??!

See the Best Hatchbacks in 2019 as rated by Australians on ProductReview.com.au.

Reviews

Review distribution

5 star
64
4 star
31
3 star
13
2 star
9
1 star
29

danielrya87

danielrya87South East Queensland, QLD

Brand new car leaked worse than my convertible!

published

Purchased in November 2013 at Ford Dealers for $23,000.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
TransmissionManual
BoughtNew
Year2013
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers

Stevo GJ

Stevo GJNSW, 2340

  • 2 reviews
  • 3 likes

Don'y buy the Automatic

published

Purchased in August 2015 at Ford Dealers for $13,000.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
TransmissionDual-Clutch (DCT)
BoughtUsed
Year2011
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers
Kumar

Kumar

  • 3 reviews
  • 4 likes

Good car

published

Purchased this in Feb. Already been 2years. Using this car on daily basis for work,visiting family,buying groceries etc. Fuel efficient.good average. Servicing this car when required or advised. Good for small family.

Purchased in February 2017 at Ford Dealers for $14,000.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtNew
Year2015
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers
Rachael

Rachael

  • 3 reviews

This car has been a Lemon since day 1

published

This car has spent so much time at ford almost everything has been replaced. Ford have been really good with replacing parts under warranty. I will never buy another ford after this. It has had all the fuel system, pump, line replaced twice. Gearbox completely replaced (as part of class action) clutch replaced. Front dash and all disks replaced. And still has CONSTANT problems everyday.

BadgeLX
BodyHatch
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedApr 2012
1 comment
Rachael
Rachael

my mum likes the car but it has its faults

published
BadgeLX
BodyHatch
TransmissionManual
Date PurchasedJan 2017
1 comment
Cam A
Cam A

Update to this review. The other day out of nowhere my pulled into the street of a friend and the gearbox exploded. So it's safe to say that this car is going straight to the wreckers.


Beardy Bonce

Beardy BonceSydney, NSW

  • 16 reviews
  • 10 likes

Great little car

published

We bought a used, low kms, 2010 5 door 1.6 Zetec as a first car for our son. My wife used the car as a daily drive until he had passed his test.
The car is well equipped, economical, nippy and roomy. I previously owned a 2010 Focus XR5 and think that this fiesta is almost as much fun to drive.
We have added after market gator parking sensors.
Great car, can't fault it so far.
The dealer we bought it through was also fantastic...

BadgeZetec
BodyHatch
TransmissionManual
Date PurchasedApr 2018

Natalie

NataliePerth

  • 5 reviews
  • 1 like

Good little run around

published

The performance has been really good so far, after six years (and a few charges) I have only now had to change the battery which I think is rather good.
The car handles very well and is responsive to movements, it is good in traffic and comfortable to drive. I wish the Bluetooth didn't just connect to your phone for calls made and received but also connected to Bluetooth devices for music.

BadgeCL
BodyHatch
TransmissionManual
Date PurchasedMar 2012

Terrible car

published

Terrible transmition problems.
In every traffic light breaks down
Back to the dealer day after day who reset programs.
but nothing again, only money, money
I see other reviews i am sincerely surprised
Its an extraordinary car??
What the hell they make and sell
No more ford, no more ford.
Stay away!

Badgeok
BodyHatch
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedAug 2005

Love It Great Little Car

published

We have a 2017 WZ Fiesta Sports 1.0L turbo 3 cyl ecoboost engine, I have driven quite a few small cars over the last few years, but not as enjoyable to drive as this little car, it does long trips comfortably and very good city driving, delivers good fuel economy 4.7 to 4.9 Highway Driving 5.5 to 6.00
City Driving. My Wife and both drive it, she drives it gently & I drive it with a bit of stick, and it copes very well.
There is plenty of leg room in the front, possibly could do with some extra gauges.
Overall a very good vehicle.

BadgeSport EcoBoost
BodyHatch
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedMay 2017
Lindsay

LindsaySouth East Queensland, QLD

  • 2 reviews

Good Small car

published

Bought after Trading Ford KA2 Collection with over 200000 ks on the clock, Fiesta very Low Ks 38000 so far good car bought Manual, instead of powershift which was problematic, So Far fiesta is a great drive and, Like the Rd holding good power for City commute and nice handling, I have the CL model which is not much different to the LX or Zetec.

