??!
3 photos
Bridgestone Ecopia EP100

Bridgestone Ecopia EP100

3.7 from 113 reviews

See the Best Passenger Tyres in 2019 as rated by Australians on ProductReview.com.au.


Good all-round tyres for undemanding drivers

I put a set of Bridgestone Ecopia EP100s on my VW Up in 2016, to replace a set of Continental ContiEcoContact 5s. Originally, I was looking for a more performance-oriented tyre as I live in hilly terrain with twisty roads, and find that general purpose touring tyres can be a bit lacking. However, the EP100s were available on a 4-for-the-price-of-3 offer (around $330 fitted, balanced and with wheel alignment), which is excellent value for tyres of this calibre, so I decided to save myself a couple of hundred dollars and take a punt on the EP100s.

With city, suburban and highway driving, the EP100s provide good grip in both wet and dry conditions. They are also quieter than the Conti's were. However, they're not brilliant when driving in twisty conditions. Whilst the grip is still fine (albeit considerably less grippy than I'm used to), the tyre squeal - even when driven sedately - is a bit embarrassing. If I'm completely honest, they let the car's handling down a bit, especially compared to the two sets of previous tyres on this car (the aforementioned Conti's, and the OEM Falkens that came with the car).

The EP100s have been on my car for 35,000km and have been rotated on a regular basis. I estimate the overall lifespan at around 50,000km, which is commensurate with my previous sets of tyres on this car.

If you're not an overly enthusiastic driver and you can wait until one of the major tyre retailers has a 4-for-3 special offer, the EP100s will give you a competent tyre for just a few dollars more per corner than no-name tyres of questionable ability.

Purchased in March 2016 at Bridgestone Select for $330.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Noise Level
Tyre Mileage 35,000 km
Car ModelVolkswagen up!
Tyre Pressure Used36 PSI
Functionality
Wet Weather Handling
Durability
Dry Weather Handling

Decent enough tyre, but there is better for the same money

The tyres were brilliant when I first fitted them and for the first 10,000km or so. They gripped well enough in the wet and dry and were relatively quiet. After the first 10,000km and regular rotation on a front heavy Toyota Camry, they deteriorated somewhat in performance. I opted for the nitrogen package at Bob Jane which was not worth the extra money.

Noise-wise, they are only average. All that being said, they performed much better until they were almost completely worn than the Chinese branded tyres the car came with second hand. Tyres lasted about 45,000km until I had no choice but to change them after picking up a nail and them not being worth repairing.

I now have a set of Bridgestone Turanza Serenity Plus fitted which are noticeably better tyres.

Purchased in March 2017 at Bob Jane T-Marts for $470.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Noise Level
Tyre Mileage 45,000 km
Car ModelToyota Camry
Tyre Pressure Used36 PSI
Functionality
Wet Weather Handling
Durability
Dry Weather Handling

Worst tyre I've put on any car

Bought these tyres less than a year ago for a FWD Toyota Aurion, they started of quiet nice, but after less than 10,000 kms they have started to squeel even at very very low speeds while cornering. Taking a turn at 10 to 20km/h the tyres squeel very loud. My friend has a Toyota Corolla that I regularly drive and they have the same issue with the same tyres. The tread on them is fine also, nowhere near the TWI. I have had much better cheap Chinese tyres than EP100's would not recommend these at all.

Purchased in December 2017 at Kmart Tyre & Auto Service for $550.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Noise Level
Tyre Mileage 12,000 km
Functionality
Wet Weather Handling
Durability
Dry Weather Handling

Lasted 33000km's of city driving

Brought these from Kmart with a price match guarantee (4 for price of 3). I did a wheel alignment at 0km and again at 15000km. And rotations and balancing at 8000, 15,000 and 28,000.

They had a couple of punctures over the life (roofing screws) and a couple of deep cuts to the sidewall but no failures; the tires are well made. (wife hit a few gutters too)

The compound performed well. Handled an aquaplane and only a couple of skids on a steep hill in the wet. It just wore out too soon for my liking. A little bit too soft. I live in the suburbs and its a bit hilly so the wear is considerable, but expected.

Going to try a different brand next time. But these are worth what I paid for.

Purchased in January 2015 at Kmart Tyre & Auto Service for $327.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Noise Level
Tyre Mileage 33,000 km
Car ModelToyota Avensis Verso T250 (2001-2010)
Tyre Pressure Used34 PSI
Functionality
Wet Weather Handling
Durability
Dry Weather Handling

Lasted for 7 years and 55,000kms

Used mainly for town commuting driving which probably explains why they lasted a reasonably long time. Seem to grip well in wet even when worn. Ride and steering/handling seemed fine. Not that quiet.

