on this model so I don't have to buy extra appliances. I am onto my second BRC600 and both times the same problem has occurred where the unit no longer heats up. Both are outside the warranty period so unfortunately I can't get it replaced. Disappointed that it seems to be a common fault.

Date PurchasedJan 2016

Like others, it worked great then one day it just stopped working.

published

Like many others here, I had the multi chef for about 11 months then one day the hot plate just stopped heating up. Luckily it was under warranty so I got another one. Again it's now been about 10-11 months and it again has stopped working. This time not under warranty. Do not buy this product. I'm so mad about how terrible it is for such an expensive product.

Date PurchasedJan 2018

Bad buy

published

Mine didn't last 16 month same problem coating came off and it started constantly turning off before the meal or rice was cooked..Not Handy if you turn is on and walk away to find out at dinner your meal is raw... 1 month later it stopped completely what a waste of money... Breville never again!!!

Date PurchasedApr 2017
Slow Cookers

Find out how Breville Multi Chef BRC600 compares to other Slow Cookers

Know better, choose better.

Compare all

Cuts out mid meal

published

We use our cooker roughly twice a week, mostly on the rice function and occasionally the slow cooker. It was great, easy to clean and the 2 touch function is so handy. 2 years later, the coating is coming off the bowl (it has only ever had the spoon provided to scoop out the rice) and it stops working before the rice is cooked.
We still had the receipt so we called Breville and they were so helpful and did a good deal on a replacement purchase

Date PurchasedMar 2016
Bianca

BiancaHervey Bay

  • Verified purchase

Just stopped working

published

Bought this multicooker 3 years ago but only used it at the most for 12 times over the 3 years.
Had a big dinner planned for visitors..put it on and NOTHING, timing couldn't be worse.
Had to go to the shop quickly to buy another slow cooker to get planned dinner organised .
Soooo DISAPPOINTED and angry for such an expensive item.

Date PurchasedJun 2015
bzerk86

bzerk86Metropolitan Adelaide, SA

  • 35 reviews
  • 1 like
  • Verified purchase

Jack of all trades, master of all!

published

We have been very happy with this purchase. It's excellent for small slow cooked meals, risotto and rice.

With this machine you really can make "no-stir" risotto. It comes out perfectly cooked.

When we use it as a rice cooker, it works better than any I have used before, there are no hard "crusty" bits at the bottom.

We unfortunately had to buy a replacement lid. We dropped it, the glass didn't break, but the knob did. $30 odd for a new lid, including postage was fair.

I would buy this Multi Chef again.

Date PurchasedJul 2017
Natalie

NatalieMelbourne

  • 2 reviews
  • 4 likes
  • Verified purchase

Absolutely do not buy the Multi Chef. Breville- pick up your game- it’s pathetic.

published

I came across the reviews of this machine 6mths ago and was having a quiet snigger to myself as my machine was still working.
However my tune has changed and I am not sniggering now- as mine has gone and shat itself. First there was an electrical smell - and now nothing. Just cold water and a cup full of uncooked brown rice.
Breville Daring, you have to sort your crap out. Take the time to read all the negative comments below about this slow cooker. They are appalling.
This Breville Slow Cooker is a waste of money and it’s a blight on our precious environment- with yet another one going to landfill.

I will be looking to another brand to replace this one.

Date PurchasedApr 2014
Vik

VikMelbourne

Worked well until it didnt

published

Like other users, it suddenly stopped being able to boil water and flat out failed. Disappointed that such an expensive product would fail this way. Other than that, I got alot of good use out of it. It is a shame breville hasn't updated the design or recalled it despite all these failures.

Date PurchasedMay 2016
Page 1 of 6

Questions & Answers

Nigel M.

Nigel M.asked

I just bought a new Breville Multi Chef BRC 600 from Domayne Two days ago . looks good. I have had a Breville Rice cooker before with a steam function . So thinking this New one would be a little better with stainless steel steam tray . But after one use i am so disappointed with it , it steams up ok , but the steam and all the Moisture comes out side of the lid and Runs down all over the side on to the Control Buttons ,, do you have any suggestions how to stop this occurring , i thought i had to much water in the tray but not as its was only 30 mm depth of water in the bowl . i was cooking cut up Potatoes , i hope you can have some ideas to fix the problem , or just go back to my old Breville rice cooker Cheers Nigel

1 answer
unhappy customer
unhappy customer

We are using the old one as well, (plain old rice cooking) and its still going strong. The Multi Chef BRC600 we only did risottos and rice - didnt tend to overflow but it still died on us after very little use,. Good luck...

June

Juneasked

Instructions say to add liquid between min. and max indicator on bowl for slow cooking. Can you cook a pot roast for example using just a small amount of liquid so that the roast is not stewing?

1 answer
Natalie
Natalie

Hi May, I am not the Breville expert. I would suggest you contact Breville rather than me.

sarah

sarahasked

I am on to my 2nd multi chef and do love them but about to get my 3rd it seems as the same fault seems to happen....after a period of time (about the time of the warranty) it will turn on and light up and make beeps when i press the buttons, but not heat up! (i see this described above also). Is this a common fault? why is this continuing to happen?

No answers

Get an answer from our members and Breville representatives

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.