??!
16 photos
Ford Fiesta

Ford Fiesta

WT, WZ, WS, etc...
3.6 from 147 reviews

See the Best Hatchbacks in 2019 as rated by Australians on ProductReview.com.au.

Reviews

Review distribution

5 star
64
4 star
31
3 star
13
2 star
9
1 star
30

Jane do

Jane do

  • 4 reviews

Dont buy

published

Purchased in May 2013 at Jarvis Cars for $16,000.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
TransmissionManual
BoughtNew
Year2012
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers

The reviewer stated that an incentive was offered for this review


danielrya87

danielrya87South East Queensland, QLD

  • 2 reviews

Brand new car leaked worse than my convertible!

published

Purchased in November 2013 at Ford Dealers for $23,000.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
TransmissionManual
BoughtNew
Year2013
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers
Stevo GJ

Stevo GJNSW, 2340

  • 2 reviews
  • 5 likes

Don'y buy the Automatic

published

Purchased in August 2015 at Ford Dealers for $13,000.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
TransmissionDual-Clutch (DCT)
BoughtUsed
Year2011
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers
Kumar

Kumar

  • 3 reviews
  • 4 likes

Good car

published

Purchased this in Feb. Already been 2years. Using this car on daily basis for work,visiting family,buying groceries etc. Fuel efficient.good average. Servicing this car when required or advised. Good for small family.

Purchased in February 2017 at Ford Dealers for $14,000.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtNew
Year2015
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers

Rachael

Rachael

  • 3 reviews
  • 1 like

This car has been a Lemon since day 1

published

This car has spent so much time at ford almost everything has been replaced. Ford have been really good with replacing parts under warranty. I will never buy another ford after this. It has had all the fuel system, pump, line replaced twice. Gearbox completely replaced (as part of class action) clutch replaced. Front dash and all disks replaced. And still has CONSTANT problems everyday.

BadgeLX
BodyHatch
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedApr 2012
1 comment
Rachael
Rachael

Cam A

Cam ASouth East Queensland, QLD

my mum likes the car but it has its faults

published
BadgeLX
BodyHatch
TransmissionManual
Date PurchasedJan 2017
1 comment
Cam A
Cam A

Update to this review. The other day out of nowhere my pulled into the street of a friend and the gearbox exploded. So it's safe to say that this car is going straight to the wreckers.


Beardy Bonce

Beardy BonceSydney, NSW

  • 16 reviews
  • 10 likes

Great little car

published

We bought a used, low kms, 2010 5 door 1.6 Zetec as a first car for our son. My wife used the car as a daily drive until he had passed his test.
The car is well equipped, economical, nippy and roomy. I previously owned a 2010 Focus XR5 and think that this fiesta is almost as much fun to drive.
We have added after market gator parking sensors.
Great car, can't fault it so far.
The dealer we bought it through was also fantastic...

BadgeZetec
BodyHatch
TransmissionManual
Date PurchasedApr 2018

Natalie

NataliePerth

  • 5 reviews
  • 1 like

Good little run around

published

The performance has been really good so far, after six years (and a few charges) I have only now had to change the battery which I think is rather good.
The car handles very well and is responsive to movements, it is good in traffic and comfortable to drive. I wish the Bluetooth didn't just connect to your phone for calls made and received but also connected to Bluetooth devices for music.

BadgeCL
BodyHatch
TransmissionManual
Date PurchasedMar 2012

Terrible car

published

Terrible transmition problems.
In every traffic light breaks down
Back to the dealer day after day who reset programs.
but nothing again, only money, money
I see other reviews i am sincerely surprised
Its an extraordinary car??
What the hell they make and sell
No more ford, no more ford.
Stay away!

Badgeok
BodyHatch
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedAug 2005

Love It Great Little Car

published

We have a 2017 WZ Fiesta Sports 1.0L turbo 3 cyl ecoboost engine, I have driven quite a few small cars over the last few years, but not as enjoyable to drive as this little car, it does long trips comfortably and very good city driving, delivers good fuel economy 4.7 to 4.9 Highway Driving 5.5 to 6.00
City Driving. My Wife and both drive it, she drives it gently & I drive it with a bit of stick, and it copes very well.
There is plenty of leg room in the front, possibly could do with some extra gauges.
Overall a very good vehicle.