BadgeCL
BodyHatch
TransmissionManual
Date PurchasedFeb 2018

hooch

hoochsydney

  • 4 reviews
  • 2 likes

ECOnetic great commuter

published

had econetic for 7 years from near new. used for commuting long ks. never skipped a beat. always serviced with ford also without issue. over 130,000 ks from original tyres, brakes & clutch. changed all at once, clutch still had a heap on it, brakes still maybe 20,000. fuel economy is as quoted. regularly does better than 3.8l/100k. cheapest car ever! also good fun to drive, not a lot of power but good handling. nothing impressive with body or interior quality. panel fit is everywhere. comfort is bog standard, but thats what its designed for! stereo and bluetooth is good. AC struggles in high summer. heater takes ages to get warm. i've also been surprised with what i can fit in the back

BadgeECOnetic
BodyHatch
TransmissionManual
Date PurchasedSep 2011

Janine

JaninePerth

  • 4 reviews

Great Car

published

Great to drive, park, fast, good visibility, good size boot.
I love this car it's quite sedate before you hit 80klms, but it goes from 80 to 120 in no time a no effort. Have to be mindful of the speed as very easy on the open road to be breaking the speed limit in a quick time.
Handles well on corners. In 8 years the car has had one battery replaced, nothing else and no other issues.

BadgeZetec
BodyHatch
TransmissionManual
Date PurchasedOct 2010

Ok except the transmission

published

Very disappointed in this car, to the point that we hardly ever drive it in case it breaks down. Constant clutch and gear problems - sounds like a bag of nuts and bolts loose in a bag. it's been back to the dealer constantly who reset programs and replace clutch. Terrible car.

BadgeOne
BodyHatch
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedMar 2016

Awesome car!! Absolutely loving it!!

published

I have had this car for about a month now. With 140xxx on the clock, she still drives like new! Previously I had owned a 2006 Kia Rio and my Ford is so much better. I have had no transmission issues (which is claimed to be a massive problem in these cars). Good fuel consumption.
The engine can get a bit noisy but that’s barely a problem. There is also surprisingly a good amount of leg room, I can fit 4 people in this car (squishy of course because it’s a hatchback).
I as of yet have no regrets!!

BadgeZetec
BodyHatch
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedMar 2018
Migs

Migs

  • 3 reviews
  • 1 like

Really Good Value for Money! Practical & Fun car!

published
BadgeLX
BodyHatch
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedNov 2017
Therese

Therese

  • 3 reviews
  • 3 likes

Doing OK so far 2006 model 126,000km

published
BadgeLX
BodyHatch
TransmissionManual
Date PurchasedJan 2008

Jen

JenSydney

FORD Shudders

published

I purchased the car 2 years ago and it has flaws in it's transmission. It has been repaired 3 times in 2 years, Ford have extended the warranty because of the issue. Initially they were reluctant to fix but had far too much pressure. Mechanics at Ford said "it drives like this because 3-4 people are driving the car and have different driving styles".... Really, it's a car. It's sluggish, shudders and adolescents in the house cannot drive it to Uni, as they feel unsafe with it's performance.

BadgeTrend
BodyHatch
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedApr 2016

Jay

Jay

  • 10 reviews

Good small car, But!

published

The ford fiesta is certainly a wonderful small car!
The pro's involves great handling, good mileage, great speakers and its good looks.
The biggest drawback of the car is the transmission. The car shudders and struggles a lot on low gear(1-2).
Other than that it works great!

Fun to drive!

BadgeLX
BodyHatch
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedAug 2017

Annie

AnnieBrisbane

  • 4 reviews

Has been good but not without issues

published

Loved it at first as the engine was efficient, handling was great and I loved the exterior look. Over time however the ecoboost 1L engine became more and more annoying particularly when on hills as the car was just not as responsive as one might hope. Issues also arose at the first scheduled service with a coolant leak covered by warranty, however at year 2 another warranty issue arose and by the end of year 3 the tyres need replacing after only 30000 km of mostly city driving

BadgeSport EcoBoost
BodyHatch
TransmissionManual
Date PurchasedNov 2014

Julz

Julz

  • 4 reviews
  • 1 like

Best daily car EVER

published

I used to own a highly modified 2008 Subaru STI pushing 300kw at the wheels. I sold it and purchased the Fiesta ST as a downgrade but boy was I surprised.. It's actually more fun and easier to drive! Besides going slow in a straight line this thing is literally a train on rails when cornering. Boost kicks in very early around 2000rpm so it's always feeling zippy. I get about 600km per tank of fuel. Very decent on petrol especially when I drive partially aggressive.

