??!
1 photo
Commonwealth Bank Awards

Commonwealth Bank Awards

3.6 from 82 reviews

See the Best Balance Transfer Credit Cards in 2019 as rated by Australians on ProductReview.com.au.

Pros

  • Entry-level credit limit of $500 minimum

  • Can earn either Commbank Awards points or Qantas Frequent Flyer points

Cons

  • High Balance Transfer Rate (5.99%)

  • Awards points earn rate capped at 50,000 per annum

  • Qantas points earn rate capped at 12,000 per annum

  • Switching to Qantas points program incurs an additional $30 annual fee

Reviews

Review distribution

5 star
22
4 star
30
3 star
13
2 star
6
1 star
11

Low minimum credit limit

published

Good entry level card. The low minimum credit limit of $500 makes it accessible for those times when you need an actual credit not debit card for hotel stays etc. Not really any other benefits of this particular card to mention.

Transparency
Customer Service
Rates and Fees
Rewards
Online Experience
Application Process
Card Start DateAugust 2009
Main Point of ContactPhone
Card / Account Used ForOverseas/Travel
See all answers

Sal

SalSydney, NSW

  • 5 reviews

Great. Love the rewards program

published

Great card. Always pay by the die date, therefore no interest charges plus the benefit of rewards. Benefit of supplementary card for an additional $10 and only $59 annual fee

Transparency
Customer Service
Rates and Fees
Rewards
Online Experience
Application Process
Card Start DateJanuary 2000
Main Point of ContactPhone
Card / Account Used ForEveryday Expenses
See all answers

The reviewer stated that an incentive was offered for this review

Jonah G.

Jonah G.Sydney, NSW

Does the job

published

The great thing about the CommBank awards card is the convenience in online mobile banking. The awards themselves arnt that interesting for the amount you have to spent to redeem them.

Transparency
Customer Service
Rates and Fees
Rewards
Online Experience
Application Process
Card Start DateMay 2017
Main Point of ContactPhone
Card / Account Used ForEveryday Expenses, Online Shopping and Overseas/Travel
See all answers

The reviewer stated that an incentive was offered for this review

nothing special!

published

I find The awards program really isnt very exciting as you need to spend a fortune to get anything, I spent ALOT of money and for barely anything in return!!! The redemption process is simple once you finally work up enough points, but again, not worth the time! Not worth it, I feel theres a lot of better deals on the market!

Transparency
Customer Service
Rates and Fees
Rewards
Online Experience
Application Process
Card Start DateJune 2015
Main Point of ContactOnline
Card / Account Used ForOnline Shopping and Special Purchases
See all answers

Dabas

DabasSydney, NSW

Decent Card

published

I have been using the CBA card since 2013. It's quick in transferring money to this credit card and the customer service is impeccable. Its a decent card to have .

Transparency
Customer Service
Rates and Fees
Rewards
Online Experience
Card Start DateNovember 2018
See all answers

The reviewer stated that an incentive was offered for this review


Moh A.

Moh A.Sydney, NSW

  • 12 reviews

Commonwealth credit card

published

You would pay Standard fees.
Easy to transfer balance to credit card
Rewards given by commonwealth credit card are minimum
Not very satisfied with rewards and points scheme.
Try getting offers from other banks


Ivanna

IvannaPerth, WA

  • 12 reviews
  • Verified customer

Fantastic Awards

published

Been with Commbank my whole life and would never change.
Based on my experience using Commonwealth Awards creditcard makes it easier. The cons would be the international fee charge which is quite high!
I find it relatively easy to transfer my balance to the creditcard. The app is super!
Satisfied with the costumer service (answered all my queries), conveniency with Commonwealth bank (branches nearby), getting rewarded for using it and claiming the awards made easy.
It is easy to accumulate points and simple to redeem them.

Transparency
Customer Service
Rates and Fees
Rewards
Online Experience
Application Process
Card Start DateJanuary 2015
Main Point of ContactOnline
Card / Account Used ForEveryday Expenses, Online Shopping and Overseas/Travel
See all answers

Ken

Ken

  • 5 reviews

Functional and straightforward

published

I have been using the CBA card since 2013. It's quick in transferring money to this credit card and the customer service is impeccable. but I'm not too happy with the annual fee.

Transparency
Customer Service
Rates and Fees
Rewards
Online Experience
Application Process
Card Start DateAugust 2013
Main Point of ContactPhone
Card / Account Used ForEveryday Expenses and Online Shopping
See all answers

The reviewer stated that an incentive was offered for this review

ARAVIND R.

ARAVIND R.Greater Melbourne (Metropolitan), VIC

Good Card

published

I have been using the CBA card for the 4 years. The customer services is good but I don’t like annual fee. Also CBA used to give for Amex 2 points for $1 spent but they get rid of it.

Transparency
Customer Service
Rates and Fees
Rewards
Online Experience
Application Process
Card Start DateJune 2016
Main Point of ContactPhone
Card / Account Used ForEveryday Expenses
See all answers

The reviewer stated that an incentive was offered for this review

Ajay S.

Ajay S.Sydney, NSW

Reliable and instantaneous response when used

published

Works well in multiple scenarios such as for eftpos machines or vending machines using PayPass application of payment in addition to the standard swipe or insert and pin method of use.

Transparency
Customer Service
Rates and Fees
Online Experience
Application Process
Card Start DateOctober 2018
Main Point of ContactOnline
Card / Account Used ForEveryday Expenses and Online Shopping
See all answers

Anne

Anne

  • 7 reviews

Easy to use

published

I have been using this card for years and find it simple to use. The bank app makes it very convenient and it is easy to transfer money to the card and do your banking. I like the points, good way to treat yourself.

