??!
2 photos
DeLonghi HCX9124E

DeLonghi HCX9124E

MPN: HCX9124E
3.7 from 25 reviews

Reviews

Review distribution

5 star
10
4 star
7
3 star
2
2 star
2
1 star
4

Erratic beeping will drive you insane

published

This heater looks fantastic and when it works heats up an area well. However, there is a serious flaw. There is an annoying erratic and sporadic beeping. The instruction manual does not address it. I have two, which for no reason, will switch on and off and beep incessantly. My parents also bought one, which has the same problem. I would not recommend this product, unless you have enormous patience.

Purchased in June 2018.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Noise Level
Heating Speed
Temperature Consistency
Safety
Room Type Living/Dining Area
SmellNo
See all answers

boopysqueak

boopysqueakCanberra 2600, ACT

Faulty version

published

We were quite happy with this heater with no issues, but after a couple of months it clearly has a problem. It keeps tripping the circuit and we have tried it on multiple power boards and power points and it keeps blowing our power. I'm off to return it today, and go back to another brand of panel heater

Purchased in May 2019 at Costco ACT, Canberra for $250.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Noise Level
Heating Speed
Temperature Consistency
Safety
Room Type Living/Dining Area
SmellNo
See all answers
Gordon B.

Gordon B.Hobart, TAS

Expensive Dud!!

published

Bought our first HCX9124E 3 years ago. When it works it is a great heater, but..... Last year it started playing up (as per previous reviews), beeping flashing and turning off. Took it to our local repair agent who replaced the motherboard. Brought it home and plugged it in - failed!!! Took it back to the repair agent again. Delonghi replaced the heater under warranty. That was 2 months ago. The new HCX9124E has now succumbed to the same problem. This heater will go on the tip, and we will move to another brand with a lifetime warranty!! Very disappointing!! Waste of money!!

Purchased in April 2016 at The Good Guys for $300.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Noise Level
Heating Speed
Temperature Consistency
Safety
Room Type Living/Dining Area
SmellNo
See all answers

Overpriced, Plagued with design flaws and doesn't even WORK!

published
Date PurchasedMay 2018

L.Marsh

L.MarshBlue Mountains

Fixed problem

published

2nd yr June. Started having the same issue as "Heater not working as described " found the timer being the issue. As the buttons are hard to see at night they may have been pushed. Delayed start and Delayed stop were adjusted and this stopped the multi icons coming up
Now running as it was. Heats a large room. Happy with the fam as this quickly warms up the air then you can cut it back to maintain temp.

Date PurchasedJun 2017

Worst heater ever

published

Works for a small time then starts to turn off and the beep drives you insane. Switched off at power point to start again, works for a small time then cuts off and the beep starts again and goes on and on and heater never starts again.
About to throw it out at a council clean up.
Would never buy DeLonghi again.

Date PurchasedJun 2018

LLL

LLLSydney

  • Verified purchase

Heater not working as described

published
Date PurchasedJun 2018

Ally

AllyMelbourne

  • 4 reviews
  • 4 likes

Good but beeps are too loud

published

Good quiet heater does the job very well but if you want it to turn itself off of delay start the beep is so loud. Really annoying and you cannot turn it down or off . So if that’s not a problem then you’ll love it . If you don’t like noise then avoid

Date PurchasedApr 2018
  • Verified purchase

Suits our requirements perfectly.

published

We chose this heater for a bedroom and while it is large for a 3x3 room, it operates so quietly with minimal power use that we were pleasantly surprised. Also keeps the room at an even temperature.. On a higher setting it heats our open plan living room. The heater is light, well designed and sturdy. We are delighted!

Date PurchasedMay 2018
Rosco

RoscoSydney

  • 8 reviews

Very good electric heater

published

Very good electric heater bought to heat large living room during winter so as not to operate reversible air conditioner for sake of few hours, ceramic technology and easy to use controls, is very safe around young children and pet animals who cannot be easily burnt accidentally. Very good design and produces warmth very quickly.

Date PurchasedMay 2017

May Lam

May LamsYDNEY

  • 5 reviews
  • 1 like

Perfect heater

published

The heater is heavy and easy to store as all parts can be removed, it does not take too long to warm up. I could use it in bedroom or dining room. It does not take long time to cool down. it s easy to carry and good looking too!