BadgeST EcoBoost
BodyHatch
TransmissionManual
Date PurchasedNov 2015

Page 1 of 8

Questions & Answers

robert v

robert vasked

Fiesta WS

ijust got 5 w 40 penrite engine oil from repco they recomented for ford fiesta 1.4 ltr is that ok

1 answer
Stevo GJ
Stevo GJ

The person at Repco probably checked the recommended oil for the Fiesta so would have gone with that information. Penrite seems to be an oil that is recommended by spare parts shops. 5w 40 would be OK in Australia, especially with summer approaching & if it was a full synthetic oil they gave you. I once bought a Valvoline oil recommended by the label on the container for our Fiesta & when filling the engine noted it was an SL API rated oil. I have since used the SN rating fully synthetic oil in Fuchs, Nulon and Valvoline. It's also an idea to look at the ACEA rating A3/B4. Buy your oil when on special & save 25% to 50% at Autobarn, Repco or Supercheap!


Heather M.

Heather M.asked

Fiesta WT

Can you please tell me if the 2013 Fiesta WT CL Front wheel drive , automatic, had the problematic transmission gear box please.
I have just purchased one today, I didn’t know anything about this problem unti now, when I found a receipt from Ford in 2016 for repairing he catalytic and oxygen sensors. After reading all the comments on here I could cry, I literally bought this car two hours ago. I haven’t had a car for 11 years!

2 answers
Stevo GJ
Stevo GJ

The oxygen sensors are a normal maintenance procedure. I would have to check when the gearbox problem was fixed or changed by Ford. Our car was a 2011 model which had the bad transmission. Without knowing the comments you had read I don't know what the subject was. I know people who love their Fiesta. Ours had been driven in Sydney for 20,500 kms, probably in traffic & that environment may have killed the transmission or I should say the dual clutch setup that operates the transmission. If the car has its fair share of country driving & not a lot of stop start stuff it may be fine. Good luck & I hope the comments were not about any transmission problems.

Heather M.
Heather M.

Thank you for your reply Stevo, the oxygen sensors were replaced in 2016, thank you for reassuring me that that's a normal maintanance thing. What I am worried about is the faulty transmission box, ( I don't have a clue about cars obviously , lol) I have read that Ford Fiesta' models from 2013 -2016 were fitted with power shift gears, and thousands of them had to be replaced 68.000 in Australia, and that there was a class action against ford for the fault and the way they handled the complaints, two million complaints in the US! So having just spent my hard earned cash on a 2013 model, I am very very worried. I a driving it around Sydney so lots of stop start, (it seems to go better in the higher gears).ford extended the warranty for two years for this particular problem for all cars in that time bracket. The warranty runs out in June next year. I feel like I've purchased a big lemon, obviously the car dealer didn't mention any of this when I bought it on Sunday
Thank you for your response, best, heather.


sweetaussie

sweetaussieasked

2003 wq, fan doesn't work and car overheats when stuck in traffic, is this a common problem? Do I need to replace the whole fan system and does it have anything to do with the aircon not working?

3 answers
Stevo GJ
Stevo GJ

Our Fiesta is a 2010 model & there has been no fan or overheating problems, just the powershift transmission which ford have not fixed. An overheating car can become unreliable. The problem should only be the temperature sensor that triggers the fan or the fan itself. If you can run 12 volts to the fan & it works it should be a faulty sensor & an honest auto electrician is possibly the cost effective way to get it going again, cheaper than a dealer I think.

Stevo GJ
Stevo GJ

The aircon not working is probably a back up thing because the fan is not working & the system is trying to save your engine from destruction. Get the fan fixed it could cost you an engine if you don't.

kylie m.
kylie m.

Mine has the same problem, auto electrician can fix BUT mine also has a major electrical fault which could be part of the problem, the ignition fuse blows and we don't know why, sometimes as soon as you start the car and other times it will run for weeks, but cant be driven too far because of the dodgy fan not working. The auto electrician says he cant trace fault until the fuse blows again and then keeps blowing every time I replace it. I have no knowledge of cars, so Its going for scrap. I have also had to have parts of my gear box replaced (manual). I only bought it in March, will never buy another Ford EVER


Get an answer from our members and Ford representatives

Details

Ford Fiesta WZ Ambiente

Ford Fiesta WZ Ambiente (2013-2019)

No reviews
Ford Fiesta WZ Sport

Ford Fiesta WZ Sport (2013-2019)

1 review
Ford Fiesta WZ ST

Ford Fiesta WZ ST (2013-2019)

