??!
3 photos
Breville Toast & Melt BSG540 (4 Slice)

Breville Toast & Melt BSG540 (4 Slice)

MPN: BSG540BSS
4.2 from 23 reviews · View Statistics

Reviews

4.2

23 reviews
5
(15)
4
(3)
3
(1)
2
(2)
1
(2)
Previous
Next
Misbah

MisbahGreater Melbourne (Metropolitan), VIC

Great Product

published

Purchased in August 2020 at The Good Guys Online store for A$99.00.

MLM

MLMBrisbane

  • 13 reviews
  • 7 likes

Does as expected

published

I had a Breville sandwich press before this and that lasted over 10 years. Decided to bite the bullet and go with another Breville. Not disappointed at all. It toasts both open faced sandwiches as well as normal sandwiches. Doesn't take too long to warm up either. The non-stick makes it easy to clean up after but I do clean after every use. Been 3 years now and can't complain.

Purchased in July 2017.

Andrew Nguyen

Andrew NguyenPerth, WA

  • 47 reviews
  • 14 likes

Perfect combo: toast and melt

published

Loved the adjustable height for the sandwiches press. The heating is faster then our previous Sunbeam. I like the cord wrap in the middle (underneath) the appliance, however the cord is a bit short. Not sure if longevity but for now I loved the ideas of toast and melt in one.

Purchased in November 2019.

Sandwich Makers

Find out how Breville Toast & Melt BSG540 (4 Slice) compares to other Sandwich Makers

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Tess

TessMurray Region, NSW

  • 2 reviews

Every home should have one

published

Have one for 7 years, going strong. Sandwiches, melts, cooking bacon or chicken strips is great. Plates are getting a little worn,time for a new one. Well used and loved.

Purchased in April 2012.

Coops

CoopsHobart, TAS

  • 5 reviews
  • 1 like

Great sandwich maker

published

Replaced another breville grill model which was years old. Happy with the new product, easy to toast anything, cleans easily by wiping and 4 slice makes it easier for larger items.

Purchased in January 2019 at The Good Guys Online store for A$64.00.

The reviewer stated that an incentive was offered for this review

Sam

SamCanberra

  • 58 reviews
  • 48 likes

Awesome, use it all the time

published

We bought another one of these after having one for about 7 years which we used on an almost daily basis after the power cord started shorting every now and then. The old one worked perfectly for years and the latest one seems to be just as good, doesn't burn the outside of your bread like some sandwich presses do

Date PurchasedMay 2011
ReneeAndSam

ReneeAndSamGoonellabah

  • 6 reviews

We use this everyday!

published

We had one of these for about 5 years and it’s still going strong, we just moved and had to leave it behind with our housemates, so we bought another one for our new house! It’s a must have!! Fool proof. Just turn it on and wait for the green light. You can set it to a particular height too. We cook so much stuff in since we don’t have an oven or hot plate at the moment. We use it for bacon and eggs, sausages, chicken, crunchy toast, sliced vegetables like zucchini and sweet potato... the list goes on!!

Date PurchasedNov 2018
Shiyne

ShiynePerth, WA

  • 14 reviews
  • 4 likes

Fast sandwich toaster

published

Bought this model after our old one kept setting off the safety switch. Was about 10 years old so was still pretty happy with past purchase. This upgraded model has two flat plates which is better than the old grill plate. Heats up really quickly and toasts really evenly. Being able to lock the hinge at different heights is great to avoid squashing all the filling out of the sandwich when only toasting one. No need to lock the hinge when toasting four. Great appliance.

Date PurchasedMar 2018
Laura Wells

Laura WellsMelbourne

  • 13 reviews
  • 2 likes

The best kitchen appliance I own!

published

I was in the need of a new sandwich press and this is hands down the best product I have in my kitchen.

I cook every day on it! From chicken to grilled sandwiches, pancakes and pikelets, sausages! This product does it all.

I bought at David Jones for $75? Best investment I’ve made.

Date PurchasedMar 2018
Sandwich Makers

Find out how Breville Toast & Melt BSG540 (4 Slice) compares to other Sandwich Makers

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Emma

EmmaMelbourne

Disappointed

published

This was by far the best Christmas present I had ever gotten. So useful in the kitchen. You can use it to cook a variety of different things, homemade chicken schnitzel being my all time fav.
However I used it this morning just to make some toast for breaky and not long after being switched on I could smell burning. I lifted it up and my toast was stuck to the top and was charred all on one side and completely black. I re put more bread in and the exact same thing happened. I then switched it off and on again and it won't work at all now. Pity it is a month after a years warranty. So disappointed.

