??!
1 photo
Coles Rewards Mastercard

Coles Rewards Mastercard

3.5 from 102 reviews

Pros

  • 120,000 Bonus Points when you apply by 31 January 2020 and spend $3,000 in the first 90 days from approval

  • No International Transaction Fee

  • Earn 2 flybuys Points per $1 on eligible spend

  • $10 off Coles supermarket shop at the checkout each time you redeem 2,000 flybuys points

  • 0% p.a. on balance transfers for 14 months

Cons

  • Relatively high $99 Annual Fee

  • $30 Late Payment Fee

Reviews

(37)
(29)
(8)
(4)
(24)
  • Transparency
    3.8 (83)
  • Customer Service
    3.6 (85)
  • Rates and Fees
    3.8 (81)
  • Rewards
    4.3 (73)
  • Online Experience
    3.8 (79)
  • Card / Account Used For
    • Everyday Expenses (74)
    • Online Shopping (42)
    • Special Purchases (32)
    • Overseas/Travel (31)
  • Application Process
    4.0 (72)


DC

DCGreater Melbourne (Inner), VIC

  • 2 reviews

Beware.

published

I wrote a positive review last year, just after getting this card. What a mistake! I could not access even the simplest information, without first waiting for a text message containing a one time pin number. The website was also very clunky to use. I cancelled the card last month and received notification from them, on closure, that any outstanding transactions needed to be paid (of course!). I assumed that the final payment would be direct debited as usual. I was very surprised to receive an email informing me that I had to pay an overdue payment fee. I have since contacted them and the fee has been reimbursed, but just a warning that if you close your account, make sure you cover your back.


Neil T

Neil TGreater Melbourne (Metropolitan), VIC

  • 8 reviews

For my needs this card is a good value proposition

published
Transparency
Customer Service
Rates and Fees
Rewards
Online Experience
Application Process
Card Start DateJanuary 2018
Main Point of ContactPhone
Card / Account Used For
  • Everyday Expenses
  • Online Shopping
  • Overseas/Travel
  • Special Purchases
See all answers
David Taylor

David TaylorPerth, WA

  • 15 reviews

Great flybuys... but dumb customer service.

published
Transparency
Customer Service
Rates and Fees
Online Experience
Application Process
Main Point of ContactPhone
Card / Account Used For
  • Everyday Expenses
See all answers
Damian

DamianSydney, NSW

Not sure what people are complaing about!!

published

As a regular Coles and Shell shopper, this card appealed to me. The sign up process was straightforward, as was requesting an additional card for my wife. Within 2 months, we have recieved our 100,000 bonus points plus a massive boost to our regular Flybuys points. Great card, I am looking forward to what happens over the next 12 months!

Transparency
Customer Service
Rates and Fees
Rewards
Online Experience
Application Process
Card Start DateNovember 2019
Main Point of ContactOnline
Card / Account Used For
  • Everyday Expenses
  • Online Shopping
  • Overseas/Travel
  • Special Purchases
See all answers

Zhen

Zhen

  • 2 reviews

Misleading

published

I have applied and got approved for master card with 120K flybuy points
However I only received 50k points. I have been told I only have promotion codes for 50k. What a Joke!
I wouldnt keep this card, will cancel it. If they can cheat once then they can cheat twice


Tessa

Tessa

  • 2 reviews

New Coles MasterCard not able to be signed any pen in the back - ridiculous!!

published

New cards were issued and did not get informed at all. Accidentally found out when another card no. just appeared in my online profile. Also when finally got unwanted new card, then you cannot sign on rear of card. No pen at all works on the plastic strip. Appalling. Then you wait on help line and 30 mins on hold min. Ridiculous and not worth it.

Transparency
Customer Service
Rates and Fees
Rewards
Online Experience
Main Point of ContactPhone
Card / Account Used For
  • Everyday Expenses
See all answers

Share

Share

  • 8 reviews

Very poor customer service

published

Submitted required documents. Kept getting calls from them when at work. Returned their calls and was told no updates and to wait for updates. Did not communicate via email during the process but kept calling and bothering the apllicant . Would not recommend to anyone.

