??!
1 photo
Commonwealth Bank Low Fee

Commonwealth Bank Low Fee

4.0 from 45 reviews · View Statistics

Pros

  • 0% p.a on purchases for 15 months if you apply by 25 February 2021

  • $0 Annual Fee in the first year and waived in subsequent years when you spend $1,000 or more on purchases or cash advances in the previous year

  • Minimum credit limit of $500

Cons

  • 3% International Transaction Fee

  • No attached rewards program

Details

CategoryLow Rate Credit Cards and Balance Transfer Credit Cards
Card TypeMastercard
BenefitsIntroductory Interest Rate and Reduced First Year Annual Fee
Minimum Credit Limit A$500
Maximum Credit Limit A$50,000
Minimum Income A$15,000
Additional Cardholders 1
Additional Cardholder Fee A$0 p.a.
Minimum Repayments2%
Contactless PaymentsApple Pay, Fitbit Pay, Garmin Pay, Google Pay and Samsung Pay
Rates & Fees
Purchase Rate19.74% p.a.
Cash Advance Fee2%
Late Payment FeeA$20
Annual FeeA$29 p.a.
Foreign Transaction Fee 3%
Overseas ATM Withdrawal FeeA$4
Interest Free Period 55 days
Cash Advance Rate21.24% p.a.
Introductory Offers
Introductory Rate 0% p.a. for the first 15 months
Reduced First Year Annual Fee A$0
Balance Transfer Rates
Balance Transfer Period 5 months
Balance Transfer Rate 5.99% p.a.
Balance Transfer Fee 0%
Release dateJun 2007

Visit official website

Reviews

  • Transparency
    4.4 (36)
  • Customer Service
    4.3 (36)
  • Rates and Fees
    3.9 (36)
  • Rewards
    3.1 (12)
  • Online Experience
    4.4 (36)
  • Application Process
    4.4 (30)
Previous
Next
Krunal

KrunalGreater Melbourne (Inner), VIC

  • 4 reviews

Very good with low fees.

published

Very easy to use the card and also card less transactions with Comm bank. Easy to make payments and transfer money. I will recommend this card to my friends and family.
however it would be best if the card included some extra features like travel insurance (while travelling overseas) etc.

Transparency
Customer Service
Rates and Fees
Online Experience
Application Process
Card Start DateJanuary 2016
Main Point of ContactOnline
Card / Account Used For
  • Everyday Expenses
  • Online Shopping
  • Special Purchases
See all answers

The reviewer stated that an incentive was offered for this review

Steph

StephGreater Melbourne (Metropolitan), VIC

  • 4 reviews

Excellent card for the budget conscious

published
Transparency
Customer Service
Rates and Fees
Online Experience
Application Process
Incentivised ReviewNo
Card Start DateDecember 1985
Main Point of ContactOnline
Card / Account Used For
  • Everyday Expenses
  • Online Shopping
  • Overseas/Travel
  • Special Purchases
See all answers
Erica

EricaO'Connor 2602, ACT

  • 2 reviews
  • 1 like

Credit card for first time user

published

I got this card after a promotion event. There is no annual fee for the first year and can be waived if you spend 1000 per year. However, the credit is pretty low so I still need to use my debit card.

Transparency
Customer Service
Rates and Fees
Rewards
Online Experience
Application Process
Incentivised ReviewNo
Card Start DateJuly 2019
Main Point of ContactOnline
Card / Account Used For
  • Everyday Expenses
See all answers
Low Rate Credit Cards

Find out how Commonwealth Bank Low Fee compares to other Low Rate Credit Cards

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Kat

KatMelbourne

  • 6 reviews
  • 1 like

Good No Frills Card

published

With No annual fee on a low yearly spend this is a good no frills card if you are not interested in earning points or having any other added options.

Transparency
Customer Service
Rates and Fees
Rewards
Online Experience
Application Process
Incentivised ReviewNo
Card Start DateApril 2016
Main Point of ContactPhone
Card / Account Used For
  • Everyday Expenses
See all answers
Keli

KeliAU

  • 12 reviews

Pretty good

published

I got this card for a promotion of cashback after $500 spend, with no annual fee. It worked well for the time I used it, and I received the cashback quickly.

