1 photo
Target Essentials 5.5L

Target Essentials 5.5L

MPNs: TARSC20 and TESSC13220
4.3 from 70 reviews · View Statistics
See the Best Slow Cookers in 2021 as rated by Australians on ProductReview.com.au.
Brand Manager for Target Essentials? Register now and take advantage of ProductReview's Brand Management Platform!

Pros

  • Highly affordable

  • Prepares scrumptious meals

  • Simple to operate

Reviews

4.3
70 reviews
  • Build Quality
    3.0 (2)
  • Value for Money
    3.5 (2)
  • Ease of Use
    4.0 (2)
  • Cleaning & Maintenance
    4.0 (2)
Previous
Next
t18
t18Greater Melbourne (Outer), VIC
  • 26 reviews
  • 6 likes

Cheap and Works

published

Picked one of these up to replace a much more expensive brand when the bowl on that one cracked. Works exactly the same. We put it on before we go to work and there is a currey ready when we get home. Very east to set. Inexpensive to buy and saves heaps of time cooking at night.

Purchased in June 2019 at Target Australia for $50.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
grapsta
grapstaNSW, 2035
  • 10 reviews
  • 2 likes

Low Heat is too High and moisture gets out

published

I've owned 3 slow cookers over the last 10 years...I use them 2-3 times a week ...this slow cooker cooks too high on the lowest heat...it bubbles and simmers on low as much as other slow cookers do on high the water / steam seems to escape too much. What this means is if you don't have much liquid in the slow cooker and you leave it too long it will burn. This should never happen on low. I'm taking mine back for a better model .

Purchased in January 2019 for $29.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money

Other Slow Cookers

 
 

0.0
(1,234)
Joe
JoeCAMPBELLTOWN
  • 3 reviews

Great, versatile and convenient

published

Bought this for a low $25. Has been so great during winter and never failed me. Have looked up many slow cooker recipes online to help me out as I've never owned one before and searched the supermarket for slow cooker sachets for quick and easy preparation. Do yourself a favour and buy one of these slow cookers. You just throw everything in there and set it to low, high or warm (depending on how long you want it to cook for) and you can relax. It does it all for you. When I come home from work there's nothing better than walking in to the smell of the food in the slow cooker ready to eat!!! Great value for money and so convenient and versatile!!

Date PurchasedMay 2018
Slow Cookers

Find out how Target Essentials 5.5L compares to other Slow Cookers

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
betjie
betjieWestern Australia, Australia
  • 8 reviews
  • 10 likes

What a Beauty

published

This slow cooker is priced @ the lower end but works the same as my name branded appliance.
5.5ltr can be used as a oven to keep sausage rolls and party pies warm.
Made soups and casseroles and curries..
Meat is tender and tasty when cooked on slow setting..
Very versatile appliance..
Well done..

Date PurchasedJuly 2018
Lisa J
Lisa JQueensland, 4209
  • 3 reviews
  • 2 likes

Value for money

published

Cook meals in 4 hrs on high 8hrs on low
Easy to clean pot in the dishwasher
the only drawback for working people is no timer
Makes delicious slow cooked one pot meals such as lamb shanks.
Value for money twenty-five dollars well spent very pleased with my purchase RECOMMEND

Date PurchasedJuly 2018

Related Articles

Previous

The best kitchen appliances in 2020!

Whether you love or loath being in the kitchen, our community of reviewers have determined that out of almost 5,000 appliances on ProductReview.com.au, these are the best available!

Nathan S.
Nathan S.1 Nov 2019
the-best-kitchen-appliances-in-2020

Best Fridges and Dishwashers in 2020!

These large kitchen appliances are the backbone of your kitchen, meant to last you many years. The initial cost of a fridge or dishwasher is high, so to make sure you're not buying a lemon, here are the best fridges and best dishwashers of 2020. Our reviewers have provided detailed ratings for important factors to consider when choosing a refrigerator or dishwasher, such as Noise Level and Internal Layout.

Wendy Z.
Wendy Z.12 Nov 2019
best-fridges-and-dishwashers-in-2020

Here are 5 affordable kitchen appliances for making delicious winter warmers with

If you're craving winter comfort food made at home-sweet-home, these kitchen appliances can do the trick. They offer good value for money, too.

Avleen M.
Avleen M.23 July 2021
here-are-5-affordable-kitchen-appliances-for-making-delicious-winter-warmers-with
Next
jessy
jessyNSW, 2443
  • 6 reviews
  • 4 likes
  • Verified

Excellent Slow Cooker

published

I can honestly say that this Target Slow Cooker is great, have used three times now and all meals have come out cooked to perfection ( and I an no cook )
Only cost $20.00 and works great the ceremony bowl lifts out for easy cleaning would definitely recommend this slow cooker

Date PurchasedJune 2018
Ver
Ver
  • 8 reviews
  • 1 like

Cooks great

published

I brought a microwave from target just the cheap target brand and I think it cooks just as good as the expensive ones it's easy to use it is easy to clean and the cooking settings are very simple I think they are great to cook with especially through the cold seasons and those busy days

Date PurchasedApr 2018
Suzy
SuzyMelbourne
  • 9 reviews
  • Verified

Love it!

published

I'm so glad I bought one of these! It cooks really well, it's so easy to clean and it's so easy to use! I wish I had bought one sooner! And the price?! Don't bother spending $100 on a known brand name when you can buy this gem for only $25!!

