??!
1 photo
Commonwealth Bank Low Fee

Commonwealth Bank Low Fee

4.0 from 45 reviews

See the Best Low Rate Credit Cards in 2019 as rated by Australians on ProductReview.com.au.

Pros

  • $0 Annual Fee in the first year and waived in subsequent years when you spend $1,000 or more on purchases or cash advances in the previous year

  • Minimum credit limit of $500

Cons

  • 3% International Transaction Fee

  • No attached rewards program

Reviews

Review distribution

5 star
14
4 star
19
3 star
11
2 star
0
1 star
1

Krunal

KrunalGreater Melbourne (Inner), VIC

  • 4 reviews

Very good with low fees.

published

Very easy to use the card and also card less transactions with Comm bank. Easy to make payments and transfer money. I will recommend this card to my friends and family.
however it would be best if the card included some extra features like travel insurance (while travelling overseas) etc.

Transparency
Customer Service
Rates and Fees
Online Experience
Application Process
Card Start DateJanuary 2016
Main Point of ContactOnline
Card / Account Used ForEveryday Expenses, Online Shopping and Special Purchases
See all answers

The reviewer stated that an incentive was offered for this review


Steph

StephGreater Melbourne (Metropolitan), VIC

  • 4 reviews

Excellent card for the budget conscious

published
Transparency
Customer Service
Rates and Fees
Online Experience
Application Process
Card Start DateDecember 1985
Main Point of ContactOnline
Card / Account Used ForEveryday Expenses, Online Shopping, Overseas/Travel and Special Purchases
See all answers
Erica

EricaO'Connor 2602, ACT

  • 2 reviews
  • 1 like

Credit card for first time user

published

I got this card after a promotion event. There is no annual fee for the first year and can be waived if you spend 1000 per year. However, the credit is pretty low so I still need to use my debit card.

Transparency
Customer Service
Rates and Fees
Rewards
Online Experience
Application Process
Card Start DateJuly 2019
Main Point of ContactOnline
Card / Account Used ForEveryday Expenses
See all answers
Kat

KatMelbourne

  • 6 reviews
  • 1 like

Good No Frills Card

published

With No annual fee on a low yearly spend this is a good no frills card if you are not interested in earning points or having any other added options.

Transparency
Customer Service
Rates and Fees
Rewards
Online Experience
Application Process
Card Start DateApril 2016
Main Point of ContactPhone
Card / Account Used ForEveryday Expenses
See all answers

Keli

KeliAU

  • 12 reviews

Pretty good

published

I got this card for a promotion of cashback after $500 spend, with no annual fee. It worked well for the time I used it, and I received the cashback quickly.

Transparency
Customer Service
Rates and Fees
Online Experience
Application Process
Card Start DateOctober 2016
Main Point of ContactOnline
Card / Account Used ForSpecial Purchases
See all answers

The reviewer stated that an incentive was offered for this review


Great Credit Card for Everyday Use

published

I use this credit card for everyday grocery shopping, travel tickets. If you spend $1000 per year, the $29 annual fee is waived off. I really like this Mastercard credit card. It has high international transaction fees so not really good for international shopping.

Transparency
Customer Service
Rates and Fees
Rewards
Online Experience
Application Process
Card Start DateFebruary 2019
Main Point of ContactOnline
Card / Account Used ForEveryday Expenses and Special Purchases
See all answers

Monica

MonicaGreater Melbourne (Metropolitan), VIC

  • Verified customer

Good for salary packaging purposes, but keep in mind no rewards

published

Essentially a no-fee credit card for me as it's easy to spend $1000 per year and have the fee waived, but it doesn't come with any rewards schemes. Useful for salary packaging living expenses on credit card repayments. I don't use this card overseas because it'd incur 3% international transaction fees. I did not transfer my balance to this card.

Transparency
Customer Service
Rates and Fees
Online Experience
Application Process
Card Start DateFebruary 2016
Main Point of ContactBranch
Card / Account Used ForEveryday Expenses and Online Shopping
See all answers

Sam

SamSouth East Queensland, QLD

  • 3 reviews

works great to purchase items locally on credit but has international transaction fees

published

It works great to purchase everyday items in Australia but it has international transaction fees so be careful when purchasing items from overseas online sites. It also waives annual fees when making a certain minimum amount of purchases in a year.

Transparency
Customer Service
Rates and Fees
Online Experience
Main Point of ContactPhone
Card / Account Used ForEveryday Expenses and Online Shopping
See all answers

The reviewer stated that an incentive was offered for this review

Sare

SareMelbourne

  • 14 reviews
  • Verified customer

Good value

published

Like other reviews, there are not fees if you spend over $1000 and like the name suggests it is low fee credit card. The app to navigate this card to check balance and usage is simple. Have not used it overseas, however I use it for slightly bigger purchases rather than my debit card as you get 55 days interest free period. Downside is you can't earn rewards for spending, however works out if you don't have to pay an annual fee.

Transparency
Customer Service
Rates and Fees
Rewards
Online Experience
Application Process
Card Start DateMarch 2017
Main Point of ContactOnline
Card / Account Used ForEveryday Expenses, Online Shopping and Special Purchases
See all answers
sugardumpling_90

sugardumpling_90Sydney, NSW

  • 7 reviews
  • 4 likes
  • Verified customer

I had this for a year and it was great

published

I've always banked at Commonwealth and I often get emails about their low free credit card. I signed up when they had $300 cash back offer. Since I am banking with CBA, it is very easy to pay the credit card. I can transfer the money and it's deposited right away into my credit card. Customer service care is excellent, I love their online chat.