No reviews
Ford Fiesta WZ Trend

Ford Fiesta WZ Trend (2013-2019)

No reviews
Ford Fiesta WT
  • Discontinued

Ford Fiesta WT (2010-2013)

59 reviews
Ford Fiesta WS
  • Discontinued

Ford Fiesta WS (2009)

31 reviews
Ford Fiesta WP
  • Discontinued

Ford Fiesta WP (2004-2005)

5 reviews
Ford Fiesta WQ
  • Discontinued

Ford Fiesta WQ (2006-2008)

17 reviews
CategoryHatchbacksHatchbacksHatchbacksHatchbacksHatchbacks and SedansHatchbacksHatchbacksHatchbacks
Starting Price $15,825$22,525$27,490$17,825$20,490$20,490$16,990$21,990
TransmissionManualAutomaticManualDual-Clutch (DCT) and ManualDual-Clutch (DCT)Automatic and ManualAutomatic and ManualAutomatic and Manual
Drive TypeFront Wheel Drive (FWD)Front Wheel Drive (FWD)Front Wheel Drive (FWD)Front Wheel Drive (FWD)Front Wheel Drive (FWD)Front Wheel Drive (FWD)Front Wheel Drive (FWD)Front Wheel Drive (FWD)
Fuel TypePetrolPetrolPetrolPetrolPetrolPetrolPetrolPetrol
Wheels15" Steel16" Alloy17" Alloy15" Alloy16" Alloy16" Alloy15" Steel15" Alloy
ANCAP Safety Rating5 Stars5 Stars5 Stars5 Stars5 Stars5 Stars4 Stars4 Stars
Doors55355335
Seats55555555
Fuel Consumption5.8 L/100km5.3 L/100km6.2 L/100km5.8 L/100km6.1 L/100km6.9 L/100km7.5 L/100km7.5 L/100km
Fuel Tank Capacity 42 L42 L48 L42 L43 L43 L45 L45 L
Engine4 Cylinder 1.5L3 Cylinder 1L4 Cylinder 1.6L4 Cylinder 1.54 Cylinder 1.6L4 Cylinder 1.6L4 Cylinder 1.6L4 Cylinder 1.6L
Max Power82kW @ 6300rpm92kW @ 6000rpm134kW @ 5700rpm82kW @ 6300rpm89kW @ 6300rpm88kW @ 6000rpm74kW @ 6000rpm74kW @ 6000rpm
Max Torque140Nm @ 4400rpm170Nm @ 4500rpm240Nm @ 5000rpm140Nm @ 4400rpm151Nm @ 4300rpm152Nm @ 4050rpm146Nm @ 4000rpm146Nm @ 4000rpm
Country of ManufactureThailandThailandGermanyThailandThailandGermanyGermanyGermany
Safety Features
  • ABS (Antilock Braking System)
  • Active Cruise Control
  • AEB (Auto Emergency Braking)
  • Reversing Camera
  • Traction Control
  • ABS (Antilock Braking System)
  • ESC (Electronic Stability Control)
  • Reversing Camera
  • Traction Control
  • ABS (Antilock Braking System)
  • Active Cruise Control
  • AEB (Auto Emergency Braking)
  • ESC (Electronic Stability Control)
  • Traction Control
  • ABS (Antilock Braking System)
  • Active Cruise Control
  • AEB (Auto Emergency Braking)
  • Reversing Camera
  • Traction Control
Extra Features
  • Android Auto / Apple Carplay
  • Bluetooth Connectivity
  • Built-In Navigation System
  • Dual Zone Air Conditioning
  • USB Port
  • Voice Control
  • Android Auto / Apple Carplay
  • Automatic Wipers
  • Bluetooth Connectivity
  • Dual Zone Air Conditioning
  • USB Port
  • Voice Control
  • Android Auto / Apple Carplay
  • Bluetooth Connectivity
  • Built-In Navigation System
  • Dual Zone Air Conditioning
  • Keyless Entry
  • USB Port
  • Voice Control
  • Android Auto / Apple Carplay
  • Bluetooth Connectivity
  • Built-In Navigation System
  • Dual Zone Air Conditioning
  • USB Port
  • Voice Control
Manufacturer Warranty3 year(s)5 year(s)3 year(s)3 year(s)3 year(s)3 year(s)3 year(s)3 year(s)
Release dateJan 2013Jan 2013Jan 2013Jan 2013Jan 2010Jan 2009Jan 2004Jan 2006
Discontinuation dateDec 2013Dec 2009Dec 2005Dec 2008

Visit official website

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.