??!
2 photos
Dyson Ball Animal DC65

Dyson Ball Animal DC65

MPN: 20627301
3.0 from 123 reviews

See the Best Upright Vacuum Cleaners in 2019 as rated by Australians on ProductReview.com.au.

Reviews

Review distribution

5 star
31
4 star
21
3 star
20
2 star
16
1 star
35

Toni M.

Toni M.South East Queensland, QLD

  • 4 reviews

Best Vacuum Ever

published

We had three vacuums in two years before we decided to spend the money and get a Dyson. Worth every penny. With two Greyhounds (who shed like crazy) and a baby who has just started crawling, we needed a Vacuum that would work everytime and remove all the dust, dirt, dog hair etc first time. This vacuum works great on the tiles and carpet with no need to change the head or push any buttons. Every single time we use the vacuum, we get our money's worth and the floors are visablly cleaner.
Totally recommend this product.

Purchased in August 2019 at The Good Guys.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Product is used: Several times a week
Pet OwnerYes
Floor Type Carpet and Tiles
See all answers

Shane

ShaneSydney Surrounds, NSW

  • 3 reviews

Not all it's cracked up to be! Think twice before you regret down the track.

published

Purchased at Harvey Norman.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Product is used: Daily
Pet OwnerYes
Floor Type Carpet and Tiles
See all answers
Chinsan

ChinsanSydney, NSW

  • 4 reviews
  • Verified purchase

It is a good vacuum cleaner but a bit heavy

published

My wife wanted to buy it. We went and was choosing between two models. Ball animal model is easy to use. It is very powerful. Has two floor option- carpet and wooden floor. Also has attachments to clean lounges/ blinds etc. The only problem is it is a bit heavy to manoeuvre around. Otherwise all good.

Purchased at The Good Guys for $599.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Product is used: Weekly
Pet OwnerNo
Floor Type Wood
See all answers
IBE

IBEPerth, WA

  • 6 reviews

Excellent

published

This is the best vacuum I have ever had. Strong suction which leaves my carpet clean and the pile reinvigorated. Made my carpet feel like new again. Makes vacuuming enjoyable. Highly recommend.

Purchased in July 2019 at Myer Online Store for $599.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Product is used: Several times a week
Pet OwnerYes
Floor Type Carpet, Tiles and Wood
See all answers

dom

domGreater Melbourne (Inner), VIC

  • 4 reviews
  • 2 likes

Bloody awesome vacuum

published

AMAZZZZING WE HAVE A DYSON V8 and really like it for small
Quick cleans but need something bigger for the lounge room and for the dog fur.
Sucks so hard it pulls out first where you think is clean.
Obviously not good for long carpet like some people have suggested, but just do the research if it’s right for you.
Great machine for any surface. Easy to clean and empty

Purchased in May 2019 at Qantas.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Product is used: Weekly
Pet OwnerYes
Floor Type Carpet and Tiles
See all answers

Ute chick

Ute chickSouth East Queensland, QLD

  • 4 reviews

A product worth its money

published

Absolutely amazing results every time you vacuum the carpet, especially when it looks clean. The results are astounding, even on timber and tile floors as well, value for
money easy to use

Purchased in May 2019 at Harvey Norman.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Product is used: Several times a week
Pet OwnerYes
Floor Type Carpet, Tiles and Wood
See all answers

Sagar K

Sagar KSydney, NSW

  • 9 reviews

This is a decent vaccum cleaner

published

I have got this for few years now had issue with motor twice but as it was under warranty had it replaced
Good
# Does the job
# Decent serviceability
Cons:
# Motor burnout could be issue sometimes
# Decent customer service

Purchased in October 2015 at Harvey Norman for $899.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Product is used: Several times a week
Pet OwnerNo
Floor Type Carpet, Tiles and Wood
See all answers

Kellee

KelleeSouth East Queensland, QLD

  • 2 reviews

Love my dyson

published

Used on tiles and carpet this has great suction and collects all my animal hair and dust with ease . Upright model is great for any bad back. Easy to empty/clean

