??!
14 photos
Suzuki Swift

See the Best Hatchbacks in 2019 as rated by Australians on ProductReview.com.au.


Love love love my new car

Car is an absolute gem to drive. Smooth, comfortable, zippy and economical what more could you ask for. It has many options and features for its price point. Handles very well as a day driver and on road trips. Outstanding on fuel, small tank (42litres) gets me around 650km to a tank. Cosmetically it is a beautiful little beast, it has good lines nice wheels and sleek design. Android Auto is fabulous connecting effortlessly, speaker is clear and takes instructions well. Interior is very sporty and seats are so comfortable. I am in love with my car.


Still a good efficient car!

I’ve bought my new swift sports Auto in March from a 2012 manual model. Because I love the car, like it’s handling and so efficient driving around. Apart from a different type of engine, the new model still has come with new features such as adaptive cruise control, safety breaks, lane departing alert, auto light, day light and apple car play etc.
however, with the higher price, you can obviously tell Suzuki has cut down a lot of costs.
1. Reduce the overall size of the car. Ie total length of the car, smaller dash depth and remove the cover of the boot.
2. Bad Design of front passenger window. When I open the passenger window a bit, it hits the door all the time and makes loud noises.
3. Safety alert is very sensitive. I sometime get freaked out by the alert in the middle of the road.
4. Boot size getting worse - the boot of last model was already small. It didn’t come with the boot internal cover (100% cutting cost). It now makes a awkward space where it sinks in, not deep enough and creates a gap between the boot and folding seat. It hard to perfecting utilize it when the surface is not flat! Didn’t get the design at all.

I have read some reviews before purchasing the car. However, I didn’t really think they would be problems until driving one now.

Purchased in March 2019.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtNew
Year2018
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort

Swift, light, safe and fuel efficient.

This car has alot of character being very light on its feet to drive and only around 900kgs. You can appreciate the economy and zippy nature with such a light car compared to other small and mid size cars. The real world economy is 5.9-6.1 litres per 100kms. Added to the attraction is all the safety features, adaptive cruise control is good for school zones. If you like technology then apple car play is all you need too. Lastly I think this car looks very funky and cool, not a box or normal hatch shape. I preferred the CVT because it is smooth. So far extremely satisfied. Definitely not a boring car.

Purchased in June 2019 at Heartland Motors.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
TransmissionContinuously Variable (CVT)
BoughtNew
Year2019
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort

15 years - not a single problem

Had my Swift for 15 years. Japanese build, one of the first cars after the famous redesign in 2004. No repairs, zero problems. Just service, fuel, wash and go. Wouldn't even swap it for a new one. Love the old reliable mechanical controls and buttons that can be operated without looking and don't fail, not like new cars with all the flimsy electronics. Hopefully this car goes for another 15 years, will gladly drive it for that long and beyond.

Purchased in September 2004.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtNew
Year2004
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort

An awesome car. Great on fuel efficiency

Love this car. It is very fuel efficient, it is so good at times gives 18Km on the litre. Very compact and has enough space to take your luggage around. Small enough to fit in small spaces for parking on the street. The safety pack comes with a lot of features and is great to drive even long distances. You will find a bit of road noise, however, you get used to it pretty fast. One of the best fuel efficient cars I have ever owned.

Purchased in December 2018.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
TransmissionContinuously Variable (CVT)
BoughtNew
Year2018
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort

I love my car!

I mainly use my car to drive to the bus stop for work, the train for university and to drive to the gym or friends houses. I use my car every single day and Ive never had any issues with it. I love that its small, reliable and low maintenance but still looks so sleek. Would strongly recommend to anyone.

