??!
1 photo
EcoSmart Solar Heat Pump

EcoSmart Solar Heat Pump

1.2 from 18 reviews

Reviews

(0)
(0)
(1)
(1)
(16)
  • Build Quality
    1.0 (1)
  • Value for Money
    1.0 (1)
  • Cleaning & Maintenance
    1.0 (1)
Moh

MohSydney, NSW

Ecosmart dux hot water horrible

published

I bought this heater 5 years ago for about $6000. It had been giving me problems and costing me a lot. I have already spent $1000 on repair. Please think twice before bying this heater. Model number EN15DS

Purchased in December 2013 at EcoSmart Solar for $6,000.00.

Build Quality
Cleaning & Maintenance
Value for Money
Household Size 4 person(s)
See all answers
scott

scottDALBY

Waste of $6500

published
Date PurchasedJul 2013
newhouse

newhouseCentral Coast, NSW

  • 3 reviews
  • 1 like

Limited life expectancy and noisy.

published

We had built a new project home 3 years ago and the builder fitted an Ecosmart Heat Pump Water Heater, electric powered. It always was noisy when running but we found after a time it became really rattly and noisy and within 3 years, to the day, had rusted and leaking water. We have now had to have it removed and replaced with a normal hot water system. Whilst the concept of the Ecosmart sounded good it was not practical and now has cost us a fortune to replace with a proper system. I am told the builder does now not install this product. If we had known we'd have used a normal system - the Ecosmart was a waste of money. Avoid this product at all costs!

Date PurchasedMay 2014
Solar Water Heaters

Find out how EcoSmart Solar Heat Pump compares to other Solar Water Heaters

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Pri

PriSydney, NSW

  • 24 reviews

Not working perfectly

published
Date PurchasedJan 2014
1 comment
Pri
Pri
  • Verified purchase

EcoSmart and Dux heaps of stress and cost us lots of money.

published

Lasted 4 years 11months solar collectors still under warranty. Perchase $4,336,00. COST OF REPAIRS TO DATE $969.00. NOW NOT WORKING to replace pump looking around $1,000. But panels dont look like they are going to last 6 months they are starting to leak. Now we are running out of hot water, we had to switch to normal electricity in stead of off peak electricity. Complained about panels coroding 13 months after installation. Corrosion looks heaps worse now. Wouldnt spend another dollar on it. Only one problem I have to see it every day. So I say not to buy Dux/ EcoSmart.

Date PurchasedJul 2012

EcoSmart Solo Heat Pump

published

Worse mistake ever purchased eco smart pump mid 2011 cost of nearly $4000 . I am extreme disgusted that I now have to purchase a new hot water tank as the eco has rusted within and my hot water is a brownish colour .Was told by the salesman the the eco smartheat pump would save me money in the long run .In fact it was the worse decision now costing me another $1600 to install new tank NOT ECO .How can you justify this.

Date PurchasedJun 2011
Tina

TinaBourke

only a 5 year warranty for a Hot Water Service

published

Have had solar hot Water service for just over 5 years, paid $7000.00 for it and it has failed/ needs replacing. It makes loud noises when the water is turned on and the water smells that bad you wouldn't shower in it. Phone the company to be told that it is only a 5yr warranty on a 415ltr WOW first time I've known a hot water service to only be a 5 year warranty and not 10yrs. Would not encourage anyone to spend that amount of money for a product with a 5yr warranty.

Date PurchasedSep 2011

A BAD Choice for Solar Hot Water and installer

published
Date PurchasedMar 2015

Waste of money

published

I have had nothing but trouble with this system cost us $6000.00 frost valve has to be replaced every year due to releasing water then you have excess water. System leaked into roof no one would take responsibility for the damage to water damage to roof solar company blamed plumber plumber blamed solar company bad batch of silicon they said THIS IS THE WORST PURCHASE I HAVE EVER MADE

Date PurchasedSep 2012
Solar Water Heaters

Find out how EcoSmart Solar Heat Pump compares to other Solar Water Heaters

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
BVD

BVDDUBBO NSW

  • 2 reviews
  • 5 likes

Eco smart not so smart

published

Don't even look at ECOsmart

published

We had a rooftop solar system with two panels installed 5-6 years ago & every year we have had to spend money on this. Warranty work is non existent & if there was updates to the system you have to pay for the parts & installation.
As for the franchise in the Hawksbury that sells them, they wouldn't give you the time of day.

Biggest waste of money

published
jackdaniel

jackdanielbundaberg

  • 2 reviews
  • 2 likes

terrible terrible product

published
Lindy

LindyPittsworth

Ecosmart not worth the money

published

We have had our Ecosmart solar (electric boosted) hot water system for under two years and for the past four or so months, we have had little or no hot water from the solar component. Our electric booster has been on constantly and, hence we are paying for electric hot water. Not happy, particularly when we paid over $6000 for the Ecosmart system. I have contacted the dealer numerous times, and they are sending a plumber this week to inspect the system - plumber believes we will need new parts. This, of course will incur significant costs to us. This product has not lived up to its promotion (mainly from salesman) and we would have been better installing a cheap electric system.

