??!
1 photo
Haymes Simply Woodcare Dexpress

Haymes Simply Woodcare Dexpress

3.9 from 26 reviews · View Statistics

Reviews

  • Value for Money
    4.0 (7)
  • Coverage
    4.3 (8)
  • Finish Quality
    3.5 (8)
  • Longevity
    3.6 (5)
  • Ease of Application
    3.6 (8)
Previous
Next

Reviewer Photos & Videos

  • More
David Designs

David Designs Southern and Hills, SA

  • 6 reviews

Had to spend hours working this product out

published

Really unsure what this product was all about. Application was patchy and didn’t perform to expectations.

Started on Monday a week later still trying to achieve a smooth finish between coats.

It’s just not user friendly

Purchased in May 2020 at Bunnings Warehouse Retail Stores for A$89.00.

Value for Money
Incentivised ReviewNo
Painted SurfaceWood
Usage
Coverage
Finish Quality
Longevity
Ease of Application
See all answers
Darren N.

Darren N.Central Highlands and Goldfields, VIC

DEXPRESS

published

HI im doing my veradah.on a victorian home...ive never done a deck before....one side is old treated pine...i mean old...lots of sanding by hand...then 3 coats of ''DEXPRESS'' couldnt be more happier..a fantastic product...2nd pic is first coat..3rd pic..is three coats..

Purchased in November 2020 at ballarat for A$237.00.

Value for Money
Incentivised ReviewNo
Painted SurfaceWood
Usage
Coverage
Finish Quality
Ease of Application
See all answers
Andrew

AndrewPerth, WA

I wouldn’t use Haymes

published

I used Haymes wood are easy flooring as it was recommended. I would ever use it again. Ruined beautiful Jarrah floorboards and I’ve had to redo the whole thing. I have since use Cabots and would recommend them instead.

Purchased in January 2019.

Value for Money
Incentivised ReviewNo
Painted SurfaceWood
Usage
Coverage
Finish Quality
Longevity
Ease of Application
See all answers
Paints & Varnishes

Find out how Haymes Simply Woodcare Dexpress compares to other Paints & Varnishes

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Sonia

SoniaSouth East Queensland, QLD

  • 3 reviews
  • 2 likes

Drying Time

published

I love the look of Dexpress, however it took forever to dry properly (months!). Our deck is undercover with little or no direct sunlight. Even after months of not having any furniture on the surface, the furniture has now left marks. The furniture has protector felt pads. We have a large deck, it took a lot of work to prepare as instructed and sanded back to bare boards by a professional, so we are disappointed that we have a finish with marks on the surface where the furniture has been.

Purchased in September 2018 at Paint Place, Beerwah.

Incentivised ReviewNo
Painted SurfaceWood
Usage
Coverage
Finish Quality
Ease of Application
Helen W

Helen WGreater Melbourne (Metropolitan), VIC

  • 5 reviews
  • 3 likes
  • Verified purchase

Haymes Dexpress don't bother trying anything else!

published

Purchased in January 2020 at Haymes Eltham for A$200.00.

Value for Money
Incentivised ReviewNo
Painted SurfaceWood
Usage
Coverage
Finish Quality
Longevity
Ease of Application
See all answers
Kev

Kev

  • 4 reviews

So far so good !

published

After countless hours researching , reading and asking around at all the local paint shops I decided the best option was to use Haymes Dexpress on my newly constructed merbau steps . Being from Mildura the weather extremes were a worry ( close to 50 in the summer )
So far I am not disappointed in my choice , after Nearly 2 years with one recoat the deck still looks like new . Very easy to apply and quick recoat times mean it can be done in a day . I haven’t noticed any fading around furniture etc I guess due to the UV protection . I am about to begin laying my 30 sq mtr deck and will definitely be using this product on completion , no doubt whatsoever

Purchased at Haymes.

Value for Money
Incentivised ReviewNo
Painted SurfaceWood
Usage
Coverage
Finish Quality
Longevity
Ease of Application
See all answers
Alu

AluPerth, WA

Superb product and a very easy-to-use, forgiving product unlike Intergrain Ultradeck. Highly recommend!

published

Applied 2 coats of Dexpress Natural to Merbau Decking. Still a little sticky but understand there is 7 day curing time. It did plenty of research on decking oils after reading so many bad reviews on Ultradeck and Cabots products. Very happy this water based stain has helped retain the natural wood grain.

Purchased in March 2019.

Value for Money
Incentivised ReviewNo
Painted SurfaceWood
Usage
Coverage
Finish Quality
Ease of Application
See all answers
BENJI

BENJIBUNDABERG

SIMPLY THE BEST

published

Haymes Dexpress is Simply the best product on the market for your decks 3 coats however after using there wood cleaner, 2 coats 3 hours apart then the third the next day BRILLIANT

Purchased in January 2008.

Value for Money
Incentivised ReviewNo
Usage
Coverage
Finish Quality
Longevity
Ease of Application
Nik

Nik

  • 4 reviews

Looks great on pine but wore of spotted gum decking within a few months

published

I applied two coats to my spotted gum decking. It looked OK for 4 months and then started to wear away. It's about half covered now at 7 months since application. I was expecting better.
The one coat I applied to some pine structural beams on the same deck looks great however.

