??!
3 photos
Haymes Interior Expressions

Haymes Interior Expressions

Low Sheen, Semi Gloss, Matt
4.4 from 36 reviews · View Statistics

Reviews

  • Value for Money
    4.8 (12)
  • Coverage
    4.5 (12)
  • Finish Quality
    4.6 (12)
  • Longevity
    5.0 (4)
  • Ease of Application
    4.5 (12)
Previous
Next
Tin N.

Tin N.Greater Melbourne (Metropolitan), VIC

  • 4 reviews
  • 3 likes

The best 'wash & wear' paint on the market

published

Purchased in November 2020 for A$168.00.

Value for Money
Incentivised ReviewNo
Painted SurfacePreviously painted
Usage
Coverage
Finish Quality
Longevity
Ease of Application
See all answers
Mr Bass

Mr BassGreater Melbourne (Outer), VIC

  • 7 reviews

Even amateur painters can achieve professional results with Haymes

published

After going in the brink of madness using the useless Taubmans Endure and questioning my ability to paint, I ditched the Taubmans and bought a can of Haymes Expressions. I realised that I could actually paint and was able to achieve a professional result when the right paint is used. The Haymes has a great consistency, is very forgiving when it comes to roller marks and gives you a result you can be very happy with. Furthermore, the Haymes dealer in Craigieburn was very helpful and friendly. I will never go anywhere else for paint.

Purchased in October 2020 at Haymes Craigieburn for A$76.00.

Value for Money
Incentivised ReviewNo
Painted SurfacePreviously painted
Usage
Coverage
Finish Quality
Longevity
Ease of Application
See all answers
SUN SUN

SUN SUNGreater Melbourne (Outer), VIC

  • 19 reviews
  • 8 likes

Beast paint ever

published

As handy man I repaint my house with haymes products the results it amazing a lot of people recommended du ..... I believe it’s just brand !!! , I perched graylogy 3 for the walls and 1 for the doors&trim

Purchased in September 2020 at Haymes paint shop Epping for A$1,800.00.

Value for Money
Incentivised ReviewNo
Painted SurfacePlasterboard and Wood
Usage
Coverage
Finish Quality
Longevity
Ease of Application
See all answers
Paints & Varnishes

Find out how Haymes Interior Expressions compares to other Paints & Varnishes

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
BigTone

BigToneCraigieburn

  • 12 reviews
  • 3 likes

Glad I switched

published

After my terrible encounter with Bunnings (see previous review), I have switched to Haymes paints and it has been a very pleasant experience. Staff at local store is knowledgeable and click and collect worked seamlessly. Paint Coverage is great over existing wall and easy to apply paint. Will use again.

Purchased in September 2020.

Value for Money
Incentivised ReviewNo
Painted SurfacePlasterboard and Previously painted
Usage
Coverage
Finish Quality
Ease of Application
See all answers
Toby Fraser

Toby FraserNortheast, VIC

  • 4 reviews
  • 2 likes

Too thick, like clotted cream

published

Far too thick which makes even finish and rolling very difficult and time consuming. The paint tends to ‘picture frame’ which is very difficult to rectify. 4 litres barely and I mean barely covers a standard bedroom with a non painted built in robe.

Purchased in September 2020 for A$80.00.

Value for Money
Incentivised ReviewNo
Painted SurfacePlasterboard
Usage
Coverage
Finish Quality
Ease of Application
See all answers
Cassie M.

Cassie M.Greater Melbourne (Inner), VIC

  • 3 reviews
  • 1 like

Great quality, makes the job super easy!

published

This paint goes on super easily and has great coverage. We did two coats and ended up with a perfect result as two first time painters. The low sheen is a beautiful finish as well. It’s worth going to a paint speciality shop for this paint, we tried another very well known brand prior to this and it gave us streaky and uneven result after 4 coats, Haymes fixed that paint job easily and put the fun back in our isolation DIY project.

Purchased in August 2020 for A$160.88.

