??!
8 photos
Kia Picanto

Kia Picanto

JA, TA
4.6 from 29 reviews

See the Best Hatchbacks in 2019 as rated by Australians on ProductReview.com.au.

Reviews

Review distribution

5 star
21
4 star
5
3 star
1
2 star
2
1 star
0

Disgruntled Seshwan

Disgruntled SeshwanGreater Melbourne (Outer), VIC

  • 3 reviews

Best compact car of 2019!!

published

One of the best compact cars around! Very economical on petrol. Packed with many features (Apple CarPlay, electric windows, cruise control, reverse camera view, autonomous emergency braking system and leather seats!) Definite value for money! Ideal little car to get from A to B!

Purchased in June 2018 at Kia Dealers for $17,500.00.

Value for Money
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtNew
Year2018
Performance
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
See all answers

David M.

David M.South East Queensland, QLD

Bought the Picanto 2019 xline non turbo.

published

Coming up to 11 months of ownership this little car is a joy to drive. Handles like a go cart around town. Love the style. Great value. Love the Red color. Can be thirsty if pushed. Feature packed inside and out. Could do with an extra 30kw. Overall very pleased, fun factor 10, style 10, warrenty 10.

Purchased in December 2018 for $19,000.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
TransmissionContinuously Variable (CVT)
BoughtNew
Year2018
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers
Joe

JoeGreater Melbourne (Outer), VIC

Value

published

Impossible to beat in terms of features at this price range. The 1.3L engine purrs along quietly in the city, but is happy to be pushed hard on the freeways (as it must be). Great steering, too. You'll feel every bump on poor roads, however.

Purchased in September 2019 for $15,198.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtNew
Year2019
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers
Nigel

NigelSouth East Queensland, QLD

  • 2 reviews

Great Little Car

published

For travelling around the Gold Coast this car is in its element. Easy to park with good visibility. The 4 speed auto and 4 cyl engine are a good combination and while no sports car its perfectly fine around town, easily keeping up with the traffic.
I like its smooth and quiet ride and surprisingly spacious interior. It drives like a bigger car, feels solid on the road.
Equipment wise it wants for nothing (even a front centre armrest) and has all the latest safety features.
The 7 year warranty gives you piece of mind.

Purchased in February 2019 at Kia Dealers for $19,000.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtNew
Year2019
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers

The reviewer stated that an incentive was offered for this review


jewel M.

jewel M.Sydney, NSW

  • 3 reviews
  • 2 likes
  • Verified purchase

Exceptionally practical

published

Perfect first car, easy to drive and fuel lasts a very long time. I’ve had it for just over a year now and still as good as new! I use it every day to get to and from work, road trips, everything! Very small car but feels like a lot more space inside than what you would think

Purchased in July 2018 at Kia Dealers.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtNew
Year2018
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers

Keep It Real.

Keep It Real.Greater Melbourne (Outer), VIC

  • 4 reviews
  • 1 like

Hard Too Beat!

published

Looks Cool, Drives Well, 7 Year Warranty, Amazing value. Surprisingly spacious for a small car and the finish is excellent.
Very hard too go past Kia with the value, warranty, service cost.

Purchased in December 2018 at Berwick Motor Group.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtNew
Year2018
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers

col

colMetropolitan Adelaide, SA

  • 7 reviews
  • 8 likes

Okay.not economical on fuel

published

Purchased in December 2018 for $13.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtNew
Year2019
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers

Mark Johnson

Mark JohnsonGeraldton , W.A.

  • 3 reviews

Great Car !

published

I love this car . It so damn cute. It's a real chick magnet and girls love it !. My only concern is the little engine reving it's tiny head off when driving as I like to be ' easy on the engine ' when driving. Otherwise it's awesome

Purchased in November 2018.

TransmissionAutomatic
Year2018
Lisa Holt

Lisa HoltSouth East Queensland, QLD

  • 7 reviews
  • 1 like

I love this wee beastie!

published

I drive to work (about 30 mins each way) Monday to Friday. I love that this car just nips in and out of parking. At first I pined the loss of a CD player but have become accustomed to the bluetooth functionality. The boot space (with the seats up) is a little on the small side but drop the back seats down and I constantly amaze myself how much this little car can hold. Economical on fuel, giving me about 500km per tank. I love my little car - you had me a YELLOW.

Purchased in March 2018 at Keystar Morayfield for $15,000.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtNew
Year2017
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers
spider

spiderMelbourne

  • 4 reviews

Top Value for Money

published

Car for commuting, older single person. I also have the latest Subaru XV. So in comparison they are very different vehicles. The Kia is outstanding value for money, Seven year warranty too. All the modern gadgets autonomous braking. Great on fuel, the perfect city car. The Auto Android perfect. Roomy for size, smart looks

TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedDec 2018

Robbie

RobbieNsw

  • 9 reviews
  • 3 likes

Awesome little car

published

Great car ! Cheap on file a full tank last a week with this little thing and my wife travels a lot. The shape and design of this car looks cool, it stands out compaird to other cars in its class.
Its decivingly spacious, I’m 6”1 and fit in and out of it without feeling andlooking like a clown.parking is so easy power steering works well with built in reverse cameras as standard along with a really nice media centre!!!
Value for money is superb I love this little car

TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedOct 2018

Want to love this car

published
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedAug 2018

jimbob

jimbob

  • 2 reviews

Everyday drive car

published

I bought my picanto brand new in 2017 to replace my barina spark.well 2 completly different cars.i love the fact for $14000 drive away i get cruise/reverse camera and all the other extras the others want extra for.went to appolo bay last week and used the radio to put google maps on.very good.i travel 200ks a day for work.average speed is 65kph.at the moment with around 50ks around im using 4.3 lp100.it now has 65000ks on it with no problems so far.we like the picanto so much we just bought the wife the picanto gt.wow even better value.do yourselves afavour if your thinking of a small car test drive the picanto

TransmissionManual
Date PurchasedJun 2017

jezza

jezza

  • 3 reviews
  • 1 like

What a great little car.

published

Just bought a Kia Picanto GT line. What a little ripper. Did i sat little. Its actually quite spacious inside. Got it for the wife but i dont mind driving it myself. Around town and to work its great on petrol and it makes peoples head turn. Very sporty and looks great.

TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedAug 2018
Art

ArtVic, 3381

  • 7 reviews

Good value, economical, comfortable

published

Really happy with the value for money, safety features and fuel economy.
I'm a tall man but comfortable driving.
Roomy boot - fits lots of shopping, or all the kids back packs after school pickup, or a couple of cricket bags - but not all at once!
When we have our kid's friends in the car too they do complain there's not enough room for three, but we're a 3-person family so don't always have a full car.
First time I've bought a brand new car.

TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedDec 2017
bernadette

bernadetteInverloch

  • 6 reviews

Perfect small car

published

A micro city car with the lot that is functional, easy to drive, comfortable, and most importantly packed with a lot of safety features.
And what a delight to park!!
And unlike another micro car that I tested, the Kia interior doesn’t feel like cheap plastic at all !!
No fault so far after 5 months of daily use!

TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedFeb 2018

Fantastic Car!! Love it

published

Economical
Drives well, and feels refined
Bought the GT Line so it’s got the upgraded seats, and more aggressive body styling, looks the part
Best value for a car of this size & has apple car play, Bluetooth, auto headlights, radar control breaking, parking sensors, reversing camera, auto headlights, and so much more, an overall great package and highly recommended

TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedMay 2018

Rachel

RachelMelbourne

  • 2 reviews

Fantastic car

published
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedFeb 2018

Alex S

Alex SAU

  • 6 reviews
  • 3 likes

Amazing little car

published

The Kia Picanto is an amazing little car (we call it our scooter hah). It is tiny but it packs a punch in terms of its features, it basically has everything for the most amazing price. So easy to park, has enough power in it for day to day city driving and its array of media features is great. Reversing camera and dynamic parking guidelines make it super simple to get out of even the tightest of spaces. And 7 year warranty really sealed the deal, especially with 7 year roadside as long as you get it serviced regularly (which is also all capped price). Probably the best thing about the picanto is how far it can go with one tank and how cheap it is to run. Its small but still feels comfortable even with a full family inside.

TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedSep 2017

Helen T

Helen TCanberra

  • 4 reviews
  • 1 like

Perfect car for me

published

Bought this car as my first car and am very pleased with it. It has a great fuel economy but yet still powerful enough to drive through slopes. Also small enough to fit into any parking space, even the tightest ones. Only downside is the small boot space, but living alone, this is more than enough for me.

TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedAug 2017

Page 1 of 2

Questions & Answers

Kumuduni

Kumuduniasked

I purchased a KIA Picanto Auto in October 2018. In six months I have put the car to the dealer as there is a reverse gear issue. Has anyone else experienced this problem the car has only done 2714 kilometres?

2 answers
Keep It Real.
Keep It Real.

No issue our end, ensure you contact Kia Australia and get the repair and care expected.

col
col

No issue yet ..please explain in more detail though.if noise on reverse try to put handbrake on slow to second notch..doesn't like quick pull up .you don't explain what the issue actually is.


Warren B.

Warren B.asked

When I just had the car serviced. It was reported that all brake rotors had lips but the pads had 9mm and 8mm pads still. Why are the rotors wearing faster?

1 answer
col
col

Once you have installed new brake rotors and pads, you must break them in properly. Brake pads clean the rotor and apply the right amount of friction to stop the vehicle. Not breaking in the rotors and pads could reduce the ability of the pad to clean the rotor sufficiently. This can cause uneven wear or warping....this is a cut n paste but think answers ..if no good get friend or family member in raa to ask tech guys they are great or join as I pay monthly.fir $12 worth it cheap power bills n pics.good luck.col


Patricia B.

Patricia B.asked

Reverse noise problem sounds like brakes(disks) rubbing. Had car 1 day when reverse noise first heard.
Had dealer SERVICE check, they advised noise not heard. Still has reverse noise.
Have heard same noise in reverse on dealer Demo.car.
Want to suggestion of problem so can let dealer SERVICE know.

1 answer
col
col

Okay.mine did mainly on sloped drive.does it do all the time.di a diary of when it happens and conditions.try recording on phone start before car and keep doing till record sound. Try another dealer know not happy with mine or approved dealer.call raa if member or get someone who is as they have excellent help for these issue.i called re fuel consumption .keep at it.mine did settle if you just use round city go for a country run with a friend.as my son Murray bridge I did 200 K m there and back .stay with gut feeling until peace of mind.raa will guide you.good luck and let me know how you go. col


Get an answer from our members and Kia representatives

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.