??!
1 photo
Commonwealth Bank Awards

Commonwealth Bank Awards

3.5 from 85 reviews · View Statistics

Pros

  • Entry-level credit limit of $500 minimum

  • Low $59 Annual Fee

Cons

  • High Balance Transfer Rate (5.99%)

  • Awards points earn rate capped at 50,000 per annum

Details

CategoryBalance Transfer Credit Cards and Rewards Credit Cards
Card TypeMastercard
Minimum Credit Limit $500
Additional Cardholder Fee $10 p.a.
Minimum Repayments2%
Rewards ProgramCommBank Awards
Points Earn Rate 1 points per $1
Points Conditions
  • 1 Awards point per $1 spent using your Mastercard.

This is capped at 50,000 points per year.

You can opt to automatically transfer your Awards points to Qantas Frequent Flyer points. The conversion rate is 2.5 Awards points for 1 QFF point. Additional fees may apply.

Contactless PaymentsApple Pay, Fitbit Pay, Garmin Pay, Google Pay and Samsung Pay
Rates & Fees
Purchase Rate20.24% p.a.
Cash Advance Fee3%
Late Payment Fee$20
Annual Fee$59 p.a.
Foreign Transaction Fee 3%
Overseas ATM Withdrawal Fee$3
Interest Free Period 55 days
Cash Advance Rate21.24% p.a.
Balance Transfer Rates
Balance Transfer Period 5 months
Balance Transfer Rate 5.99% p.a.
Release dateJune 2007

Visit official website

Reviews

  • Transparency
    4.1 (49)
  • Customer Service
    4.3 (49)
  • Rates and Fees
    3.6 (49)
  • Rewards
    4.1 (37)
  • Online Experience
    4.4 (48)
  • Application Process
    4.2 (39)
Previous
Next
Anita

AnitaSouth East Queensland, QLD

Great until you make a mistake - then unable to help :(

published

I accidentally ordered too many of an item with my awards points. This was on the weekend - outside of business hours, so I couldn’t call to rectify this. Called the next business day - I was very politely informed that it was too late; sorry, already processed and nothing they could do. Very disappointing. I made a mistake, but there was no avenue to rectify it. A very unforgiving system.

Incentivised ReviewNo
Main Point of ContactPhone
Card / Account Used For
  • Everyday Expenses
Channa

ChannaGreater Melbourne (Outer), VIC

Excellent customer service

published

I ordered garden equipment using my award points. All items arrived except the leaf blower. When I inquired, to my surprise, i was told the item was delivered 10 days back to my address. As I did not get it, I asked for the acknowledgement for the delivery. I was then told due to the current epidemic deliveries are not acknowledged and I almost lost hope of getting it. However, the awards team within two days arranged the delivery and I received it yesterday. I am extremely pleased with the way they handled my case.

Transparency
Customer Service
Incentivised ReviewNo
Andrew S.

Andrew S.Greater Melbourne (Metropolitan), VIC

Inability to communicate or deliver. 'Escalation process' is a joke

published
Transparency
Customer Service
Rates and Fees
Rewards
Online Experience
Application Process
Incentivised ReviewNo
Card Start DateNovember 2001
Main Point of ContactPhone
Card / Account Used For
  • Everyday Expenses
See all answers
Balance Transfer Credit Cards

Find out how Commonwealth Bank Awards compares to other Balance Transfer Credit Cards

Know better, choose better.

Compare all

Low minimum credit limit

published

Good entry level card. The low minimum credit limit of $500 makes it accessible for those times when you need an actual credit not debit card for hotel stays etc. Not really any other benefits of this particular card to mention.

Transparency
Customer Service
Rates and Fees
Rewards
Online Experience
Application Process
Incentivised ReviewNo
Card Start DateAugust 2009
Main Point of ContactPhone
Card / Account Used For
  • Overseas/Travel
See all answers
Sal

SalSydney, NSW

  • 5 reviews

Great. Love the rewards program

published

Great card. Always pay by the die date, therefore no interest charges plus the benefit of rewards. Benefit of supplementary card for an additional $10 and only $59 annual fee

Transparency
Customer Service
Rates and Fees
Rewards
Online Experience
Application Process
Card Start DateJanuary 2000
Main Point of ContactPhone
Card / Account Used For
  • Everyday Expenses
See all answers

The reviewer stated that an incentive was offered for this review

Jonah G.

