3 photos
Breville Original '74 BSG1974

Breville Original '74 BSG1974

MPNs: 2230 and BSG1974
3.4 from 28 reviews · View Statistics

Reviews

Previous
Next

Reviewer Photos & Videos

  • Thumbnail

Awful. Doesn't fit any standard bread.

published

The plates are way to big to fit ANY standard sliced bread sold in NZ supermarkets, so it never clamps all of the edges closed, and all of the filling leaks out. The manual says it fits standard sized bread.
The plates are about 1-2cm bigger than they need to be, much bigger than the older models it's based off.

Very disappointed! This cost more that double any competitors standard model, and it's pretty much useless.

  • Thumbnail

Purchased in June 2020 for $119.00.

Incentivised ReviewNo
Jeremy
JeremyCanberra 2600, ACT
  • 13 reviews
  • 2 likes

Great golden jafflles

published

Breville the Original 74 Jaffle Maker Stainless Steel BSG1974PSS is a sturdily built jaffle maker which is stylish. It's heavy and the inner non-stick coating is easy to clean with a damp cloth. The unit stays upright for easy storage in the cupboard.
Using think bread slices with enough filling to press and lock the jaffle maker always gives golden brown jafflles (butter on the out side of the bread slices makes it even better).
Product comes with the Breville assist plug.
It would have been great if there was a mechanism to wrap and hold the cord around the jaffle maker when kept in storage.
The recipe cards provided have some good ideas to try out as well.

Purchased in October 2019 at Myer Online Store.

Incentivised ReviewNo
Mitchell
MitchellHobart, TAS
  • 2 reviews

Soggy Sandwiches every-time

published

Purchased in February 2019 at Myer Online Store for $90.00.

Incentivised ReviewNo
Sandwich Presses

Find out how Breville Original '74 BSG1974 compares to other Sandwich Presses

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Delzey
DelzeyMelbourne
  • 6 reviews
  • 3 likes
  • Verified

Unbeatable Quality

published

This jaffle maker was expensive compared to the cheapies you can get your hands on but it is absolutely worth every cent. Mine is at least 6 years old and doesn't even have a scratch! I used to go through them frequently as my other half insisted on removing the bread with a knife. This one is still as new as the day we got it. Can't recommend it highly enough.

Purchased in May 2013 at Harvey Norman Retail Stores - Appliances for $99.00.

Incentivised ReviewNo
Rahul L.
Rahul L.Greater Melbourne (Inner), VIC
  • 3 reviews
  • Verified

Perfect Everytime

published

Bought this a year back, still works great. Calibrates output to not burn the bread but evenly toasts it. Saw some reviews about sandwich slice sizes being an issue for some people but no problems here. Maybe if you using smaller cheaper bread slices. Holds a lot of filling. Beautiful styling, all metal body.

Purchased in June 2018 at David Jones for $79.00.

Incentivised ReviewNo
Related Articles
Previous

The best kitchen appliances in 2020!

Whether you love or loath being in the kitchen, our community of reviewers have determined that out of almost 5,000 appliances on ProductReview.com.au, these are the best available!

Nathan S.
Nathan S.1 Nov 2019
the-best-kitchen-appliances-in-2020

Best Fridges and Dishwashers in 2020!

These large kitchen appliances are the backbone of your kitchen, meant to last you many years. The initial cost of a fridge or dishwasher is high, so to make sure you're not buying a lemon, here are the best fridges and best dishwashers of 2020. Our reviewers have provided detailed ratings for important factors to consider when choosing a refrigerator or dishwasher, such as Noise Level and Internal Layout.

Wendy Z.
Wendy Z.12 Nov 2019
best-fridges-and-dishwashers-in-2020
Next
Adele
AdeleMelbourne

5yrs old & not a scratch!

published

I was shocked to read any negative comments on this product. Before finding this jaffle iron my partner destroyed one every few weeks.
This one is at least 6 years old and still going strong. Not a mark on it and my partner is rough! It is large yet smaller bread still fits with no spillage, it heats within a minute or so. Cooks perfectly, crispy brown bread every time (still). I can only assume those who wrote negative reviews got a dud machine. Absolutely the best quality appliance in my kitchen. Would give this 10 stars if I could.

Date PurchasedMar 2013
Anna
Anna
  • 3 reviews
  • 3 likes

Poor product

published

This product is nowhere near as good as the original jaffle maker. It takes forever to toast the bread and it still comes out soggy and not crunchy. Also it's too small to fit regular sized bread slices. Wish I could get my money back. The cheese hardly melts either. Very poor product for what you pay.

Date PurchasedSept 2017
Ric
RicPerth, WA
  • 2 reviews

Poor Product

published

Purchased this product last winter.It can’t toast sandwiches.no matter how Long you leave the sandwich in the toaster it comes out soggy.Does not even BROWN THE BREAD.Have now purchase a sandwich toaster from BIG W for$19..Perfect every time. Its less than a third of the cost of a Breville.would not even consider another Breville.

Date PurchasedMay 2017
paul miller
paul millerSebastopol
  • 7 reviews
  • 6 likes
  • Verified

Wish I had not bought it !

published

Can't find bread big enough to go in it properly. Leaks out the sides a lot. VERY fiddly to clean with all the nooks and crannies you need to get into. Would not purchase again or give one as a present. More trouble than it is worth. I do not need pretty ridges on my waffle. And it is slow to cook. It takes ages to get a crisp crust on your jaffle. I will go and buy an old fashioned jaffle maker that you just put on the gas.

