?
? !
4 photos
Dyson V8 Animal

Dyson V8 Animal

MPNs: 298903-01, 36427914 and 369398-01
4.2 from 366 reviews · View Statistics

Buying the best vacuum cleaner

Whether you’re jumping into your first vacuum purchase or looking to upgrade to a shiny new machine, you’ll want to have the best knowledge possible on hand. This buying guide will explain which type of vacuum would suit you most, how much you can expect to pay for one, and which features are worth looking out for.

Read now
Buying Guide Banner

Reviews

  • Build Quality
    4.1 (110)
  • Value for Money
    3.4 (107)
  • Ease of Use
    4.5 (107)
  • Cleaning & Maintenance
    4.0 (109)
  • Product is used
  • Noise Level
    3.9 (106)
  • Pet OwnerYes (75) · No (29)
  • Battery Life
    3.1 (108)
Previous
Next

Reviewer Photos & Videos

  • Thumbnail
Sarah C.

Sarah C.Sydney, NSW

  • 7 reviews

Not worth your money.

published

After upgrading from the V6 Dyson to the V8 I found it was pretty much the same.

Max suction still doesn’t pick up anything bigger than dust or fur. You have to go over and over the same spot for anything bigger.

Attachments options are helpful with most jobs in the house but would just pay the extra for a new model of Dyson given the battery time.

Battery time on this machine is poor and I find I still have more cleaning to do after one session of charging.

This vacuum catch’s on mats and pulls up threads.

Tile cleaning is fine but carpet cleaning to collect dust means u need it on MAX suction and it is hard to push along giving u tired arms.

Purchased in December 2019 for $599.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Val.Emma

Val.EmmaGreater Melbourne (Metropolitan), VIC

  • 6 reviews
  • 7 likes

Very Disappointed....

published

Purchased at David Jones Retail Stores.

Build Quality
Value for Money
elleblitz

elleblitzAU

  • 5 reviews

Wish the battery was a longer lasting

published

Wish the battery was a little longer lasting. The suction is fantastic though and it is a very convenient design to have it hanging on a wall in my kitchen

Incentivised ReviewNo
Stick & Cordless Vacuum Cleaners

Find out how Dyson V8 Animal compares to other Stick & Cordless Vacuum Cleaners

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Jeff C - Australia

Jeff C - AustraliaSouth East Queensland, QLD

  • 20 reviews
  • 27 likes

Battery life very poor and a "very dumb" battery charger

published

Purchased in June 2019 at JB Hi-Fi Online Store for $699.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Jean

JeanSydney, NSW

The best investment ever

published

Having children and pets this Dyson is easily my favourite home appliance. My floors are mostly hardwood with some carpet areas. Cordless and super powered, it's a dream to use! Dyson for life.

Purchased at Myer.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Related Articles
Previous

The best kitchen appliances in 2020!

Whether you love or loath being in the kitchen, our community of reviewers have determined that out of almost 5,000 appliances on ProductReview.com.au, these are the best available!

Nathan S.
Nathan S.1 Nov 2019
the-best-kitchen-appliances-in-2020

Best Fridges and Dishwashers in 2020!

These large kitchen appliances are the backbone of your kitchen, meant to last you many years. The initial cost of a fridge or dishwasher is high, so to make sure you're not buying a lemon, here are the best fridges and best dishwashers of 2020. Our reviewers have provided detailed ratings for important factors to consider when choosing a refrigerator or dishwasher, such as Noise Level and Internal Layout.

Wendy Z.
Wendy Z.12 Nov 2019
best-fridges-and-dishwashers-in-2020
Next
Manaaki H.

Manaaki H.South East Queensland, QLD

Very efficient without cord but battery is a major let down over time

published

Purchased in January 2017 at JB Hi-Fi for $599.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
AMAN

AMANSydney

  • 6 reviews

Use it just about everyday

published

I use everyday to do a quick vacuum on tiles and loop carpet but wouldn't recommend as my only vacuum, as getting in to small areas such as window sills is quicker with my miele vacuum and battery doesn't last long enough to vacuum the whole house properly, but great for a quick tidy up.
Marked down 1 star cause you have to hold the the power button on continuously and at times get a blister on my finger from it.

Build Quality
Value for Money
sarahss

sarahss

  • 3 reviews

Cannot live without it!

published

Its amazing, so easy to use and remove all the dirt at the end of the vacuum. Vacuums up everything on my timber floors as well as carpet. I cannot live without it. Worth every penny.

Incentivised ReviewNo

Faulty

published

My Dyson only 5 months old and it’s faulty with not being able to open dust bin to empty it. Sent emails with no help then rang to be told I must send back and will be weeks to get it back

Purchased in July 2020 at Harvey Norman for $800.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
1 comment
Dyson
DysonDyson
Stick & Cordless Vacuum Cleaners

Find out how Dyson V8 Animal compares to other Stick & Cordless Vacuum Cleaners

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
SCC

SCCMetropolitan Adelaide, SA

Absolutely useless

published

Pet vacuum they say - well the damn thing has so many blockages because it will not suck up pet fur to save itself. Absolutely useless and a waste of money. The battery will NOT run on max any longer, that died before the warranty ran out and Dyson wanted absolutely nothing to do with it - claiming it was a consumable - which is fair, but who expects their battery to die a year and a half after purchase? At this point, it’s effectively a paperweight and Dyson customer service was an absolute joke to deal with. Buyer be warned.