BadgeClassic
Engine Size1.4L Petrol
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedApr 2017

Good but could of been better

Ive had this car about 3 weeks now, and have owned 2 swifts prior to this one. The build quality is exceptional as to be expected from the Japanese. But in order to keep the price competitive there have been some trade offs. THE GOOD: the handling and suspension have improved dramatically. The room inside the vehicle, including the boot has increased and improves passenger comfort. 16 inch alloys as standard is a nice touch too. The aircond seems to better than previous models. THE BAD: despite a decrease in engine size from 1.4 to 1.2 litre, it uses as much as the 1.4 litre. The engine feels too small and lacks the punch of previous models, which is more noticeable with every passenger you add. The fuel capacity has been reduced by 5 litres, which equates to about 100 km range reduction. The gear ratios feel odd, where im still trying to find smooth gear changes out of this gearbox. The voice recognition on the sat nav is terrible. The reversing lights are very dim and difficult to see where your going in the dark. The distance to empty display seems to swing wildly even when driven sedately. Cant display odometer and fuel range at the same time( very basic display). The spare space saver tyre is as cheap and nasty as it gets.
All in all this is a great car, but it depends what you want and what you can live with. For me it doesn't make a lot of sense to reduce engine size if there are no gains in fuel economy. Im mean why make it more comfortable and roomier for passengers when the car noticeably struggles with the more you add. A reversing camera in such a small car seems a little misplaced. Never really understood the point of day time driving lights either. I would of preferred to have the money spent on a larger engine, and more detailed instrument panel.
I still consider it to be a great car, but im not sure id buy another with this engine and gearbox configuration. The previous model was superior in this regard, so im not sure why they changed it.
As an update to all this 5 months on, im still reasonably happy with the car, but ill add this.
The softer ride for this model has the front bumper scraping on every uneven surface, a lot more than any previous model ive owned. The Sat Nav is dead to me and no longer used. Its problems are just too much of a distraction to be safe to use and drive. Gearbox and engine still feel off, particularly in reverse and first gear. Its almost like the flywheel is too small, and getting movement without clutch shudder requires a combination of riding the clutch and higher engine revs, that's hard to consistently acheive. The reduced bonnet curve on the front of the car from previous models has significantly reduced the appearance of stone chipping on the bonnet.
Handbrake does not hold as well as on previous model, with only the smallest of inclines having the car creeping. Not sure im a fan of the high door handles on the rear doors. Opening them feels awkward because they are no longer on the centre line of the door and not parallel to it. Mechanically im still happy with this car, but many of the things ive listed do detract from the drive experience. Its something suzuki always seemed to get right, but the car feels like all the components dont mesh as well as they should, to create the drive experience that im used to, as a swift owner.

Purchased in December 2018.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
TransmissionManual
BoughtNew
Year2018
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort

Terrible car

10 Visits to the dealer in 9 months. Now being told I have to pay for the labor for suzuki to investigate a fault they keep telling my doesnt exist.

Have constant smoke from burning entering the cabin through the air vents.

Brakes had to be replaced at 1800kms

Power window fault has been repaired 4 times

BadgeSport
TransmissionManual
Date PurchasedJan 2018

A small car oozing with personality

Great looks, Engine has superbly linear power delivery while being both refined and economical, Wonderful exhaust note, nippy handling. Only complaint is a firm ride over the harshest of roads.Also, great visibility due to the upright windscreen which for me was a v. important feature in comparison to the Mazda 2 and hondas. Feels solidly built and should be reliable according to surveys in UK .

BadgeGLX
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedJul 2018

A cute one

Bought suzuki Swift GL Navigator recently. Went with this car after comparing pros and cons of similar size cars. We bought this car as an addition to our SUV, for mostly local trip when going alone. We now like swift more than SUV that we may go for next vacation in Swift. It is really smooth, great engine, lot of inbuilt features, sat navigation , android/apple auto come with itself. a fuel efficiency equivalent to hybrid one . more over Made in Japan

BadgeGL Navigator
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedNov 2018

One of the rare made in Japan cars available today - Great Quality made car - an economical No probl

