??!
3 photos
Bridgestone Ecopia EP100

Bridgestone Ecopia EP100

3.7 from 114 reviews

See the Best Passenger Tyres in 2019 as rated by Australians on ProductReview.com.au.

Reviews

Review distribution

5 star
38
4 star
39
3 star
14
2 star
12
1 star
11

paulhags

paulhagsPerth, WA

  • 4 reviews

Great for money

published

I just had a set on my Mitsubishi mirage I got 75000km out of them on the Bridgestone tyre program just bought another set today on the buy 4 pay for 3 was 430 with a wheel alignment bloody fantastic price . I don't drive hard just cruise around they r not a racing tyre made for fuel economy I'm pulling some good numbers as low as 4.1 - 4.5 litres per 100km. I believe the Bridgestone trye program has extended the life of the tyres so overall they r good tyres for this car

Purchased in January 2016 at Bridgestone Select for $520.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Noise Level
Tyre Mileage 75,000 km
Car ModelMitsubishi Mirage
Tyre Pressure Used36 PSI
Functionality
Wet Weather Handling
Durability
Dry Weather Handling
See all answers

Tone

ToneMetropolitan Adelaide, SA

  • 11 reviews

Good all-round tyres for undemanding drivers

published

Purchased in March 2016 at Bridgestone Select for $330.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Noise Level
Tyre Mileage 35,000 km
Car ModelVolkswagen up!
Tyre Pressure Used36 PSI
Functionality
Wet Weather Handling
Durability
Dry Weather Handling
See all answers
daftendirekt

daftendirektCentral Highlands and Goldfields, VIC

  • 6 reviews
  • 8 likes

Decent enough tyre, but there is better for the same money

published

Purchased in March 2017 at Bob Jane T-Marts for $470.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Noise Level
Tyre Mileage 45,000 km
Car ModelToyota Camry
Tyre Pressure Used36 PSI
Functionality
Wet Weather Handling
Durability
Dry Weather Handling
See all answers
Delwyn

DelwynGreater Melbourne (Metropolitan), VIC

  • 3 reviews
  • 1 like

Worst tyre I've put on any car

published

Bought these tyres less than a year ago for a FWD Toyota Aurion, they started of quiet nice, but after less than 10,000 kms they have started to squeel even at very very low speeds while cornering. Taking a turn at 10 to 20km/h the tyres squeel very loud. My friend has a Toyota Corolla that I regularly drive and they have the same issue with the same tyres. The tread on them is fine also, nowhere near the TWI. I have had much better cheap Chinese tyres than EP100's would not recommend these at all.

Purchased in December 2017 at Mycar (Kmart Tyre & Auto Service) for $550.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Noise Level
Tyre Mileage 12,000 km
Functionality
Wet Weather Handling
Durability
Dry Weather Handling
See all answers

Simon c

Simon cSouth East Queensland, QLD

  • 8 reviews
  • 1 like

Lasted 33000km's of city driving

published

Brought these from Kmart with a price match guarantee (4 for price of 3). I did a wheel alignment at 0km and again at 15000km. And rotations and balancing at 8000, 15,000 and 28,000.

They had a couple of punctures over the life (roofing screws) and a couple of deep cuts to the sidewall but no failures; the tires are well made. (wife hit a few gutters too)

The compound performed well. Handled an aquaplane and only a couple of skids on a steep hill in the wet. It just wore out too soon for my liking. A little bit too soft. I live in the suburbs and its a bit hilly so the wear is considerable, but expected.

Going to try a different brand next time. But these are worth what I paid for.

Purchased in January 2015 at Mycar (Kmart Tyre & Auto Service) for $327.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Noise Level
Tyre Mileage 33,000 km
Car ModelToyota Avensis Verso T250 (2001-2010)
Tyre Pressure Used34 PSI
Functionality
Wet Weather Handling
Durability
Dry Weather Handling
See all answers

Jim

Jim

  • 2 reviews

Lasted for 7 years and 55,000kms

published

Used mainly for town commuting driving which probably explains why they lasted a reasonably long time. Seem to grip well in wet even when worn. Ride and steering/handling seemed fine. Not that quiet.