Value for Money
Incentivised ReviewNo
Painted SurfacePreviously painted
Usage
Coverage
Finish Quality
Ease of Application
See all answers
Claudio

ClaudioSouth East Queensland, QLD

  • 7 reviews
  • 5 likes

Fantastic and well price Australia owned paint

published

Just fabulous and very well priced. Everyone wanted to use Dulux but been very happy when I supplied them with Haymes instead.
I'm converted to Haymes paint for life.
Well done

Purchased in December 2019 at Lyndons for A$140.00.

Value for Money
Incentivised ReviewNo
Painted SurfaceWood
Usage
Coverage
Finish Quality
Longevity
Ease of Application
See all answers
Glenda

GlendaDarling Downs, QLD

  • 4 reviews
  • 3 likes

Love this paint

published

This paint is wonderful. Was going to buy Dulux again but after being disappointed with their semi gloss and then reading the reviews of their matt paint, I started reading reviews of other brands. When I saw the many very good reviews for Haymes paints, I decided to give it a go. I am so happy I did. Very easy to paint with. Very little smell. Great coverage and dries beautifully. I will certainly stick with this brand from now on as I just love it.

Purchased in March 2020 at ColourStop for A$128.00.

Value for Money
Incentivised ReviewNo
Painted SurfacePlasterboard and Previously painted
Usage
Coverage
Finish Quality
Ease of Application
See all answers
david

davidSouth East Queensland, QLD

  • 3 reviews
  • 2 likes

no coverage

published

No coverage. very thin and watery. Stick to the main brands. Had to give the wall four coats. I did phone the manager but he wasnt interested. Could tell the paint was thin just by stirring it. It looked transparent.

Incentivised ReviewNo
Paints & Varnishes

Find out how Haymes Interior Expressions compares to other Paints & Varnishes

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Joe

JoeMetropolitan Adelaide, SA

Definitely not the same paint that I have always known

published

Purchased in February 2020.

Value for Money
Incentivised ReviewNo
Painted SurfacePlasterboard
Usage
Coverage
Finish Quality
Ease of Application
See all answers
Disgruntled Painter

Disgruntled PainterGippsland, VIC

  • 2 reviews
  • 1 like

Convert to Haymes paint for life

published

I recently moved into a new home and wanted to improve the average finish so I bought 10 litres of the woolly dog brand. I could not, no matter how hard I tried, get a decent finish.
I decided it must be the paint so I bought a tin of Haymes Ultra Premium low sheen. What had taken me 3 days of work, still with a poor finish, I completed with an excellent result within 3 hours with Haymes.
The application was easy, the coverage brilliant and the finish supreme. I could not recommend this brand highly enough and I will be doing my new house completely with this product.

Purchased in February 2020 at Paint Spot.

Value for Money
Incentivised ReviewNo
Painted SurfacePreviously painted
Usage
Coverage
Finish Quality
Ease of Application
See all answers
Chris

ChrisGold Coast

  • 16 reviews
  • 12 likes

Wonderful wonderful wonderful paint

published
Value for Money
Incentivised ReviewNo
Usage
Coverage
Finish Quality
Ease of Application
Juan

JuanSydney, NSW

Like making love to the walls

published

After reading many, many, reviews online and sampling different colours in a few walls across my house, I’m finally making the change from Dulux (Antique White USA) to Haymes (Minimalist 1) and honestly, I wish I’ve done it before.

From the moment you open the can and you start stirring the paint you know it’s a good product, thick, quality stuff.

I have painted previously with Dulux, Taubmans, etc and trust me...I’m not going back to them.

There’s nothing exciting in painting a wall but when you apply this product is for a lack of a better word...sexy. The photo is the first coat only!

Purchased in July 2019.

Value for Money
Incentivised ReviewNo
Painted SurfacePreviously painted
Usage
Coverage
Finish Quality
Ease of Application
See all answers

Picture fames

published

As a professional painter I've used a lot of Haymes low sheen acrylic over the years. The most recent change of formula has seen me go right off this product. It picture frames badly even if the cutting in is left to dry overnight. Doesn't touch up well either. Will be using Resene Spacecote in future as the finish is far superior.

stan0matic

stan0maticHobart, TAS

  • 6 reviews
  • 7 likes

No point mucking around.

published

2 smallish bedrooms, 2 coats each. Brilliant stuff. Goes on lovely. Doesn't smell that much. Been using Haymes for more art based projects, usually strong primary colours, always very happy with coverage and durability. Still worth going Haymes for interior white. Can't believe I used to waste my time with cheap n crappy brands.

