7 photos
Fiat Punto

Fiat Punto

2006-2009, 2013-2015
3.3 from 17 reviews · View Statistics
See the Best Hatchbacks in 2021 as rated by Australians on ProductReview.com.au.
Brand Manager for Fiat? Register now and take advantage of ProductReview's Brand Management Platform!

Reviews

  • Build Quality
    5.0 (1)
  • Value for Money
    5.0 (1)
  • Cleaning & Maintenance
    5.0 (1)
  • Noise Level
    2.0 (1)
  • Braking
    4.0 (1)
  • Acceleration / Power
    4.0 (1)
  • Gear Shifting
    3.0 (1)
  • Suspension
    5.0 (1)
  • Fuel Efficiency
    5.0 (1)
  • Handling
    5.0 (1)
  • Boot Size
    4.0 (1)
  • Comfort
    4.0 (1)
Previous
Next

Punto is one spicy meatball!!!

published

Purchased in April 2018.

Build Quality
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Sagar
Sagar
  • 5 reviews
  • 2 likes

Little red Fiat

published
BadgePop
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedAug 2016

Other Hatchbacks

 
 

0.0
(1,234)
Ed of Parra
Ed of ParraSydney
  • 3 reviews
  • 9 likes

Great & Fun to drive car but EXPENSIVE dealer servicing.

published
BadgeDynamic
TransmissionManual
Date PurchasedDec 2008
Alessandro
AlessandroGreater Melbourne (Inner), VIC

Dualogic.... More like no logic!!

published

I have owned my punto for about 7 years now with no issues except for the constant dualogic problems. I have taken the car to several different mechanics where I have had to leave the car for extended periods of time with no fix. Nobody seems to know how to fix it or know where to fix these transmissions in Melbourne? I have have experienced gear changing issues (crunching sounds), the car not being able to select any gears when starting, stopping at traffic lights and then being stuck in a turning lane at peak hour traffic time....... The list goes on!!
Terrible, terrible gearbox.

By the way a friend of mine had to trade their Punto in because of the same thing!

Stay clear of these cars!!!

BadgeDynamic DuaLogic
TransmissionDualogic
Date PurchasedFeb 2009
Hatchbacks

Find out how Fiat Punto compares to other Hatchbacks

Know better, choose better.

Compare all

Dualogic nightmare

published

I actually like my fiat punto grande. The one thing that I can't fathom about the car is that rubbish dualogic gear box. Fuel economy is great and the driving experience is great. The gear box has a mind of its own. It fails without warning. What's worse is the cost to have the actuator relplaced. It will cost you more than the car is worth. I have always worked on Fiats and liked them. If you do buy one go for a traditional manual or auto. Stay clear of the electronic rubbish gearbox.

BadgeDynamic DuaLogic
TransmissionDualogic
Shaz
ShazGreater Melbourne (Metropolitan), VIC
  • 11 reviews
  • 3 likes

Decent Car. Worst Company!!

published
BadgeDynamic DuaLogic
TransmissionManual

Transmission dramas

published

Fiat Australia have said that they do not regard the systemic transmission problems reported off shore are a factor for their consideration!
Fiat say the part to repair the transmission in our 2009 transmission (just the part) is $5,000.
Car is valued at the same price.
Fiat Customer Care dept. will not accept our email or snail mail evidence of the service history to support our position. What a terrible company to deal with.

BadgeDynamic
TransmissionAutomatic
Earl Thompson
Earl Thompson

shocking treatment by Fiat Australia. Their dealers need to pull that company into line

Related Articles

Previous
Smart shopping tips to help you make the most of Black Friday sales

With Black Friday coming up on the 26th of November (and some deals starting well before), we’ve got some smart shopping tips to help you make the most of sales.

Clara V.
Clara V.15 Nov 2021
smart-shopping-tips-to-help-you-make-the-most-of-black-friday-sales
Our Latest Expert Car Reviews

A complete list of all our most recent car reviews by our resident car expert. Every review has both a detailed article and an accompanying video, so you can find out all the specs and then see them in action. Whether you're looking for a family car, a 4X4, or a performance vehicle, we cover everything in the Australian market.