My Pearl white Suzuki SWIFT GLX Navigator 1.4 litre Automatic has been problem free so far. 70,000 klms has been travelled with many long trips to the North Coast of NSW , Sydney and Newcastle from the Upper Hunter Valley. The car has been serviced up until now with KLOSTERS in Newcastle , where the car was purchased from.... with Capped servicing. I would recommend this small car [although Suzuki does make a smaller car] to anyone. They are very easy to drive , very economical on E10 petrol... and they have one of the best reputations in the car world... My Car is used virtually every day to drive to the shops etc... I have also fitted seat covers made from wet suit material , and a CARBRA to stop any stone chips , and stop any bugs from getting into the radiator and protect the headlamp lenses , fog lamps & daylight running lights too.. it also has a good sized touch screen with phone messages, GPS maps etc, CD Player & Radio along with a USB Port to play Your Music... along with a built in person who asks you questions etc... of what you want to do.. Did I mention excellent gas mileage anywhere from 4.4l per 100 klms depending on how You drive....The original headlamps were good, but they are much better when they are replaced with OSRAM XENON Plus 75% bulbs or maybe plus 100% , now they are really bright. The GLX Swift has adjustable steering wheel that goes up & down plus in & out . Drivers seat goes Up also.. It also has 7 AIRBAGS... VERY SAFE ... ANCAP rating 5 out of 5... all true... Lee

BadgeGLX Navigator
Engine Size1.4L Petrol
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedJun 2015

Love my baby car

I had been searching for a new car for ages when I was contacted by Brian Hilton at Wyong. Thanks to Frank and Courtney, I drive away in my little baby car ad I love it. I got a terrific deal and a much better trade in on the daggy old Mitsubishi ii had . I grateful for the help the guys gave me. I'm happy to recommend this company

BadgeZ Series
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedSep 2018

Good rental car

I had this as a rental car for 1 month and I love the Apple CarPlay for music with the big touch screen but I don't know if it was my cord for the phone but it kept disconnecting from my Spotify and then reconnecting. Otherwise this car drives very smooth, easy to control and park. It's a cute car and I think it's worth buying if you like the new luxury style hatchbacks

BadgeSport
Engine Size1.5L Petrol
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedAug 2018

Thaifan Review of 07/08/2018

Readers, Product Review have not updated their Suzuki Swift models, so, if you bought a Suzuki Swift from about June 2018, and review it, it gets lumped into older models. If your Suzuki Swift has the new *bigger body is is the ZC33 series, and you might mention this in your reviews, so that Readers are aware, because Product Review has not kept themselves up to date. The Sport model is ZC33S

My review titled "Exciting" is for the July 2018 introduced SZ33S Suzuki Swift Sport 1.4 turbo Boosterjet engine model.

Badge(No Badge)
Engine Size1.4L Petrol
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedAug 2018

Super efficient

Small car outside, but great size internally.
Never had any problems with the car, super economical and zippy. Can get from A to B in no time and super efficiently. Service is affordable and parts are abundant. Cannot complain about this car.
The only drawback is the boot which is very tiny.

BadgeRE2
Engine Size1.4L Petrol
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedMar 2016

Great Little Car

This is our first purchase of a brand new car, and we couldn't be happier.

Stylish (Looks great in blue, alloy wheels, fog lights)
Very economical (Around 670km from a 42L tank) 16.5km/l
Fixed price servicing only $199/service
Very zippy, from the 1.4l engine plenty of acceleration plus happily sits at 110ish on the highway - just drop into cruise control and way she goes. No issues at all in 20,000km traveled so far. Built in GPS/Entertainment system is also a huge plus in this (2016 Navigator) model.

Just $14000 drive away as a run-out model. Can't beat that!!!!!!

BadgeGL Navigator
TransmissionManual
Date PurchasedJul 2017

Exciting

When you look at reviews on Product Review, you will notice they are mostly 5 star reviews. And of course you might be aware that Suzuki won the Customer Satisfaction Award for 2018.

