6 photos
Britax Safe-n-Sound Kid Guard

Britax Safe-n-Sound Kid Guard

3.7 from 7 reviews · View Statistics
See the Best Booster Car Seats in 2021 as rated by Australians on ProductReview.com.au.
Listing monitored by Britax Safe-n-Sound

Reviews

3.7
7 reviews
  • Build Quality
    3.9 (7)
  • Value for Money
    4.1 (7)
  • Ease of Use
    4.8 (6)
  • Cleaning & Maintenance
    4.8 (6)
  • Safety
    3.8 (6)
  • Ease of Installation
    4.5 (4)
  • Ease of Height Adjustment
    5.0 (6)
Previous
Next
tenwebb
tenwebbSouth East Queensland, QLD
  • 9 reviews
  • 4 likes

Brilliant for smaller kids over 10 years old

published

Purchased in February 2018 at Cotmakers for $349.00.

Build Quality
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Britax Safe-n-Sound
Support C.Britax Safe-n-Sound
Tracey Richardson
Tracey RichardsonThe Mallee, VIC
  • 2 reviews

Excellent!

published

My Son is tall, almost 11 and still fits. We’ve loved the extra protection for him. The slide guard to protect against submarining is a good feature.
He says it’s comfortable.

Build Quality
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Britax Safe-n-Sound
Support C.Britax Safe-n-Sound

good for extended use but be weary in installing 3 across

published

Purchased in October 2020 for $250.00.

Build Quality
2/5
Value for Money
4/5
Britax Safe-n-Sound
Support C.Britax Safe-n-Sound

Wonderful practical functional grows with child

published

We bought this for our very tall thin 5yr old. It was able to be adjusted to suit both his height and weight. Easy installation. Easy to adjust height, side panels and seat. Our son finds it very comfortable. Easy simple process for removal and installation. Would definitely recommend this seat.

Purchased in August 2019 at Baby Bunting Physical store for $259.00.

Build Quality
4/5
Value for Money
5/5
Britax Safe-n-Sound
Support C.Britax Safe-n-Sound
Booster Car Seats

Find out how Britax Safe-n-Sound Kid Guard compares to other Booster Car Seats

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Karen
KarenSouth East Queensland, QLD

1 star is too much. Waste of money

published

We bought this seat for our 4 yr old and find it hard to say something positive about this product. We had it professionally installed, and it was not stable in the slightest. The shell is flimsy and padding practically non existent. Within 15 mins of my child sitting in the seat they were in tears of pain. We went back to the store and adjusted the seat and we tried again. The same pain happened again so back to the store. This time they recommend putting a box under the childs feet to relieve pressure off the lower spine and bottom area where it was causing pain. We tried to do longer trips but without fail 15 mins and they were in tears of pain. Im really disappointed in this product and the company as a whole.
Easy to click child into.

Purchased in June 2019 at Baby Bunting Physical store.

Build Quality
1/5
Value for Money
1/5
Britax Safe-n-Sound
Support C.Britax Safe-n-Sound
Karen
Karen
Britax Safe-n-Sound
Support C.Britax Safe-n-Sound

Excellent

published

Great, easy to use, easy to fit/install and comfortable. You won't regret it. I'm just sad this is the end of the line for our Britax needs. We also use it with a Britax Vehicle Seat Protector (the rubbery one) as it's on leather car seats. So it stops any potential slippage or mess.

Purchased in July 2018 at Baby Kingdom for $249.00.

Build Quality
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Britax Safe-n-Sound
Support C.Britax Safe-n-Sound
ClaireT08
ClaireT08Greater Melbourne (Inner), VIC
  • 3 reviews

Great seat for older kids - wish it went to 145 cm

published

Purchased in March 2019 at Baby Bunting for $249.00.

Build Quality
5/5
Value for Money
4/5
Britax Safe-n-Sound
Support C.Britax Safe-n-Sound

Related Articles

Previous
The baby product awards for 2020!

ProductReview.com.au has analysed a years worth of opinions from over 6,500 Aussie mums and dads to published our Awards for baby products in 2020. See the top-rated prams, car seats, carriers, and breast pumps to spoil yourself and your baby with this summer!

Nathan S.
Nathan S.29 Oct 2019
the-baby-product-awards-for-2020
Next

Questions & Answers

Melanie
Melanie asked

Hello, what is the minimum weight requirement for this booster seat?

1 answer
Britax Safe-n-Sound
Support C.Britax Safe-n-Sound

Hi Melanie, thanks for your question. The Australian standard no longer testes to weight as a rule for children. A child's weight also does not determine when they can and cannot use the seat. Age is used as a guide and height is the rule. The Britax Safe-n-Sound Kid Guard lowest shoulder height marker is positioned at approx. 380mm, here is a link to our website for further details - https://www.britax.com.au/car-seats/britax-safe-n-sound-kid-guard/ or alternatively if you would like to discuss this with us please email us at au-support@britax.com kind regards, the Britax team.