BadgeSport EcoBoost
BodyHatch
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedMay 2017

Lindsay

LindsaySouth East Queensland, QLD

  • 2 reviews

Good Small car

published

Bought after Trading Ford KA2 Collection with over 200000 ks on the clock, Fiesta very Low Ks 38000 so far good car bought Manual, instead of powershift which was problematic, So Far fiesta is a great drive and, Like the Rd holding good power for City commute and nice handling, I have the CL model which is not much different to the LX or Zetec.

BadgeCL
BodyHatch
TransmissionManual
Date PurchasedFeb 2018

hooch

hoochsydney

  • 4 reviews
  • 2 likes

ECOnetic great commuter

published

had econetic for 7 years from near new. used for commuting long ks. never skipped a beat. always serviced with ford also without issue. over 130,000 ks from original tyres, brakes & clutch. changed all at once, clutch still had a heap on it, brakes still maybe 20,000. fuel economy is as quoted. regularly does better than 3.8l/100k. cheapest car ever! also good fun to drive, not a lot of power but good handling. nothing impressive with body or interior quality. panel fit is everywhere. comfort is bog standard, but thats what its designed for! stereo and bluetooth is good. AC struggles in high summer. heater takes ages to get warm. i've also been surprised with what i can fit in the back

BadgeECOnetic
BodyHatch
TransmissionManual
Date PurchasedSep 2011

Janine

JaninePerth

  • 4 reviews

Great Car

published

Great to drive, park, fast, good visibility, good size boot.
I love this car it's quite sedate before you hit 80klms, but it goes from 80 to 120 in no time a no effort. Have to be mindful of the speed as very easy on the open road to be breaking the speed limit in a quick time.
Handles well on corners. In 8 years the car has had one battery replaced, nothing else and no other issues.

BadgeZetec
BodyHatch
TransmissionManual
Date PurchasedOct 2010

Ok except the transmission

published

Very disappointed in this car, to the point that we hardly ever drive it in case it breaks down. Constant clutch and gear problems - sounds like a bag of nuts and bolts loose in a bag. it's been back to the dealer constantly who reset programs and replace clutch. Terrible car.

BadgeOne
BodyHatch
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedMar 2016

Awesome car!! Absolutely loving it!!

published

I have had this car for about a month now. With 140xxx on the clock, she still drives like new! Previously I had owned a 2006 Kia Rio and my Ford is so much better. I have had no transmission issues (which is claimed to be a massive problem in these cars). Good fuel consumption.
The engine can get a bit noisy but that’s barely a problem. There is also surprisingly a good amount of leg room, I can fit 4 people in this car (squishy of course because it’s a hatchback).
I as of yet have no regrets!!

BadgeZetec
BodyHatch
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedMar 2018
Migs

Migs

  • 3 reviews
  • 1 like

Really Good Value for Money! Practical & Fun car!

published
BadgeLX
BodyHatch
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedNov 2017

Therese

Therese

  • 3 reviews
  • 3 likes

Doing OK so far 2006 model 126,000km

published
BadgeLX
BodyHatch
TransmissionManual
Date PurchasedJan 2008

Jen

JenSydney

FORD Shudders

published

I purchased the car 2 years ago and it has flaws in it's transmission. It has been repaired 3 times in 2 years, Ford have extended the warranty because of the issue. Initially they were reluctant to fix but had far too much pressure. Mechanics at Ford said "it drives like this because 3-4 people are driving the car and have different driving styles".... Really, it's a car. It's sluggish, shudders and adolescents in the house cannot drive it to Uni, as they feel unsafe with it's performance.

BadgeTrend
BodyHatch
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedApr 2016

Jay

Jay

  • 10 reviews

Good small car, But!

published

The ford fiesta is certainly a wonderful small car!
The pro's involves great handling, good mileage, great speakers and its good looks.
The biggest drawback of the car is the transmission. The car shudders and struggles a lot on low gear(1-2).
Other than that it works great!

Fun to drive!