Transparency
Customer Service
Rates and Fees
Online Experience
Application Process
Card Start DateOctober 2016
Main Point of ContactOnline
Card / Account Used For
  • Special Purchases
See all answers

The reviewer stated that an incentive was offered for this review

Great Credit Card for Everyday Use

published

I use this credit card for everyday grocery shopping, travel tickets. If you spend $1000 per year, the $29 annual fee is waived off. I really like this Mastercard credit card. It has high international transaction fees so not really good for international shopping.

Transparency
Customer Service
Rates and Fees
Rewards
Online Experience
Application Process
Incentivised ReviewNo
Card Start DateFebruary 2019
Main Point of ContactOnline
Card / Account Used For
  • Everyday Expenses
  • Special Purchases
See all answers
Monica

MonicaGreater Melbourne (Metropolitan), VIC

  • Verified customer

Good for salary packaging purposes, but keep in mind no rewards

published

Essentially a no-fee credit card for me as it's easy to spend $1000 per year and have the fee waived, but it doesn't come with any rewards schemes. Useful for salary packaging living expenses on credit card repayments. I don't use this card overseas because it'd incur 3% international transaction fees. I did not transfer my balance to this card.

Transparency
Customer Service
Rates and Fees
Online Experience
Application Process
Incentivised ReviewNo
Card Start DateFebruary 2016
Main Point of ContactBranch
Card / Account Used For
  • Everyday Expenses
  • Online Shopping
See all answers
Sam

SamSouth East Queensland, QLD

  • 3 reviews
  • 1 like

works great to purchase items locally on credit but has international transaction fees

published

It works great to purchase everyday items in Australia but it has international transaction fees so be careful when purchasing items from overseas online sites. It also waives annual fees when making a certain minimum amount of purchases in a year.

Transparency
Customer Service
Rates and Fees
Online Experience
Main Point of ContactPhone
Card / Account Used For
  • Everyday Expenses
  • Online Shopping
See all answers

The reviewer stated that an incentive was offered for this review

Sare

SareMelbourne

  • 14 reviews
  • Verified customer

Good value

published

Like other reviews, there are not fees if you spend over $1000 and like the name suggests it is low fee credit card. The app to navigate this card to check balance and usage is simple. Have not used it overseas, however I use it for slightly bigger purchases rather than my debit card as you get 55 days interest free period. Downside is you can't earn rewards for spending, however works out if you don't have to pay an annual fee.

Transparency
Customer Service
Rates and Fees
Rewards
Online Experience
Application Process
Incentivised ReviewNo
Card Start DateMarch 2017
Main Point of ContactOnline
Card / Account Used For
  • Everyday Expenses
  • Online Shopping
  • Special Purchases
See all answers
Low Rate Credit Cards

Find out how Commonwealth Bank Low Fee compares to other Low Rate Credit Cards

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
sugardumpling_90

sugardumpling_90Sydney, NSW

  • 9 reviews
  • 6 likes
  • Verified customer

I had this for a year and it was great

published

I've always banked at Commonwealth and I often get emails about their low free credit card. I signed up when they had $300 cash back offer. Since I am banking with CBA, it is very easy to pay the credit card. I can transfer the money and it's deposited right away into my credit card. Customer service care is excellent, I love their online chat.

Transparency
Customer Service
Rates and Fees
Rewards
Online Experience
Application Process
Card Start DateFebruary 2018
Main Point of ContactOnline
Card / Account Used For
  • Everyday Expenses
  • Online Shopping
See all answers

The reviewer stated that an incentive was offered for this review

Hana

HanaSydney, NSW

  • 4 reviews
  • 2 likes

Good first credit card low fee.

published

Got this card when got my first proper job. Because of trend, everyone need a credit card etc. I recommend this for anyone that want to own a credit card when they don’t really need it. Low fees. However, interest bit high imo. Pay off every month, you good to go.

Transparency
Customer Service
Rates and Fees
Online Experience
Application Process
Card Start DateSeptember 2012
Main Point of ContactPhone
Card / Account Used For
  • Online Shopping
  • Special Purchases
See all answers

The reviewer stated that an incentive was offered for this review

kob2040

kob2040Sydney, NSW

Fine, not great.

published

Pros:
• Lets you lock down international transactions, set limits.
• No annual fee if you spend more than $1000.
• Haven't had a problem with fraudulent transactions.
Cons:
• No rewards programme.
• High interest rates.

