??!
3 photos
British Paints Decking Oil

British Paints Decking Oil

Water Based, Oil Based
3.7 from 23 reviews

Reviews

3.7

23 reviews
5
(12)
4
(4)
3
(0)
2
(1)
1
(6)
  • Value for Money
    5.0 (1)
  • Painted Surface
  • Finish Quality
    5.0 (1)
  • Ease of Application
    5.0 (1)
  • Coverage
    5.0 (1)
Previous
Next
JRoy

JRoySydney, NSW

  • 2 reviews

Perfect, deck is back looking as new.

published

Used other brands over the years, tried this for the first time and i must say I am really impressed. Applied 2 coats, took some time to dry. A low sheen finish is impressive.

Purchased in May 2020 at Bunnings Warehouse for A$68.00.

Value for Money
Painted SurfaceWood
Usage
Finish Quality
Ease of Application
Coverage
1 comment
British Paints
James S.British Paints

Thank you for your feedback! It's fantastic to hear that you have had a great experience with our product. Please feel free to contact us on 13 25 25 (Option 2) if you need any help or advice down the track - The Help and Advice Team

Icathler

IcathlerQueensland

Sludge

published

I just got this product and it won't mix. Sludge at the bottom that you can barely scrape off and won't mix with the rest. Wish id reviewed before as this problem has been mentioned for 3 years.

Purchased in October 2019 at Bunnings Warehouse for A$59.00.

1 comment
British Paints
DuluxBritish Paints

The reviewer stated that an incentive was offered for this review

max

maxSydney, NSW

  • 2 reviews
  • 2 likes

easy to use,make sure to mix it well

published

i cleaned my deck with a napisan solution before oiling,the first coat was dry in 2 days i recoated making sure not to apply too much.the 2nd coat was dry in 2-3days and i was happy with the result iwaited approx 5months and applied another coat and am still happy with the results.

1 comment
British Paints
NickBritish Paints
Paints & Varnishes

Find out how British Paints Decking Oil compares to other Paints & Varnishes

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Bill

BillPerth, WA

  • 4 reviews
  • 5 likes

Simply Does The Job

published

I chose this after much research. I used "natural" colour to enhance grain of timber decking. It went on easily with a roller after cutting in edges with a brush. I wiped of excess with a cloth ten minutes after each coat. So far, it has impressed producing a lovely dull sheen and enhancing the natural grain. It's cheaper than most other decking oils, but from my experience and others, appears to be better. Happy oiling.

Date PurchasedJan 2018
1 comment
British Paints
NickBritish Paints

Hi Bill, Thanks for taking the time to review our decking oil product. We appreciate the feedback and all the best with your next project! Regards, The British Paints Team

Exact finish I’d hoped for!

published

I read the mixed reviews on this forum before committing to try this product. So glad I went with my gut feeling and bought it. The jetty now looks like the day it was built. Very happy with British Paints natural colour decking oil. Will definitely be buying this product for the next application.

Date PurchasedJan 2018
1 comment
British Paints
NickBritish Paints

Hi Craig,

Thanks for taking the time to review our Decking Oil product. We appreciate the feedback! All the best with your next project, The British Paints Team

Spike

SpikeSunshine coast

Top product!

published

Good product, have used several different brands over the years, this one is auick and simple.
Brings out the maubau grain nicely.
The paint did have sediment on the bottom (from sitting on bunnings shelf) but nothing a good quality paint stirrer couldn't fix.

By the way I used the BP gloss varnish, and it came up really good, after 5 coats.

Top products.

Date PurchasedAug 2017
1 comment
British Paints
NickBritish Paints

Hi There, Thanks for taking the time to review our product. We value your feedback and all the best for the next project! Regards, The British Paints Team

Great product

published

Hi
Found the BP oil base decking oil easy and quick to apply. It needed to be as I have over 160 square meters of decking at various levels. Makes decking on the place look great. Unfortunately, to maintain this I have been recoating it annually; at some point the timber will become nicely saturated and this may turn into a biannual event.Just hope BP continue to make the stuff; and leave the recipe as is.

Date PurchasedAug 2016
1 comment
British Paints
NickBritish Paints

Yellow deck, yuk

published

As per some of the other comments, we purchased British Paints Decking Oil, Natural finish, to go on our existing cleaned and weathered deck. Buntings consultant advised that it was a clear liquid but upon application it is a horrible yellow color, certainly not natural.
Returning this product to Bunnings.
Thank you.

Date PurchasedMar 2017
Catherine

Catherine

  • 9 reviews
  • 14 likes

Unhappy with colour, so yellow

published

I used BP water-based oil colour Natural on pine decking. It is bright yellow. It's awful and I'm so disappointed. How can I fix it? I've done two coats and each coat just makes it more yellow. How can I fix it? Can I go over the top with a different colour?

Date PurchasedNov 2016
1 comment
British Paints
Garth M.British Paints
Paints & Varnishes

Find out how British Paints Decking Oil compares to other Paints & Varnishes

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Stoffel1

Stoffel1Perth

  • 23 reviews

Surprisingly good and excellent value for money

published

Used it on our 2 year old deck, which had been oiled with a MUCH more expensive product. It went on easily, covered well, and made the deck look brand new again. Thee only downside is that it remained a bit sticky for a few days. It is a great product at a wonderful price. I will be using it exclusively from now on!

Date PurchasedOct 2016
2 comments
British Paints
Garth M.British Paints
Stoffel1
Stoffel1

Thanks. Very happy with the product. Keep it up.

