2 photos
Breville Big One BTS100

Breville Big One BTS100

MPN: BTS100
4.0 from 25 reviews · View Statistics

Reviews

Previous
Next

Reviewer Photos & Videos

  • Thumbnail
  • Thumbnail
LCC
LCC
  • 2 reviews
  • 1 like

Breville Big One BTS100 Big disaster

published

Have always been happy with Breville products so didn't do much checking when I purchased this sandwich toaster. Big mistake! Didn't even last two months! First couple of times it was used, no problem, delicious toastie and a breeze to clean, then noticed each subsequent use, it became more and more difficult to clean with what looked like little pieces of the coating coming off. Last use, cleaning was impossible, frustration was high and it ended up in the bin.

Purchased in June 2020 at The Good Guys for $40.00.

Incentivised ReviewNo
Alice
AliceSydney, NSW
  • 3 reviews
  • 1 like

Teflon came off and doesn't seal properly

published

I bought a Breville Big One in the hope that it would last as long as my previous Breville. I was mistaken. I had it for two years - and it didnt get much use. Maybe 15 times in last two years. The teflon came off onto the toast and it didn't seal or cut the bread overly well - there were always spillages with just single slice of cheese and ham. Was difficult to clean and a big disappointment. I wouldn't recommend this jaffle make - if I wanted something which would only last 15 uses I'd buy a cheap brand from Target or Kmart.

Purchased for $50.00.

Incentivised ReviewNo
Pumpy
PumpyCentral West, NSW
  • 28 reviews
  • 36 likes
  • Verified

Best of many

published

Purchased in July 2019 at Betta Home Living for $40.00.

Incentivised ReviewNo
Sandwich Presses

Find out how Breville Big One BTS100 compares to other Sandwich Presses

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Don Odgers
Don OdgersPerth, WA

Breville Original Sandwich Maker

published

This product makes terrific toasted sandwiches HOWEVER, the non stick coating peels off after a few months & you need to replace it. I have had three & found that the problem doesn't go away.

Purchased in June 2019 for $50.00.

Incentivised ReviewNo
Jeff
JeffSouth East Queensland, QLD
  • 4 reviews
  • 5 likes

Egg & Cheese Jaffles - the only one that works!

published

Bought one of these a few years ago, and it still work perfectly. By starting cold, and puting a slice of cheese and a raw egg on the bottom slice of bread. Then carefully put on other slice of bread, and close the machine. It will cook the egg in the time it takes to toast the bread. Great easy breakfast. This will not work with any other product because of the cutting blade.

Purchased at Harvey Norman.

Incentivised ReviewNo
Related Articles
Previous

The best kitchen appliances in 2020!

Whether you love or loath being in the kitchen, our community of reviewers have determined that out of almost 5,000 appliances on ProductReview.com.au, these are the best available!

Nathan S.
Nathan S.1 Nov 2019
the-best-kitchen-appliances-in-2020

Best Fridges and Dishwashers in 2020!

These large kitchen appliances are the backbone of your kitchen, meant to last you many years. The initial cost of a fridge or dishwasher is high, so to make sure you're not buying a lemon, here are the best fridges and best dishwashers of 2020. Our reviewers have provided detailed ratings for important factors to consider when choosing a refrigerator or dishwasher, such as Noise Level and Internal Layout.

Wendy Z.
Wendy Z.12 Nov 2019
best-fridges-and-dishwashers-in-2020
Next
Kasbrodar
KasbrodarSouth East Queensland, QLD
  • 6 reviews

Worst purchase

published

I have found this sandwich maker the worst I have ever used. When sandwich is put in it takes at least 15 minutes to do one side. Then has to be turned over for other side. The result is a soggy sandwich that one would need to be literally starving to eat. I plug the machine into the wall and wait for the light to say it is ready. What am I doing wrong? Garbage bin is next.

Purchased in November 2019 at Woolworths for $49.00.

Incentivised ReviewNo
Jonathan R D
Jonathan R D
  • 2 reviews
  • 1 like

Terrible design

published

In Breville's effort to make toasties that hold more filling, the edges where the two pieces of bread compress and seal the toastie have been moved further from the centre, reducing the toasties' ability to contain the contents. This means that the contents inevitably spill and make for a messy eating experience. I hate this product

Purchased in June 2017.

Incentivised ReviewNo
Ange
AngeSydney, NSW
  • 4 reviews
  • 4 likes

Not "big" anymore.

published

Loved the size of this Jaffle maker.. However, went to wipe down the non-stick surface after cooking a Jaffle sandwich, noticed two spots on the coating, the size of a five cent piece, that had lifted off the coating.

Breville customer service weren't interested in providing a solution because I didn't have a receipt, instead flogged me off to the retailer.

Not satisfactory for an item which hasn't had much use.

  • Thumbnail
  • Thumbnail

Purchased in August 2015 at Peter's of Kensington for $60.00.

Incentivised ReviewNo
1 comment
Ange
Ange
Richard
RichardGreater Melbourne (Inner), VIC
  • 2 reviews

Works great

published

Pack in lots with big bread, tons of fillings and - 3 1/2 mins later - perfection!
Two jaffles...each of them one big pocket of goodness.

