5 photos
Brunnings Potting Mix

Brunnings Potting Mix

Regular, Easy Wetta, Premium
1.8 from 19 reviews · View Statistics
See the Best Garden Maintenance Products in 2021 as rated by Australians on ProductReview.com.au.
Brand Manager for Brunnings? Register now and take advantage of ProductReview's Brand Management Platform!

Reviews

1.8
19 reviews
Previous
Next

ABOSULETELY rubbish grade!

published

doesn't drain when wet. Like concrete when dry, ABOSULETELY rubbish grade! It doesn't even look like potting mix like other brands which generally contains a bit sand, mud and wood chips. This thing looks like a pile of wet, black, hairy i don't want to describe it.

Purchased in July 2021 at Woolworths for $3.50.

Incentivised Review No
Unhappy
UnhappySouth East Queensland, QLD
  • 6 reviews
  • 8 likes

Rubbish Potting Mix...

published

Just Rubbish..!!! I found classe in my potting mix and was told to take a photo send it in??? Keep your Rubbish potting mix !!!....I will never buy from bunnings Rubbish tip garden crap ever again...

Purchased in April 2021 at eBay for $24.00.

Incentivised Review No
Daisy L.
Daisy L.
  • 2 reviews
  • 1 like

Terrible in wet weather - rain does not drain through just sits on top

published

In heavy rain the water just sits on the top and the pot has to be tipped over the let the water out. So the plants are just floating inside the pots, not good for their roots. I am surprised given it is made up from a lot of wood pieces.

Purchased in March 2021 at Woolworths Physical store.

Incentivised Review No
Frankrhonda M.
Frankrhonda M.The Mallee, VIC

Happy with this potting mix

published

It is friable..never mouldy..my plants thrive in it with regular application of seaweed extract.. ..doesnt smell like strong disinfectant/ chemical.. affordable.
I have switched from using the big brand name H.....o for all these above reasons

Purchased at Cheap As Chips for $4.99.

Incentivised Review No
Garden Maintenance Products

Find out how Brunnings Potting Mix compares to other Garden Maintenance Products

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
craig s.
craig s.Perth, WA

For the price I find this a very good product

published

This is a budget potting mix but very good for the price..
I have been using this product for quite some time.
It’s good to mix with other products to fill larger pots.
Can be used indoors or out doors

Purchased in September 2020 at Woolworths for $4.00.

Incentivised Review No

all season potting mix

published

I will; not buy this product again , it is rubbish, I have just put it all in my compost. Will not use it on my plants. Waste of money.You get what you pay for.

Purchased in September 2020 at Woolworths for $3.99.

Incentivised Review No
RichardS
RichardSSydney, NSW
  • 2 reviews

Rubbish potting mix

published

Warning, don’t buy this product. It is basically a bag full of rubbish or stuff other potting mix companies have rejected. Mainly just burnt wood, sticks etc, with hardly any actual soil.

Purchased in September 2020 for $3.00.

Incentivised Review No
Daniel C.
Daniel C.South East Queensland, QLD

Perfect

published

It's garbage for ornamental flowers but GREAT for growing Sturts Desert Pea. They love crap soil. The soil repells water which is excellent because they hate water. So it's not all bad haha!

Purchased at Bunnings Warehouse.

Incentivised Review No
Paul
PaulDarling Downs, QLD

Complete rubbish

published

Repotted my healthy indoor plants and have had to watch them either die or really struggle to get going again.I have had to actually aerate the mix in the pots because it set hard. Avoid at all costs and as it sells for$3 I got what i paid for; absolute crsp.

Purchased in April 2019 at Woolworths for $3.00.

Incentivised Review No
Garden Maintenance Products

Find out how Brunnings Potting Mix compares to other Garden Maintenance Products

Know better, choose better.

Compare all

Warning dont buy!! Contained very high levels of ammonia , killed plants!!!

published

Warning dont buy!! Contained very high levels of ammonia , killed plants!!!! Bought from bunnings, smell was 10 times worse than going to the hairdressers to bleach hair, they need to recall product batch!!!

Purchased in June 2019.

Incentivised Review No

Repels water

published

planted seedlings in this potting mix and after repeated watering and wondering why the plants looked bad i have discovered the potting mix repels water, it is as dry as a bone just under the surface.
The bag was branded Brunnings Drakes Potting Mix as it is being sold by Drakes supermarket.

Date PurchasedSept 2018
Cathy
CathySouth East Queensland, QLD
  • 2 reviews
  • 1 like

Rubbish!!!!

published

I am sorry to say I am very disappointed with the potting mix. Plants turned yellow and grow poorly. Fungus grew in the pots. Bought this product for residents at my nursing home. No good at all and will never buy it again. Seems to be mostly wood. Friends have found the same problems. Very happy to pay for more expensive product.

Date PurchasedJan 2018
Garden Maintenance Products

Find out how Brunnings Potting Mix compares to other Garden Maintenance Products

Know better, choose better.

Compare all

killed my tomato's

published

this potting mix is terrible. Cant even grow tomatoes as name suggests as it killed the 2 i potted into it. very disappointed as they were both heirloom. black Russian and mortgage lifter.
Just for comparison I had planted 1 of the black Russian tomato plants in my garden bed as there was 1 smaller one in the original purchased pot and it is thriving. I can only put it down to my potting mix. These are the only 2 things in my garden that have died and only 2 things planted with this potting mix... coincidence?

Date PurchasedJan 2018
Gee
GeeMid North Coast, NSW
  • 2 reviews
  • 1 like

was good, now rubbish

published
Date PurchasedNov 2017
Kerrus
KerrusPerth, WA
  • 10 reviews
  • 10 likes

Rubbish Product

published

Purchased 5 bags for growing my vegetable seedlings. Am very disappointed with results as everything suffering badly or dying. This potting mix stays very water logged just like clay. Won't drain properly at all. Will definitely never purchase this inferior Victorian manufactured product again! Will buy less expensive superior local potting mix in future.

Date PurchasedSept 2017

Questions & Answers

helen Dmytriw
helen Dmytriwasked
Potting Mix

is brunnings naturally good potting mix okay to use for cacti and succulents or should i a add something to it

No answers
Arthur C.
Arthur C.asked
Potting Mix Premium

is anyone having problems with brunnings premium potting mix

No answers
Tess D
Tess Dasked
Potting Mix

What is the ph of the premium "Azalia Camellia Acid loving plants" Brunnings potting mix?
Why isn't the ph listed on the bag?
Would you expect a potting mix formulated for "acid loving plants" to have at least a neutral ph or lower?
Why is this mix so alkaline when tested straight from the bag, 8and a half to 9 on soild testing kit.??

No answers
See all Brunnings Potting Mix questions

Get an answer from our members

Brunnings Potting Mix

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.