Transparency
Customer Service
Rates and Fees
Rewards
Online Experience
Application Process
Card Start DateMarch 2015
Main Point of ContactOnline
Card / Account Used ForEveryday Expenses and Online Shopping
See all answers

Eraj

ErajMelbourne

  • 2 reviews

Great card from a great bank!

published

I've been banking with CBA for all of my financial life and my awards card has helped me reward myself with a range of different items! App is user friendly :)

Transparency
Customer Service
Rates and Fees
Rewards
Online Experience
See all answers

The reviewer stated that an incentive was offered for this review


Reliable services

published

Good bank with a lot of youth incentives that help you manage your money more efficeiny. As a result I am able to manage and finance my money now at an important age

Transparency
Customer Service
Rates and Fees
Rewards
Online Experience
Application Process
Main Point of ContactOnline
Card / Account Used ForEveryday Expenses
See all answers

StevenL

StevenLGreater Melbourne (Metropolitan), VIC

  • 13 reviews
  • 4 likes

No frills Basic Credit Card

published

Had this card for almost 10 years.
No frills and hasn't failed me once.
I use it for convenience so I pay up when the statement comes.
I once missed a payment because I didn't receive the statement but CBA was kind enough to waive the interest penalty and charges. I have used it overseas and the exchange rate is typical of Aussie Banks-lousy.
Plus there is a charge for using the card-so I don't use my CBA card overseas.
Like I say-this is a no frills card so no reward points.

Transparency
Customer Service
Rates and Fees
Online Experience
Application Process
Card Start DateMay 2010
Main Point of ContactOnline
Card / Account Used ForEveryday Expenses and Online Shopping
See all answers
Saurav S.

Saurav S.Greater Melbourne (Inner), VIC

  • 2 reviews

Accrue points for everyday usage

published

I simply use the Awards card for my everyday grocery to apparel shopping. The amount that I would have spent from my Debit card , I spend the same with my credit card and accrue points for the usage.

Its a pretty good card for me till now.

Transparency
Customer Service
Rates and Fees
Online Experience
Application Process
Card Start DateAugust 2019
Card / Account Used ForEveryday Expenses and Online Shopping
See all answers
Jus

JusBrisbane

  • 2 reviews

Absolutely rubbish now days!! There is nothing worthwhile having. You can’t even get a TV. Used to be a great system.

published

There just ain’t anything with spending your points on.
I used to live comm bank rewards and looked forward to shopping with my points. No it’s not worth it.
Seems like no one is trying anymore.
It’s going to cost them a lot of customers.

Transparency
Customer Service
Rates and Fees
Rewards
Online Experience
Application Process
Card Start DateFebruary 2012
Main Point of ContactPhone
Card / Account Used ForEveryday Expenses, Online Shopping, Overseas/Travel and Special Purchases
See all answers

Mohamed H M Yoosuf

Mohamed H M YoosufGreater Melbourne (Inner), VIC

  • 12 reviews
  • 1 like
  • Verified customer

A simple and beneficial CBA Awards MasterCard

published

I used this card with $5000 limit to pay all my bills and purchases. Initially a bonus reward of 30,000 points was given which I used to purchase $150 worth of Caltex fuel cards. Every month I have been given more reward points to purchase many gift cards. Annual fee also low and have a 55 days interest-free period.

Transparency
Customer Service
Rates and Fees
Rewards
Online Experience
Application Process
Card Start DateJuly 2019
Main Point of ContactBranch
Card / Account Used ForEveryday Expenses, Online Shopping and Special Purchases
See all answers

Sandra R.

Sandra R.Greater Melbourne (Outer), VIC

Good card for Lots if Rewards

published

My Commonwealth Bank Rewards card is easy to use. I have had this card for many years. All you need to do is pay for anything every time you shop and watch your points accumulate on your card. These points are great for all sorts of rewards and are very handy when you want to redeem for different things. I particularly like to redeem supermarket vouchers like Coles and Woolies. These rewards are also handy for special occasions like Birthdays and Christmas. The supermarket vouchers are available straight away via e-gift cards. Other rewards such as electrical, outdoors and more generally take between 2-4 weeks to arrive depending on their availability and where they are coming from.

Transparency
Customer Service
Rates and Fees
Rewards
Online Experience
Card / Account Used ForEveryday Expenses, Online Shopping and Special Purchases
See all answers

The reviewer stated that an incentive was offered for this review


Maggie

MaggieGreater Melbourne (Inner), VIC

  • 4 reviews
  • 1 like

Love CBA standard Visa

published

How good are CBA ... they send me a text three days before my payment is due reminding me to pay on time and if that is not enough I have been informed that they have waived the annual fee this year. No complaint from me. And I don't even have a CBA bank account.

Transparency
Customer Service
Rates and Fees
Main Point of ContactOnline
Card / Account Used ForOnline Shopping and Special Purchases
See all answers

Canberra Daddy

Canberra DaddyKingston 2604, ACT

  • 19 reviews

This is my everyday credit card

published

Partner and I have 2 COMBANK Mastercard Diamond cards on the one account with a large limit. I pay all bills and spend about $5,000 per month, converting all award points to QANTAS. After 5 years I have accumulated enough Qantas Points to buy 2 around the world business class tickets, mostly as a result of this card. I did not transfer any balance to this card but very satisfied with the rewards and the ease of transfer to QANTAS. I pay card off in full every month. The NETBANK App and website are very easy to use.

Transparency
Customer Service
Rates and Fees
Rewards
Online Experience
Main Point of ContactOnline
Card / Account Used ForEveryday Expenses, Online Shopping, Overseas/Travel and Special Purchases
See all answers

Page 1 of 5

Questions & Answers

Sorry, there are no questions yet.


Get an answer from our members and Commonwealth Bank representatives

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.