I had been looking for a brand of car that still used a conventional torque converter automatic gearbox, with paddle shifters, if you wanted to drive it as a manual. Some of you will know that nearly all car manufacturers have ditched conventional automatics for CVT or Dual Clutch transmissions, and quite a few of these manufacturers have had problems with both types. No one knows whether either will last the life of the car, and there is no car review of a car with a lot of kilometers on it with either of these transmissions. But on YouTube, you will find videos about the failure of these, - for some brands, but not all, - yet.

Many people buy automatics, but they have *no idea of what sort of automatic they are getting. CVTs for instance, can not tow trailers, as the belt in the transmission may slip under added load. Dual Clutch transmissions can not back up trailers with a load, on to steep drive ways, as the clutches can burn out. And they become confused in slow moving traffic as to which gear to engage. They are also unsuited to stop start traffic jams, as the clutches will have a slipping effect. This is why those in the know, try to find a car with conventional torque converter. Suzuki had CVT transmissions in some of their models, but dropped them for torque converter automatics.

The new 2018 Suzuki Swift has a bigger body than before, and has plenty of room for 4 people, with lots of headroom at the back. I am speaking about the 1.4 litre turbo booster jet engine powered model here, but it probably applies to all 2018 Swift models, that despite their light weight, they feel very solidly built. And they do not feel particularly light to drive. In fact the electric steering does not suggest lightness at all, they seem well planted to the road.

The Swift Sport is the fastest of Swift models, and shares the same turbo engine as the SUV Vitara & SCross models. But being lighter than those, and with the engine spiffed up more than the SUV models, the Sport is a very fast agile car, and will leave all cars in their wake when traffic lights change to green. And without any real effort.

They have every safety feature known to the motor industry, except blind spot monitoring, which for a short car is not needed, the side mirrors give a perfect view of hat is happening on the sides, to the rear of the car. And the view through the back window is perfect, and expansive.

Here are some of the features of the Swift Sport :-

1.4L BOOSTERJET turbo engine
6.1L/100km fuel economy*
6-speed manual transmission or 6-speed automatic transmission with paddle shifters
Multimedia Satellite Navigation System with Reversing Camera, Apple CarPlay® & Android Auto™
Bluetooth® & iPod® USB connectivity with steering wheel audio controls
Adaptive cruise control
Digital climate control
Keyless start and entry
Semi-bucket seats with red stitching and embossed "Sport" logo
D-shaped steering wheel
60:40 - split rear seats
Six airbags
ESC, ABS, EBD, & BA
5 Star ANCAP Safety Rating
Autonomous Emergency Braking
Lane Departure Warning
Weaving Alert
High Beam Assist
17" alloy wheels
Daytime running lights
Front fog lights
Automatic LED headlights
Privacy glass
Electronically folding door mirrors

So, you can see that it is also a very safe car with 5 star Ancap accreditation.

I think the basic Swift is about $16,000, but the Sport is $25,490 for the 6 speed manual and $27,490 for the 6 speed automatic. All colors except white, are metallic and cost an additional $500.The on the road cost of the Sport with metallic paint, is around $31,700.00.

I strongly suggest you watch the many YouTube videos on the 2018 Suzuki Swift Sport, and see the grins on the faces of all, but one reviewer. And take no heed to the comments about Suzuki hard plastic surfaces, you simply do not notice them when driving.

TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedAug 2018
Badge(No Badge)
Engine Size1.4L Petrol
TransmissionAutomatic
1 comment
Readers, Product Review have not updated their Suzuki Models. The review "Exciting" is for the 2018 MK 3 Suzuki Swift Sport introduced to Australia about June 2018.

Finally, my dream come true. I got a Swift with a prefect shape car and cockpit to drive what I want

I always want a Swift but never get around to it. Performance, handing and running costs are prefect choice for me to pick for a long term and fell in love since been out car hunting to buy for couple of weeks to test drive. This Swift GLX turbo (speedy blue) met my match what I want for travelling on road trip plus often on work trip too. Only dislike sun visor flaps are quite short for side door window, not enough block out the sun of my side face. Love the interior and rest of it. So I am in love with this car , nickname " Indy! " Love the keyless entry as well but annoyed that I had to bleep twice on button to open all the doors plus hatch as well, bit similar to Commodore VS as well. But overall I love it ..