Purchased in December 2010.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Noise Level
Tyre Mileage 55,000 km
Car ModelNissan Stagea
Tyre Pressure Used34 PSI
Functionality
Wet Weather Handling
Durability
Dry Weather Handling
See all answers

Tinsoldier

TinsoldierSouth East Queensland, QLD

Should be taken off the market

published

From the moment I had these tyres fitted, something didn't feel quite right. I have a 2014 Kia Cerato sedan 1.8. When rounding a bend on the open road at 100 km, I always felt there was a possibilty that the car would leave the road. Needless to say, I started adapting my driving habits to suit which may have accounted for the slightly lower fuel consumption ( and I do mean slightly lower). In the wet, they would easily spin when taking off from the lights and driving on open roads was just plain scary!! My recommendation is to not buy these tyres, no matter what the price. Just down-right dangerous.

Purchased in June 2016.


bushmagpie

bushmagpieAU

  • 26 reviews
  • 1 like

Biggest heap of brand name rubbish I've ever had.

published

Replaced the cheap tyres put on car for a roadworthy with EP100's at local Bridgestone outlet about 7 years ago when we bought the car. 4 tyres fitted and balanced with 4 wheel alignment. Tyre pressures checked weekly and they just abnormally wore, even though the subsequent annual alignment was ok. Worst tyre I've ever had. Later told by Bridgestone dealer that these are more designed for highway driving than relatively short distances around town and just to and from work. Replaced them at just over 30,000k with a Firestone tyre and never had a problem with the replacement tyres since.

Car2007 Hyunda Elantra
Simon H

Simon HLaunceston, TAS

  • 3 reviews
  • 3 likes

Squeal City on Yaris!

published

These EP100's came with my 2007 Toyota Yaris sedan which were chronic squealers at roundabouts and tight corners in dry conditions at below posted regulated speeds!
No confidence of stopping ability or cornering in the wet at all.
I replaced these with Hankook k415's which have been a revelation compared to the above albeit noisier and a firmer ride.
Bridgestone now have the EP150 which i can only hope assure driver confidence on a small front wheel drive vehicle like the Yaris.
EP300 would be the choice if you want Bridgestone though.

Car2007 Toyota Yaris YRS sedan
Russell

RussellPerth, WA

  • 7 reviews

Good Cheaper Tyre

published

Good economy and grip but too noisy on the road. I put these on a 2005 Honda Jazz as they were 3 for the price of 4 and Bridgestone are a reputable company however the rear tyres cause a resonant drumming in the cabin. This may not be the case on some cars but in my case they are a bit noisy compared to my usual choice of Michelins.

CarHonda Jazz 2005
1 comment
Russell
Russell

Since writing this review the noise from the tyres has decreased as the factory surface has softened and scrubbed.


santosh

santoshSYDNEY

  • 3 reviews

Happy with tyre

published

These are good Tyre and you can feel they are cushiony when they are new, I hope they stay the same when they wearing out. Didn't feel much of difference regarding saving on fuel that could be a gimmick or marginal different which you won't notice. I am quite happy with it now.

CarToyota Aurion Prodigy.

Joe

JoePerth

  • 5 reviews
  • 3 likes

Not too bad for driving around the city

published
Car2006 Toyota Yaris

NinaNiran

NinaNiranMelbourne

  • 4 reviews
  • Verified purchase

Good Quality Great Price

published

I changed 4 tyres on my Mazda 3 with Bridgeston Ecopia EP100 and I have to say it is a very good experience having these tyres done. I have got no problems whatsoever in terms of the conditions that I'm driving my car through. They have been used almost a year now and my experience is quite positive and my car is performing absolutely brilliant.

CarMazda 3

Terrible in the wet - dont buy these

published

These tyres are the worst I have ever owned in the wet, I have almost always gone with Bridgestone in the past but would not recommend this model.
These are OK in the dry but if you are ever likely to encounter rain HANG ON, these slide sideways on roundabouts at very low speed.
They are also very noisy in car parks, they squeal like your going 100 when only crawling.
First time I have ever wanted the tyres to wear out quickly!

Car2014 Ford Mondeo
G Dash

G DashVIC

  • 4 reviews

Good on the wet road, average on dry road

published

Bought a set of 4 for my Toyota Echo. They have good traction on wet road, average on dry road. Noise is a little louder than previous Bridgestone. If you want to know whether I would buy again or not, it depends on where in Australia you live in. For warmer parts of Aust, probably not, but I live in Vic, which has random weather. I would definitely buy then for my next car.