Michelle
Michelleasked

Hi there, I have an EOS convertible with no anchor point, only Isofix, so would I be able to use this without anchoring for my 7yr old? Thank you, Michelle

3 answers
Britax Safe-n-Sound
Support C.Britax Safe-n-Sound

Hi Michelle, thanks for your question. The Britax Safe-n-Sound Kid Guard must be anchored to the car as per the instruction manual and the the Australian safety standards. If you have any further questions please feel free to contact us on 1300 303 330. Kind regards, the Britax Childcare team.

Mahalia G.
Mahalia G.

Check your manual. Passenger vehicles with two rows of seats by law must have anchor points. Sometimes they’re tucked behind carpet and have to be cut out. Or the vehicle will have the bolts and just need an anchor to be fitted.

Michelle
Michelle

Ah great, thanks Mahalia! I’ll ask my Dad to have another closer look, as he’s currently babysitting the car while I’m in Singapore and he couldn’t see any...so they must be there somewhere :)

lesley38
lesley38asked

Hi, i see you have replaced the kid guard pro with the kid guard. I have a few questions on tje difference.
1. Is the AHR in the kid guard better than the SICT in the kid guard pro? How are they different from each other?
2. The kid guard pro has the thermo bamboo material, is that feature no longer present in the newer Kid guard model?
3. What is the warranty on the moving parts of the seat ie the expandable wings - i went to the store and the demo model had one of the side wings jammed. Just worried it is something that might become an issue..
I guess im just trying to justify how this newer Kid guard model is better or an improvement in terms of features and safety to its predecessor, the Kid guard Pro.

Thank you very much and looking to hearing back from Britax

3 answers
G R.
G R.

I’d also really love to know these answers. What is the safety score of this new model? Or has it not been tested like the predecessor “Pro”? Looking at the changes I doubt it would perform as well as it looks like a trimmed down version.

Mahalia G.
Mahalia G.

The main difference between the two seats is the added side impact protection in the headrest. The fabric is also upgraded but this is a comfort feature rather than a safety feature. AHR means active head restraint which both seats have, the pro has the added side impact cushion technology (SICT) built into the AHR headrest. It does seem that the Pro model has been retired. The current kid guard seems like the one they've always had. don't think it's been changed just that the above model was discontinued. Perhaps a new model is coming out

Below is a link to Britax's warranty for the different components. I'd advise against this model. I had a kid guard and the flimsy wings were pushed inwards by my to graphenes and this made the seat too narrow to be used.
https://www.britax.com.au/service-support/warranty/

You can find the safety rating for the kid guard pro here:
https://www.childcarseats.com.au/find-and-compare-child-car-seats#/results/3/2/-/-

Britax Safe-n-Sound
Support C.Britax Safe-n-Sound

Hi Lesley, thanks for your questions. We have already responded to your email today:
1. Is the AHR in the kid guard better than the SICT in the kid guard pro? How are they different from each other? Both features are a form of side impact protection however in order to add more height to the Kid Guard (12mm added) the SICT was removed
SICT – The Inner layer of SICT provides 180° protection around your child’s head, whilst the outer SICT layer absorbs immediate crash energy.
AHR - deep side wings lined with EPS to shield and protect your child’s head in a side impact crash.
2. The kid guard pro has the thermo bamboo material, is that feature no longer present in the newer Kid guard model? The fabric on the Kid Guard is not the Bamboo Thermo 5 and is a polyester blend.
3. What is the warranty on the moving parts of the seat ie the expandable wings - i went to the store and the demo model had one of the side wings jammed. Just worried it is something that might become an issue. The warranty on the hardware is 5 years from date of purchase and 2 years on the trim/fabric. If you register the booster on our website, you receive an extended warranty which then gives you ten years on the hardware. Please note, products which are on display are not only used to show consumers how to use, however can sometimes be tampered with. In the event that you experience an issue with a product, Safe-n-Sound products are covered by this company warranty against faulty materials and workmanship (normal wear and tear excluded) that affects the normal operation of your Safe-n-Sound product. In the unlikely event that you find that your Safe-n-Sound product does not satisfy this warranty, Britax will (at its option) repair or replace that product within a reasonable period of you making a claim in accordance with this policy.
If you have any further questions, please feel free to contact us on 1300 303 330. Kind regards, the Britax Childcare team.

See all Britax Safe-n-Sound Kid Guard questions

Get an answer from our members and Britax Safe-n-Sound representatives

Details

CategoryBooster Car Seats
Price (RRP) $299.00
Minimum Age 4 years
Maximum Age 8+ years
Dimensions 750-880 x 470-570 x 380-445 mm
Weight7.25 kg
Convertible No
Manufacturer Warranty5 year(s)
Colour / FinishBlack
Release dateJune 2018
ManualDownload manual
Visit official website
  • GTIN13: 9311742049662

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.