??!
1 photo
Commonwealth Bank Awards

Commonwealth Bank Awards

3.5 from 84 reviews

Pros

  • Entry-level credit limit of $500 minimum

  • Can earn either Commbank Awards points or Qantas Frequent Flyer points

  • Low $59 Annual Fee

Cons

  • High Balance Transfer Rate (5.99%)

  • Awards points earn rate capped at 50,000 per annum

  • Qantas points earn rate capped at 12,000 per annum

  • Switching to Qantas points program incurs an additional $30 annual fee

Reviews

3.5

84 reviews
5
(23)
4
(30)
3
(13)
2
(6)
1
(12)
Previous
Next
Channa

ChannaGreater Melbourne (Outer), VIC

Excellent customer service

published

I ordered garden equipment using my award points. All items arrived except the leaf blower. When I inquired, to my surprise, i was told the item was delivered 10 days back to my address. As I did not get it, I asked for the acknowledgement for the delivery. I was then told due to the current epidemic deliveries are not acknowledged and I almost lost hope of getting it. However, the awards team within two days arranged the delivery and I received it yesterday. I am extremely pleased with the way they handled my case.

Transparency
Customer Service
Andrew S.

Andrew S.Greater Melbourne (Metropolitan), VIC

Inability to communicate or deliver. 'Escalation process' is a joke

published
Transparency
Customer Service
Rates and Fees
Rewards
Online Experience
Application Process
Card Start DateNovember 2001
Main Point of ContactPhone
Card / Account Used For
  • Everyday Expenses
See all answers

Low minimum credit limit

published

Good entry level card. The low minimum credit limit of $500 makes it accessible for those times when you need an actual credit not debit card for hotel stays etc. Not really any other benefits of this particular card to mention.

Transparency
Customer Service
Rates and Fees
Rewards
Online Experience
Application Process
Card Start DateAugust 2009
Main Point of ContactPhone
Card / Account Used For
  • Overseas/Travel
See all answers
Balance Transfer Credit Cards

Find out how Commonwealth Bank Awards compares to other Balance Transfer Credit Cards

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Sal

SalSydney, NSW

  • 5 reviews

Great. Love the rewards program

published

Great card. Always pay by the die date, therefore no interest charges plus the benefit of rewards. Benefit of supplementary card for an additional $10 and only $59 annual fee

Transparency
Customer Service
Rates and Fees
Rewards
Online Experience
Application Process
Card Start DateJanuary 2000
Main Point of ContactPhone
Card / Account Used For
  • Everyday Expenses
See all answers

The reviewer stated that an incentive was offered for this review

Jonah G.

Jonah G.Sydney, NSW

Does the job

published

The great thing about the CommBank awards card is the convenience in online mobile banking. The awards themselves arnt that interesting for the amount you have to spent to redeem them.

Transparency
Customer Service
Rates and Fees
Rewards
Online Experience
Application Process
Card Start DateMay 2017
Main Point of ContactPhone
Card / Account Used For
  • Everyday Expenses
  • Online Shopping
  • Overseas/Travel
See all answers

The reviewer stated that an incentive was offered for this review

MelissaF

MelissaFRyde

  • 6 reviews

nothing special!

published

I find The awards program really isnt very exciting as you need to spend a fortune to get anything, I spent ALOT of money and for barely anything in return!!! The redemption process is simple once you finally work up enough points, but again, not worth the time! Not worth it, I feel theres a lot of better deals on the market!

Transparency
Customer Service
Rates and Fees
Rewards
Online Experience
Application Process
Card Start DateJune 2015
Main Point of ContactOnline
Card / Account Used For
  • Online Shopping
  • Special Purchases
See all answers
Dabas

DabasSydney, NSW

Decent Card

published

I have been using the CBA card since 2013. It's quick in transferring money to this credit card and the customer service is impeccable. Its a decent card to have .