Paints & Varnishes

Find out how Haymes Interior Expressions compares to other Paints & Varnishes

Know better, choose better.

Compare all

Superior paint

published

After using Taubmans I was extremely disappointed with the finish. Purchased Haymes after reading these reviews. This product really is the best. The finish is beautiful. I am painting all walls and ceilings throughout the house. Taubmans took 3 coats and looked blotchy but Haymes is only 1 coat for ceiling and 2 for walls. It’s the same price as Taubmans and Dulux but far superior.

Jon B

Jon BBrisbane

Fantastic Quality Paint and Great Service from Haymes

published

I have now painted two bedrooms and a large, open plan living area with Haymes Interior Expressions low sheen.
The finish and coverage are amazing, great opacity compared to big brands I've bought previously.

In addition the service I've received from the Haymes Experts was fantastic, helping me get a colour perfect - really helpful!

Thanks Haymes - great team and products

Too shiny

published

I painted my bathroom with Haynes low sheen enamel paint and it is nearly as shiny as the gloss enamel quite annoyed it is so shiny.t I thought being low sheen it would be not so shiny but it is I thought it would be better to stop Mold now I regret using this paint

Robert

RobertMaryborough, Queensland

  • 5 reviews
  • 3 likes

Recommending this paint

published
Date PurchasedAug 2018

Haymes Interior Expressions....Glides on like butter - love it!!

published

Haymes Expressions Interior - Low sheen.
I'm renovating & painting my 3 bedroom home. For a comparison.... In prep for built-in wardrobe in main bedroom I used Dulux wash'n'wear. In prep for built-in wardrobe in spare room I used Haymes Expessions Low Sheen.
Haymes won hands down. It felt creamy & luxurious to roll on wall whereas Dulux felt thin & stingy. Could have got away with just one coat coverage with Haymes wheras Dulux needed 3 coats.
As the day was a bit cold, I thought I'd try a little trick I saw/heard somewhere ...... I filled the kitchen sink with hot water & sat my paint tin in it for a while to gently warm the paint a bit. Made the final stir & application sooooo much easier.

Date PurchasedJul 2018
Page 1 of 2

Questions & Answers

Trace

Traceasked

Interior Expressions

Hi, we have a 2 year old and want to paint the whole inside of our house. Is your paint for us? If so what do you recommend

No answers
Jackie Alt

Jackie Altasked

Interior Expressions Low Sheen

Can you use Haymes expressions low sheen to freshen up a set of drawers?

1 answer
Robert
Robert

If the drawers are a larger size then Low sheen will be ok but not as hard wearing or good looking as enamel....
Haymes has great flowing water based enamel that is proving durable on my sun exposed window sills...easy to clean & looks great!
Would make your drawers sparkle...

Wolly

Wollyasked

Interior Expressions Low Sheen

In hall way, foyer,stairs down one side, walls 5 Mtrs high and large window over front door. Having trouble with low sheen showing roller marks and cutting in marks. How do I avoid this. The stair wall be able to wash dirty marks off. The paint I used was not Haynes.

1 answer
Robert
Robert

Tricky job as the light will show any surface imperfections. Usually roller overlaps are due to different paint coat thickness.
Use a good quality roller & make sure the paint is laid evenly. Do at least two coats. Don’t rush.
Get the paint drying between coats and allow 3 full days to cure.
Once done it’s easy to keep clean...we have new kid marks every week...most come off with warm damp cloth.
Good luck - hope this helps!

Get an answer from our members and Haymes representatives

Details

Compare all 3 Haymes Interior Expressions
CategoryPaints & VarnishesPaints & VarnishesPaints & Varnishes
TypeInteriorInteriorInterior
Compare all 3 Haymes Interior Expressions

Visit official website

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.