??!
2 photos
Breville Original BTS200 / BTS400

Breville Original BTS200 / BTS400

BTS200 (2 Slice) and BTS400 (4 Slice)
2.4 from 39 reviews

Reviews

Review distribution

5 star
8
4 star
4
3 star
2
2 star
5
1 star
20

Zoid1

Zoid1

  • 3 reviews
  • 1 like

Deeper casting design for more fillings = Australia's best buy

published

Perfect results everytime for all your family's,quick & easy toasted sandwich treats , just use plastic, silicone or wooden utensils to remove cooked sandwich, never use metal utensils because they will scratch and remove the non-stick coating, i use my BTS200 mostly for all mushy and runny fillings eg [backedbeans/cheese,spaghetti/cheese,macaroni-pasta,savory mince,mashed potato etc ] because it seals all edges and cuts in half for easier & safer food handling [kids - elderly etc] , plus i use the Breville "BIG ONE" BTS100 Jaffle maker for most other fillings to create perfect super thick heavy "uncut" toasted sandwiches [Jaffles] when a greater variety of different fillings are required.

Date PurchasedDec 2018

Pennylou

PennylouMelbourne

  • 25 reviews
  • 12 likes

Simply the best

published

Better than any other toastie maker I've ever used. Toasts, cuts, melts, cooks, no sogginess. It's quick. It's perfect. I had the same machine for 6 years. I used it so much I needed another. Will never use any other toastie maker. I will always recommend the original and the best.

Date PurchasedSep 2018
Tail of Floof

Tail of FloofAdelaide

  • 3 reviews
  • 4 likes

Failure of Teflon non-stick surface.

published

Purchased in April 2019.

Ecostar

EcostarSydney, NSW

  • 9 reviews
  • 5 likes

Absolute rubbish

published

I received this as a Christmas gift so I don't have a receipt, but the unit hasn't been used a lot and the sandwiches stick to the so called non stick coating. Today I noticed the non stick coating is flaking off and due to the health hazards of ingesting Teflon, I have decided to stop using it.

Breville should be ashamed for producing such rubbish - didn't even last 1 year. This pile of garbage if going to the tip and as someone who has always purchased Breville, from kettles to toasters and even a waffle maker, I will never buy or recommend breville again!

Date PurchasedDec 2017

EMMR

EMMRPERTH

  • 3 reviews
  • 2 likes

Love this

published

We use this all the time, it makes decent size sandwiches and you can fit so many fillings inside, it also accommodates the larger slices of bread which are a must for toasties. My only complaint would be that they don’t make one that could make 4 sandwiches at a time.

Date PurchasedJul 2018

Ron

Ron

  • 2 reviews
  • 1 like

Not much chop but Possible redemption

published

Sticks, like everyone else seems to be having trouble with. My wife was going to bin it, but my son came up with a solution that seems to work pretty well. Cut your bread diagonally, put your triangles in and make 4 mini sandwiches. OK, sometimes it still leaks and I have to clean it, but it sure beats the results that occur when I use whole slices.

Date PurchasedApr 2017

A_B

A_BSydney

  • 4 reviews
  • 2 likes

Bad non-stick and handle cracked

published

Seemed kind of ok at first. Heats up quick. Generally it seemed to seal my sandwiches ok.
After a while the non-stick started wearing off and sandwiches often stick badly.
Now the handle has fully cracked on one side when trying to close it. Looking at others, they have a full metal handle whereas this appears to be plastic.

Date PurchasedJan 2014

SHAZ

SHAZyeronga

  • 3 reviews
  • 2 likes

has become a must-have, used non- stop

published

This lightweight, compact product is good as it provides new meal ideas quickly. It is easy to use and has been used over and over again. However, the toastie is sometimes not sealed properly, and the filling comes out or the toast edges just flaps open. Also, sometimes the toast does not brown very well leaving buttery slices.

Date PurchasedDec 2017
VEA

VEAGosford

  • 2 reviews
  • 1 like

Save your money

published

Although my Breville worked well for a while, it now is going into the bin as we are sick of getting ‘stuck, mushed up’ sandwiches. Like a lot of previous reviewers, I bought it from remembering the one we had years ago. Nothing like it, I’m afraid. I also see that a lot of the reviews are from 2015-16. Well, they obviously have still not solved the problems and, I might add, they have now gone up $10 in price!