Customer Service

Michael21

Michael21MELBOURNE

  • 3 reviews

120,000 FlyBuys Promotion is deceptive

published

Read the fine print in Terms and Conditions before you sign up. The advertisement for this promotion states that you will receive 100,000 FlyBuy points when you spend $3,000 in the first 3 months, but this is incorrect. You have to spend $3,000 on ELIGIBLE Spend, as determined by Citigroup/Coles. Most of the other company Credit Card Promotions contain the word "Eligible" in their Advertisement. Citigroup/Coles have buried it in the Terms and Conditions. I will be cancelling my Coles Mastercard today.

Transparency
Customer Service
Rates and Fees
Rewards
Online Experience
Application Process
Card Start DateOctober 2019
Main Point of ContactPhone
Card / Account Used For
  • Everyday Expenses
See all answers
aximili

aximiliGreater Melbourne (Inner), VIC

  • 15 reviews
  • 13 likes

Worst application process, very unprofessional

published
Transparency
Customer Service
Rates and Fees
Online Experience
Application Process
Main Point of ContactPhone
See all answers
I want to say

I want to saySydney, NSW

  • 10 reviews

Service centre treats you like dirt

published

Since Citigroup started managing Coles Mastercard, things have gone downhill terribly. They cannot sort things out properly and you always get bombarded with offers. Lots of phone calls and emails. Very persistent and irritating marketing ploys but not actual service or care of customers. There are cheaper cards around with less interest rates and rewards attached too. Don't bother with this company if you think you deserve to be treated with respect and courtesy.

Transparency
Customer Service
Rates and Fees
Rewards
Online Experience
Application Process
Card Start DateApril 2014
Main Point of ContactOnline
Card / Account Used For
  • Everyday Expenses
See all answers

B.T.Melb

B.T.MelbGreater Melbourne (Inner), VIC

  • 9 reviews
  • Verified customer

Attracted by sign up bonus but sign up process was painful

published
Transparency
Customer Service
Rates and Fees
Rewards
Online Experience
Application Process
Card Start DateOctober 2019
Main Point of ContactOnline
Card / Account Used For
  • Everyday Expenses
  • Online Shopping
  • Overseas/Travel
  • Special Purchases
See all answers

pandatas

pandatas

  • 5 reviews
  • 1 like

As a savvy Flybuys user, this is a great addition to accumulating points!

published
Transparency
Customer Service
Rates and Fees
Online Experience
Application Process
Card Start DateJanuary 2017
Main Point of ContactOnline
Card / Account Used For
  • Everyday Expenses
  • Online Shopping
  • Overseas/Travel
  • Special Purchases
See all answers

Great Flybuys Options

published

I got stung by the $2.25 over-the-counter transaction fee for making a payment to my account at an Australia Post store. I never even knew there was such a fee.

Transparency
Customer Service
Rates and Fees
Rewards
Online Experience
Application Process
Card Start DateJanuary 2018
Main Point of ContactOnline
Card / Account Used For
  • Everyday Expenses
See all answers

Blender

BlenderSouth East Queensland, QLD

  • 9 reviews
  • 4 likes
  • Verified customer

No fee credit card with Flybuys points

published

This is a basic Mastercard, which I find handy to have on hand for when Amex isn't accepted. If Coles was my local supermarket I'd use this card more as it's based around Flybuys points, which are only earned at certain places and not on all purchases.

Transparency
Customer Service
Rates and Fees
Rewards
Online Experience
Application Process
Card Start DateJuly 2011
Main Point of ContactOnline
Card / Account Used For
  • Special Purchases
See all answers
Aditya Majety

Aditya MajetySydney, NSW

  • 5 reviews
  • Verified customer

Best Card for Daily and International usage

published

We have recently applied for this card and started using it. We were looking for a credit card that offers rewards, can be used daily, can be used for international purchases and has decent annual fee. Flybuys has good number of partners and they have ongoing offers to boost the points earn. This is also good to get Velocity points and also Velocity status credits. Flubuys points are credited as soon as the pending transactions are finalized on this credit card. We also applied this in a bonus 50000 flybuys points promotion. The customer service is also decent. We highly recommend this card.

Transparency
Customer Service
Rates and Fees
Rewards
Online Experience
Application Process
Card Start DateSeptember 2019
Main Point of ContactPhone
Card / Account Used For
  • Everyday Expenses
  • Online Shopping
  • Overseas/Travel
See all answers
Tegan S.