BadgeGLX
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedJul 2018

Nifty little car for the city

Gotten a Swift earlier in June this year after narrowing it down to a few choices. Like the car for its fuel consumption and good handling on the road. It won't win one any race however it is more than competent for city-style driving.

Interior wise it looks pretty modern with a touch screen, however I was a bit disappointed there weren't switches for folding in of the side windows. Having said that I am happy with my purchase generally speaking, even convinced a friend to purchase a swift too later this month.

BadgeGL Navigator
Engine Size1.2
TransmissionCVT
Date PurchasedJun 2018

I honestly love my car it is so reliable and nice.

The driving performance is fantastic, it is the perfect car for a couple or a business person. It’s very small but does the job. The smoothest most relaxing car I’ve get driven. Very reliable and affordable. Worth every penny spent. Not many accessories to make this car unique. Comes with warranty but you wouldn’t need it. Very very very cheap on fuel. I fuel up my car which is like $70 and that can last 1000 kms.

BadgeQ50
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedOct 2017

Page 1 of 9

Questions & Answers

Can a 2011 Swift GLX easily install cruise control? Cheers Steve
No answers

My 2011 Suzuki Swift glx has multiple old phones connected into it's bluetooth that seems to keep bringing up old numbers and overlapping with my current data and Bluetooth, is there a way to delete the phones from the database?
No answers

Hi i have aSuzuki swift 2012 FZ 1.4lt model. 68000km Fault is : rough idel in drive/ reverse In park neutral ok Replaced : all spark plugs all ignition coils. Cleaned and flushed out throttle body and air flow sensor. Checked diagnostic no fault codes recorded. Checked alternator 14.4v ok. What else is causing the problem
No answers