Transparency
Customer Service
Rates and Fees
Online Experience
Application Process
Incentivised ReviewNo
Card Start DateMarch 2019
Main Point of ContactPhone
Card / Account Used For
  • Online Shopping
See all answers
Bhatt

BhattGreater Melbourne (Outer), VIC

  • 7 reviews
  • 2 likes

Low rate but competitive rewards

published

With a $59 annual fee, i am happy with this card. I normally pay outstanding amount on time. There were occasions when i could not pay on time, but bank was very good and did not charge me anything, late payment fees etc.

If you're eligible, you may get Qantas FF points linked to this card so you can benefit after spending bank's money (for 55days) and be rewarded with FF points.

Transparency
Customer Service
Rates and Fees
Rewards
Online Experience
Application Process
Incentivised ReviewNo
Card Start DateFebruary 2013
Main Point of ContactOnline
Card / Account Used For
  • Everyday Expenses
  • Online Shopping
  • Overseas/Travel
  • Special Purchases
See all answers
SABS

SABSGreater Melbourne (Outer), VIC

  • 2 reviews

love it, so handy

published

It is a very handy card, with no annual fee (spending $1000 a year is just too easy), I use it for every day purchases. It's very useful to monitor my spending, and I can accumulate some interest in my savings account before I pay off the bill. When I got a charge I did not recognise I got my money back easily, within a couple of days after I made the complaint.

Transparency
Customer Service
Rates and Fees
Online Experience
Incentivised ReviewNo
Main Point of ContactBranch
Card / Account Used For
  • Everyday Expenses
  • Online Shopping
  • Special Purchases
See all answers
Rob Hinkley

Rob HinkleyMetropolitan Adelaide, SA

  • 2 reviews
  • 1 like

Best value card I’ve found!

published

It doesn’t have any rewards program, but does have 55 days interest free on purchases and the $39 annual fee is waived if you spend more than $1000 each year.

Transparency
Customer Service
Rates and Fees
Online Experience
Application Process
Incentivised ReviewNo
Card Start DateMarch 2004
Main Point of ContactBranch
Card / Account Used For
  • Online Shopping
  • Special Purchases
See all answers
Low Rate Credit Cards

Find out how Commonwealth Bank Low Fee compares to other Low Rate Credit Cards

Know better, choose better.

Compare all

Very handy for daily use

published

I never used this card in overseas as I am not interested in paying international charges. Also I never transferred my balance to this credit card. I use this for daily uses.

Transparency
Customer Service
Rates and Fees
Online Experience
Main Point of ContactPhone
Card / Account Used For
  • Everyday Expenses
  • Online Shopping
See all answers

The reviewer stated that an incentive was offered for this review

Good card

published

Able to accommodate my needs, haven’t used other credit cards but happy with this one so far. Gets 59 aud annual fee. I get a reminder for me to pay my fees on time via text which is good but can be annoying at times

Application Process
Card / Account Used For
  • Everyday Expenses

The reviewer stated that an incentive was offered for this review

Santi R.

Santi R.Perth, WA

Great card, have no complaints!

published

the card does what u need it to do, no problems inside or outside Australia. Transferring money is also perfect. I've had it for 3 months now, got it just before travelling and haven't had a single issue.

Transparency
Customer Service
Rates and Fees
Rewards
Online Experience
Application Process
Card Start DateJuly 2019
Main Point of ContactOnline
Card / Account Used For
  • Overseas/Travel
See all answers

The reviewer stated that an incentive was offered for this review

Karun G.

Karun G.Perth, WA

Great Value Card

published

Great Card for daily activities. Low Fees makes it better. Have this for last 3 years and never changed the mind to go with any other provider. Now with Apple Pay, it is even better

Transparency
Customer Service
Rates and Fees
Online Experience
Application Process
Incentivised ReviewNo
Card Start DateSeptember 2017
Main Point of ContactPhone
Card / Account Used For
  • Everyday Expenses
  • Online Shopping
See all answers
Brisbee

BrisbeeBrisbane

  • 13 reviews
  • 1 like

Basic credit card with good app

published

Found the CBA app really user friendly compared with other banks. I haven't used this card overseas to avoid the transaction fees. The negative is that this card doesn't have any points nor international insurance so it is only good for using within Australia.

Transparency
Customer Service
Rates and Fees
Rewards
Online Experience
Application Process
Incentivised ReviewNo
Card Start DateJanuary 2016
Main Point of ContactOnline
Card / Account Used For
  • Everyday Expenses
See all answers
Page 1 of 3

Questions & Answers

Sorry, there are no questions yet.

Get an answer from our members

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.