Transparency
Customer Service
Rates and Fees
Rewards
Online Experience
Application Process
Card Start DateFebruary 2018
Main Point of ContactOnline
Card / Account Used ForEveryday Expenses and Online Shopping
See all answers

The reviewer stated that an incentive was offered for this review


Hana

HanaSydney, NSW

  • 4 reviews

Good first credit card low fee.

published

Got this card when got my first proper job. Because of trend, everyone need a credit card etc. I recommend this for anyone that want to own a credit card when they don’t really need it. Low fees. However, interest bit high imo. Pay off every month, you good to go.

Transparency
Customer Service
Rates and Fees
Online Experience
Application Process
Card Start DateSeptember 2012
Main Point of ContactPhone
Card / Account Used ForOnline Shopping and Special Purchases
See all answers

The reviewer stated that an incentive was offered for this review


kob2040

kob2040Sydney, NSW

Fine, not great.

published

Pros:
• Lets you lock down international transactions, set limits.
• No annual fee if you spend more than $1000.
• Haven't had a problem with fraudulent transactions.
Cons:
• No rewards programme.
• High interest rates.

Transparency
Customer Service
Rates and Fees
Online Experience
Application Process
Card Start DateMarch 2019
Main Point of ContactPhone
Card / Account Used ForOnline Shopping
See all answers

Bhatt

BhattGreater Melbourne (Outer), VIC

  • 6 reviews
  • 2 likes

Low rate but competitive rewards

published

With a $59 annual fee, i am happy with this card. I normally pay outstanding amount on time. There were occasions when i could not pay on time, but bank was very good and did not charge me anything, late payment fees etc.

If you're eligible, you may get Qantas FF points linked to this card so you can benefit after spending bank's money (for 55days) and be rewarded with FF points.

Transparency
Customer Service
Rates and Fees
Rewards
Online Experience
Application Process
Card Start DateFebruary 2013
Main Point of ContactOnline
Card / Account Used ForEveryday Expenses, Online Shopping, Overseas/Travel and Special Purchases
See all answers

SABS

SABSGreater Melbourne (Outer), VIC

  • 2 reviews

love it, so handy

published

It is a very handy card, with no annual fee (spending $1000 a year is just too easy), I use it for every day purchases. It's very useful to monitor my spending, and I can accumulate some interest in my savings account before I pay off the bill. When I got a charge I did not recognise I got my money back easily, within a couple of days after I made the complaint.

Transparency
Customer Service
Rates and Fees
Online Experience
Main Point of ContactBranch
Card / Account Used ForEveryday Expenses, Online Shopping and Special Purchases
See all answers
Rob Hinkley

Rob HinkleyMetropolitan Adelaide, SA

  • 2 reviews
  • 1 like

Best value card I’ve found!

published

It doesn’t have any rewards program, but does have 55 days interest free on purchases and the $39 annual fee is waived if you spend more than $1000 each year.

Transparency
Customer Service
Rates and Fees
Online Experience
Application Process
Card Start DateMarch 2004
Main Point of ContactBranch
Card / Account Used ForOnline Shopping and Special Purchases
See all answers

Very handy for daily use

published

I never used this card in overseas as I am not interested in paying international charges. Also I never transferred my balance to this credit card. I use this for daily uses.

Transparency
Customer Service
Rates and Fees
Online Experience
Main Point of ContactPhone
Card / Account Used ForEveryday Expenses and Online Shopping
See all answers

The reviewer stated that an incentive was offered for this review


Good card

published

Able to accommodate my needs, haven’t used other credit cards but happy with this one so far. Gets 59 aud annual fee. I get a reminder for me to pay my fees on time via text which is good but can be annoying at times

Application Process
Card / Account Used ForEveryday Expenses

The reviewer stated that an incentive was offered for this review


Santi R.

Santi R.Perth, WA

Great card, have no complaints!

published

the card does what u need it to do, no problems inside or outside Australia. Transferring money is also perfect. I've had it for 3 months now, got it just before travelling and haven't had a single issue.

Transparency
Customer Service
Rates and Fees
Rewards
Online Experience
Application Process
Card Start DateJuly 2019
Main Point of ContactOnline
Card / Account Used ForOverseas/Travel
See all answers

The reviewer stated that an incentive was offered for this review


Karun G.

Karun G.Perth, WA

Great Value Card

published

Great Card for daily activities. Low Fees makes it better. Have this for last 3 years and never changed the mind to go with any other provider. Now with Apple Pay, it is even better

Transparency
Customer Service
Rates and Fees
Online Experience
Application Process
Card Start DateSeptember 2017
Main Point of ContactPhone
Card / Account Used ForEveryday Expenses and Online Shopping
See all answers

Brisbee

BrisbeeBrisbane

  • 13 reviews
  • 1 like

Basic credit card with good app

published

Found the CBA app really user friendly compared with other banks. I haven't used this card overseas to avoid the transaction fees. The negative is that this card doesn't have any points nor international insurance so it is only good for using within Australia.

Transparency
Customer Service
Rates and Fees
Rewards
Online Experience
Application Process
Card Start DateJanuary 2016
Main Point of ContactOnline
Card / Account Used ForEveryday Expenses
See all answers

Page 1 of 3

Questions & Answers

Sorry, there are no questions yet.


Get an answer from our members and Commonwealth Bank representatives

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.