Date PurchasedJun 2017

Ellie

EllieBunbury

  • 12 reviews
  • 11 likes

Ok but not suitable for large areas

published

This heater performs well, but doesn't heat up large open areas well, such as living room. This is to be expected. Also, I found the controls not very easy to use as they're the same colour as the panel, hence it's easy to press the wrong control without having a good look especially if the room is dark. Plain simple buttons in a lighter colour (i.e. colour different to the control panel itself) would have been better.

Date PurchasedJul 2017

Zte

ZtePerth

  • 10 reviews
  • 1 like
  • Verified purchase

Performs well, only minor issues

published
Date PurchasedJun 2017

George

GeorgeSydney

  • 4 reviews
  • 1 like

Decent product

published

I was a bit sceptical before purchasing this as the claims seemed off. I reluctantly purchased it and was not disappointed with the functionality. It seems to heat up the room relatively quickly but I also noticed the power drain to be quite mediocre compared to its competitors. Despite this, it's a great product.

Date PurchasedDec 2016
Joy

JoyAtwell

  • 5 reviews

This is WOW product

published
Date PurchasedMay 2017
Shaun Erk

Shaun ErkConcord

  • 4 reviews

Good

published

Heats up the bedroom extremely well. Thermostat works well though it seems to heat the room itself to a greater temperature than is selected, probably because heat rises and the heater is on the floor. Good looking unit. Easy to assemble, easy to use and very quiet. Does a great job. The fan is nice and warm.

Date PurchasedMay 2016

Angie

AngieAustralia

  • 8 reviews
  • 11 likes

Good

published

It's a good product. It's very quiet and good when watching tv or in the bedroom. It's asthetically pleasing and works really well. I love the settings for it and it's very user friendly. It's a beautiful heater and keeps the room nice and warm all day and night long.

Date PurchasedApr 2017

Arna

ArnaMelbourne

  • 4 reviews

Great for kids room

published

We bought this heater for use in our toddlers room as our house is freezing at night. We've been able to keep the temperature consistent without the air getting to dry or fear of burnt little fingers. It makes it much easier to figure out how to dress our boy overnight.

Date PurchasedJun 2016

Best Heater ever purchased

published

Very quiet and silent operation.
Safe for kids, not very expensive and has 2 years warranty with it. The body of the heater looks elegant and looks good in the living room.
Beautiful heater, it is very convenient and warm during winter. Worth the money to buy for this heater. I was told by my friend to buy this and I wouldn't agree more to recommend it to others.

Date PurchasedApr 2017

jeff

jeffMelbourne

  • 7 reviews
  • 1 like

Fantastic heater

published

We bought this heater to go in the nursery- it is very quiet and keeps the room nice and toasty overnight. The panel is also very safe to touch- no burns here!. The electronic controls are a great feature aesthetically although I doubt they are as sensitive as the digital display likes to suggest- be aware that the display casts a significant amount of light, so if you want a totally dark room then get a model with manual dials instead. Lastly, the digital touch buttons will please some with their ease of use but may annoy others because it can be very difficult to see the buttons in a dark room.

Date PurchasedFeb 2017

Page 1 of 2

Questions & Answers

JUlian

JUlianasked

2 years old occasionally turns itself off and screen flashes with odd numbers try to touch timer button twice ( as per instruction book ) nothing happens. Turn off at wall on again nothing changes. Then just as suddenly turns back to normal. not blocked not fallen over not touched > What can I do ?

No answers

Chantal R.

Chantal R.asked

The beeping has become erratic. Sometimes it starts as I turn the heater on. Other times it’s after a couple of hours. How do I address this?

No answers

JENNA

JENNAasked

Hi i see above others have had issues with it turning off and beeping with the panel lights flashing, some times it does this within a couple of minutes other times it can last 2 hours, has anybody found out the issue?

1 answer
Mark H.
Mark H.

I believe it's a faulty tip over switch and appears to be common on many units based on reviews I've read. If you intentionally lay the unit over during operation, it will cut out with the same flashing dot on the screen and beeping sound. Mine has good days and bad days and I've been struggling with it for a few year. I'm going to figure out how to bypass the tip over switch to hopefully fix it (and make the unit more dangerous in the meantime).


Get an answer from our members and DeLonghi representatives

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.