??!
2 photos
Breville Smart Toast BTA830

Breville Smart Toast BTA830

MPN: BTA830
2.4 from 37 reviews

Reviews

2.4

37 reviews
5
(5)
4
(2)
3
(10)
2
(6)
1
(14)
  • Build Quality
    2.1 (11)
  • Value for Money
    2.0 (11)
  • Cleaning & Maintenance
    3.0 (11)
  • Even Toasting Yes (8) · No (3)
Previous
Next

Reviewer Photos & Videos

  • More
DunceNotDux

DunceNotDuxCanberra 2600, ACT

  • 2 reviews

Nice style, junk quality

published

Had this $169 toaster for just over 2 years, not used every day of the week but is now dead. Literally died in a flash, tripped the house safety switch and again when checking whether it still worked. Was a good unit while it worked, but clearly from our experience and other reviews there is a fundamental flaw with the quality of electrical components used and therefore a safety issue.

If we had bought a $9 Kmart or BigW toaster then just over 2 years occasional use would be fair, at almost 20 times the price it's unacceptable, particularly with no service parts available from the maker. In a house where we also have a Breville kettle, sandwich press, blender etc sadly we will not buy Breville again.

Avoid.

Purchased in January 2018 at JB Hifi Home for A$169.00.

Build Quality
Cleaning & Maintenance
Value for Money
Even Toasting Yes
See all answers
John

JohnGreater Melbourne (Inner), VIC

Very Poor Product - Stopped working after 12 months.... Unacceptable

published

Ive got alot of breville products, and sadly this one has ruined the brand for me, its lasted just over 12 months, so out of warranty... one side just stopped working....

Update - Seems Breville might reassess my units warranty cover as I got such short lifespan. I was told the units are on the whole good, but some fail early.... evidently i got a bad one. Hope they replace! This would certainly redeem my thoughts of the brand.

Purchased in December 2018 at eBay for A$120.00.

Build Quality
Cleaning & Maintenance
Value for Money
Even Toasting No
See all answers
Julia F.

Julia F.Greater Melbourne (Outer), VIC

Nice toaster but broken twice

published

Sadly our toasters keep breaking! Our first one stopped popping up and we're now on our second and one side has stopped working. Really disappointing because it's a nice toaster, looks great and toasts well but too many faults especially for the price. Luckily we got an extended warranty!

Purchased in May 2018 at JB Hi-Fi for A$179.00.

Build Quality
Cleaning & Maintenance
Value for Money
Even Toasting Yes
See all answers
Toasters

Find out how Breville Smart Toast BTA830 compares to other Toasters

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
thubleau2

thubleau2Hunter Region, NSW

  • 48 reviews
  • 1 like

Not So Creme de la Creme of Toasters

published
  • +6

Purchased in January 2020 at Bing Lee Physical store for A$146.00.

Build Quality
Cleaning & Maintenance
Value for Money
Even Toasting Yes
See all answers

Toasts well while it works

published

Whoever the Industrial Designer of this toaster was got the builtin obsolescence bang on. First one stopped toasting on one side after 23months. Replacement one had the same issue after 9months. It's not a cheap toaster so should be made with much better internal components and materials.

Purchased in February 2017 at Appliances Online for A$170.00.

Build Quality
Cleaning & Maintenance
Value for Money
Even Toasting Yes
See all answers
Richard A.

Richard A.Sunshine Coast Queensland

  • 3 reviews
  • 2 likes

Great design very poor manufacture

published
Tamika B.

Tamika B.Metropolitan Adelaide, SA

If you have this toaster - watch for fires.

published

Purchased in October 2018 at JB Hi-Fi for A$200.00.

Build Quality
Cleaning & Maintenance
Value for Money
Even Toasting Yes
See all answers
wey2go

wey2goGreater Melbourne (Metropolitan), VIC

Failed just after the 2 years warranty.

published

Works well while it is working. Just stopped working with all lights blinking while toasting some bread and will no longer work. This is just past the 2 years warranty. Really poor durability.

1 comment
wey2go
wey2go

Even though the crumbs does not look like clogging the mechanism, give the unit a few firm pats to dislodge any crumbs fixes this issue.

Cathy

Cathy

  • 2 reviews

Lasted less than 12 months

published

Purchased this product in August 2018 and had no issues until I went to use it yesterday. Pressed the button down and an almighty flash came from the appliance. Needless to say it doesn't work and after paying $169 not impressed. Now to do battle in getting a replacement???

Purchased in August 2018.

Toasters

Find out how Breville Smart Toast BTA830 compares to other Toasters

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Bel

BelAU

  • 9 reviews
  • 3 likes

2nd replacement in 13 months . Rubbish

published

Purchased in May 2018.

Build Quality
Cleaning & Maintenance
Value for Money
Even Toasting No
See all answers
deeson

deesonSouth East Queensland, QLD

  • 3 reviews

Great but unreliable

published

Purchased in October 2015 at JB Hi-Fi for A$169.00.

Build Quality
Cleaning & Maintenance
Value for Money
Even Toasting Yes
See all answers
BrettSh

BrettShGreater Melbourne (Outer), VIC

  • 6 reviews
  • 10 likes

Typical Breville, Can't Be Fixed

published

Purchased in October 2016.

