??!
16 photos
Ford Fiesta

Ford Fiesta

WZ, WP, WQ, WS and WT
3.6 from 145 reviews

See the Best Hatchbacks in 2019 as rated by Australians on ProductReview.com.au.


Don'y buy the Automatic

Terrific car to start with. Purchased August 2015 with only 20,500 kms. Now has just under 59,000 kms and is not driveable. The powershift transmission has become dangerous. Car has been serviced every 7,500 kms which is half the normal period suggested. Ford Australia & our local dealer have wiped their hands as my husband did the engine servicing, now blaming a rear main engine seal for the transmission problem. The seals actually leak in the transmission & is world wide knowledge that causes the transmission failure. Not now sure what to do, except to pay for repairs at our cost. No more Fords for us after owning 6 over our driving life. Bad service, poor customer respect, a totally unwholesome experience. The powershift saga is well documented on many platforms of the internet. Unbelievable treatment in this day & age. Ford America have a class action against them, Ford Australia was fined $10 million for bad treatment of customers. This is just a town car that also does occasional country runs, mainly by me & very few times by my husband.

Purchased in August 2015 at Ford Dealers for $13,000.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
TransmissionDual-Clutch (DCT)
BoughtUsed
Year2011
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort

Good car

Purchased this in Feb. Already been 2years. Using this car on daily basis for work,visiting family,buying groceries etc. Fuel efficient.good average. Servicing this car when required or advised. Good for small family.

Purchased in February 2017 at Ford Dealers for $14,000.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtNew
Year2015
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort

This car has been a Lemon since day 1

This car has spent so much time at ford almost everything has been replaced. Ford have been really good with replacing parts under warranty. I will never buy another ford after this. It has had all the fuel system, pump, line replaced twice. Gearbox completely replaced (as part of class action) clutch replaced. Front dash and all disks replaced. And still has CONSTANT problems everyday.

BadgeLX
BodyHatch
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedApr 2012
1 comment
Update. Shortly after this review the car spent another 3 weeks at for getting more repairs drove it literally 2km and had to go straight back to the shop. Had it repaired and a week later the car literally turned off while I was driving 100km + p/h on the highway in peak hour traffic. Ford sighted yet another gearbox fault for this. Towed it straight from fordto the wreckers.

my mum likes the car but it has its faults

my mum has one and for the most part, it has been a great car. she purchased it last year for under 3000 with just over 160k on the dash and it was trouble free motoring for a while but then one day we were driving and i looked at the gauges and the speedo dropped to zero then back to normal and it didn't happen again until one day i got a call from my frantic mum saying the speedo stopped working then moments later it just stopped and she didnt know what to do so i told her to try turn it on again so she did but the speedo didnt work until about 5 minutes of driving later. this went on for a little while and the speedo wouldnt always stay not working after turning off and on again. we ended up getting it put on a friends obdii reader which showed a speed sensor issue so we tried getting the sensor and after alot of searching and my mum learning to turn the car off and on again while still driving we found the 100 sensor but after having it replaced my mum immediatly moved from the gold coast to melbourne and she didnt even get halfway before it stopped working again and now the speedo never works at all and my mum simply doesnt have the money to keep replacing the sensor every hundred or so kms so she has just mastered to get it off and on again in a matter of seconds and she uses waze to tell how fast shes going. she is not keeping the car because after the trouble we went through with the speed sensor and a run in with a cow she has decided she needs a 4wd. this car was great but it has too many little electrical faults like the sensor and the ciggarette lighter refuses to work despite fuses being changed and the aux input droppes in and out depending on what gear your in. but it was excellent on fuel despite being driven up a mountain daily and the handling and acceleration was not what you expect in a 1.6

BadgeLX
BodyHatch
TransmissionManual
Date PurchasedJan 2017
1 comment
Update to this review. The other day out of nowhere my pulled into the street of a friend and the gearbox exploded. So it's safe to say that this car is going straight to the wreckers.

Great little car

We bought a used, low kms, 2010 5 door 1.6 Zetec as a first car for our son. My wife used the car as a daily drive until he had passed his test.
The car is well equipped, economical, nippy and roomy. I previously owned a 2010 Focus XR5 and think that this fiesta is almost as much fun to drive.
We have added after market gator parking sensors.
Great car, can't fault it so far.
The dealer we bought it through was also fantastic...

BadgeZetec
BodyHatch
TransmissionManual
Date PurchasedApr 2018

Good little run around

The performance has been really good so far, after six years (and a few charges) I have only now had to change the battery which I think is rather good.
The car handles very well and is responsive to movements, it is good in traffic and comfortable to drive. I wish the Bluetooth didn't just connect to your phone for calls made and received but also connected to Bluetooth devices for music.

BadgeCL
BodyHatch
TransmissionManual
Date PurchasedMar 2012

Terrible car

Terrible transmition problems.
In every traffic light breaks down
Back to the dealer day after day who reset programs.
but nothing again, only money, money
I see other reviews i am sincerely surprised
Its an extraordinary car??
What the hell they make and sell
No more ford, no more ford.
Stay away!