Transparency
Customer Service
Rates and Fees
Rewards
Online Experience
Card Start DateNovember 2018
See all answers

The reviewer stated that an incentive was offered for this review

Moh A.

Moh A.Sydney, NSW

  • 12 reviews

Commonwealth credit card

published

You would pay Standard fees.
Easy to transfer balance to credit card
Rewards given by commonwealth credit card are minimum
Not very satisfied with rewards and points scheme.
Try getting offers from other banks

Ivanna

IvannaPerth, WA

  • 12 reviews
  • Verified customer

Fantastic Awards

published

Been with Commbank my whole life and would never change.
Based on my experience using Commonwealth Awards creditcard makes it easier. The cons would be the international fee charge which is quite high!
I find it relatively easy to transfer my balance to the creditcard. The app is super!
Satisfied with the costumer service (answered all my queries), conveniency with Commonwealth bank (branches nearby), getting rewarded for using it and claiming the awards made easy.
It is easy to accumulate points and simple to redeem them.

Transparency
Customer Service
Rates and Fees
Rewards
Online Experience
Application Process
Card Start DateJanuary 2015
Main Point of ContactOnline
Card / Account Used For
  • Everyday Expenses
  • Online Shopping
  • Overseas/Travel
See all answers
Balance Transfer Credit Cards

Find out how Commonwealth Bank Awards compares to other Balance Transfer Credit Cards

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Ken

Ken

  • 5 reviews

Functional and straightforward

published

I have been using the CBA card since 2013. It's quick in transferring money to this credit card and the customer service is impeccable. but I'm not too happy with the annual fee.

Transparency
Customer Service
Rates and Fees
Rewards
Online Experience
Application Process
Card Start DateAugust 2013
Main Point of ContactPhone
Card / Account Used For
  • Everyday Expenses
  • Online Shopping
See all answers

The reviewer stated that an incentive was offered for this review

ARAVIND R.

ARAVIND R.Greater Melbourne (Metropolitan), VIC

Good Card

published

I have been using the CBA card for the 4 years. The customer services is good but I don’t like annual fee. Also CBA used to give for Amex 2 points for $1 spent but they get rid of it.

Transparency
Customer Service
Rates and Fees
Rewards
Online Experience
Application Process
Card Start DateJune 2016
Main Point of ContactPhone
Card / Account Used For
  • Everyday Expenses
See all answers

The reviewer stated that an incentive was offered for this review

Ajay S.

Ajay S.Sydney, NSW

Reliable and instantaneous response when used

published

Works well in multiple scenarios such as for eftpos machines or vending machines using PayPass application of payment in addition to the standard swipe or insert and pin method of use.

Transparency
Customer Service
Rates and Fees
Online Experience
Application Process
Card Start DateOctober 2018
Main Point of ContactOnline
Card / Account Used For
  • Everyday Expenses
  • Online Shopping
See all answers
Anne

Anne

  • 8 reviews

Easy to use

published

I have been using this card for years and find it simple to use. The bank app makes it very convenient and it is easy to transfer money to the card and do your banking. I like the points, good way to treat yourself.

Transparency
Customer Service
Rates and Fees
Rewards
Online Experience
Application Process
Card Start DateMarch 2015
Main Point of ContactOnline
Card / Account Used For
  • Everyday Expenses
  • Online Shopping
See all answers
Eraj

ErajMelbourne

  • 2 reviews

Great card from a great bank!

published

I've been banking with CBA for all of my financial life and my awards card has helped me reward myself with a range of different items! App is user friendly :)

Transparency
Customer Service
Rates and Fees
Rewards
Online Experience
See all answers

The reviewer stated that an incentive was offered for this review

Reliable services

published

Good bank with a lot of youth incentives that help you manage your money more efficeiny. As a result I am able to manage and finance my money now at an important age