Purchased in February 2013 for $800.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Product is used: Weekly
Pet OwnerYes
Floor Type Carpet and Tiles
See all answers
Louise

LouisePerth, WA

  • 2 reviews

Flimsy feeling but powerful.

published

I bought this after MANY years with my previous sturdy, reliable Dyson. This one is lighter but feels more flimsy. It maneuvers well which is probably why it feels flimsier - more flexible. It is noisy and has incredibly powerful suction so smaller mats etc have to be cleaned with the hose and a tool, but that is not a major issue for me. The dodgy on/off switch WAS an issue though. I had to press several times for it to stay on. I put up with this for a while but when the brushes wore out early on the head and the motor burnt out, I sent it for repair. Which proved to be a huge and drawn-out saga.

Purchased in January 2017 for $399.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Product is used: Several times a week
Pet OwnerYes
Floor Type Carpet and Wood
See all answers
misu_tanvir

misu_tanvirSydney, NSW

Worst vacuum cleaner I have ever purchase

published

This is the 3rd time I have to send it back to Dyson with in 1st year. This is not the first vacuum I have use. 1st time the motor died. 2nd time its lost all the suction. 3rd time it just stopped working. I live in a two bedroom unit and I paid $697 for this product. Also, rude customer service provided by [Name Removed] today while calling the Dyson Customer Service on 1800 239 766. The machine been received by Dyson 2 days ago, though the technicians havn't got time to check and inform me what's wrong with it this time. How come Dyson still sale this type of Vacuums to the customers which doesn't even work for a 1 year properly and charging $697 for that.

Purchased in May 2018 at Harvey Norman Electronics Physical Store for $697.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Product is used: Weekly
Pet OwnerNo
Floor Type Carpet
See all answers

Elaine

ElaineWestern Australia

  • 2 reviews

Hard to use

published

Find this machine hard to handle hurts my wrist when manoeuvring. Hard to use the extending plastic hose. Hose does not stay out when extended when machine is switched on. Heavy machine.

Purchased in April 2019 at Harvey Norman for $599.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Product is used: Several times a week
Pet OwnerYes
Floor Type Carpet and Tiles
See all answers

Simone

SimonePerth, WA

Suction is too strong

published

5 week old cleaner - wish I'd never purchased. Rang Dyson and they told me to contact the distributor.
Sure the Qantas store won't tell me how to fix the problem of the suction being too strong to push around my carpet. I empty the bin and have already cleaned the filters.

Purchased in May 2019 for $800.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Product is used: Several times a week
Pet OwnerNo
Floor Type Carpet and Tiles
See all answers

Only good thing is the suction.

published

The suction is superior but the cord is difficult to manage as it is so long (some might see this as an advantage but to me it is a constant impediment. There is a screw in the hose that constantly clogs up (manufacturer was not helpful when I tried to problem solve) and you have to constantly empty the container.

Purchased in May 2015 for $600.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Product is used: Daily
Pet OwnerYes
Floor Type Carpet, Tiles and Wood
See all answers

I love my five year old Dyson D65 Animal

published

But I’m writing this review to help others get the best performance with a few tips I’ve gathered through DIY. First of all, keep those filters clean and wash the dustbin. When your brushes won’t turn, watch the Dyson video on how to clean the floor plate and get out every bit of string and fibers. When my Dyson became hard to push I discovered I had reinstalled my filter in the ball upsidedown! Reinstalled corrrectly, tightened up the ball, and voila - my Dyson was once again racing across the carpet. Oh, and a tip from the manual, stretch the hose around the cleaner for awhile to loosen it up.

Purchased in November 2014.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Product is used: Several times a week
Pet OwnerYes
Floor Type Carpet and Wood
See all answers
Graeme

GraemeBrisbane

  • Verified purchase

A poor performer

published

Used on tiles and low pile carpet. Suction was ok on tiles but never reached the pre sale hype for picking up dog hair (Staffy breed - fine short hair). Some parts didn't function periodically even though unit was regularly cleaned and maintained until its untimely demise. Not considered value for money given initial cost, ongoing performance and life span of the unit.