Purchased at David Jones Retail Stores.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Violetta

ViolettaWestern District, VIC

Love stain but .......

published

I bought the v8 two years ago and mine hasn’t worked well. It starts and stops even though it’s charged and thourouly cleaned. I rang and was told to wash my filter but I can’t open it?
I’m disappointed.... thinking vac would be easier for me.......

Build Quality
Value for Money
1 comment
Dyson
DysonDyson
Marina

MarinaGreater Melbourne (Metropolitan), VIC

  • 3 reviews
  • 2 likes

Not Happy

published

I bought a very well recommended product and after 3 and half years of use, the battery does not last more than 5 mins on max mode, the small motorised head has fallen apart and I can't use it and the carpet floor cleaner has bits of plastic breaking off. I have a small house at 14 sqaures and most of it is tiles and floor boards. At $800 I was expecting this to last a bit longer. I have had other brands of cleaners and have never had issues like this. I originally bought this to make vacuuming easier with a cordless product. Not sure if I will buy another one if I can get cheaper cleaners out there with same specifications.

Purchased in September 2016 at JB Hi-Fi for $799.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
3 comments
Dyson
DysonDyson
Marina
Marina
Dyson
DysonDyson
roses

rosesSydney, NSW

  • 5 reviews
  • 2 likes

Terrible battery life

published

Vaccuum only runs for 7 minutes on max after being fully charged overnight. Terrible value for money. Only would recommend if you have money to waste or if it’s on 90% off.

Purchased in June 2020 at eBay for $549.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
1 comment
Dyson
DysonDyson
Stewart J.

Stewart J.Greater Melbourne (Outer), VIC

  • 2 reviews

Dyson - Very disappointed in what I was promised & sold

published

very disappointed promised a 20 minute high speed vacuum time I get 8 minutes
cannot exchange battery, on a new high grade Dyson
New vacuum stopped working after short period of time, dust, dirt & usage had created the problem which I thought a vacuum would be designed to handle!!!!
Very expensive - does not deliver the cost
Go for a cheaper option - LG has a good product available which I would choose next time

Incentivised ReviewNo
1 comment
Dyson
DysonDyson
Lawry Bugeja

Lawry BugejaSouthwest, VIC

  • 6 reviews
  • 10 likes

Better value to buy a cheap stick vac every 2 years. Triple the life for half the price.

published

We bought the vac to use as a spot cleaner. We estimated it would get about 20 mins use per day. The first 12 months was fine, however over the last 8-10 months we can only use the vac on low power on limited time. Maximum power lasts less than 1 minute. Our $60 Kogan does a far better job.

Purchased in January 2019 at Westpac Altitude for $800.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
1 comment
Dyson
DysonDyson
Stick & Cordless Vacuum Cleaners

Find out how Dyson V8 Animal compares to other Stick & Cordless Vacuum Cleaners

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Page 1 of 25
See all Dyson V8 reviews

Questions & Answers

chefcros

chefcrosasked

V8 Animal

Can you buy a spare battery for this model?

3 answers
luvsitwet
luvsitwet

yes just contact dyson australia

Dyson
DysonDyson

While currently out of stock, when back in stock batteries for the Dyson V8 will be available via this link: https://www.dyson.com.au/dyson-v8-replacement-battery-967834-02

You can see how to replace it via this link: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=axuz5qJfHQ8

If we can assist further, our Dyson Experts are available via auaskdyson@dyson.com and happy to help.

chefcros
chefcros

Thanks

Amac

Amacasked

V8 Animal

Hi there, does anyone use this vacuum on wood floors? Does it scratch? Thank you.

4 answers
purplethings
purplethings

I have been using ours on wooden floor boards and have not had any issues. I know there is another attachment you can purchase if you are concerned that is designed for wooden floors. I have been debating getting it but haven't as yet.

Amac
Amac

Great thank you for your response. It’s a big decision!

Dyson
DysonDyson

The Direct Drive head included with the Dyson V8 Animal is designed to work across carpets and hard floors without causing damage (just make sure the floor tool is undamaged and free of debris first).

Should you have highly polished or delicate hard floors, we would encourage considering a machine with the Soft Roller cleaner head for best results.

Should we be able to assist in your decision, our Dyson Experts are available via auaskdyson@dyson.com and happy to help.

Wendy B

Wendy Basked

V8 Animal

My Dyson is aprox 3 years old and has suddenly stopped charging, when I plug it in the charging lights do not come on. Do I need a new battery or could it be the charging cable or port that is the problem?

1 answer
Dyson
DysonDyson

We'll be happy to help diagnose this and get your machine back up and running. Please just forward your query, details and serial number of your machine to auaskdyson@dyson.com and our Dyson Experts will be in touch to assist. If you are not in Australia, please visit www.dyson.com and press "Contact Us" for the local contact information of the Dyson helpline in your area.

See all Dyson V8 Animal questions

Get an answer from our members and Dyson representatives

Dyson V8 Animal

Details

Compare all 4 Dyson V8
CategoryStick & Cordless Vacuum Cleaners
Price (RRP) $799.00
Bin Capacity0.54 L
HEPA FilterYes
Weight2.6 kg
TypeCordless
Charging Time5 hours
Running Time 40 min
Suction (Air Watts)115 AW
Manufacturer Warranty2 year(s)
Release dateAug 2016
Compare all 4 Dyson V8
Visit official website
  • GTIN14: 05025155056950
  • MPN: 298903-01, 36427914 and 369398-01
  • GTIN13: 5025155025888 and 5025155046647

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.