1 photo
Wattyl Killrust

Wattyl Killrust

Epoxy Gloss Enamel, Rust-Eeter, Satin Enamel, etc... (See All)
4.8 from 11 reviews · View Statistics
See the Best Paints & Varnishes in 2022 as rated by Australians on ProductReview.com.au.
Listing monitored by Wattyl

Reviews

4.8
11 reviews
5
(10)
4
(0)
3
(1)
2
(0)
1
(0)
  • Value for Money
    5.0 (5)
  • Coverage
    5.0 (5)
  • Finish Quality
    5.0 (5)
  • Longevity
    4.8 (5)
  • Ease of Application
    5.0 (5)
Previous
Next
gddayve
gddayveSydney, NSW
  • 4 reviews
  • 3 likes

Follow up to "go-to gloss enamel" review

published

I previously reviewed this product when there were no deep tint bases available, limiting the available colours. For that I docked it a star, for an otherwise stellar product. That has now been addressed by Wattyl so therefore I can now happily give it the full five star rating. Bunnings sell White Knight which I'm not familiar with, might be OK, and Dulux Metalshield which I won't touch. It is too soft for too long, heavy rain 6 hours after application will peen the surface. One of my customers rang after about 4 years regretting not taking my advice and used Dulux instead because it is easy to get. Premature fading was her problem, which is something I have never seen with Killrust.

Incentivised Review No
Painted SurfaceMetal and Wood
Usage
5/5
Coverage
5/5
Finish Quality
5/5
Longevity
5/5
Ease of Application
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
passingfad
passingfad
  • 5 reviews
  • 4 likes

has lasted 30 years

published

I painted this on my old datsun about 30 years ago in white - engine bay, interiour, boot area, wheel wells etc. Sold the car the other day and it was still rust free with the paint still looking fresh and shiny. Have also painted rally cars with it and will continue to do so.

Value for Money
5/5
Incentivised Review No
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Alfred
AlfredMetropolitan Adelaide, SA
  • 2 reviews
  • 2 likes

This is my go to product when working with metal

published

I have used killrust eater for 20plus years and find it the best product to neutralise light rust on any steel products I am repairing or restoring after clean up I just use any metal primer I have at hand no problems

Purchased at Mitre 10.

Value for Money
5/5
Incentivised Review No
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Juliet
Juliet
  • 2 reviews

The best treatment for rust...and I've tried a few -- Wattyl killrust Rust-Eeter in a BOTTLE 200ml

published

1 day to dry, but best to leave it 3 -4 days. It's been 5 years, no rust on what was a brown rust surface. Just perfect. No idea why some retailers have since gone with other less effective but cheaper brands. You only get what you pay for. Trying to find it again in Victoria. Frustrating, I think I bought the last bottle from one of the Mitre10s a few months back:( I've clearly got other work to do. If some stores would agree to special order it, that would be very helpful.

Purchased in December 2015 at Paint Spot.

Value for Money
5/5
Incentivised Review No
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Paints & Varnishes

Find out how Wattyl Killrust compares to other Paints & Varnishes

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
BumbleBee
BumbleBeeMetropolitan Adelaide, SA
  • 67 reviews
  • 48 likes

Can't fault it

published

Needed to paint a galvanised steel box (designed to house a lawn mower) before attaching it to a trailer. We first painted the lid using another similar but different brand product. This ran out so we decided to get something different and I seemed to remember my dad always using Killrust. Bought a small can of Grey Epoxy (not cheap!). Painted the rest of the outside of the box which used a surprisingly small amount of product - only about 1/6 of a small can, if that. About 1 year later and the lid is rusted while the rest looks like new.

Excellent product, expensive but goes a long way.

Value for Money
5/5
Incentivised Review No
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Tim Bather
Tim BatherPerth, WA
  • 4 reviews
  • 1 like

Awesome for rust

published

Best stuff for rusty metal using their multiple cost system. It can also go straight over galvanised metals. My go to product for rusty steel handrails where durability is required.

Purchased in March 2019 at Wattyl paints .

Value for Money
5/5
Incentivised Review No
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Blake
Blake
  • 2 reviews
  • 2 likes

Fantastic paint

published
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!

Related Articles

Previous
Smart shopping tips to help you make the most of Black Friday sales

With Black Friday coming up on the 26th of November (and some deals starting well before), we’ve got some smart shopping tips to help you make the most of sales.

Clara V.
Clara V.15 Nov 2021
smart-shopping-tips-to-help-you-make-the-most-of-black-friday-sales
Christmas Gift Ideas for Mum

Since many mothers tend to spout selfless phrases like ‘please don’t spend any money on me,’ Christmas is a great opportunity to spoil your Mum. However, this can be a tricky feat if your mum hasn’t told you what kind of gift she’d be happy with.

Avleen M.
Avleen M.29 Nov 2021
christmas-gift-ideas-for-mum
The right to repair: which brands are making it easier for you to fix their products?

The right to repair movement in Australia is calling for companies to make it easier for their products to be repaired. Here are some electronics and appliance manufacturers who are starting to listen and make it more feasible for consumers to repair, rather than replace, their items.

Clara V.
Clara V.14 Feb 2022
the-right-to-repair-which-brands-are-making-it-easier-for-you-to-fix-their-products
Next
Terry Tinnie
Terry TinnieWestern District, VIC

killrust epoxy gloss - amazing

published

used gloss black and white on my tinnie after using etch primer and some masking tape made a twenty year old tinnie look like one straight out the show room. As an amateur this was very suprising to get such an even finish and 4.2metres of boat done with two aerosol cans of each colour, wide gunwales as well.

Date PurchasedJuly 2017
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!

Easy to apply but oxidizes quickly

published

This paint is good on metal and recent welds. However my experience is the paint oxidizes quickly and I need to repaint the surfaces every two years if I want to keep the shiny surface!. It also tends to flake after a couple of years so water blasting is necessy in preparing the work,

Date PurchasedFeb 2014
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Paints & Varnishes

Find out how Wattyl Killrust compares to other Paints & Varnishes

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Charles k
Charles kCroydon
  • 3 reviews
  • 2 likes

best paint out of a spray can

published

Used this paint for the first time on a tower clock movement,,using gloss black and Brunswick green what can I say absolutely brilliant finish,preparation before you paint is a must three light coats and you will not believe the finish,I would recommend this product ..
There is nothing I can say negative about kill rust paint,,,,,

Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Slazmo
SlazmoSouth East Queensland, QLD
  • 243 reviews
  • 242 likes

Excellent rust stopper / preventative paint!

published

I have used Kill rust in the past and have found it to be a excellent choice in its simple paint form. Wattyl suggest that you use it in a 3 step process however if your surfaces aren't too corroded with huge flaking pieces of rust, the paint can be applied straight onto the metal without any serious preparation.

Typically I applied it to the bottom of a vehicle and to parts that were unpainted on control arms and associated areas to prevent any further rust growing. It has taken some abuse and has held up to the tests of time.
Easy to apply and hardens extremely well when dry, rust is smothered and will not grow under the paint!
Expensive to buy.

Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!

Questions & Answers

John R.
John R.asked
Killrust

can i use multipurpose thinner

No answers
Mark P
Mark Pasked
Killrust

i have primed steel posts with small rust marks (speckles) appearing. Can i lightly sand apply kill rust primer

No answers
Jane S.
Jane S.asked
Killrust Satin Enamel

Can I paint an external plastic grille fridge cover on a caravan with Killrust satin Enamel?

No answers
See all Wattyl Killrust questions

Get an answer from our members and Wattyl representatives

Wattyl Killrust

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.