Badgeok
BodyHatch
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedAug 2005

Love It Great Little Car

We have a 2017 WZ Fiesta Sports 1.0L turbo 3 cyl ecoboost engine, I have driven quite a few small cars over the last few years, but not as enjoyable to drive as this little car, it does long trips comfortably and very good city driving, delivers good fuel economy 4.7 to 4.9 Highway Driving 5.5 to 6.00
City Driving. My Wife and both drive it, she drives it gently & I drive it with a bit of stick, and it copes very well.
There is plenty of leg room in the front, possibly could do with some extra gauges.
Overall a very good vehicle.

BadgeSport EcoBoost
BodyHatch
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedMay 2017

Good Small car

Bought after Trading Ford KA2 Collection with over 200000 ks on the clock, Fiesta very Low Ks 38000 so far good car bought Manual, instead of powershift which was problematic, So Far fiesta is a great drive and, Like the Rd holding good power for City commute and nice handling, I have the CL model which is not much different to the LX or Zetec.

BadgeCL
BodyHatch
TransmissionManual
Date PurchasedFeb 2018

ECOnetic great commuter

had econetic for 7 years from near new. used for commuting long ks. never skipped a beat. always serviced with ford also without issue. over 130,000 ks from original tyres, brakes & clutch. changed all at once, clutch still had a heap on it, brakes still maybe 20,000. fuel economy is as quoted. regularly does better than 3.8l/100k. cheapest car ever! also good fun to drive, not a lot of power but good handling. nothing impressive with body or interior quality. panel fit is everywhere. comfort is bog standard, but thats what its designed for! stereo and bluetooth is good. AC struggles in high summer. heater takes ages to get warm. i've also been surprised with what i can fit in the back

BadgeECOnetic
BodyHatch
TransmissionManual
Date PurchasedSep 2011

Great Car

Great to drive, park, fast, good visibility, good size boot.
I love this car it's quite sedate before you hit 80klms, but it goes from 80 to 120 in no time a no effort. Have to be mindful of the speed as very easy on the open road to be breaking the speed limit in a quick time.
Handles well on corners. In 8 years the car has had one battery replaced, nothing else and no other issues.

BadgeZetec
BodyHatch
TransmissionManual
Date PurchasedOct 2010

Ok except the transmission

Very disappointed in this car, to the point that we hardly ever drive it in case it breaks down. Constant clutch and gear problems - sounds like a bag of nuts and bolts loose in a bag. it's been back to the dealer constantly who reset programs and replace clutch. Terrible car.

BadgeOne
BodyHatch
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedMar 2016

Awesome car!! Absolutely loving it!!

I have had this car for about a month now. With 140xxx on the clock, she still drives like new! Previously I had owned a 2006 Kia Rio and my Ford is so much better. I have had no transmission issues (which is claimed to be a massive problem in these cars). Good fuel consumption.
The engine can get a bit noisy but that’s barely a problem. There is also surprisingly a good amount of leg room, I can fit 4 people in this car (squishy of course because it’s a hatchback).
I as of yet have no regrets!!

BadgeZetec
BodyHatch
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedMar 2018

Really Good Value for Money! Practical & Fun car!

Really fun to drive, perfect for city driving and very economical. Travel back and forth work 25 kms through the M2 every day a full tank will last 2 working weeks.

Owned 2 of these cars, the first one I owned purchased in 2015 (Silver - 2 door hatch) had an overheating issue, seemed to have sorted after flushing the cooling system, didn't cost that much to do, just a couple of litres of anti rust coolant. Also needed to replace the power window mechanism and spent around $200 for that.

After getting hit from behind late last year (November 2017), the insurance company had me write it off, and I purchased the same make and model, only difference it was in ink blue. Already had about 151,000 kms on the odometer. But it seemed to be properly maintained by an accredited NRMA shop, so i bought it with confidence.

So far just your regular service, and had to do an A/C re-gas. The power steering is making a bit of noise now, will be undergoing a service very soon, so hopefully that gets sorted.

155,000 kms on the clock at the moment.

p.s. this delivers better power and handles better and has better A/C than the younger Hyundai Getz 1.6

BadgeLX
BodyHatch
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedNov 2017

Doing OK so far 2006 model 126,000km

Mine is a 2006 manual 3 door hatch. Bought it at 17000km and is now 126,000km. Prior to 100k the engine and all electronics all cut out twice on the highway. Had to replace an electronics component (over $300) which apparently is a common repair. No more issues. Had a major service at 100k and replaced brakes at 115k. Fan belt stripped at around the same mileage and had to be replaced. No other issues with the car other than right from when i first owned it, getting it into reverse gear often results in grinding of the gears and takes several goes to get it into reverse gear. Alos in the last 6 months the car has become very noisy on the road which is enough for me consider trading it in. Otherwise it has not been a bad car and may hold on to it for a while longer.

BadgeLX
BodyHatch
TransmissionManual
Date PurchasedJan 2008

FORD Shudders

I purchased the car 2 years ago and it has flaws in it's transmission. It has been repaired 3 times in 2 years, Ford have extended the warranty because of the issue. Initially they were reluctant to fix but had far too much pressure. Mechanics at Ford said "it drives like this because 3-4 people are driving the car and have different driving styles".... Really, it's a car. It's sluggish, shudders and adolescents in the house cannot drive it to Uni, as they feel unsafe with it's performance.