Paints & Varnishes

Find out how Haymes Simply Woodcare Dexpress compares to other Paints & Varnishes

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
TKT

TKTRochdale

  • 4 reviews
  • 4 likes

UVEX Range of Simply Woodcare - Haymes Paint

published

A genuinely beautiful product, I have used it in my house for past 3 years and never had to look at any Bunnings Products again. We bought it in 2014 and applied twice ever since so it last for long - once applying primer, UVEX finish seals the deck. Take a couple of weeks to dry fully so please don't drag any heavy items over it or else, you will see some marks. By far the best Deck finish I have seen as equivalent as Sikkens. Pricing is lot less then Sikkens.

Date PurchasedFeb 2018

Very good product

published

I used cabots natural decking oil for the first two years, i was re coating every 6 months. I changed to Dexpress i found it dry's very quick. I could give a second coat the following day. It has been 8 months now and still looing strong. Should get 2 years before re coating. Very happy with it.

Date PurchasedSep 2017
Michelle

Michelle

  • 2 reviews

Dexpress - brilliant product!

published

Absolutely love this product. We've used it over several years on different things. Was recommended to us by our local paint store after we had a merbau deck built. The merbau colour is lovely and rich, it's very easy to apply and dries quickly. Looks absolutely fantastic. In fact we like it so much we used it on all our new timber Windows, and our post & rail fencing. Everyone comments on how great it looks - very happy customers here!

Date PurchasedDec 2015
shanks

shanksBoronia

  • 5 reviews
  • 1 like

Great lasting finish.

published

I had used Dexpress to seal our decking about 3 years ago and it is still lasting. In this time the decking had received a hammering when we had a new brick retaining wall built beside it and the Dexpress finish still looked great. I am looking forward to resurfacing the decking this summer.

Date PurchasedNov 2014
Rickshaw

RickshawMelbourne

Easy to use,great finish.

published

Not sure why there are a couple of negative reviews here, this product was easier to use and gave a ten times better finish than any Cabots products I have used in the past. It gave an even coat all over and the color was very natural as opposed to Cabots which gave a dark chocolate finish. Will definitely use again.

Date PurchasedApr 2017
Paul

PaulWestern District, VIC

  • 8 reviews
  • 9 likes

Dexpress - A Beginners View

published
Date PurchasedJan 2017
Paints & Varnishes

Find out how Haymes Simply Woodcare Dexpress compares to other Paints & Varnishes

Know better, choose better.

Compare all

Great Australian Decking oil, one of the best i tried.

published

I bought 10L of Haymes Decking oil last week at www.outdecoliving.com.au ebay stores. The products are easy to use and dry fairly quickly. I choose the (merbau water base) decking oil because its lasts longer than natural water base. The Colour is dark and rich, Haymes customer help line is very helpfull and technical.

Karl

KarlSouth East Queensland

  • 3 reviews
  • 2 likes

Great product

published

Very easy product to apply with a brush or applicator. It goes on easy and is touch dry within a few hours, but does take a fe days or so to completely lose that slight tacky feeling. I have used this on a new merbau deck (the Natural stain) and it came up really well. Make sure you get at least 2 but ideally 3 coats on to start with. I have also used the Merbau stain in the same product and this has been great on fences and other outside timber as it holds it colour for a really long time. I would certainly recommend this over the usual decking oils that need to be re-done a lot.

Blithe

BlitheMelbourne

  • 2 reviews
  • 2 likes

Love it!

published

I've always used Cabots but thought I'd try the Simply Woodcare range because it's 100% Australian made and family owned. I purchased Dexpress for my decking and Uvex for my windows. Wen I purchased the products it was recommended to me that I recoat it with one coat every 12-18 months to. It has now been 2 years and my deck and windows still look amazing. I always had to recoat the Cabots every 12 months. I am planning on recoating this weekend even though I don't think it needs it, to be sure, to be sure and all of that.
I love the finish of both the dexpress and the Uvex. Very Happy. I will be doing my interior woodwork in a few weeks and intend to use the simply woodcare range again.

Sam Singh

Sam SinghBrisbane

  • 2 reviews
  • 2 likes

Best Quality & most reasonable pricing - Australian Company - Quality Similar to Sikkens Brand.

published

Pricing and quality of this product is far better than anything else out there in the market. I see other reviews about slippery and all - if it’s wet, it will be slippery - simple as that. Similar to Sikkens I must say.

Highly Recommended Product

Also try their UVEX Range -

Antoinette

AntoinetteBrisbane, Queensland

  • 11 reviews
  • 7 likes

Slippery if wet ...dangerous

published
Page 1 of 2

Questions & Answers

Jonathan S.

Jonathan S.asked

Can I paint Dulux weathershield over Dexpress on a Merbau deck?

No answers
Keith W.

Keith W.asked

I have just put dexpress on a door and the grain has Raised...is it OK to sand the door and then either put another coat of dexpress on or a clear lacquer.

1 answer
the painters guru
the painters guru

Sand inbetween coats for sure, ideally 3rd coat will give best results

Ray

Rayasked

How long before 2nd coat can be applied simply wood care decking stain

No answers

Get an answer from our members and Haymes representatives

Details

CategoryPaints & Varnishes
TypeWood Finish

Visit official website

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.