??!
6 photos
Breville Smart Toast BTA825

Breville Smart Toast BTA825

MPNs: 36422889 and BTA825
3.5 from 46 reviews

Reviews

3.5

46 reviews
5
(18)
4
(9)
3
(4)
2
(6)
1
(9)
  • Build Quality
    3.9 (8)
  • Value for Money
    2.3 (8)
  • Cleaning & Maintenance
    2.9 (7)
  • Even Toasting Yes (4) · No (3)
Previous
Next

Never worked right and only a few months old and doesn’t work at all.

published

We toast regular bread slices. We tried all settings. Bread sometimes got stuck. Didn’t toast evenly. Now doesn’t work at all. This is the most money I ever spent on a toaster and the worst toaster I have ever owned.

Purchased at Bamboo Bed and Bath.

Even Toasting No
melee

melee

  • 5 reviews

Great looking toaster but ......

published

Purchased this in Jan 2019 and we have been pleased with it. Unfortunately, the element on one side of my toaster have stopped working altogether. We only use the toaster mainly on weekends, maybe that's why mine has lasted 15 months. Looking at the other reviews, the toaster doesn't appear to last beyond 18 months so the one year warranty is pretty useless. Disappointing that Breville hasn't come on line to address customers' issues. Sad that so many appliances don't last long these days nor can be fixed - what hope is there to reduce waste?

Purchased in January 2019 at Myer for A$149.00.

Build Quality
Cleaning & Maintenance
Value for Money
Even Toasting Yes
See all answers
fog

fogBrisbane

  • 2 reviews

very intermittent toaster !!

published

Have had mine about 2 years - one side drops out regularly - best keep them very keen - no crumbs inside or they jam up - toast ok - but I would not buy another one

Purchased in June 2017.

Build Quality
Cleaning & Maintenance
Value for Money
Even Toasting Yes
See all answers
Toasters

Find out how Breville Smart Toast BTA825 compares to other Toasters

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Charles

CharlesMelbourne

  • 23 reviews
  • 1 like

It's Toastin !

published

Purchased at Harvey Norman Retail Stores - Appliances.

Build Quality
Cleaning & Maintenance
Value for Money
Even Toasting Yes
See all answers
malcolm

malcolmGreater Melbourne (Metropolitan), VIC

  • 4 reviews

beware non repair

published

i have posted on this site about this product but have come up with this disappointing finding. a breville service repair centre have informed me that the smart toast BTA825 is non repairable and there are no replaceable parts available for this model. mine has a faulty toast/cancel button that has gradually bottomed out or worn out to the point of complete failure. it now looks certain that i have a pile of junk sitting on the bench top in my kitchen. very sad for a 159 dollar purchase after a couple of years use.

i would say not a smart toast........harvey norman should place a sticker on these toasters......non repairable!!

Purchased in July 2017 at Harvey Norman for A$159.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ex-Breville Customer

Ex-Breville CustomerGreater Melbourne (Metropolitan), VIC

No good. Looks great but too many issues

published

Purchased it 18 months ago. It started by flashing and not being able to pop up on its own without switching the power in and off. This happened a number of times. Now only one side toasts and the other goes up and down but doesnt heat/toast at all. Rubbish. Considering how expensive this toaster was $140. I expect more

Purchased in April 2019 at David Jones for A$140.00.

Build Quality
Cleaning & Maintenance
Value for Money
Even Toasting No
See all answers

Worst toaster ever bought.

published

Purchased first Smart Toast just after Christmas. After several months, stopped toasting. Was replaced and now after a similar time frame, one side doesn't heat up at all and the other, just barely. Our Kmart toaster bought years ago now dragged out of cupboard and works so much quicker.

Purchased in December 2018 at Myer for A$170.00.

Build Quality
Cleaning & Maintenance
Value for Money
Even Toasting No
See all answers
Irvin

IrvinMetropolitan Adelaide, SA

  • 5 reviews

Not quite perfect

published

Fairly big for a 2 standard slice toaster. Sceptical at first regarding the motorised toast lift ...it still works after 3 years ! Controls are simple and straight forward. Bread slots could be slightly longer to accomodate European style rye breads, without having to purchase the larger model that has a very long footprint, internal edges could of been rolled, so buckled toast doesn’t jam on lift , fairly even toasting coverage, first toast requires longer toasting time to subsequent toasting

mitchger

mitchgerSydney, NSW

  • 37 reviews

A+ for cool factor but not practical

published

Pretty cool and doesn't throw your toast up halfway to space but there are problems with it. Some items get stuck on the way up and it's very difficult to clear. Far too expensive.