Date PurchasedNov 2014
1 comment
Dyson
Dyson Team ..Dyson
Ms Shopper

Ms ShopperGreater Melbourne (Inner), VIC

  • 16 reviews
  • 5 likes
  • Verified purchase

Great Vacuum

published
Date PurchasedNov 2018

KPetaluma

KPetalumaSydney, NSW

  • 3 reviews

Actually helps alot with pet hair

published

We were hesistant to buy a dyson at first. But happy we did in the end as this machine is definitely better than our old miele vacuum. The price is a bit steep. But overall we are happy and dont have to change bags which is good. Comfortable to operate and not too noisy.

Date PurchasedDec 2018

Bob_H

Bob_HCanberra

  • 4 reviews
  • 3 likes
  • Verified purchase

Unusable on plush carpets

published
Date PurchasedApr 2018

I will never buy Dyson again!

published

A total waste of money! Before owning this vacuum My last 2 vacuums were Dyson, I loved them both. This one the quality has gone down hill, it's overall very cheaply made with inferior parts. It too hard to click it into place to make it stand up so it's constantly falling over. It doesn't suck properly even after constantly cleaning the filters. The tool attachment are very poor quality. Sadly I will never buy another Dyson product again the quality is not like their earlier models and there are lot better products now on the market for a lot better price.

Date PurchasedDec 2017
1 comment
Dyson
Dyson Team ..Dyson

Alppssc

AlppsscDublin

  • Verified purchase

great machine spoilt by short brush life

published
Date PurchasedNov 2016
1 comment
Dyson
Dyson Team ..Dyson

Page 1 of 7

Questions & Answers

Dave

Daveasked

New machine to me- the hose will not stay extended- keeps retracting itself. Any help?

3 answers
IBE
IBE

Pull out the metal tube until it clicks

Shane
Shane

Get a refund or get used to it. Common problem unfortunately hose being too stiff.

Dyson
Dyson Team ..Dyson

While we anticipate your hose will be taut at first, it will loosen up over time. We encourage to having one person hold the machine in place while a second individual stretches the hose to its full length to help loosen the hose. You can also store the machine temporarily with the hose stretched around the machine. Be assured, this will stretch with time.

If we can assist further, please email auaskdyson@dyson.com and our Dyson Experts will be happy to further assist.


Mike B.

Mike B.asked

My Dyson DC65 doesn't pull as well as it use to. I took the brush bar off & cleaned it. I also took the side off the ball & aligned the two arrows next to the filter. I'ts now easier to push on the carpet, but not as good as it use to be. Before it use to glide with ease across the carpet. Is there anything else I can do to fix this problem?

1 answer
Dyson
Dyson Team ..Dyson

We are sorry to hear you are experiencing difficulties with your Dyson DC65.

We would kindly encourage you to forward your details and query to our Dyson Experts via auaskdyson@dyson.com and we will be in touch and happy to help get this sorted.


Kelly Tritz

Kelly Tritzasked

How do you use this on wool carpets, do you just turn the beater bar off??

2 answers
Graeme
Graeme

Always engaged the turbo on carpets due to our owning a short haired dog. Seemed to pick up more of the carpet pile than the dog hair. I don't believe it is as effective when turbo disengaged.

Dyson
Dyson Team ..Dyson

The brushbar of your Dyson Ball Animal is designed to be used on while on carpets to agitate the carpet and assist in picking up dust, dirt and debris.

That being said, for any delicate surfaces, hard floors, or any floors where you are uncertain if you should turn the brushbar off, we would recommend consulting with your flooring manufacturer to confirm.

If we can assist with any further queries, our Dyson Experts are available via auaskdyson@dyson.com and happy to assist.


Get an answer from our members and Dyson representatives

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.