Details

Suzuki Swift AZ GL Manual (2017-2019)Suzuki Swift AZ GL CVT (2017-2019)Suzuki Swift AZ GL Navigator Manual (2017-2019)Suzuki Swift AZ GL Navigator CVT (2017-2019)Suzuki Swift AZ GL+ (2017-2019)Suzuki Swift AZ GLX Turbo (2017-2019)Suzuki Swift AZ Sport Manual (2017-2019)Suzuki Swift AZ Sport Automatic (2017-2019)Suzuki Swift RS415 (2005-2010)Suzuki Swift FZ (2011-2017)
CategoryHatchbacksHatchbacksHatchbacksHatchbacksHatchbacksHatchbacksHatchbacksHatchbacksHatchbacksHatchbacks
Starting Price $15,990$16,990$16,990$17,990$18,990$22,990$25,490$27,490$17,790$21,990
TransmissionManualContinuously Variable (CVT)ManualAutomatic and Continuously Variable (CVT)Continuously Variable (CVT)AutomaticManualAutomaticAutomatic and ManualAutomatic
Drive TypeFront Wheel Drive (FWD)Front Wheel Drive (FWD)Front Wheel Drive (FWD)Front Wheel Drive (FWD)Front Wheel Drive (FWD)Front Wheel Drive (FWD)Front Wheel Drive (FWD)Front Wheel Drive (FWD)Front Wheel Drive (FWD)Front Wheel Drive (FWD)
Fuel TypePetrolPetrolPetrolPetrolPetrolPetrolPetrolPetrolPetrolPetrol
Wheels15" Alloy15" Steel16" Alloy16" Alloy16" Alloy16" Alloy17" Alloy17" Alloy15" Alloy16" Alloy
ANCAP Safety Rating4 Stars4 Stars5 Stars5 Stars5 Stars5 Stars5 Stars5 Stars4 Stars5 Stars
Doors5555555545
Seats5555555555
Fuel Consumption4.6 L/100km4.8 L/100km4.6 L/100km4.8 L/100km4.8 L/100km5.1 L/100km6.1 L/100km6.1 L/100km6.3 L/100km6.2 L/100km
Fuel Tank Capacity 37 L37 L37 L37 L37 L37 L37 L37 L43 L42 L
Engine4 Cylinder 1.2L4 Cylinder 1.2L4 Cylinder 1.2L4 Cylinder 1.2L4 Cylinder 1.2L3 Cylinder 1.0L4 Cylinder 1.4L4 Cylinder 1.4L4 Cylinder 1.5L4 Cylinder 1.4L
Max Power66kW @ 6000rpm66kW @ 6000rpm66kW @ 6000rpm66kW @ 6000rpm66kW @ 6000rpm82kW @ 5500rpm103kW @ 5500rpm103kW @ 5500rpm74kW @ 6000rpm70kW @ 6000rpm
Max Torque120Nm @ 4400rpm120Nm @ 4400rpm120Nm @ 4400rpm120Nm @ 4400rpm120Nm @ 4400rpm160Nm @ 4000rpm230Nm @ 3000rpm230Nm @ 3000rpm133Nm @ 4000rpm130Nm @ 4000rpm
Country of ManufactureJapanJapanJapanJapanJapanJapanJapanJapanJapanThailand
Safety Features
  • ABS (Antilock Braking System)
  • Active Head Restraints
  • ESC (Electronic Stability Control)
  • Lane Assist
  • Seat Belt Reminders
  • ABS (Antilock Braking System)
  • Active Head Restraints
  • ESC (Electronic Stability Control)
  • Lane Assist
  • Seat Belt Reminders
  • ABS (Antilock Braking System)
  • Active Head Restraints
  • ESC (Electronic Stability Control)
  • Lane Assist
  • Seat Belt Reminders
  • ABS (Antilock Braking System)
  • Active Head Restraints
  • ESC (Electronic Stability Control)
  • Lane Assist
  • Seat Belt Reminders
  • ABS (Antilock Braking System)
  • Active Cruise Control
  • ESC (Electronic Stability Control)
  • Lane Assist
  • Seat Belt Reminders
  • ABS (Antilock Braking System)
  • Active Head Restraints
  • ESC (Electronic Stability Control)
  • Lane Assist
  • Seat Belt Reminders
  • ABS (Antilock Braking System)
  • Active Cruise Control
  • ESC (Electronic Stability Control)
  • Lane Assist
  • Seat Belt Reminders
  • ABS (Antilock Braking System)
  • Active Cruise Control
  • ESC (Electronic Stability Control)
  • Lane Assist
  • Seat Belt Reminders
Extra Features
  • Android Auto / Apple Carplay
  • Bluetooth Connectivity
  • USB Port
  • Android Auto / Apple Carplay
  • Bluetooth Connectivity
  • USB Port
  • Android Auto / Apple Carplay
  • Bluetooth Connectivity
  • USB Port
  • Android Auto / Apple Carplay
  • Bluetooth Connectivity
  • USB Port
  • Android Auto / Apple Carplay
  • Bluetooth Connectivity
  • USB Port
  • Android Auto / Apple Carplay
  • Bluetooth Connectivity
  • Keyless Entry
  • USB Port
  • Android Auto / Apple Carplay
  • Bluetooth Connectivity
  • USB Port
  • Android Auto / Apple Carplay
  • Bluetooth Connectivity
  • USB Port
Manufacturer Warranty3 year(s)3 year(s)3 year(s)3 year(s)3 year(s)3 year(s)3 year(s)3 year(s)3 year(s)3 year(s)
Release dateJun 2017Jun 2017Jun 2017Jun 2017Jun 2017Jun 2017Jun 2017Jun 2017Feb 2005Feb 2011
Discontinuation dateDec 2010Dec 2017
Replaced bySuzuki Swift FZSuzuki Swift MK6.II

Visit official website

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.