Kayjay

Kayjay

  • 2 reviews

False claims by EcoSmart

published
Solar Water Heaters

Find out how EcoSmart Solar Heat Pump compares to other Solar Water Heaters

Know better, choose better.

Compare all

Ecosmart sell faulty products than charge for reinstall.

published
BVD

BVDDUBBO NSW

  • 2 reviews
  • 5 likes

Ecosmart not so smart

published
3 comments
Dux
Dux H.Dux
BVD
BVD
Dux
Dux H.Dux

Hi, we would like to discuss this further. Please email Dux on feedback@dux.com.au, please supply the serial number of your system and please use reference number PRW138.
Thanks Dux After Sales.

Saves on Electricity Charges but doesnt save you money

published

Questions & Answers

Lindy

Lindyasked

I have called Ecosmart as of last week (May 2018) and no, they definitely do not exist any more. I was referred to Dux, who basically have nothing to do with Ecosmart. We still endure barely luke warm water, and we have spent over $600 on the system in the last few months. What has everyone done with their Ecosmart systems? Are any parts of it salvageable, ie can the panels or tank be re-used and retrofitted for another system. With winter approaching, we need some hot water, wondering if we should just take the whole thing to the dump and install an electric system.

2 answers
newhouse
newhouse

We had to install a new system (Dux) via a local distributor - they took away the old Ecosmart system which was rusted through. A totally bad investment - but at the time building our new home it was the system recommended by the builder. Good luck, Im sure a new system will be better than the wretched Ecosmart.

Pri
Pri

Here's what I did last August when were in the midst of Winter. I got nowhere with Dux. They wanted me to spend closer to $200 to get a Dux service repairperson. I refused. I did bit of research & found instant water systems are just as effective & its powered by Gas and electric. Electric portion ignites & the gas powers it. We are 3 people family. We all take late evening showers or early morning showers. I have a teen who basks in the hot water. I didn't notice my gas bill shooting up. After reading many appaling reviews who had post purchase issues with EcoSmart /dumb Eco system I decided to cut my losses & move to Therman26 instant heater. The new system cost me closer to be around 2K including installation. I had to get it done quick as all of us had to use very cold water for showers for two days in a row. You can read my review on the instant heater under my reviews. Looking back I am so glad I did this. I had to get the EcoSmart tank removed by the service technician who came to install Thermann26. He removed all electrical wires. We used exsisting gas connector for the instant heater. I had to get assistance to remove the massive 300 litre tank to be removed by our council pick up. I managed to distmantle to seperate the electrical /gas unit to just the tank part. Idea was to get two council pick up guys could life it with out heavy lifting equipment. Once you remove all of the extra heavy electric / gas power assembly, two people can lift the tank if you are in good shape. Please check with your coucil to make sure they can pick it up. My local area recycle place said they are happy to take if I can drop it off to them as well. Once we dismantle the system we noticed Eco System has been leaking around the elctrical part area. There was rust as well. The service tech told me the cost repair including labour be around 1K including specialised parts for it. We also have to wait for the parts to be delivered from a Dux servicesupplier. Who is going to wait for weeks at a time without a hot shower. That's crazy talk. I can do 3 days tops during mid winter without hot water. Not 2 weeks plus. When it comes water heaters or Aircondition/ heater issues they can't be fixed instantly if they require parts. Then you have to schedule a service tech during week day between 8-5 & be at home to get it done.
To your question are any parts salageble? I do not know the answer to that. Judging by what they service tech told me they are all specilised parts that only works with that unit, thus we have to order special parts to replace the broken parts. I did manged to remove ton of copper tubes. I believe they can be sold to a recyle place. Dismantling is not that hard. Need a good screw driver & couple of wrenches, an hour or more of your precious time. Don't forget to dump all of the 300 litres of water to your plants or back yard before you attempt to remove if you choose it do remove it. Repair person said he will take the unit to the local recyle yard for additional $100. One last thing. There solar heating element is still on the roof. It's no longer doing anything. I just let it be.

Thea

Theaasked

Does Ecosmart even exist anymore? Phone numbers are disconnected. Nothing on directory assistance apart from Ecosmat cooling and heating in South Australia. Im in Bundaberg Queensland. Can anyone advise please?

3 answers
Mary A
Mary A

Eco Smart is owned by Dux
1300 767 565 Eco Smart Warranty or
ecosmartwarranty@ecosmart.com.au

Michael  Spiteri
Michael Spiteri

Yes it does exists. Website https://www.ecosmart.com
Phone: 133 326.

Pri
Pri

The phone number 133 326 doesn't work. No one answers & it gets a busy signal. Following information captured from their support email.
PO BOX 5108, Hallam VIC 3803. P 1300 767 565, F 03 8794 3601, E ecosmartwarranty@ecosmart.com.au. I have gotten response from this email address.
This is their parent company. http://www.dux.com.au

Get an answer from our members

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.