Date PurchasedDec 2017

Other Slow Cookers

 
 

0.0
(1,234)
Rebecca
RebeccaBrisbane
  • 6 reviews
  • 2 likes

Wow.

published

A slow cooker this isnt. This cooker is the best thing one i have purchased. Cooks my family's favorite in no time it even bakes amazing cakes. Amazing value for money. Easy to clean. Even on the low setting it saves so much time. Im super happy and would recommend to anyone.

Date PurchasedJune 2017
Slow Cookers

Find out how Target Essentials 5.5L compares to other Slow Cookers

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Sal
SalAdelaide
  • 4 reviews
  • 1 like

Very Happy

published

Slow cookers are oldies but goodies. Our parents and grandparents knew what they were doing letting these do all the work cooking dinner all day. My only complaint is how much of my time it takes up. The internet has a never ending supply of slow cooker recipes to find and try out! This works very well.

Date PurchasedSept 2017
Geoff
GeoffMelbourne
  • 8 reviews
  • 6 likes

Hot Pot

published

Have used these for years and this is a great model. The best things about it are the ability to keep warm mode which means the food does not overcook yet can stay ready to eat for a couple of hours after cooking. Also being an oval shape increases the size of items that can be cooked. It is easy to fit a meat joint in lengthways where the round cookers limit the length of items. Great model for the price.

Date PurchasedSept 2017
Docdee
DocdeeAU
  • 10 reviews
  • 3 likes

Value for Money

published

For what you pay this is a gem!. We have used it all through winter and it has not missed a beat and cooked some great meals. It cooks evenly and consistently. Sure it doesn't have some of the fancy functions the other units have which are $60-$150, but we found that you didn't need it. Put the goodies in turn it on and come home to a scrumptious succulent stew. I think we paid $25 for it so you just can't go wrong. If you want the fancy options and timers etc don't buy it. But if your after something that is pure value for money with just works its great!!

Date PurchasedApr 2017
Tazy
TazyGreater Melbourne (Inner), VIC
  • 23 reviews
  • 7 likes

Good

published

The price of this product initially made me think it would not work as well as more expensive products but it proved me wrong. It is so cheap yet so good. Very pleased. It evenly cooks the food perfect. Perfect heat. Great warming setting also and a great price. Very happy.

Date PurchasedAug 2017
Sarah
SarahSouth East Queensland, QLD
  • 8 reviews
  • 1 like

Cant compete! Excellent value for money

published

I bought this for a one off use not expecting much of it simply because of the price point, but I have used it numerous times now and I am absolutely in love with it. works brilliantly and I have not had a single issue with it. I use it on a regular basis anywhere from 1 to 2 times a week. Highly recommend

Date PurchasedApr 2017

Other Slow Cookers

 
 

0.0
(1,234)
kj
kjmelbourne
  • 9 reviews
  • 4 likes

makes the dinner rush a breeze

published

Wonderful machine for the price you pay, did some research before I bought and found that this machine for the price was the best on offer. glass lid is great so that you can check in the meal without having to lift the lid. Big machine which is great for bulk cooking. Only real issue is storing it.

Date PurchasedFeb 2017
Slow Cookers

Find out how Target Essentials 5.5L compares to other Slow Cookers

Know better, choose better.

Compare all

Questions & Answers

Bella
Bellaasked

Please, Has anyone got a copy of the manual? We have never used it and cant find it :O

2 answers
grapsta
grapsta

What do you need to know. Slow cookers don't need much of a manual. You turn them on. You put the stuff in. You let it go. Most things will cool 4 hours on high or 6-8 on low

Angel
Angel

Ask Target

Janelle
Janelleasked

Do you know where I can get a new lid for my slow cooker from please as I knocked it off the bench and smashed it.

No answers
Samantha P.
Samantha P.asked

Cooking instructions to include times

No answers
See all Target Essentials 5.5L questions

Get an answer from our members

Details

Features

The Target Essentials 5.5L Slow Cooker shares some of its features with slow cookers made by more expensive brands. These features include a removable ceramic pot, and a brushed stainless steel housing. The appliance is also equipped with 3 settings: low, high and keep warm.

Points of praise

  • Many reviewers enthusiastically commented that this Target slow cooker worked just as well as brand-name slow cookers. Its $25 price tag certainly makes it a steal.
  • This slow cooker’s 3 heat settings are easy to use, via a rotary dial.
  • Meals made in this Target slow cooker turned out tasty and tender, thanks to an even heat distribution. Ultimately, reviewers had no complaints about the results from a culinary perspective.

Points to consider

The lack of a timer means that the appliance won’t automatically turn off after food has finished cooking. This is something to consider if you’re cooking overnight or cooking while you’re out working.

On the flipside, plenty of reviewers still used the slow cooker while they were out working, so this didn’t seem to be a problem.

CategorySlow Cookers
Price (RRP) $25.00
Capacity5.5L
DisplayAnalog
Outer Body Construction MaterialMetal
Cooking Bowl MaterialCeramic
Removable CordNo
Searing FunctionNo
Visit official website
  • MPN: TARSC20 and TESSC13220

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.