Date PurchasedJune 2016
Sandwich Presses

Find out how Breville Original '74 BSG1974 compares to other Sandwich Presses

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
WhingeForChange
WhingeForChangeGreater Melbourne (Outer), VIC
  • 12 reviews
  • 8 likes

70's bread must have been bigger

published

Did they even test this thing with Australian supermarket bread?? Cant find any bread big enough to seal the toastie, wonder what they used in testing? I really need a family 4 sandwich jaffle with deep inserts for more fillings. using a camp jaffle maker on a gas stove now works much better only one at a time.

Date PurchasedMay 2015
AnnieM
AnnieMSydney
  • 8 reviews
  • 4 likes

Does exactly what it is designed to do and it looks good

published

We bought this a few weeks ago and are happy with our purchase - we use it a few times a week and have had none of the problems other reviewers have had. It is true that it needs bigger bread (like wonder white) but I have used smaller bread and although the edges don’t seal we have had no issues with it leaking (but we don’t overfill it). We don’t use butter (not on the outside or inside) and we still get a golden finish with no sticking. Cleaning is pretty easy, let it cool a bit and wipe. The 3 year warranty (as long as you register) is also a bonus

Date PurchasedJan 2018
Bill
BillMelbourne
  • 43 reviews
  • 31 likes

Works ok, but the legs came off!

published

Looks great and works ok, but after 6 months the legs started getting loose and the fell off. Took it back to the good guys and it was hard to get it repaired. Would have been a good otherwise. Threw it out and replaced it with another Breville. Fingers crossed this time.

Date PurchasedMar 2016
Deano
DeanoPerth
  • 18 reviews
  • 12 likes

It Leaks No Matter What You Do

published
Date PurchasedSept 2017
Ja_Moo
Ja_Moo
  • 4 reviews
  • 4 likes

Great Jaffe maker + lots of recipe

published

Very Classy looking sandwish maker - easy to simply wipe clean after use, good size for any sort of bread, slightly burn and seal the edge properly. It comes with Breville 3 years warranty - Brilliant !!

It came with a box of recipe pocket / cards. Very interesting meal ideas. We tried to put croissant on it and it came out dense, crispy and brown, oh so nice. We have been using it every second day on breakfast for 1 months now. So much you can create with it.

Date PurchasedSept 2017
chylld1
chylld1Sydney, NSW
  • 35 reviews
  • 16 likes
  • Verified

So simple, great results, easy to clean, ACTUALLY CUTS

published

Amazing results out of such a simple machine, makes you wonder why other manufacturers never quite got it right. With standard supermarket bread the results look exactly like the pictures in the brochures. Plenty of interesting recipes included that we can't wait to try.

Power cord is maybe a bit short but that is a minor shortcoming in an otherwise brilliant product.

Date PurchasedJuly 2017
Sandwich Presses

Find out how Breville Original '74 BSG1974 compares to other Sandwich Presses

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Page 1 of 2

Questions & Answers

3lions
3lionsasked

Hi, just looking to buy this for my mum, she has bad arthritis in her hands. So I'm wondering does this actually cut the sandwich? Thankyou

2 answers
Delzey
Delzey

Depending on the type of bread you use, it can. Sometimes it doesn't cut right through but it's pretty close.

3lions
3lions

Thankyou so much for your answer. Cutting it through "pretty close" is good enough.
Thanks again :)
Christmas present for mum sorted :)

Claire
Claireasked

What brand of bread are people using in this machine? Regular sized bread leaves all sides unsealed and the filling goes everywhere. Breville states that it works for all sizes of bread and that is simply untrue.

4 answers
Shirec
Shirec

Standard wonder white bread worked fine when we use it mostly. Helgas slightly thicker bread turns out even better but both seal well around the edges. Spreading fresh parmesan on the outside of the bread after buttering it also creates an even better texture!

Claire
Claire

Thank you for your response. I am on a mission today to buy bread to fit, will try the Wonder white/Helgas and see how I go.

Nightmayor
Nightmayor

I have used all different types and size of bread. wonder white is one of the better ones, but you still get some leakage. I think it comes down to how much filling and positioning of the bread.

TheRegularGuy
TheRegularGuyasked

Are there any issues with the teflon on these like the reports on the 'Breville Original'?

3 answers
Tania
Tania

I have had no issues and I have used it a lot.
Non-stick coating has not peeled off. However, I am careful and I use a silicon spatula to remove the sandwich, i.e. I never use a metal knife, because it is teflon.

A9X
A9X

Hi no issues with mine just clean it after every use with paper towel and use it daily in winter and had it around a year. It still looks new inside and out cheers Peter

Cam G.
Cam G.

Mine lasted 4.5 years, then the coating started to come away

See all Breville Original '74 BSG1974 questions

Get an answer from our members and Breville representatives

Details

CategorySandwich Presses
Price (RRP) $99.95
Release dateAug 2012
ManualDownload manual
Visit official website
  • GTIN14: 09312432017565
  • MPN: 2230 and BSG1974
  • GTIN13: 9312432017565

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.