Purchased in December 2010.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Noise Level
Tyre Mileage 55,000 km
Car ModelNissan Stagea
Tyre Pressure Used34 PSI
Functionality
Wet Weather Handling
Durability
Dry Weather Handling

Should be taken off the market

From the moment I had these tyres fitted, something didn't feel quite right. I have a 2014 Kia Cerato sedan 1.8. When rounding a bend on the open road at 100 km, I always felt there was a possibilty that the car would leave the road. Needless to say, I started adapting my driving habits to suit which may have accounted for the slightly lower fuel consumption ( and I do mean slightly lower). In the wet, they would easily spin when taking off from the lights and driving on open roads was just plain scary!! My recommendation is to not buy these tyres, no matter what the price. Just down-right dangerous.

Purchased in June 2016.


Biggest heap of brand name rubbish I've ever had.

Replaced the cheap tyres put on car for a roadworthy with EP100's at local Bridgestone outlet about 7 years ago when we bought the car. 4 tyres fitted and balanced with 4 wheel alignment. Tyre pressures checked weekly and they just abnormally wore, even though the subsequent annual alignment was ok. Worst tyre I've ever had. Later told by Bridgestone dealer that these are more designed for highway driving than relatively short distances around town and just to and from work. Replaced them at just over 30,000k with a Firestone tyre and never had a problem with the replacement tyres since.

Car2007 Hyunda Elantra

Squeal City on Yaris!

These EP100's came with my 2007 Toyota Yaris sedan which were chronic squealers at roundabouts and tight corners in dry conditions at below posted regulated speeds!
No confidence of stopping ability or cornering in the wet at all.
I replaced these with Hankook k415's which have been a revelation compared to the above albeit noisier and a firmer ride.
Bridgestone now have the EP150 which i can only hope assure driver confidence on a small front wheel drive vehicle like the Yaris.
EP300 would be the choice if you want Bridgestone though.

Car2007 Toyota Yaris YRS sedan

Good Cheaper Tyre

Good economy and grip but too noisy on the road. I put these on a 2005 Honda Jazz as they were 3 for the price of 4 and Bridgestone are a reputable company however the rear tyres cause a resonant drumming in the cabin. This may not be the case on some cars but in my case they are a bit noisy compared to my usual choice of Michelins.

CarHonda Jazz 2005
1 comment
Since writing this review the noise from the tyres has decreased as the factory surface has softened and scrubbed.

Happy with tyre

These are good Tyre and you can feel they are cushiony when they are new, I hope they stay the same when they wearing out. Didn't feel much of difference regarding saving on fuel that could be a gimmick or marginal different which you won't notice. I am quite happy with it now.

CarToyota Aurion Prodigy.

Not too bad for driving around the city

This tyre is not to bad if you driving around the city area most of the time (with speed of 60 km/hrs max). I used these set of tyres on my 2006 Toyota Yaris and my wife drove it most of the time around the city. Occassionally we drove the car through the freeway up to 110 km/hrs.

The drive felt soft and smooth. Bridgestone's claim is true that the tyre has low rolling resistance. The downside with this is that it felt like the tyres had less grip on the road. The car still had excellent braking distance though, just the feeling of gliding due to the low rolling resistance.

I used these tyres for about 5 years with about 40,000 Km. There were still about 4 - 5 millimetres treads on 2/3rd centre of the tyres when I decided to replace them. The shoulders were much in worse shape. On the front two tyres, they were only about 1 millimetres left with cracks appearing along the circumference. The rear set's shoulder were still having about 3 millimetres left but with the same cracks along the circumference.

On all 4 tyres, cracks started to develop inside the grooves. The treads also had chips in several areas. This may be due to the tyres age, which is already 6 years from manufacturing date ( even though I only used it for 5 years). Hair cracks were started to develop on the sidewalls as well.

I guess, this tyre is only good for driving around the city. However, durability is not that great. The rubber will start to show deterioration around 5-6 years mark and should be replace around this time. All in all, not to bad considering that the price is not that expensive and Bridgestone periodically offers 3 for 4 tyres deal.

Car2006 Toyota Yaris

Good Quality Great Price

I changed 4 tyres on my Mazda 3 with Bridgeston Ecopia EP100 and I have to say it is a very good experience having these tyres done. I have got no problems whatsoever in terms of the conditions that I'm driving my car through. They have been used almost a year now and my experience is quite positive and my car is performing absolutely brilliant.

CarMazda 3

Terrible in the wet - dont buy these

These tyres are the worst I have ever owned in the wet, I have almost always gone with Bridgestone in the past but would not recommend this model.
These are OK in the dry but if you are ever likely to encounter rain HANG ON, these slide sideways on roundabouts at very low speed.
They are also very noisy in car parks, they squeal like your going 100 when only crawling.
First time I have ever wanted the tyres to wear out quickly!

Car2014 Ford Mondeo

Good on the wet road, average on dry road

Bought a set of 4 for my Toyota Echo. They have good traction on wet road, average on dry road. Noise is a little louder than previous Bridgestone. If you want to know whether I would buy again or not, it depends on where in Australia you live in. For warmer parts of Aust, probably not, but I live in Vic, which has random weather. I would definitely buy then for my next car.