Cameron S.
Cameron S.12 Jan 2021
our-latest-expert-car-reviews
How to be more eco-friendly when you're gifting this Christmas

Christmas seems to go hand in hand with consumption, but that doesn’t mean you can’t be eco-friendly with your gift giving. We’ve got tips for everything from shopping sustainably to zero-waste packaging, so that you can have a greener holiday season.

Clara V.
Clara V.30 Nov 2021
how-to-be-more-eco-friendly-when-youre-gifting-this-christmas
Next
Russell Nielsen
Russell NielsenTownsville Qld
  • 6 reviews
  • 1 like

Great reliable car

published

I purchased my Punto new in 2008. The 1.3 ltr diesel is a great economical engine. A great car with no problems.

TransmissionManual
BadgeDynamic

Other Hatchbacks

 
 

0.0
(1,234)
rob92
rob92Perth
  • 2 reviews
  • 1 like

great car

published

I have recently sold my Punto Sport turbo diesel. It was a great car but I needed 4 doors. Now have a Ritmo turbo petrol 2009 model which has also been fantastic so far. The Punto was reliable, economical and quite sporty, especially for a diesel. It was the orange colour-the best for this model.
reliable, inexpensive, good performance, distictive

BadgeSport
Hatchbacks

Find out how Fiat Punto compares to other Hatchbacks

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
steve
stevePort Macquarie
  • 9 reviews
  • 12 likes

Now good value

published

What a shame when Fiat released these in 2006 that the pricing at that time wasn't where it is now. They are a good car, with reliability & durability beyond any doubt. The Diesel was the pick of the engines, but because of the initial pricing only sold in small numbers. Just hope Fiat might reconsider adding the diesel back to the range at a more affordable price.
Reliable, durable & safe for a small vehicle. Great diesel in previous model.
Some minor quality issues.

Never Again
Never Again
  • 3 reviews
  • 4 likes

Absolute dog!!!

published

I unfortunately own a 2008 Fiat Punto with automatic gearbox. Nothing but trouble with the gearbox actuator. This is the electronics that send a message when to go into the next gear. It turns out on enquiry that it is a very common problem globally. I now have to spend $3k to get it fixed and no parts in Australia. Do your own internet research before buying an automatic. Also difficult to get competent people to service and also resell. Cannot even get parts from a wrecker. Steer clear of this Italian rubbish and buy a Corolla. Apparently the manuals are a lot more reliable but have no experience with the manual version.

Automatic gearbox actuator - common global problem and expensive to fix!

TransmissionAutomatic
PuntoMan
PuntoMan

Other Hatchbacks

 
 

0.0
(1,234)
Elio66
Elio66Perth
  • 2 reviews
  • 1 like

Great Car

published

I bought a Fiat Punto in 2008. In 4 years, no problems at all. A Great car that looks good, drives fantastic and isn't just another boring dot on the road. The panoramic sunroof is great. The 1.4 litre "T-Jet" turbo motor is a gem, giving you plenty of sprinting power. Highly Recommended. Fiat make great cars.
Style, Performance and Reliability.

TransmissionManual
BadgeSport
Hatchbacks

Find out how Fiat Punto compares to other Hatchbacks

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
newy26
newy26AU
  • 2 reviews
  • 4 likes

Love hate relationship

published
BadgeSport
PuntoMan
PuntoManCanberra
  • 2 reviews
  • 3 likes

Fiat Punto: 5 years on still lovin' it!

published
RJB
RJBAU
  • 6 reviews
  • 4 likes

Good

published
BadgeDynamic
RJB
RJB

I sold this car in early 2013 after purchasing Skoda Octavia Wagon. Fiat was trouble free for whole ownership experience (5 years). Much loved car!