Build Quality
Cleaning & Maintenance
Value for Money
Even Toasting No
See all answers
Sam

SamBrisbane

Dangerous

published

Today our 4th Breville toaster automatic caught fire, this the the second one of the same model and all together 4th in 7 years, they were all faulty and the last one today caught fire which could potentially burn our house, I rang Breville but they did not care. We bought the first same model from David Jones which stopped working after a couple of months, we returned it and got a refund, went to Good Guys as they offer an extended warranty and David Jones didn't, bought the second exact same model and this one worked for 6 months and caught fire today, not recommended at all as can burn down your house.

Date PurchasedJul 2018
Margie Mirage

Margie MirageSydney, NSW

  • 2 reviews
  • 1 like

A lemon

published

I bought this 4 slice toaster (also called The Smart Toast Long Slice https://www.breville.com/au/en/products/toasters/bta830.html) after using and admiring a 2 slice version at a holiday house. Sadly the long slice version is a lemon. It was burning toast and acting up after a week of purchase--David Jones/Breville replaced it but the replacement broke within the year (flashing lights, burning smells etc.) It seems others have had similar experiences. (This review was originally incorrectly applied to the bit more toaster-I've deleted that review and posted here instead.) Disappointed and need a new toaster.

Date PurchasedOct 2017
Mejico

MejicoCarrum Downs

  • 4 reviews
  • 2 likes

Great toaster when it works

published

Purchased in June 2018 at Myer Online Store for A$149.00.

Build Quality
Cleaning & Maintenance
Value for Money
Even Toasting Yes
See all answers
Toasters

Find out how Breville Smart Toast BTA830 compares to other Toasters

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Biska

BiskaSouth-Eastern Region, NSW

  • 6 reviews
  • 1 like

Bulky for no good reason.

published

This product is OK. Honestly for its price i dont think its worth it. There are more sleek toasters out there that take less space in the kitchen and preform the same task. There is nothing special that stands out to me with this toaster. Although i have had no technical issues with it. I would not recommend. Thanks.

Date PurchasedApr 2018
Ben K

Ben KAU

  • 8 reviews

Almost perfect but bad Quality control :( and bad warranty support

published

GOOD:
Nice wide slots, can take long bread pieces or two bread pieces per slot.
When it worked properly it toasted bread evenly and brown much better than cheaper toasters.

BAD:
Constant humming when plugged in and not being used, then started buzzing when in use.
After 2 months it started burning the edge of the toast towards the middle of the toaster, returning to place of purchase for an exchange.

Breville warranty support are useless and no help.

Date PurchasedFeb 2018
Lyndee

LyndeeMelbourne

  • 12 reviews
  • 12 likes

Great so far.

published

I have had this toaster for about a month now and it has been great. Toast evenly on both sides, fruit setting works well, lift and look is an advantage, and 'little bit more' very handy. Only query is that for lightly browned toast it is set on 2, can't imagine when you would use setting 5 unless you want charcoal!
You can tell from the weight of the toaster that it is made from quality materials.
Very happy so far.

Date PurchasedJan 2018
Mark

Mark

  • 6 reviews
  • 1 like

Best toaster we've ever had - when it works.

published

Purchased for A$150.00.

Build Quality
Cleaning & Maintenance
Value for Money
Even Toasting Yes
See all answers
Luforge

LuforgeMetropolitan Adelaide, SA

  • 31 reviews

Love the design and functions

published

This toaster has all the electric bells and whistles that you would need to get a good toasting that you desire.
It has 2 large toast chutes that's great for muffins and crumpets and LED indicators to let you know when your toast is done with a little beep.

+ Great design-Robust externals and internals
- Lift and look button too slow-Brown bread does take longer to toast on MAX led.

Date PurchasedOct 2017
Page 1 of 2
See all Breville Smart Toast reviews

Questions & Answers

Mrspinster

Mrspinsterasked

Smart Toast BTA830

Our new toaster BTA830BSS toats the bread very dark even on the lowest setting. Can the scale be adjusted? Any other suggestions? (I can't even imagine what you would use the number 5 for!!)

1 answer
thubleau2
thubleau2

once again why don't you return it ?

My birthday night

My birthday nightasked

Smart Toast BTA830

BTA830 is flashing red lights and goes through a cycle of lowering down, elements come on and then raising up again 2times beforrr flashing lights commences. Have tried shaking out to remove obstructions- no luck! Any ideas?
David

1 answer
thubleau2
thubleau2

send it back its on warranty

honeyaust

honeyaustasked

Smart Toast BTA830

I have the four slot toaster is it normal for the sides to get very hot ? very concerned can my ten year old use it

4 answers
Sarahent
Sarahent

I only had two slot toaster, but never noticed the sides getting hot. Maybe you should get it checked out.

PHM
PHM

Hi Honeyaust,
If your daughter was using our machine there would be no chance of her being burnt. Even on the highest settings the side walls were lukewarm and both front and back walls showed no increase in temperature. I would ask Breville about this. If she is using the toaster properly there will be no need for her to touch the sides at all, but still, the walls should not be hot.

Terry C
Terry C

I also have the 4 slice model & the sides barely get warm

Get an answer from our members and Breville representatives

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.