Date PurchasedOct 2016

The worst product...Absolute rubbish

published

I love toasties so thought would try out this product, so very disappointed, the bread does not seal, cheese and whatever else is in the sandwich is leaked out all over the toastie, when you open it there is just mush everywhere, the bread gets ripped to bits, I've only used it a few times, it is now just a useless piece of junk taking up space in my cupboard only because I can't bring myself to throw $40 in the trash!!!! Can't find my receipt so I don't think Big W will even give me a refund, Breville I need answers

Date PurchasedDec 2016

Emily

EmilyGreater Melbourne (Inner), VIC

  • 10 reviews
  • 8 likes

Makes a great toastie!

published

I haven't had a Jaffle maker since I was a kid! This machine seals the bread perfectly - makes 4 1/2 sandwiches at one time, easy to clean and toasts quickly. Pretty cheap unit to make cheap and tasty meals. Perfect for movie night. Not a very big unit either, so stores easily in the cupboard. Im really happy with it!

Date PurchasedSep 2017

jagdish

jagdishSydney, NSW

  • 3 reviews
  • 2 likes

Very good and works well

published

This sandwich maker is very handy for me and my family. My kids are very happy with this product as they can easily use it and it makes very crispy and delicious sandwiches for all of us. I am very happy with this and I am hoping it will work for us longer.

Date PurchasedApr 2017

Disappointing - complete product failure

published

I have had my Breville Original for around six months - purchased as a Christmas gift. Even with very careful care and only using sponges for cleaning, a significant portion of the non-stick coating has come off. This renders the entire appliance useless, as it now rips sandwiches in half when you remove them from the mould.

After googling and searching the Breville website, I can find no mention of warranty, so I assume that my $100 has been wasted, and my husband's six month old gift is now destined for the trash. I would not buy this product again, and definitely warn other consumers not to purchase it.

Date PurchasedDec 2016

Barb

BarbMelbourne

  • 2 reviews

Horrible - don't buy this !!!

published

I purchased the BTS 200 yesterday at Harvey Norman. What a massive disappointment. I used today the first time - following the instructions provided - but unfortunately when i opened it after 3 minutes the sandwich slices hadn't been sealed and as a result the cheese had leaked and is now solidly baked onto the - so called - non-stick surface. There is no way that i can get the stuck bread and cheese off without scratching the surface. If Harvey Norman doesn't provide us with a refund then the only choice I have is to throw it in the bin.
Very disappointed with Breville and will definitely not buy anything from this brand again.

Date PurchasedJun 2017

junk

published

my breville toastie maker has the same issue as mentioned by others.the non stick coming off sandwiches stick and crumble and you need to dig the mess out with a spatula used to have one of these years ago and it was great this newer one is junk. dont buy it. mines 6 months old and its gone in the bin.better off buying a $10 one from kmart

Date PurchasedSep 2016
Frank Cutuli

Frank CutuliLynbrook

  • 4 reviews
  • 1 like

Poor surface

published

The surface is coming off and sandwich is sticking and tearing.
Really disappointing that Breville invented this product and hold a world wide patent on the cutting action of the toaster.
And it appears this is a common problem, I would think that under state laws in Victoria Australia this product is not fit for the purpose it was sold !
I think you should contact me Breville Australia.......

Date PurchasedJun 2016

Tanya

TanyaPerth

Definately nothing like the "Original" - The product is rubbish and a waste of money

published
Date PurchasedAug 2015
3 comments
Breville
BrevilleBreville

Hi Tanya - your comments will be forwarded to customer service and the design team for feedback. Thanks, the Breville team

Tanya
Tanya
Tanya
Tanya

No Breville reply...It seems although Breville have been alerted over and over as to the reoccurring deficiencies of this product and health hazards, they will not do anything about it. DON"T BUY IT AND CONSIDER IF THIS BRAND IS FOR YOU!


Dreadful.

published

Dreadful. Don't buy it. Wish I'd read about it before purchase. EVERYTHING sticks. Your sandwich WILL fall apart, and all the bread will stick everywhere. Your sandwich will look like paella.. It just will. I felt great nostalgia purchasing this maker, taking me back to a childhood of toasties. I tried. I really did but it's GOING IN THE BIN. Just. Don't. Buy. It.

Date PurchasedFeb 2015
3 comments
Breville
BrevilleBreville

Hi Selina - we'd like to discuss your issues in more detail. Can you please email your contact details to askus@breville.com.au - include your profile name in the subject line - and customer service will be intouch. Thanks, the Breville team

Selina
Selina

So... Breville were very quick to communicate with me, and have been extremely helpful. They are hoping to resolve my issue. I certainly appreciate the actions of a company, who are willing to assist so quickly.

