2 photos
Breville Original BTS200 / BTS400

Breville Original BTS200 / BTS400

BTS200 (2 Slice), BTS400 (4 Slice)
2.0 from 58 reviews · View Statistics

Reviews

  • Value for Money
    1.0 (2)
  • Build Quality
    1.0 (2)
  • Ease of Use
    1.0 (2)
  • Cleaning & Maintenance
    1.0 (2)
  • Even Heat DistributionYes (1) · No (1)
  • Non-Stick Longevity
  • Non-Stick Quality
    2.0 (2)
Previous
Next

Reviewer Photos & Videos

  • Thumbnail
  • Thumbnail
  • Thumbnail
  • More
    Thumbnail
Dee
DeeNortheast, VIC

Old one was much better

published

Sandwiches stick to it, doesn't cut properly and doesn't cook the top sandwich properly before the bottom one burns. My old sandwich maker did a better job. Haven't used it much because not satisfied with it

Purchased in May 2020 at Betta Home Living for $50.00.

Value for Money
Build Quality
Grandma M
Grandma MNowra
  • 8 reviews
  • 9 likes

Terrible!

published

Purchased in January 2021.

Value for Money
Build Quality
BeeDee
BeeDeeBrisbane
  • 14 reviews
  • 23 likes

Terrible ... Useless

published

Purchased in February 2021.

Incentivised ReviewNo
Sandwich Presses

Find out how Breville Original BTS200 / BTS400 compares to other Sandwich Presses

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Glenda
Glendasydney
  • 14 reviews
  • 10 likes

Worse than useless -5stars

published

I've finally decided to do what I should have done months ago and chuck this useless appliance in the bin where it belongs. I cannot believe a renown company like Breville would market such a unusable product without fully testing it. Non stick, what a joke, just try using one.

Incentivised ReviewNo
Wendy
WendySydney, NSW

Non stick is not non stick

published

This sandwich maker is terrible. It sticks to the sandwich across the diagonal lines and the sandwich falls to bit when you try to get it out of the toaster. Takes too long to clean sandwich filling off the toaster. My brother-in-law has a much better non stick one bought from Aldi. Do not purchase this product.

Purchased in August 2018 at The Good Guys for $41.00.

Incentivised ReviewNo
Related Articles
Previous

The best kitchen appliances in 2020!

Whether you love or loath being in the kitchen, our community of reviewers have determined that out of almost 5,000 appliances on ProductReview.com.au, these are the best available!

Nathan S.
Nathan S.1 Nov 2019
the-best-kitchen-appliances-in-2020

Best Fridges and Dishwashers in 2020!

These large kitchen appliances are the backbone of your kitchen, meant to last you many years. The initial cost of a fridge or dishwasher is high, so to make sure you're not buying a lemon, here are the best fridges and best dishwashers of 2020. Our reviewers have provided detailed ratings for important factors to consider when choosing a refrigerator or dishwasher, such as Noise Level and Internal Layout.

Wendy Z.
Wendy Z.12 Nov 2019
best-fridges-and-dishwashers-in-2020
Next
Mark micro
Mark microGreater Melbourne (Metropolitan), VIC
  • 2 reviews

Complete and utter rubbish

published

Bread sticks after first use. Non stick is an out right lie. Waste of food and money.
Crumbly dry in edible mess is what you end up with.
Breville used to provide quality products. Oh how things have changed. Obviously zero quality control, zero care factor and
false advertising. The product does not perform as promised. Very dissatisfied and disappointed.
Shame on you Breville. Over the years you have lost your sole and good reputation.
I will never purchase another Breville product again.

Purchased in October 2020 at Woolworths Physical store for $49.00.

Incentivised ReviewNo
Frank
FrankGreater Melbourne (Metropolitan), VIC

Non-stick is now a term that is apparently open to interpretation

published

The non-stick coating lasted approximately three uses! This device has become a non-viable food preparation option. The bread bonds so securely to the diagonal cutter that the sandwich is pulled apart when you open the wretched device. We've tried butter, olive oil (but not spray!), margarine etc. before use to mitigate the adhesiveness of the food materials to the surface but to no avail. Making a toastie now involves an unjustifiable investment of time due to the industrial cleaning process needed after each use. It is so new that the dodgy plastic clip at the front hasn't had a chance to snap. Non-stick???....Extra-stick I say. Sadly we can only recommend this product to people we don't like.

  • Thumbnail
  • Thumbnail

Purchased in May 2020 at Woolworths for $50.00.

Incentivised ReviewNo
Robert
Robert
  • 4 reviews
  • 2 likes

"You have one job"

published

Picture tells the story. Everytime. Coated in butter or not. The toast becomes stuck and very hard to get off. Absolute crap. The good old days are no more when it comes to quality.

  • Thumbnail
  • Thumbnail

Purchased in August 2019.

Incentivised ReviewNo

Great at first.....

published

As per other reviewers, we’d previously owned a Breville sandwich press for YEARS. It finally gave up so went with Breville again. Was terrific......at first. But within a couple of months the sandwiches are now sticking and you can’t remove them without ruining the sandwich. Not only that, but it sticks to the top plate causing the contents of the sandwich to leak out as you try to (unsuccessfully) peel the sandwich away from the plate. I can no longer get the plates clean between meals. To say I’m disappointed is an understatement. It’s clearly an issue that needs to be addressed. Feeling a bit lost as to what to buy now!