Tracey

TraceyFar North Queensland, QLD

Sludge won't budge

published

I recently purchased the British paints water based decking oil. It looked milky muddy colour and had sludge at the bottom. After mixing for a substantial amount of time the sludge still did not decrease. Taking back to bunning to get a refund and buy Aqua deck as I know I won't have issues with that product. Not happy as my nearest Bunnings is over an hour away!

Date PurchasedAug 2016
1 comment
British Paints
Garth M.British Paints
Norman Steffen

Norman SteffenSouth East Queensland, QLD

  • 20 reviews
  • 3 likes

Good can't complain

published

We used the " Natural " now 2 years on treated pine. Every 12 month and it is doing the job in my opinion.
I used a lot less after the first treatment. The decking is facing north on a Gold Coast Water way. I think water based is the way to go.

paul

paulmekbourne

  • 2 reviews
  • 4 likes

Good value ,excellent depth of colour and coverage

published
Screffy Juff

Screffy JuffMelbourne

Lovely on dark timber at first - need to replace after 12 months.

published

Applied two coats of BP decking oil really easily to a merbau deck in Jan 2016, which brought out the merbau's lovely dark lustre. Within a couple of months it had gone quite dull, and now after 12 months the exposed boards have started to go grey and the coating has become flaky, which I will need to either acid wash or sand back and re-oil. I suspect that the UV properties in the oil haven't worked properly, which might be explained by the thick sludge I had tried to stir in. I was really hoping to get a good result from BP decking oil, but I'll re-oil with another product, which, with early testing on merbau, looks and feels more robust and protective.

Date PurchasedJan 2016
Brian.

Brian.Wanganui

Excellent product.

published

I purchased a 4 litre can of the water based decking oil from Bunnings, they kindly offered to shake'mix it up on their machine so all I had to do was the give it a stir prior to application, it was easy to apply and after 2 coats the deck looks brilliant, the product is far better than other more expensive brands.

1 comment
British Paints
garthBritish Paints
Paints & Varnishes

Find out how British Paints Decking Oil compares to other Paints & Varnishes

Know better, choose better.

Compare all

best product for our decking

published

Excellent product at an excellent price. Have just used 12 litres, would not buy anything else for our decked verandah
Easy to use, needed very little mixing. The oil held well on the brush and dld not splash on the walls.
Have tried other products in the past but this has been the easiest to use with best results. Love the 6 litre can, great value

1 comment
British Paints
Sarah S.British Paints

Excellent

published

wow just used this for the first time today special 6 liters for about 55 dollars at Bunnings wont use another product ever again . Fantastic oil based goes on decking like butter . I was a bit worried about using a oil based oil but I would recommend this product to anyone

Trust British Paints? - Sure can

published

After reading the various reviews, I went for the oil based and it was a good choice. After ensuring it was shaken/mixed properly. I had prepped the deck prior by removing old stain. It went on easily. It has brought the deck back to life and it looks a treat.

Won't Buy It Again.

published

I asked Bunnings to put tin on machine and mix it before I purchased. Then I stirred it thoroughly myself before using. Sludge at bottom was hard to mix through base. The coverage is poor. It looks crap on my old deck. The opacity is too pale to cover the old stains that you get on an old deck even though I power washed it first to try and get uniform look to start with. My thoughts are that you would only use this product on a brand new deck where the boards are pristine.

1 comment
British Paints
Sarah S.British Paints
Steward

StewardGold coast

  • 4 reviews

Will never buy a BP product again

published

After reading the previous reviews on this website I purchased the BP water based decking oil. When buying from Bunnings I got them to shake it up on their machine. Before using I stirred the oil with a paddle mixer only to find a thick mass on the bottom of the tin. I used a mixer fitted to a drill to dissolve the thick mass. I then used the paddle mixer again.i had some success but still there was some left. Decided to return decking oil to Bunnings. They opened the other tins which had different batch numbers only to find they were all as bad. Purchased Cabots aqua deck.

Page 1 of 2

Questions & Answers

Jane

Janeasked

Decking Oil

Hi. Can you please suggest what the ultimate drying time is for the second coat before you can walk on it properly and without any stickiness? Thanks

No answers
andrew

andrewasked

Decking Oil

is 10 litre the smallest stain or oil for treated pine you make

3 answers
andrew
andrew

whats availiable

British Paints
DuluxBritish Paints

Hi Andrew, thank you for reaching out!
Please visit the following links for size availability on both stain and oil in our Timber Protect Range
https://www.britishpaints.com.au/paint-products/woodcare/timber-protect-decking-oil-oil-based
Available 1L & 4L
https://www.britishpaints.com.au/paint-products/woodcare/timber-protect-decking-stain
Available in 1L & 4L and 10L
Hope this helps! - British Paints

andrew
andrew

thankyou

s cooper

s cooperasked

Decking Oil Oil Based

hi , i want to darken the fretboard on my electric guitar , it is made out of new zealand pine , i want it be a dark walnut or teak colour ,cheers stephen

2 answers
Icathler
Icathler

Use Intergrain. Its a far superior product

British Paints
DuluxBritish Paints

Hi S Cooper
Thank you for reaching out! We suggest the following application apply 1 coat of Feast Watson Prooftint Traditional Stain http://www.feastwatson.com.au/consumer/products/product-details/1520, allow to dry, then apply Feast Watson wipe on poly http://www.feastwatson.com.au/consumer/products/interior/product-details/1512 for best protection over the stain. If you have any further projects on we here to assist you please contact our Help & Advice team on 132525 option 2. Our operating hours are from Monday to Friday 7:30am to 7:00pm and Saturday 8:30am. Hope this helps! - British Paints

Get an answer from our members and British Paints representatives

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.