??!
1 photo
Dulux Super Enamel

Dulux Super Enamel

High Gloss, Semi Gloss
2.8 from 10 reviews

Reviews

2.8

10 reviews
5
(3)
4
(1)
3
(1)
2
(1)
1
(4)
  • Value for Money
    3.0 (4)
  • Painted Surface
  • Finish Quality
    4.5 (4)
  • Ease of Application
    4.0 (4)
  • Coverage
    4.3 (4)
  • Longevity
    3.0 (4)
Previous
Next
Jason L.

Jason L.Illawarra, NSW

Perfect if you take your time

published

This stuff is excellent when used with proper preparation. Used it on doors, thinned with penetrol, applied with a brush and I gota say the finish is as close as I’ve ever got to spraying. There were absolutely no brush marks and it laid down perfect

Purchased in August 2020 at Bunnings Warehouse for A$105.00.

Value for Money
Painted SurfacePreviously painted
Usage
Finish Quality
Ease of Application
Coverage
Longevity
Jay

JayPerth, WA

  • 7 reviews
  • 1 like

Great gloss finish that yellows after 6 months

published

Made the mistake thinking price and reputation = quality.
I painted all my trims and doors. Undercoat then 2 coats of white Aquanamel Gloss.

The flow of the paint is good and the gloss and hardness is excellent.
Expect 12 hours to dry before you can recoat.

Unfortunately, there is clear yellowing after 6 months on any shaded or semi-shaded area that was painted.
Areas that see indirect sunlight in well lit rooms have gone yellow after 1 year. i.e. all the trim and doors etc.

After 18 months the yellowing is so obvious you can plainly see it. It looks gross and dirty.
I have started repainting everything again. Never again, what a waste of effort.

Purchased in April 2018 at Bunnings Warehouse.

Value for Money
Painted SurfaceWood
Usage
Finish Quality
Ease of Application
Coverage
Longevity
1 comment
Dulux
DuluxDulux
Mike

MikeHobart, TAS

  • 3 reviews

Wasted work

published

Purchased in September 2019 at K&D Warehouse for A$100.00.

Value for Money
Painted SurfacePreviously painted and Wood
Usage
Finish Quality
Ease of Application
Coverage
Longevity
1 comment
Dulux
DuluxGroup A.Dulux
Paints & Varnishes

Find out how Dulux Super Enamel compares to other Paints & Varnishes

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Mannyjen

MannyjenSydney, NSW

  • 8 reviews
  • 7 likes

Use this not aquanamel if you want a beautiful finish in less coats

published

Tried aquanamel for stained wood trim over both water based and oil based primers. Big fail. Found a tin of super enamel I had for about 6 years but never used it. Opened the tin, gave it a good stir and already after just 1 coat on an oil based primer it’s looking amazing. See my other review on the cruddy finish from Aquanamel and you’ll feel my pain. This is 2 thumbs up. Don’t get paint expert from a dulux rep, he said there were no advantages of oil based over water based enamel. Come to my house buddy and I will show you!

Purchased in April 2012.

Value for Money
Painted SurfaceWood
Usage
Finish Quality
Ease of Application
Coverage
Longevity
Ruth

RuthSydney

  • 2 reviews

THIN and RUNNY

published

I love Dulux High Gloss and have worked with it extensively over the past few years.
Unfortunately I cant say the same about the Dulux Super Enamel Semi Gloss.
I found it EXTREMELY runny, creating endless work and slight runs on drying.
Back to the sanding block...!!!
If I wanted thin, I would have bought a cheap brand.
I'm also not happy with the drying texture when using a roller...!!! Grrr..... Back to the sanding block again.
2 Coats later, I've decided to throw it away and purchase a tin of High Gloss.

Date PurchasedMar 2018
DavidF

DavidFGreater Melbourne (Outer), VIC

  • 6 reviews
  • 2 likes

Disappointed and Saddened

published
Date PurchasedOct 2017
1 comment
Dulux
Caitlin O.Dulux

The finish to die for

published

Used Dulux Hi-Gloss on trim and door in a spare bedroom. I took my time doing the job. Two undercoats, sanding in between. Then used a small foam roller, again sanding between the two top coats. For large flat surfaces a roller is a must. You will not achieve the same finish with a brush. The finish I achieved is as close as I am ever going to get to perfection. Achieved an almost mirror finish on the doors. The paint is beautiful to apply and tensions up on drying to give a super flat surface, but you need to do a lot of preparation. However it's worth it. Brilliant paint.

Date PurchasedNov 2016
David

DavidSydney, NSW

  • 16 reviews
  • 9 likes

Outstanding oil-based enamel, beautiful finish

published
Date PurchasedJan 2017
Sean

Sean

  • 2 reviews
  • 2 likes

Thin and does not go on well.....

published

I have been using Dulux paint for years but it had been a while since I had used it. Purchased recently on the basis of past experience and was immediately disappointed. Thin and messy to work with, leaves a lot of ugly marks with a paintbrush and dries too quickly making it hard to go back and try to fix up streaks in paintwork (as much as that is possible).

Won't be using again.

Date PurchasedDec 2016
2 comments
Dulux
KellyDulux
Sean
Sean

I've been painting for 30+ years mate. Switched to another brand and everything is fine. Care to comment on that?

Paints & Varnishes

Find out how Dulux Super Enamel compares to other Paints & Varnishes

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
sutho

suthoSydney, NSW

  • 3 reviews
  • 1 like

Oil Based Semi Gloss Enamel

published
Date PurchasedNov 2016
1 comment
Dulux
KellyDulux

Questions & Answers

Nick F

Nick Fasked

Super Enamel

If it takes 24 hours for enamel paint to dry do I need to leave the door that I am to paint open the entire time?

1 answer
Dulux
belinda b.Dulux

Thank you for taking the time to contact us with your query, Nick We would love to help! Please give our Help & Advice Team a call on 13 25 25 (Option 2), and they will be able to answer all of your questions! – The Dulux Team.

James T.

James T.asked

Super Enamel

Hey guys I just done my front door in super enamel and got some runs .
How long should I wait before giving it a sand.
Cheers jimmy

No answers
Elly

Ellyasked

Super Enamel High Gloss

I have used Zinnser as an undercoat over old cleaned paint( Light Rice) on a door. I have just applied the 2nd coat of your paint (Light Rice) again - using the correct roller but the paint is not drying with a high gloss. Have I done something wrong?. I have allowed more than 16 hours between each coat,
This week I used the same paint on several door frames using both a roller and a paintbrush and the gloss is OK.
I am hesitant to paint any of the other doors if I get the same result - shiny frames and matt door!!!

3 answers
Dulux
DuluxDulux

Hi Elly
We are disappointed that you have experienced this issue with our product Dulux High Gloss enamel. We are here to help you if you can reach out to us and contact our Help & Advice team on 132525. Our operating hours are Monday to Friday 7:30am to 7:00pm, Saturday 8:30am to 3:00pm and Sunday 10am to 4pm AEST. Please quote your ticket number 185666. The Dulux Team

Elly
Elly

This morning I painted the other side of the door using a wide paint brush and it has a nice gloss on it. I shall do the 2nd coat tomorrow with a brush. In fact all the doors I still have to do will be done with a brush

Dulux
DuluxDulux

Hi Elly, this is great news ! If there is anything we can assist you with please do not hesitate in contact our Help & Advice team on 132525. The Dulux Team

Get an answer from our members and Dulux representatives

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.