Selina
Selina

Breboo

BrebooPerth, WA

  • 4 reviews
  • 5 likes

Do not purchase.

published

Terrible after only a few uses food sticks and sandwiches fall apart, awful trying to clean up the mess. Will be returned if I can the receipt. Terrible after only a few uses food sticks and sandwiches fall apart, awful trying to clean up the mess. Will be returned if I can the receipt. Do not purchase waste of money.

Date PurchasedMay 2016
2 comments
Breville
BrevilleBreville

Hi Breboo - please contact 1300139798 if you are unable to find receipt as customer service may be able to assist with return. Thanks, the Breville team

Breboo
Breboo

Thank you, but have located receipt.


Nicholas

NicholasGreater Melbourne (Inner), VIC

  • 5 reviews
  • 6 likes

Flakey Teflon

published

It's a shame the Teflon coating in these sandwich makers are so poorly done, Breville must be aware of the problem but fails to address it. I say this because I replaced my original after the Teflon came off and the replacement did exactly the same thing. It's a health danger to the public that Breville hasn't fixed and they should be accountable for this.

Date PurchasedMar 2013
2 comments
Breville
BrevilleBreville

Hi Nicholas - your message will be forwarded to customer service to note. Thanks, the Breville team

Nicholas
Nicholas

I think forwarding an email to customer service is a pretty underwhelming response. I’ve never been contacted by Breville regarding this known health risk.


Page 1 of 2

Questions & Answers

SLJ

SLJasked

why does Breville BTS100SIL Big One Sandwich Maker non stick surface peel off? The coating is said to be harmful This is the second Breville Sandwich Maker that has done this. Makes great sandwiches but as I have grandchildren I am loath to use the machine?

1 answer
SHAZ
SHAZ

I don't know about the BTS100SIL my product the BTS200SIL has not had a peeling of the non-stick coating, and I have had the sandwich maker since December 7, 2017. Looks like your product the BTS100SIL is faulty.


silvio.iannace.9

silvio.iannace.9asked

Original BTS400 (4 Slice)

Can you please advise me if there is a retailer holding the BTS400model in Adelaide as i have only been able to find the BTS200?

2 answers
Adam Knight
Adam Knight

Hi Silvio,

I'm not sure. I purchased mine at Myer so I would guess that they should have the model or at least be able to order one in for you? Failing that, try David Jones or The Good Guys.

Cheers
Adam

Breville
Sharon L.Breville

Hi Silvio
According to our distribution records - it appears that Betta and Harvey Norman stores stock this 4 slice jaffle maker
Cheers
The Breville Team


Burnie73

Burnie73asked

Original BTS200 (2 Slice)

Where can I purchase bread that fits??? 12.5 x 12.5.
Very disapointed

4 answers
Adam Knight
Adam Knight

Hi Burnie,

I agree that some mainstream bread doesn't fit. I have found that usually some sandwich loaves get compressed in transport or storage and you can't really stretch bread out.

I have found that if I buy the toast loaf that it generally fits as it doesn't get squashed as easily. However usually I just buy bread from my local baker. Also the Woolworths bread that they bake in store, usually around $2 a loaf, fits it really well.

Hope this helps.

Cheers
Adam

Burnie73
Burnie73

Many thanks Adam, I really didn't expect a reply! I will go have a look and hope to find something that fits. But I can't recall seeing bread this big 12 X 12 cm, that is a big loaf.
Cheers
Burnie

Burnie73
Burnie73

Now that I have found the correct bread size at Woolworths (home brand) thanks to Adam.
I am now very happy with the Breville Original BTS200, turns out beautiful toasties every time with only minor clean up. I start from cold, make sandwich close the press and turn on when I am ready...usually by the time I have made my coffee those yummy hot golden toasties are ready my favourite being cheese & bacon.
Well done Breville priced at $38 @ BW its a bargain.
Burnie


Get an answer from our members and Breville representatives

Details

Breville Original BTS400 (4 Slice)
  • Discontinued

Breville Original BTS400 (4 Slice)

3 reviews
Breville Original BTS200 (2 Slice)

Breville Original BTS200 (2 Slice)

32 reviews
CategorySandwich MakersSandwich Makers
Price (RRP) $79.95$49.95
Release dateAug 2011

Visit official website - Download manual

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.