Purchased in August 2016 at Harvey Norman for A$80.00.

Build Quality
Cleaning & Maintenance
Value for Money
Even Toasting Yes
See all answers
Toasters

Find out how Breville Smart Toast BTA825 compares to other Toasters

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Christopherozi

ChristopheroziSydney

  • 5 reviews
  • 2 likes

Works for me

published

Purchased in January 2017 at Harvey Norman for A$149.00.

Build Quality
Cleaning & Maintenance
Value for Money
tamo

tamoAU

  • 6 reviews
  • 3 likes

Tech Toaster

published

If you are after a toaster that has cool looking led lights and lowers the toast for you at a click of a button this is the one for you , has some great features like the bit more feature ( which toasts for 30 seconds extra if required ) and the main thing is that it makes great toast.

Date PurchasedDec 2018
Peter

PeterSouth East Queensland, QLD

  • 64 reviews

Surprisingly good

published
Date PurchasedSep 2018
JD17

JD17Kendenup

  • 9 reviews
  • 1 like

Better but not great

published
Date PurchasedSep 2018
RobP

RobPBrisbane

Lots of wizbangery but terrible at toasting

published
Date PurchasedSep 2018
Review Queen

Review QueenSydney

  • 19 reviews

Love this toaster.

published
Date PurchasedSep 2017
Toasters

Find out how Breville Smart Toast BTA825 compares to other Toasters

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Bel

BelAU

  • 9 reviews
  • 3 likes

needed replacing 3 months after purchase

published
Date PurchasedMay 2018
Sarahent

SarahentSydney

  • 2 reviews
  • 2 likes

This toaster has lost it's mind

published

This toaster was great for 12 months, but then it started behaving strangely. Several buttons would light up at once, and it developed a mind of its own. It would keep popping up for "a quick look" when we didn't want it to, or do "a bit more" unnecessarily so the toast burnt. We also had to press the "Toast" button several times to get it to do anything and now it doesn't work at all, so we've just thrown it away and bought a cheap, basic and very 'unsmart' toaster, which doesn't have a mind to lose.

Date PurchasedMar 2017
Maggie3029

Maggie3029Greater Melbourne (Outer), VIC

  • 47 reviews
  • 3 likes

Nothing special

published

Pretty expensive for what it is I think.

The “Fruit Bread” button is actually the crumpet button. So if you like your fruit bread only toasted on one side you’ll be happy. I like my bread fruit or otherwise to be toasted on both sides.

Basically it’s just a pretty ordinary toaster.

Date PurchasedDec 2017
1 comment
Maggie3029
Maggie3029
Paul Gioia

Paul GioiaGreater Melbourne (Metropolitan), VIC

  • 3 reviews
  • 1 like

Just received as replacement

published

The 2 slot should be a little longer to accommodate different length of bread slices, no just for your standard bread loaf, however, the toasting is very even and easy to control.
Easy to program and keep clean.
To early in the piece, to judge the reliability of this model.

Date PurchasedJan 2018
wyrmbait

wyrmbaitSouth East Queensland, QLD

  • 35 reviews

Disappointed with Toaster Had it 12 months

published

1st problem it toast gets caught in bars and it never comes out
2nd problem it bugs out all the time and wont complete ejection when toast gets caught and have to power off and back on again to get it to work again.

It does toast ok, but i know it will fail sooner or later.
I have been so disappointed with expensive toasters, last was sunbream that worked ok for a while then one side failed

Date PurchasedNov 2016
Page 1 of 3
See all Breville Smart Toast reviews

Questions & Answers

Michael F.

Michael F.asked

Smart Toast BTA825

Stetting at 3 but LCD displays full setting & toast is burned black. Warranty 5 months at 5 months.
Michael

1 answer
Geoff Costello
Geoff Costello

Shouldn't happen unless you have it accidently on the crumpet setting, which will do that on one side?

Michael F.

Michael F.asked

Smart Toast BTA825

Why is Call Center in Australia not working?

No answers
Fernie747

Fernie747asked

Smart Toast BTA825

Where is the serial # located on the Breville BTA825? I’ve checked the underside and there is general information but no serial number or batch number. Nothing on the box or instruction manual either. Thanks.

No answers

Get an answer from our members and Breville representatives

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.