Purchased in December 2019 at Big W for $49.00.

Incentivised ReviewNo
Sandwich Presses

Find out how Breville Original BTS200 / BTS400 compares to other Sandwich Presses

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Dale E.
Dale E.Western District, VIC
  • 2 reviews
  • 1 like

Non stick crap

published

First couple of times it was perfect, then sandwich's started to stick to top cutting edges. On checking non stick surface was pitting and coming away from cutting blades. Persisted for a couple of months but have now thrown it in the bin, as I cannot remove sandwich without pulling it to pieces.

Purchased in February 2020 at The Good Guys for $40.00.

Incentivised ReviewNo
Anzio
AnzioAU
  • 4 reviews
  • 1 like

Non-stick coating doesn't stick

published

Scratches,even with careful use, will happen as the non-stick coating comes off. It seems my issue is the same as many customers. I purchased from jbhifi and within 6mths it was ready for recycling. I also grew up with a jaffle machine that lasted over 6 years. Breville, can you hear us? There is something fault y about your product.

Purchased in December 2018 at JB Hifi Home for $59.00.

Incentivised ReviewNo
MrsConway
MrsConwayGreater Melbourne (Inner), VIC
  • 2 reviews

Hasn't lasted a year and is unusable

published

I previously had a Breville toastie maker that lasted over 15 years and was very happy with it. When it came time to replace, I didn't hesitate to go with the same brand. However, this new once hasn't even lasted a year and is pretty much unusable. The black coating started pealing almost immediately, and now sandwiches constantly have the black residue and they get stuck and ripped apart. Even the green light cover fell out. Really disappointed after so many good years with old one.

Purchased in February 2019 at Harris Scarfe Physical Stores for $49.00.

Incentivised ReviewNo
Mark
MarkSouth East Queensland, QLD

Absolute Shocker

published

Does not crisp sandwiches like the original. Doesn't cut sandwiches properly. Filling goes everywhere and sandwich sticks to the Teflon coating, which I might add started coming off after a short time of owning this one.
Grew up on the original and it was great. This one a total flop. Looking to change brands.

Purchased in June 2018 at Big W Retail Stores for $49.00.

Incentivised ReviewNo
Wacky W.
Wacky W.Greater Melbourne (Metropolitan), VIC
  • 3 reviews
  • 1 like

If you ever see this for sale don't!

published

I have just thrown out this sandwich maker because it took longer to clean than to eat the sandwiches. The black coating was starting to come off in small spots despite careful cleaning. So I was eating not only the sandwiches but the coating as well, how nice. Finding bread to fit this machine is problematic. Sandwiches come apart when you open up the machine despite buttering the bread properly. I noticed it is a great weight gainer too. I am so disappointed in this purchase. Thanks Breville not.

Incentivised ReviewNo
Ziggy
ZiggyPerth, WA
  • 2 reviews

Coating is terrible

published

I have it only for maybe 2 month. Upgraded at BigW from the terrible $9. The cutting edges on the middle lost Teflon coating after only a few uses. When you open sandwich maker it will pull the top slice of brad up making just a mess and nothing what would re-assemble sandwich... cleaning this sticky mess is an extra challenge.

Purchased in February 2020 at Big W Retail Stores for $49.00.

Incentivised ReviewNo
Sandwich Presses

Find out how Breville Original BTS200 / BTS400 compares to other Sandwich Presses

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Page 1 of 4

Questions & Answers

Madison Lee
Madison Leeasked
Original BTS200 (2 Slice)

When are you going to fix this issue?

No answers
Felicity P.
Felicity P.asked
Original BTS200 / BTS400

Why is my brand new toastie maker not working after one use last night? I bought it yesterday, used it once last night, tonight both power and ready lights are on and its not heating :(

2 answers
Sam
Sam

Take it back before the warranty expires :)

Edit: this model has a known issue with food getting stuck to the inside so it might be worth getting a refund and buying a different model

Shane S.
Shane S.

What is the wattage

SLJ
SLJasked
Original BTS200 / BTS400

why does Breville BTS100SIL Big One Sandwich Maker non stick surface peel off? The coating is said to be harmful This is the second Breville Sandwich Maker that has done this. Makes great sandwiches but as I have grandchildren I am loath to use the machine?

1 answer
SHAZ
SHAZ

I don't know about the BTS100SIL my product the BTS200SIL has not had a peeling of the non-stick coating, and I have had the sandwich maker since December 7, 2017. Looks like your product the BTS100SIL is faulty.

See all Breville Original BTS200 / BTS400 questions

Get an answer from our members and Breville representatives

Breville Original BTS200 / BTS400

Details

Compare both Breville Original BTS200 / BTS400
CategorySandwich PressesSandwich Presses
Price (RRP) $49.95$79.95
Release dateAug 2011
Compare both Breville Original BTS200 / BTS400

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.