Jonah G.Sydney, NSW

Does the job

published

The great thing about the CommBank awards card is the convenience in online mobile banking. The awards themselves arnt that interesting for the amount you have to spent to redeem them.

Transparency
Customer Service
Rates and Fees
Rewards
Online Experience
Application Process
Card Start DateMay 2017
Main Point of ContactPhone
Card / Account Used For
  • Everyday Expenses
  • Online Shopping
  • Overseas/Travel
See all answers

The reviewer stated that an incentive was offered for this review

MelissaF

MelissaFRyde

  • 6 reviews
  • 1 like

nothing special!

published

I find The awards program really isnt very exciting as you need to spend a fortune to get anything, I spent ALOT of money and for barely anything in return!!! The redemption process is simple once you finally work up enough points, but again, not worth the time! Not worth it, I feel theres a lot of better deals on the market!

Transparency
Customer Service
Rates and Fees
Rewards
Online Experience
Application Process
Incentivised ReviewNo
Card Start DateJune 2015
Main Point of ContactOnline
Card / Account Used For
  • Online Shopping
  • Special Purchases
See all answers
Dabas

DabasSydney, NSW

Decent Card

published

I have been using the CBA card since 2013. It's quick in transferring money to this credit card and the customer service is impeccable. Its a decent card to have .

Transparency
Customer Service
Rates and Fees
Rewards
Online Experience
Card Start DateNovember 2018
See all answers

The reviewer stated that an incentive was offered for this review

Moh A.

Moh A.Sydney, NSW

  • 12 reviews

Commonwealth credit card

published

You would pay Standard fees.
Easy to transfer balance to credit card
Rewards given by commonwealth credit card are minimum
Not very satisfied with rewards and points scheme.
Try getting offers from other banks

Incentivised ReviewNo
Balance Transfer Credit Cards

Find out how Commonwealth Bank Awards compares to other Balance Transfer Credit Cards

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Ivanna

IvannaPerth, WA

  • 12 reviews
  • Verified customer

Fantastic Awards

published

Been with Commbank my whole life and would never change.
Based on my experience using Commonwealth Awards creditcard makes it easier. The cons would be the international fee charge which is quite high!
I find it relatively easy to transfer my balance to the creditcard. The app is super!
Satisfied with the costumer service (answered all my queries), conveniency with Commonwealth bank (branches nearby), getting rewarded for using it and claiming the awards made easy.
It is easy to accumulate points and simple to redeem them.

Transparency
Customer Service
Rates and Fees
Rewards
Online Experience
Application Process
Incentivised ReviewNo
Card Start DateJanuary 2015
Main Point of ContactOnline
Card / Account Used For
  • Everyday Expenses
  • Online Shopping
  • Overseas/Travel
See all answers
Ken

Ken

  • 5 reviews

Functional and straightforward

published

I have been using the CBA card since 2013. It's quick in transferring money to this credit card and the customer service is impeccable. but I'm not too happy with the annual fee.

Transparency
Customer Service
Rates and Fees
Rewards
Online Experience
Application Process
Card Start DateAugust 2013
Main Point of ContactPhone
Card / Account Used For
  • Everyday Expenses
  • Online Shopping
See all answers

The reviewer stated that an incentive was offered for this review

ARAVIND R.

ARAVIND R.Greater Melbourne (Metropolitan), VIC

Good Card

published

I have been using the CBA card for the 4 years. The customer services is good but I don’t like annual fee. Also CBA used to give for Amex 2 points for $1 spent but they get rid of it.

Transparency
Customer Service
Rates and Fees
Rewards
Online Experience
Application Process
Card Start DateJune 2016
Main Point of ContactPhone
Card / Account Used For
  • Everyday Expenses
See all answers

The reviewer stated that an incentive was offered for this review

Ajay S.

Ajay S.Sydney, NSW

Reliable and instantaneous response when used

published

Works well in multiple scenarios such as for eftpos machines or vending machines using PayPass application of payment in addition to the standard swipe or insert and pin method of use.