BadgeTrend
BodyHatch
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedApr 2016

Good small car, But!

The ford fiesta is certainly a wonderful small car!
The pro's involves great handling, good mileage, great speakers and its good looks.
The biggest drawback of the car is the transmission. The car shudders and struggles a lot on low gear(1-2).
Other than that it works great!

Fun to drive!

BadgeLX
BodyHatch
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedAug 2017

Has been good but not without issues

Loved it at first as the engine was efficient, handling was great and I loved the exterior look. Over time however the ecoboost 1L engine became more and more annoying particularly when on hills as the car was just not as responsive as one might hope. Issues also arose at the first scheduled service with a coolant leak covered by warranty, however at year 2 another warranty issue arose and by the end of year 3 the tyres need replacing after only 30000 km of mostly city driving

BadgeSport EcoBoost
BodyHatch
TransmissionManual
Date PurchasedNov 2014

Best daily car EVER

I used to own a highly modified 2008 Subaru STI pushing 300kw at the wheels. I sold it and purchased the Fiesta ST as a downgrade but boy was I surprised.. It's actually more fun and easier to drive! Besides going slow in a straight line this thing is literally a train on rails when cornering. Boost kicks in very early around 2000rpm so it's always feeling zippy. I get about 600km per tank of fuel. Very decent on petrol especially when I drive partially aggressive.

BadgeST EcoBoost
BodyHatch
TransmissionManual
Date PurchasedNov 2015

Love It!

Have a 2016 Fiesta ST with the optional Mountune Kit.
I’ve prevously had a Honda S2000 and Infiniti G37. This car is obviously much smaller than those two, but doesn’t mean it doesn’t pack a punch.

Very responsive steering and throttle. Only complaints are that the Sync Voice system is largely unresponsive and slow.

In all areas of actually driving the car, it’s excellent.

BadgeST EcoBoost
BodyHatch
TransmissionManual
Date PurchasedJun 2017

Page 1 of 8

Questions & Answers

2003 wq, fan doesn't work and car overheats when stuck in traffic, is this a common problem? Do I need to replace the whole fan system and does it have anything to do with the aircon not working?
2 answers
Our Fiesta is a 2010 model & there has been no fan or overheating problems, just the powershift transmission which ford have not fixed. An overheating car can become unreliable. The problem should only be the temperature sensor that triggers the fan or the fan itself. If you can run 12 volts to the fan & it works it should be a faulty sensor & an honest auto electrician is possibly the cost effective way to get it going again, cheaper than a dealer I think.The aircon not working is probably a back up thing because the fan is not working & the system is trying to save your engine from destruction. Get the fan fixed it could cost you an engine if you don't.

I have a 2011 Ford Fiesta wt zetec automatic back at the dealers again for a second clutch replacement,first one replaced late 2017.After I dropped it off this morning I received a call from the service dept.saying I need to pay almost $800 as the clutch forks need replacing,can anyone tell me if the forks are part of the clutch or a separate component as I can’t find any info on the Internet.I also have opened a case file with Ford au as I’m fed up with all the constant problems with this dodgy clutch,many thanks in advance,Dozzie
2 answers
Glad someone shares my grief! If you look on line at the LUK replacement kit I am nearly sure the forks are in it. I may be fixing the twin clutch myself the way I am being treated by ford. Last time I looked the kits were around $600 but that may have been a trade price . I do a lot of fixing myself & I think dealer service departments treat us like fools. It's a pity the is so much electronic & tricky stuff that needs special tools & takes fixing from DIYers. $800 for clutch forks is over the top.Hi Steve GJ, Thanks for your reply,I absolutely refused to pay the money to the service dept as I contacted two mechanic friends who both said “No Way” don’t give them a cent, you can’t have a clutch without the forks as they’re a major component,no forks ,no clutch.The service dept still refused to budge and threatened to move my car onto their used car lot.One phone call later, and a few tears to my case worker in Victoria and later that afternoon, a call from the service dept saying all was good.Stand your ground Steve and refuse to be intimidated,also don’t waste your time like I did, seeking either a buy back or compensation as Ford will argue that since the car was repaired satisfactorily according to ACCC guidelines,you have no case.They did assure me though, after I questioned if I had further problems with this new clutch, that they would replace it again,who knows,time will tell.It’s not worth the stress.

Hello my sister has a ford fiesta 2014 hatchback 5 door sport model does that make it a WS, WT OR WZ ? Trying to find a mirror to fit
1 answer
It’s not a WS. If it’s a Sport rather than a zetec, then it’s probably a WZ

Details

WZ AmbienteWZ SportWZ STWZ TrendFiesta WTFiesta WSFiesta WPFiesta WQ
Release dateJan 2013Jan 2013Jan 2013Jan 2013Jan 2010Jan 2009Jan 2004Jan 2006
Discontinuation dateDec 2013Dec 2009Dec 2005Dec 2008
Visit official website

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.