Date PurchasedDec 2016
Skye88

Skye88Sydney

  • 10 reviews
  • 6 likes

Fantastic product

published

I have the Breville Toast & Melt 4-Slice Sandwich Press and it’s excellent great for a family and you can do so much more then just toast sandwiches, I’ve done eggplant, zucchini and haloumi cheese they have turned out delicious. Easy to use, really easy to store thanks to the upright position legs and a breeze to clean thanks to the non stick plates. Highly reccomend

Date PurchasedJan 2017
AmazingGrace

AmazingGraceAU

  • 8 reviews
  • 4 likes

Great product!

published

Breville Toast & Melt 4-Slice Sandwich Press is a great product. Perfect size for a family of 4. We use it regularly. from toasted sandwiches, to pizzas, to pita bread wraps, or re-heating pastry items, like pies, spring rolls, sausage rolls.
Very easy to use and non-stick interior finish is even easier to clean, I just give it wipe with a damp sponge after each use. Stainless steel finish shows prints and needs a good wipe to keep clean.Cord can be wound around under base for easy storage.

Date PurchasedJan 2017
Vickilo

Vickilovicki.mow@outlook.com

  • 5 reviews
  • 7 likes

Extremely slow to melt

published

Purchased for our small 4 staff lunch room. It toasts ok, but the melt function is almost useless. Have tried repeatedly & even after 10 minutes heat up time, it does not melt the cheese unless you drop the top plate onto it & then, obviously, the cheese sticks! The issue could be that the top plate does not lie flat when on "melt". It sits on an angle. Very disappointed that it takes my lunch break to make a melt! It is also very, very heavy.

Date PurchasedAug 2017
V Stanky

V StankyMetropolitan Adelaide, SA

  • 25 reviews
  • 20 likes

Great toastie toastie maker!

published

My previous Breville lasted over 10 years and I hope this one lasts just as long. Early days to determine longevity on this one but so far it behaves well and seems to be of a similar quality. Main difference is that the unit squeaks slightly as you open and close. Interestingly, the display did the same. Obviously this will not affect the quality of the toastie so a very minor issue that could be improved.

Date PurchasedJul 2017
Peter

PeterSydney

  • 5 reviews
  • 5 likes

A toast to the best press - Highly recommended

published
Date PurchasedJun 2017
Sandwich Makers

Find out how Breville Toast & Melt BSG540 (4 Slice) compares to other Sandwich Makers

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
mosquito430

mosquito430Perth

  • 17 reviews
  • 11 likes

Heat up quickly, hot spots burnt everything

published

Had it for over 2 years, but didn't use it much as there are couple of "hot spots" which burns everything. It heats up really quickly which is good, but have to keep checking every second as some spots are hotter than others. Its good that you can adjust the heights so you can put croissants on it.

Date PurchasedSep 2014

breville sandwich toaster did not last long

published

only lasted 2 years of use. stopped turning on . will bin it ! phoned Breville.uneconomic to fix .this toaster is rubbish. will not buy again. We have had older products last much longer . this seems to an ongoing problem with Breville and their products. Noticed new one has 3 year warranty

Date PurchasedSep 2014
Lozj

LozjGosford

  • 7 reviews
  • 6 likes

Large 4 slice sandwich press

published

We loved our sandwich press, using it almost daily for the two years we had it. Unfortunately after two years it started to fall apart and then stopped turning on. This seems to be a recurrent theme in our house with Breville appliances! Very disappointed, I expect longer life from my appliances.

Jillie

Jillie

  • 2 reviews
  • 1 like

Love my new toastie maker

published

Having searched everywhere for a sandwich maker with an adjustable lid I finally found one. No more squased sandwiches!! I heat up leftover pizza easily and have cooked pancakes on it. Haven't tried the bacon & eggs that other people have but will soon. The most versatile sandwich maker ever!!!

1 comment
Breville
BrevilleBreville

Hi Jillie - glad to hear you're enjoying your new appliance. Thanks, the Breville team

cas22

cas22Melbourne

  • 7 reviews
  • 8 likes

Lunches have never been better!

published

We love our Breville Sandwich Maker, which we've owned for 2 months, and use it almost every day to create first-rate toasted sandwiches. Although there are only two of us, we chose the 4-slice version to give us more flexibility with bread types and sizes. It was a good choice. The machine toasts our sandwiches evenly and quickly and, having flat, non-stick heating surfaces, is incredibly easy to clean. All it takes is a quick wipe with a damp cloth. The only down-side is that you have to remember to turn the machine off at the powerpoint immediately after use. There is no automatic cut-off once the lid is lifted.

Page 1 of 2
See all Breville Toast & Melt reviews

Questions & Answers

Chetwin L.

Chetwin L.asked

Toast & Melt BSG540 (4 Slice)

How hot can this get to

1 answer
Sam
Sam

Hot enough to toast bread and melt the cheese inside

ray

rayasked

Toast & Melt BSG540 (4 Slice)

how do i register for 3 year warranty?

No answers
sydneymidge

sydneymidgeasked

Toast & Melt BSG540 (4 Slice)

Hi. Does this have an on/off switch or does one have to reach over to turn off at the power point.

2 answers
phil
phil

Hi, It has to be turned off at the power point.

sydneymidge
sydneymidge

Thank you. That's not very user friendly as I would have to reach over the hot appliance in order to turn it off. It's quite a reach for me, being height challenged plus having to reach across the bench top to the power point.
I'll check out other brands. I appreciate your help.
.........Sydneymidge

Get an answer from our members and Breville representatives

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.