??!
10 photos
EvaKool Glacier Fridge/Freezer

EvaKool Glacier Fridge/Freezer

75L, 30L, 50L, etc...
2.8 from 24 reviews

Reviews

2.8

24 reviews
5
(6)
4
(4)
3
(1)
2
(4)
1
(9)
  • Build Quality
    2.9 (8)
  • Value for Money
    3.3 (8)
  • Ease of Use
    4.4 (8)
  • Cleaning & Maintenance
    4.3 (8)
Previous
Next
carmoda

carmodaSouth East Queensland, QLD

  • 19 reviews
  • 5 likes

So much for buying Australian.

published

Purchased in June 2020 for A$842.00.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Value for Money
See all answers
SinM

SinM

  • 5 reviews
  • 8 likes

Owned for a year, works fine

published

Purchased in March 2019 at eBay for A$450.00.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Value for Money
See all answers
Tom P.

Tom P.South East Queensland, QLD

Camping gamechanger

published

Bought during one of their factory seconds sales because the price was too good to miss.
Took on a week camping trip in Jan, 40*c heat running off a 115Ah battery and 160w solar panel.
Running as fridge/freezer we had cold meat/drinks and frozen ice poles which I've never had camping before.
Temperature range fluctuates a little but I think that's near the top of the fridge so not a massive problem.
I have been using this as an overflow freezer at home.
Only issue I've had is that when running for extended periods the condensation builds up around the top and can get into the LED light housing and cause the lights to dim. Some silicone in there should fix the issue.

Purchased in November 2019 at Evakool for A$659.00.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Value for Money
See all answers
Portable Fridges / Freezers

Find out how EvaKool Glacier Fridge/Freezer compares to other Portable Fridges / Freezers

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
David F.

David F.Launceston, TAS

High failure rate

published

They were ok when going, but they only have a very short life span and do not expect any help.
I was trying to be fair, but got the flip. I will not own anything of this brand again.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Value for Money
See all answers
Tony

TonyWide Bay-Burnett, QLD

Very upsetting

published

I purchased a evacool fridge freezer glacier 55ltr, was working fine then started to warm up till it couldn't be used, I took into a evacool rep in Bundaberg and was very disappointed when was told it has a internal leak and can't be fixed, just what I needed before we were to head of for Xmas, and out of warranty, now stuck with canvas cover, I was warned.

Purchased in May 2015 for A$980.00.

5 comments
EvaKool
Evakool I.EvaKool

Hi Tony, If you would like my tech's to assess the unit and supply a quote for the repairs, please can you email your details to warranty@evakool.com

Thank you, Tracey- EvaKool Warranty Manager

Tony
Tony

Hi Tracey
The unit is still at the evacool agent I was told to take for repairs, could someone ring them and we could go from there,it Dempster's caravan and appliance repairs, Bundaberg Qld 4670.
Thanks for the reply.
Regards Tony Dwyer

Tony
Tony

Hello........

Steven L.

Steven L.Hunter Region, NSW

Excellent fridge

published

Owned this fridge now for 3 1/2 years. It’s copped a hiding over this time with countless trips away and has performed faultlessly. Would not hesitate buying another evakool fridge.

Purchased in April 2016 at Evakool.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Value for Money
See all answers
1 comment
EvaKool
Evakool I.EvaKool

Hi Steve, thank you for the message.
Please can you email me your address to warranty@evakool.com

Kind regards, Tracey- Warranty and after sales Manager

Mathew

MathewSydney, NSW

Very Disappointing product not once but twice

published

Purchased in August 2015 at Outback Equipment for A$900.00.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Value for Money
See all answers
1 comment
EvaKool
Evakool I.EvaKool

Hi Mathew, thank you for your message. a 2 flash error can also be a low voltage issue. Please can you call us to assist you further. The office number is 07 5492 7777. Kind regards, Tracey - Warranty Manager

Grahame w

Grahame wQueensland

Unreliable

published

Purchased in February 2017 for A$1,095.00.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Value for Money
See all answers
1 comment
EvaKool
Evakool I.EvaKool

Good morning Grahame, thank you for your message. Please check your email as I sent you an email yesterday, Please contact me if you have any questions. Kind regards, Tracey- Warranty and After Sales Manager

Hpe

HpeCentral Queensland, QLD

  • 3 reviews
  • 1 like

It does the job I require of it.

published

I use this fridge daily, it sits next to me at home. If I have to travel then it goes in the back of the wagon. I have found it reliable even in hot situations in the back of the wagon. I use a BT monitor on my car battery and have found it to be fairly economical. (I drive a 2l Mondeo diesel). Even after 3 days of car not moving everything is frozen and I can still start my car.

Purchased in July 2016 at Australian Direct for A$578.00.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Value for Money
See all answers
Portable Fridges / Freezers

Find out how EvaKool Glacier Fridge/Freezer compares to other Portable Fridges / Freezers

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Zowner

ZownerSouth East Queensland, QLD

  • 15 reviews
  • 6 likes

Best portable fridge/freezer I have owned

published
Date PurchasedNov 2016
PeteB

PeteBAdelaide, SA

  • 6 reviews
  • 1 like

Best thing we have bought for camping

published
Date PurchasedOct 2010
Mat Sc

Mat ScBrisbane

Initial test looks good

published

Bought direct from Evakool the 25th anniversary edition (they had a special price with cover - much cheaper than anywhere else). Looks good so far, but have only tested it on mains power for 24 hours so far. Temperatures seem reasonably accurate compared to a thermometer. Fast shipping - ordered Sunday and arrived on Wednesday. Also had wifi connectivity which was a bonus not listed on the advert - handy to track temperature movements. Will test it out further while camping in a few months and give an update.