Transparency
Customer Service
Rates and Fees
Rewards
Online Experience
Application Process
Main Point of ContactOnline
Card / Account Used For
  • Everyday Expenses
See all answers
Balance Transfer Credit Cards

Find out how Commonwealth Bank Awards compares to other Balance Transfer Credit Cards

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
StevenL

StevenLGreater Melbourne (Metropolitan), VIC

  • 13 reviews

No frills Basic Credit Card

published

Had this card for almost 10 years.
No frills and hasn't failed me once.
I use it for convenience so I pay up when the statement comes.
I once missed a payment because I didn't receive the statement but CBA was kind enough to waive the interest penalty and charges. I have used it overseas and the exchange rate is typical of Aussie Banks-lousy.
Plus there is a charge for using the card-so I don't use my CBA card overseas.
Like I say-this is a no frills card so no reward points.

Transparency
Customer Service
Rates and Fees
Online Experience
Application Process
Card Start DateMay 2010
Main Point of ContactOnline
Card / Account Used For
  • Everyday Expenses
  • Online Shopping
See all answers
Saurav S.

Saurav S.Greater Melbourne (Inner), VIC

  • 2 reviews

Accrue points for everyday usage

published

I simply use the Awards card for my everyday grocery to apparel shopping. The amount that I would have spent from my Debit card , I spend the same with my credit card and accrue points for the usage.

Its a pretty good card for me till now.

Transparency
Customer Service
Rates and Fees
Online Experience
Application Process
Card Start DateAugust 2019
Card / Account Used For
  • Everyday Expenses
  • Online Shopping
See all answers
Jus

JusBrisbane

  • 2 reviews

Absolutely rubbish now days!! There is nothing worthwhile having. You can’t even get a TV. Used to be a great system.

published

There just ain’t anything with spending your points on.
I used to live comm bank rewards and looked forward to shopping with my points. No it’s not worth it.
Seems like no one is trying anymore.
It’s going to cost them a lot of customers.

Transparency
Customer Service
Rates and Fees
Rewards
Online Experience
Application Process
Card Start DateFebruary 2012
Main Point of ContactPhone
Card / Account Used For
  • Everyday Expenses
  • Online Shopping
  • Overseas/Travel
  • Special Purchases
See all answers
Mohamed H M Yoosuf

Mohamed H M YoosufGreater Melbourne (Inner), VIC

  • 13 reviews
  • 1 like
  • Verified customer

A simple and beneficial CBA Awards MasterCard

published

I used this card with $5000 limit to pay all my bills and purchases. Initially a bonus reward of 30,000 points was given which I used to purchase $150 worth of Caltex fuel cards. Every month I have been given more reward points to purchase many gift cards. Annual fee also low and have a 55 days interest-free period.

Transparency
Customer Service
Rates and Fees
Rewards
Online Experience
Application Process
Card Start DateJuly 2019
Main Point of ContactBranch
Card / Account Used For
  • Everyday Expenses
  • Online Shopping
  • Special Purchases
See all answers
Sandra R.

Sandra R.Greater Melbourne (Outer), VIC

Good card for Lots if Rewards

published

My Commonwealth Bank Rewards card is easy to use. I have had this card for many years. All you need to do is pay for anything every time you shop and watch your points accumulate on your card. These points are great for all sorts of rewards and are very handy when you want to redeem for different things. I particularly like to redeem supermarket vouchers like Coles and Woolies. These rewards are also handy for special occasions like Birthdays and Christmas. The supermarket vouchers are available straight away via e-gift cards. Other rewards such as electrical, outdoors and more generally take between 2-4 weeks to arrive depending on their availability and where they are coming from.

Transparency
Customer Service
Rates and Fees
Rewards
Online Experience
Card / Account Used For
  • Everyday Expenses
  • Online Shopping
  • Special Purchases
See all answers

The reviewer stated that an incentive was offered for this review

Page 1 of 5

Questions & Answers

Sorry, there are no questions yet.

Get an answer from our members

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.