Tegan S.Greater Melbourne (Metropolitan), VIC

  • 7 reviews

Great rewards

published

This is a great credit card. You can earn heaps of flybuys points which can be used when shopping at coles. Build up enough points and receive $10 off every shop.

Transparency
Customer Service
Rates and Fees
Rewards
Online Experience
Application Process
Card Start DateJuly 2014
Main Point of ContactOnline
Card / Account Used For
  • Everyday Expenses
  • Online Shopping
  • Overseas/Travel
  • Special Purchases
See all answers

The reviewer stated that an incentive was offered for this review


lisha_gal

lisha_galSouth East Queensland, QLD

  • 121 reviews
  • Verified customer

Great rewards points teamed up with flybuys

published

We have found this card to be very generous with their rewards. We generally get about $800 - $1000 from this mastercard. Teamed up with flybuys it is a great way to rack up those flybuys points. The rewards system is far better than our previous credit card. We pay on time each month so the interest rate does not effect us. The BPAY option is easy to use to pay off the bill. Their customer service has always been helpful and prompt. The annual fee is worth paying for the rewards we make, which we save for Christmas. Overall A++ if you are looking for a good rewards credit card.

Transparency
Customer Service
Rates and Fees
Rewards
Online Experience
Application Process
Card Start DateFebruary 2017
Main Point of ContactPhone
Card / Account Used For
  • Everyday Expenses
  • Online Shopping
  • Special Purchases
See all answers

Reece

ReeceMetropolitan Adelaide, SA

  • 5 reviews

Perfect card for anyone who shops at Coles

published

- This card was offering a generous deal of 120,000 bonus points when picking it up before Jan 2020 and spend $3,000 within the first 90 days of getting it (which is what i spend on groceries and bills alone).
- As a regular Coles shopper being able to utilise the 2 Flybuys points per $1 spent is fantastic to reduce my spending on groceries and they offer great deals from time to time.
- This card can also be used over seas too which offers fantastic benefits as it offers no international transaction fees.

Transparency
Customer Service
Rates and Fees
Rewards
Online Experience
Application Process
Card / Account Used For
  • Everyday Expenses
  • Online Shopping
  • Overseas/Travel
  • Special Purchases
See all answers

The reviewer stated that an incentive was offered for this review


Dev

DevGreater Melbourne (Metropolitan), VIC

  • 5 reviews

Good Product

published

I recently got this card and i pretty much happy with it. Its a good choice for someone who is coles shopper like me. You can also convert your points into Velocity flyers points. Overall am happy with the rewards I get with this card.

I havent used it overseas yet.

Transparency
Customer Service
Rewards
Application Process
Card Start DateMay 2019
Main Point of ContactPhone
Card / Account Used For
  • Everyday Expenses
See all answers

Ashi

AshiSydney, NSW

Great stuff for frequent Coles Shoppers

published

Good for everyday use. Sign up was easy surprisingly. Moreover you can convert your Flybuys point into Velocity flyer points.
I havent used it overseas. Overall I like this product and its good for coles shopper.

Transparency
Customer Service
Rates and Fees
Rewards
Application Process
Card Start DateSeptember 2018
Main Point of ContactPhone
Card / Account Used For
  • Everyday Expenses
See all answers

Page 1 of 6

Questions & Answers

calais

calaisasked

Why is this site "product review offering $20 Cole gift cards??? Is Coles aware of this?? Or us this a scam that we need to involve the ACCC???

No answers

calais

calaisasked

How do I get my $20 card for submitting 4 reviews??????????

No answers

Intheend

Intheendasked

As a LONG time customer with one of these cards, I've noticed dramatic changes since Citibank joined. For those who have switched to another credit card company...any good recommendations? I liked this one for the Flybuys.

2 answers
Dave
Dave

If you are as crazy as I am gathering Flyby points, then I would stick to the Coles card 100% and reap as many points as possible. If you want to swap, I just became a Bank Australia customer and opened a number of accounts after closing all my CBA ones. They have a very good VISA card with no annual fee and only 12.39% and the same on cash advances. Check them out. We’re really happy with them.

Intheend
Intheend

@ Dave, thanks.... from all the reviews I've read, even closing your Coles Mastercard account is difficult! I might stick with them a bit longer and hope they pick up their game!! In the meantime, I'll check out Bank Australia.


Get an answer from our members and Coles representatives

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.