CarToyota
Carey

Carey

  • 8 reviews
  • 4 likes

Great tyres, great price

published

I've just replaced both my partner's car and my car with 4 brand new tyres, all Bridgestone. Our previous ones were the same brand and both cars went more than 3 years before needing to be replaced. This is why we went with the same brand again. Got them 'buy 3, get 1 free' from Bridgestone Select

CarNissan X-Trail

zm1

zm1Adelaide

Average tyre

published

I bought these tyres for my Camry - 215/60/16.
Good grip when wet and tyres are on the quiet side, but wearing out pretty quickly - not that durable.
Didn't notice any improvement in fuel economy.
Also need to check air pressure often and top it up every month.
For the same price there are better tyres out there.

CarCamry 2008

DejaVu

DejaVuAU

  • 7 reviews
  • 7 likes

Great tyres at a great price

published

We have these on all our cars at the moment and they are great deal when the buy 3 get 1 free offer is on. Nice, smooth tyre, with low road noise.

One place to improve would be wet weather gripping. It's not bad at all, but I've seen tyres that are better around the same price range.

CarRav 4

Eric

EricLaunceston, TAS

  • 3 reviews

quiet cheap Tyre

published

Just changed last month in Bob Jane, quiet enough for me compared to the old bobjane tyres. Too quiet which makes me though there was something wrong with my engine since I can't really hear from tyres but only the engine. Good for daily use but I don't think the performance is excellent since I feel it's harder to climb up the hill.

CarMitsubishi lancer

John

John

  • 4 reviews
  • 1 like

Affordable and long lasting

published

In terms of handling in a straight line these tyres perform the same as their competitors. In corners I have noticed less slipping on tight turns so that's a nice difference. These tyres were recommended by the mechanic that I took my car to and I've been happy with them so far.

CarKia Optima

Page 1 of 6

Questions & Answers

Roy

Royasked

Whats the recommended tyre air pressure

2 answers
Joe
Joe

I believe each car model has different recommended tyre pressure. For my 2006 Toyota Yaris, the recommended tyre pressure is 32 psi back and front. However, from experience, I personally wouldn't go below 34 psi to maximise the tyres' life. 32 psi will give you soft and comfy riding but at the cost of your tyres shoulder. My new tyres are now at 38 psi as recommended by Bridgestone Tyre Centre and so far the riding has been good. Check your car's manual for the recommended presure. My believe is somewhere between 32 - 40 psi. Try to experiment between that range to find the best balance for your car.

Bryan G.
Bryan G.

According to Jarod Bianti, he said: I haven't yet had a vehicle that I don't run the same pressure in the front and rear. Not to say that all vehicles are that way, but I would safely assume that most are (as another answer mentions — 50/50 weight distribution).

Regarding a few tyre post: https://www.bestnetreview.com/best-all-terrain-tire/

Don't rely on the door stamp recommendations. They’re based upon a set temperature (15°C iirc) and static weight of the vehicle with no cargo. ALWAYS rely on the tire itself and even then, ask an experienced tire shop person what they recommend the pressure to be for your type of vehicle and make/model of tire. Every vehicle is different and every tire brand/model is different which leaves tens of thousands of combinations. A good tire shop should know the ideal pressure to run at.

As an example: my Ram has a door sticker saying 65 Psi, but with the stock Goodyear tires, the pressure is best at 40 Psi. But…with my new BFG KO2's, my recommended pressure is 35 Psi.


Yap Andrew

Yap Andrewasked

I am currently driving a Toyota Avanza and I am currently using Michelin XM2 tyres my current tyre size is 185 x 70 x 14 , I have been using Michelin Tyres for 4 year now and recently the tyre shop dealer wanted to recommend me Bridgestone Ecopia and he said is very soft and comfort , but what i want to ask is does the tyre last coz my wife travel alot ipoh to K.kangsar then again ipoh to bidor the next day...one week twice if one month 8 times to and from(16 times)

1 answer
Lorro
Lorro

I have travelled 3000k since fitting the Ecopia tyres and have found them to have great handling in the wet,very quiet and improved fuel economy on trips.
Hope this is of some assistance


eddie

eddieasked

How do they perform on a Honda CRV?

3 answers
coco
coco

Don't know but don't perform on a Ford Focus

Mark
Mark

Can't speak for a Honda but it probably depends on how you like to drive it. I have only tried them on a Yaris.

david hambleton
david hambleton

I have them on my 2013 Fiesta. Only done about 4,000k's but they ride better than the Continental's that came with the car and they only gave me about 35,000 k's. (At 145 bucks each, i won't be buying them again.) I've had no problems with the handling and the steering is a lot better. I haven't noticed any braking problems, but the ABS probably takes care of that. Can't really comment on wet roads because i don't drive like a loony.


Get an answer from our members and Bridgestone representatives

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.