Small unit. I did manage to snap the plastic clip but in hindsight was rushing it.
But it still works!

Purchased in December 2018 at The Good Guys for $20.00.

Incentivised ReviewNo
Sandwich Presses

Find out how Breville Big One BTS100 compares to other Sandwich Presses

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Zoid1
Zoid1South East Queensland, QLD
  • 3 reviews
  • 1 like

Australia's Best Jaffle maker ,filling combinations Unlimited ! ! !

published

Far better choice than Breville's "the Original" BTS200 toasted sandwich maker, the Breville Big One BTS100 is overall the best of the few "True" electronic Jaffle [uncut toasted sandwich] makers available on the Australian market, perfectly cooks & seals so hot melted cheese and other runny fillings won't escape and burn you while eating [if you don't overload the fillings].
Use spray oil when cooking mini omelets ,eggs or pancake/waffle mixture,puff pastry pies & apple tarts etc, only use plastic, silicone & wooden utensils to remove cooked items so you don't scratch or damage the non-stick coating and this unit should last your family for many years if cleaned and treated properly. Enjoy . . .

Date PurchasedDec 2018
Caz
CazSydney
  • 10 reviews
  • 12 likes
  • Verified

Good Price and Works Perfectly

published

I chose this model because I didn't want one that cut diagonally so I could crack an egg in it like my previous Breville maker. This heats up very quickly, cooks very well and seals the edges. To avoid cleaning up the grease left by the butter and any melted cheese, I line the plates with foil then discard when used, this also stops any scratches to the teflon when using a knife to lift the sandwich out.
When cooking a sandwich that doesn't have much filling, I find turning the sandwich over at the half way cooking point gives an even browning to both sides of the bread as the bottom browns more than the top if not turned. It also stores well in the upright position taking up little room.

Date PurchasedNov 2018
pete6350
pete6350Wide Bay-Burnett, QLD
  • 3 reviews
  • 3 likes
  • Verified

Awesome

published

I had a Breville 4 jaffle maker for close on 6 years then it finally bit the dust so I did my usual research and found that Breville made a double jaffle maker with no cutting thingy in the middle so I bought it from JB Hi Fi for $35. After using it for the first time I realised that it was as good if not better than the old one I had. It's quick to heat up, cooks nice and evenly and takes a decent amount of filling. The apple jaffles with puff pastry cook very nice as well. I hope this one lasts as long as the old one.

Date PurchasedJune 2018
THe Bear
THe BearGlenwood
  • 33 reviews
  • 27 likes

oops!!! looks like we got a bad one!!

published

Initially we were very happy with this machine, had a large capacity and made great toasted sandwiches. After about 1 month of ownership we had just finished making a sandwich and had wiped out the inside non stick surface when we noticed that the machine had cracked along the edge. Have taken it back to the Good Guys and are awaiting a replacement, appears they are very popular and they were out of stock. Prepared to give it another go. Peter

Date PurchasedJune 2018
Pa.Man
Pa.ManAdelaide

Great Product

published

Can't say about longevity BUT this is an Awesome product. Heats up fast and toasts fast.
Best of all It uses bigger bread and doesn't cut them in half so you can get far more filling in it.
It is a dream to clean as well, a quick wipe over and your done.
Braised Steak and Onion Toasties, Love It.

Date PurchasedJune 2018
Oweez
OweezWellington, NZ
  • 5 reviews
  • 4 likes

Works for me!

published

Brilliant machine. Should've bought one sooner. I had an old sunbeam toastie maker given to me about 8 yrs ago. It was 35 yrs old. The non stick stated to come off and it overcooked everything. Darn well near busted my teeth eating the sides of the sandwich.
This one by Breville is superb. Doesnt crisp or make rock hard edges of your sandwich and is super fast to heat up.
It just sticks everything together nicely. Any bread can fit into this toastie maker. Tonight was pumpkin bread. Worked a treat. Cleaning is a breeze too. This is a real great way to get rid of the leftovers.
Very happy with this

Date PurchasedApr 2018
Sandwich Presses

Find out how Breville Big One BTS100 compares to other Sandwich Presses

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Page 1 of 2

Questions & Answers

Elle F
Elle Fasked

I have used my BTS 6 times and went to use it today and it won't open.
Clasp is moving but not disengaging.....Help ???

No answers
Leo
Leoasked

Does Breville (or any other Jaffle maker) make an electric Jaffle Iron made for 110V?
I bought one in Australia and can only use in Europe. DYING to be able to use one here.

Please advise
With many thanks,

Leo Frajnd

No answers
MEtre
MEtreasked

Can the BTS 100 be used in a commercial environment? approx usage 1 day per week.

1 answer
Barko67
Barko67

For the cost of it I would give it a go, just be aware that it will void the warranty.

See all Breville Big One BTS100 questions

Get an answer from our members and Breville representatives

Details

CategorySandwich Presses
Price (RRP) $59.95
Sandwich Capacity
Plate StyleTriangles
Non-Stick CoatingYes
Dimensions 110 x 280 x280 mm
Power1,000 W
Manufacturer Warranty1 year(s)
Colour / FinishSilver
Release dateOct 2011
ManualDownload manual
Visit official website
  • GTIN13: 9312432017664
  • MPN: BTS100

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.