CarToyota

Great tyres, great price

I've just replaced both my partner's car and my car with 4 brand new tyres, all Bridgestone. Our previous ones were the same brand and both cars went more than 3 years before needing to be replaced. This is why we went with the same brand again. Got them 'buy 3, get 1 free' from Bridgestone Select

CarNissan X-Trail

Average tyre

I bought these tyres for my Camry - 215/60/16.
Good grip when wet and tyres are on the quiet side, but wearing out pretty quickly - not that durable.
Didn't notice any improvement in fuel economy.
Also need to check air pressure often and top it up every month.
For the same price there are better tyres out there.

CarCamry 2008

Great tyres at a great price

We have these on all our cars at the moment and they are great deal when the buy 3 get 1 free offer is on. Nice, smooth tyre, with low road noise.

One place to improve would be wet weather gripping. It's not bad at all, but I've seen tyres that are better around the same price range.

CarRav 4

quiet cheap Tyre

Just changed last month in Bob Jane, quiet enough for me compared to the old bobjane tyres. Too quiet which makes me though there was something wrong with my engine since I can't really hear from tyres but only the engine. Good for daily use but I don't think the performance is excellent since I feel it's harder to climb up the hill.

CarMitsubishi lancer

Affordable and long lasting

In terms of handling in a straight line these tyres perform the same as their competitors. In corners I have noticed less slipping on tight turns so that's a nice difference. These tyres were recommended by the mechanic that I took my car to and I've been happy with them so far.

CarKia Optima

Tyre's for Ford cars

Purchased from Bridgestone dealer directly with 3+1 free option. Doesn't give me a great feeling after I changed these Tyre's. It has worn out so quickly for a normal use. The Tyre's gets easily damaged when it touches the gutter on the road sides while parking. I didn't feel worth spending o much money on these Tyre's. sounds like Bridgesand !

CarFord Mondeo

Page 1 of 6

Questions & Answers

Whats the recommended tyre air pressure
2 answers
I believe each car model has different recommended tyre pressure. For my 2006 Toyota Yaris, the recommended tyre pressure is 32 psi back and front. However, from experience, I personally wouldn't go below 34 psi to maximise the tyres' life. 32 psi will give you soft and comfy riding but at the cost of your tyres shoulder. My new tyres are now at 38 psi as recommended by Bridgestone Tyre Centre and so far the riding has been good. Check your car's manual for the recommended presure. My believe is somewhere between 32 - 40 psi. Try to experiment between that range to find the best balance for your car.According to Jarod Bianti, he said: I haven't yet had a vehicle that I don't run the same pressure in the front and rear. Not to say that all vehicles are that way, but I would safely assume that most are (as another answer mentions — 50/50 weight distribution). Regarding a few tyre post: https://www.bestnetreview.com/best-all-terrain-tire/ Don't rely on the door stamp recommendations. They’re based upon a set temperature (15°C iirc) and static weight of the vehicle with no cargo. ALWAYS rely on the tire itself and even then, ask an experienced tire shop person what they recommend the pressure to be for your type of vehicle and make/model of tire. Every vehicle is different and every tire brand/model is different which leaves tens of thousands of combinations. A good tire shop should know the ideal pressure to run at. As an example: my Ram has a door sticker saying 65 Psi, but with the stock Goodyear tires, the pressure is best at 40 Psi. But…with my new BFG KO2's, my recommended pressure is 35 Psi.

I am currently driving a Toyota Avanza and I am currently using Michelin XM2 tyres my current tyre size is 185 x 70 x 14 , I have been using Michelin Tyres for 4 year now and recently the tyre shop dealer wanted to recommend me Bridgestone Ecopia and he said is very soft and comfort , but what i want to ask is does the tyre last coz my wife travel alot ipoh to K.kangsar then again ipoh to bidor the next day...one week twice if one month 8 times to and from(16 times)
1 answer
I have travelled 3000k since fitting the Ecopia tyres and have found them to have great handling in the wet,very quiet and improved fuel economy on trips. Hope this is of some assistance

How do they perform on a Honda CRV?
3 answers
Don't know but don't perform on a Ford FocusCan't speak for a Honda but it probably depends on how you like to drive it. I have only tried them on a Yaris.I have them on my 2013 Fiesta. Only done about 4,000k's but they ride better than the Continental's that came with the car and they only gave me about 35,000 k's. (At 145 bucks each, i won't be buying them again.) I've had no problems with the handling and the steering is a lot better. I haven't noticed any braking problems, but the ABS probably takes care of that. Can't really comment on wet roads because i don't drive like a loony.

Details

Bridgestone Ecopia EP100
CategoryPassenger Tyres
Release dateDec 2009
Visit official website

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.