Date PurchasedMay 2018
R B

R BMount Barker

3years 3 error code lights

published

When it was working it did a good job, was taken during summer most weekdays for food and drinks inside sedan, 3rd summer and 3 Flashing light error code started, ambient temp too high or something the book said. Don’t waste your money no matter if they are cheaper I have and will now buy an Engel that drive around on station utes year in year out.

Date PurchasedFeb 2015
Hydo

HydoGoulburn Valley, VIC

  • 5 reviews
  • 6 likes

Love my Evakool.

published

We bought this fridge over 12 months ago and have been on the road full time since July 17. We have set our 75 litre dual zone to run at -10 degrees on the left side and 0 degrees on the right. I can't fault it, the fridge is on a slide in the back of the ute and has been running now 24/7 for the last 9 months. Not only is it reliable but due to the thick insulation the fridge doesn't cycle very often thereby saving battery power. Would I ever buy another one, in a heart beat.

Date PurchasedFeb 2017
leah1

leah1AU

  • 2 reviews
  • 8 likes

Digital Readout wild variations

published

Made a big mistake
You would think a Fridge Freezer Digital readout in a modern fridge would read around what you want your food or drinks to be. Apparently thats not the case. This one when set on 4 degrees goes up to 8 and down to 1 degrees.
Really a big concern with a large fridge in the Outback full of very valuable food , not knowing if the fridge is actually doing its job.
After 2 weeks a Technician finally rang about this and Told us a variation of 5 degrees above and 2 below is normal,when I questioned why my old Failed FM70 Evakool had a even readout of Temperature he told me it was where the sensors are located.
So in fact the Glacier has the Sensors located badly .

Date PurchasedJan 2018
Portable Fridges / Freezers

Find out how EvaKool Glacier Fridge/Freezer compares to other Portable Fridges / Freezers

Know better, choose better.

Compare all

poor build quality

published

purchased the glacier 75l dual zone just over two years ago been used about 4 trips won't cool down pulled the ispection panel off bout 30 washers fell out for a start, had it checked out to find that it has dropped its gas and is not repairable all evakool offerd was a small discount on new fridge, no thanks evakool wont get burned twice.

Date PurchasedJan 2015
Blake

BlakeBrisbane

  • 4 reviews
  • 6 likes

Error codes

published

We bought a 75 l glacier for our new camper as it was what fitted the best on the fridge slide. We picked up our camper 2weeks ago and and installed the fridge into its new home on its slide. I did some testing with the fridge and it run fine for a week. It was turned off for a couple of days and got turned back on to load some frozen stuff in it for our first camping trip. It run fine for a bit and then error code 2 flashes, fan. Turned it off and tried again and it's back on and working. Couple of hours later same thing 2 flashes. Not a good first experience with evakool and will wait to hear a reply from them. Hopefully it can be resolved quickly as its now Tuesday and we go camping Friday lunch

Date PurchasedJul 2017
1 comment
Blake
Blake
Irate consumer

Irate consumerSouth East Queensland, QLD

  • 9 reviews
  • 8 likes

Terrible and full of dramas

published

worked on 12v but on 240.....Error codes!!! Error codes!!! Error codes!!! and huge difference between displayed temp and actual air temp.. as well as if you set it to -18 when it reaches it it turns off and rises to -14 or 13 before turning back on instead of staying on until -20 and coming back on at -16 to average -18. The various issues listed above combined with the discrepancy between displayed temp and actual internal temp makes this an unreliable choice in my opinion.. need I say more?

Date PurchasedDec 2016
OzD Australia

OzD AustraliaMelbourne

  • 4 reviews
  • 12 likes

Average fridge with average cover only lasted 1 month

published

Great all rounder fridge and almost identical to my previous Waeco. This was a run out model so I got it very cheap, brand new shipped directly from Evakool. The disappointment is the cover it comes with. It doesn't fit which causes strain on zipper and broke on day one. The zipper is sewn in to half of the bag, which in my opinion is far to much and will not last even though they are sending me another one. Needs better design in future models. The warranty and contact process was excellent. Since this review, the fridge failed one month later. Been trying to get a warranty for 3 months! Very disappointing

Date PurchasedOct 2016

Temperature Control Poor

published

Set Freezer and Fridge up and froze both sides. Appears to not like running both modes at once. Set at -15c and it allows fridge to go to -10c. Set Fridge to 4c and it went to -6 c. Froze all the drinks and lucky I took the beer out. Will continue to test then ring Evakool.

1 comment
Sean
Sean

It appears if you use left hand side for fridge and right (larger side) for freezer it works ok. Set fridge for 5c and goes between 2c and 6c whilst freezer set at -15c goes between -16c and -9c.

Page 1 of 2

Questions & Answers

Hit The Nick S.

Hit The Nick S.asked

Glacier Fridge/Freezer

Hi my evakool starts fine then the compressor switches off immediately after starting. Should I throw it in the bin

No answers
bulldog

bulldogasked

Glacier 75L

25th anniversary model two weeks out of warranty and the left side wont go below 20 degrees and the right wont go below 6 degrees. Not happy. Don't think I will be suggesting Evakool to anyone.

No answers
Michael K.

Michael K.asked

Glacier Fridge/Freezer

What model evakool has the compressor at the back

2 answers
Tony
Tony

Mate
Sorry to damper your spirit, just keep away from Eva cool (Glacier) , 4 years and down the tube, polite on this web but end of day get an engel .
Regards Tony

Tony
Tony

Ment to say polite on this site, but make it so hard to help, like driving item to sunny coast and pay for just looking over the unit.

Get an answer from our members and EvaKool representatives

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.