Questions & Answers

Pramod M.
Pramod M.asked
Punto

Hi People,
I have a Fiat Punto 2013 dualogic transmission which broke down yesterday while doing my delivery. I parked my car in front of a customer’s house, handed over the food, returned back and when I normally tried to shift the gear from N to 1st auto/ manual both weren’t working. I’d never encountered this situation before and I reckon my car was totally fine until then. I furthered got it toed to a RAcv mechanic shop as it seemed the only option during that situation. Whilst, I’m awaiting for my mechanic to get back, I really want to know what might have gone wrong as I’m totally devastated and tensed.
Thanks in advance for your time and replies.

2 answers
Ed of Parra
Ed of Parra

Hi Pramod,
I feel sorry for you having the issue. I used to own a Fiat Punto (see my review on this site). Unfortunately the Punto has a well documented history of being a great car with great engine BUT with poor/failing gearboxes (including mine). I think The problem for you is, the gearbox has failed and need replacement, cost estimate is anywhere between $3-5k. Even more problem is no mechanic is likely to have a spare gearbox, which means it has to be imported from Italy (and huge delays with the delivery timing during COVID pandemic these days).

Sorry to be the bearer of bad news for you but from my experience and perspective, it is not looking good for you.

Regards,
Ed

Pramod M.
Pramod M.

OMG?? I’m feeling totally down and out now. Looks like I’ll have to get rid of it and buy a new one. Feels really painful. Thanks for your honest reply even though it shattered me into pieces.

Deryck L.
Deryck L.asked
Punto

I have a diesel 5 speed it's stuck in first gear when turned off I can put it in 2nd 3rd 4th and 5th but can't in reverse

1 answer
Ed of Parra
Ed of Parra

Hi Deryck,
I used to own a Fiat Punto Diesel manual for 8 yrs, and experienced what you described. Back then I did a lot of research and found the likely cause was that the gearbox is failing. And to replace it, it needs to be imported from Italy and bacl then it cost approximately $3-4k just to replace the gearbox. Fiat Punto was a good car and fun to drive but the gearbox was the weakest link and it has well been documented with so many problems. For me it lasted 8 yrs before I trade it in for another car, and getting 8yrs out of the gearbox was not too bad considering the many documented problems with shorter gearbox lifespan. In any case, Good luck with the car but I would recommend trading in for another car if u have the budget as gearbox replacement probably would cost more than the car value itself.

Almer
Almerasked
Punto 2006-2009

I have a fiat punto duo-logic 1.4 petrol 2007 and would like to acquire a workshop or sevice manual for same but cant find one. Any help?

2 answers
Shaz
Shaz

Hey mate,

there is a workshop in Thomastown. the gentleman there exclusively deals in fiat punto's. try doing a google search and he might be able to help.

Regards,

Waqas.

Almer
Almer

Thank you for your prompt reply, will try to contact him

See all Fiat Punto questions

Get an answer from our members

Fiat Punto

Details

Compare both Fiat Punto
Fiat Punto 2006-2009
  • Discontinued

Fiat Punto 2006-2009

3.3
(16)
Fiat Punto 2013-2015
  • Discontinued

Fiat Punto 2013-2015

4.0
(1)
CategoryHatchbacksHatchbacks
Starting Price $26,990$15,900
TransmissionManualAutomatic and Manual
Drive TypeFront Wheel Drive (FWD)Front Wheel Drive (FWD)
Fuel TypePetrolPetrol
Wheels17" Alloy15" Steel
ANCAP Safety Rating5 Stars
Fuel Consumption5 L/100km5.7 L/100km
Fuel Tank Capacity 6.6 L45 L
Engine4 Cylinder 1.4L4 Cylinder 1.4L
Max Power88kW @ 5000rpm57kW @ 6000rpm
Max Torque206Nm @ 5000rpm115Nm @ 3250rpm
Country of ManufactureItalyItaly
Manufacturer Warranty3 year(s)3 year(s)
Compare both Fiat Punto

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.