Transparency
Customer Service
Rates and Fees
Online Experience
Application Process
Incentivised ReviewNo
Card Start DateOctober 2018
Main Point of ContactOnline
Card / Account Used For
  • Everyday Expenses
  • Online Shopping
See all answers
Anne

Anne

  • 9 reviews
  • 1 like

Easy to use

published

I have been using this card for years and find it simple to use. The bank app makes it very convenient and it is easy to transfer money to the card and do your banking. I like the points, good way to treat yourself.

Transparency
Customer Service
Rates and Fees
Rewards
Online Experience
Application Process
Incentivised ReviewNo
Card Start DateMarch 2015
Main Point of ContactOnline
Card / Account Used For
  • Everyday Expenses
  • Online Shopping
See all answers
Eraj

ErajMelbourne

  • 2 reviews

Great card from a great bank!

published

I've been banking with CBA for all of my financial life and my awards card has helped me reward myself with a range of different items! App is user friendly :)

Transparency
Customer Service
Rates and Fees
Rewards
Online Experience
See all answers

The reviewer stated that an incentive was offered for this review

Balance Transfer Credit Cards

Find out how Commonwealth Bank Awards compares to other Balance Transfer Credit Cards

Know better, choose better.

Compare all

Reliable services

published

Good bank with a lot of youth incentives that help you manage your money more efficeiny. As a result I am able to manage and finance my money now at an important age

Transparency
Customer Service
Rates and Fees
Rewards
Online Experience
Application Process
Incentivised ReviewNo
Main Point of ContactOnline
Card / Account Used For
  • Everyday Expenses
See all answers
StevenL

StevenLGreater Melbourne (Metropolitan), VIC

  • 14 reviews
  • 5 likes

No frills Basic Credit Card

published

Had this card for almost 10 years.
No frills and hasn't failed me once.
I use it for convenience so I pay up when the statement comes.
I once missed a payment because I didn't receive the statement but CBA was kind enough to waive the interest penalty and charges. I have used it overseas and the exchange rate is typical of Aussie Banks-lousy.
Plus there is a charge for using the card-so I don't use my CBA card overseas.
Like I say-this is a no frills card so no reward points.

Transparency
Customer Service
Rates and Fees
Online Experience
Application Process
Incentivised ReviewNo
Card Start DateMay 2010
Main Point of ContactOnline
Card / Account Used For
  • Everyday Expenses
  • Online Shopping
See all answers
Saurav S.

Saurav S.Greater Melbourne (Inner), VIC

  • 2 reviews

Accrue points for everyday usage

published

I simply use the Awards card for my everyday grocery to apparel shopping. The amount that I would have spent from my Debit card , I spend the same with my credit card and accrue points for the usage.

Its a pretty good card for me till now.

Transparency
Customer Service
Rates and Fees
Online Experience
Application Process
Incentivised ReviewNo
Card Start DateAugust 2019
Card / Account Used For
  • Everyday Expenses
  • Online Shopping
See all answers
Jus

JusBrisbane

  • 3 reviews

Absolutely rubbish now days!! There is nothing worthwhile having. You can’t even get a TV. Used to be a great system.

published

There just ain’t anything with spending your points on.
I used to live comm bank rewards and looked forward to shopping with my points. No it’s not worth it.
Seems like no one is trying anymore.
It’s going to cost them a lot of customers.

Transparency
Customer Service
Rates and Fees
Rewards
Online Experience
Application Process
Incentivised ReviewNo
Card Start DateFebruary 2012
Main Point of ContactPhone
Card / Account Used For
  • Everyday Expenses
  • Online Shopping
  • Overseas/Travel
  • Special Purchases
See all answers
Mohamed H M Yoosuf

Mohamed H M YoosufGreater Melbourne (Inner), VIC

  • 13 reviews
  • 4 likes
  • Verified customer

A simple and beneficial CBA Awards MasterCard

published

I used this card with $5000 limit to pay all my bills and purchases. Initially a bonus reward of 30,000 points was given which I used to purchase $150 worth of Caltex fuel cards. Every month I have been given more reward points to purchase many gift cards. Annual fee also low and have a 55 days interest-free period.

Transparency
Customer Service
Rates and Fees
Rewards
Online Experience
Application Process
Incentivised ReviewNo
Card Start DateJuly 2019
Main Point of ContactBranch
Card / Account Used For
  • Everyday Expenses
  • Online Shopping
  • Special Purchases
See all answers
Page 1 of 5

Questions & Answers

Sorry, there are no questions yet.

Get an answer from our members

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.