BadgeLX
BodyHatch
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedAug 2017

Annie

AnnieBrisbane

  • 4 reviews

Has been good but not without issues

published

Loved it at first as the engine was efficient, handling was great and I loved the exterior look. Over time however the ecoboost 1L engine became more and more annoying particularly when on hills as the car was just not as responsive as one might hope. Issues also arose at the first scheduled service with a coolant leak covered by warranty, however at year 2 another warranty issue arose and by the end of year 3 the tyres need replacing after only 30000 km of mostly city driving

BadgeSport EcoBoost
BodyHatch
TransmissionManual
Date PurchasedNov 2014

Page 1 of 8

Questions & Answers

selenaj

selenajasked

Hi. I am looking at a 2009 Fiesta Zetec that has come up for sale. What problems should I be looking out for?
Thanks.

1 answer
Stevo GJ
Stevo GJ

They are a good car. If it's an auto make sure it is not the dual clutch type. Look at service history, kilometres, city or country travel, how it has been looked after, general appearance, tyres, rust and any evidence of accident damage. They ride well, are quite in town and on the highway, economical, light steering effort and have a reasonable sound system if you are not under 25. There can be unwanted surprises with any secondhand car, buying from a dealer may be a better bet than a private sale. Depends on price and if you have mechanical knowledge or a good honest mechanic. The blinker switch may be on the left and windscreen wipers on the right, the 2011 WT model is.


selenaj

selenajasked

Hi, I am looking at a 2010 auto LX that has done 160k as a first car for my son. Looks in great condition, but I am seeing from the above reviews that the auto models seem to have problems. Do I now discount this from the list? Thanks.

5 answers
danielrya87
danielrya87

160k is getting up there, I'd be search for something around 100k and not ford if it doesnt have a conventional automatic transmission.

selenaj
selenaj

Thank you. I have been looking for weeks now looking at holden barina, astra, ford focus, fiesta.... Agghhhhhh

danielrya87
danielrya87

I'd be including japanese cars in that list like yaris, swift, jazz, mazda 2 and so on.


Fred17

Fred17asked

I have a 2009 WS Fiesta Zetec with the 1.4l/auto gearbox combination. Purchased second-hand from interstate and the car was well past needing a service. I put it in to the local mechanic to have the timing belt changed, plus new plugs, water pump, oil and filter and I fitted a new air cleaner myself. I drove the car some distance before the service, now after the service the car feels down on power (there's not a lot anyway, I know) and the fuel economy has plummeted, from 6-7 to 8-9. The day after I got it back the car went into limp-home mode (error code P061C) but a long drive yesterday didn't see that happen again. The car struggles at 100km/hr and hunts between 3rd and top gears. A curious and annoying aspect of the timing belt change was the cam seals, which come with the belt kit. The main cam sprocket (or sprockets, since it's DOHC) has to be removed to change the seals- but they are held on by bolts which have to be replaced, as they are "single use only" or torque to yield. They don't come in the kit and this caused a delay of 4-5 days (with a weekend in the middle), so the car was at the workshop for 8 days. I'm concerned that something else happened at the workshop, or the camshaft timing is out. Any ideas?

2 answers
Stevo GJ
Stevo GJ

The cam timing could be out. Normally the cams are held in position whilst the belt is being changed. Have you looked up the P061C code? It seems it's related to an engine monitoring system for engine RPM which could point to the cam timing being out. I don't know why the cams seals were replaced unless they were leaking or if your vehicle has high kilometres. If the WS air cleaner is the same as the WT it is a good idea to clean our the rubbish at the bottom. Leaves, paper, plastic etc can gather there. A light sheet of paper or plastic could be sucked up under the element and partially block it, a long shot, I know.

Fred17
Fred17

Thanks, Stevo. The first thing that came to mind was the cam timing. I drove the car for several hundred kms before the belt change so have some comparison before and after. The error code points to the cam sensor or the crank angle sensor. It's booked back into the workshop. I did a 100km+ drive after the cam belt change and it was woeful: even worse, when I checked under the bonnet, the ancillary belt was beginning to fall apart. It seems that as a stretch belt it didn't like being reused. The cam seals were changed because they came with the kit. I've asked the kit retailer to look into why they put cam seals in even if they might not be needed, but if they are changed, the sprocket has to come off and so new bolts are required. Catch 22.


Get an answer from our members and Ford representatives

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.