1 photo
Citroën C4

Citroën C4

Mk.1, Mk.2, Cactus, etc...
4.0 from 39 reviews · View Statistics
See the Best Hatchbacks in 2021 as rated by Australians on ProductReview.com.au.
Brand Manager for Citroën? Register now and take advantage of ProductReview's Brand Management Platform!

Reviews

  • Build Quality
    4.5 (4)
  • Value for Money
    4.4 (5)
  • Cleaning & Maintenance
    4.6 (5)
  • Noise Level
    4.4 (5)
  • Braking
    4.8 (5)
  • Acceleration / Power
    4.2 (5)
  • Gear Shifting
    3.6 (5)
  • Suspension
    4.8 (5)
  • Fuel Efficiency
    5.0 (5)
  • Handling
    4.6 (5)
  • Interior Design
    5.0 (5)
  • Boot Size
    5.0 (5)
  • Comfort
    4.6 (5)
  • Features
    4.0 (5)
Previous
Next

Reviewer Photos & Videos

  • Thumbnail
JEEP J.
JEEP J.Greater Melbourne (Outer), VIC
  • 2 reviews
  • 1 like

Cannot find a better car

published

Mine is a 1.6 turbo diesel.bought new. Now has 45000 K on clock. Never let me down.Amazing fuel economy at 3.9 to 5 ltrs per100.Drives well,very comfortable seats,useful boot.Yes the CVT gear change is clicky but less obvious as you get used to it.Other makes with CVT can also be a problem. Road holding first rate and interior space good. Dealership Support fine. Fixed price servicing with long warranty.

Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
Rick H
Rick HSydney Surrounds, NSW

Great to drive, but the auto gearbox is rubbish!

published
Incentivised Review No

Other Hatchbacks

 
 

0.0
(1,234)
Sean
SeanSydney, NSW
  • 5 reviews
  • 7 likes

Funky, Fun, Frugal and Fabulous...

published
  • Thumbnail

Purchased in April 2019 for $24,000.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Hatchbacks

Find out how Citroën C4 compares to other Hatchbacks

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Sherree
SherreeDarling Downs, QLD
  • 21 reviews
  • 18 likes

Stand out small SUV

published

Purchased in July 2019 at Brisbane City Automotive for $19,990.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
DLaw
DLaw
  • 3 reviews
  • 1 like

Citroen rule the roads

published

2008 1.6 manual TD perfection. A small roomy vehicle that drives so nicely. Well balanced on the road. Great acceleration too. Really enjoy its styling and dynamics. AM planning on upgrading the stereo system with one from Aliexpress.

Purchased in June 2018 for $5,000.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money

Related Articles

Previous

Our Latest Expert Car Reviews

A complete list of all our most recent car reviews by our resident car expert. Every review has both a detailed article and an accompanying video, so you can find out all the specs and then see them in action. Whether you're looking for a family car, a 4X4, or a performance vehicle, we cover everything in the Australian market.

Cameron S.
Cameron S.12 Jan 2021
our-latest-expert-car-reviews
Next
Adrian R
Adrian RHobart, TAS

And so the journey begins!

published
Badge2.0 HDi
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedDec 2008

Great car no support

published
Badge2016 deisel semi auto
TransmissionSemi Auto
Date PurchasedMay 2017
boru
boruSydney, NSW
  • 31 reviews
  • 26 likes

Citroen C4 is a nice car but the dealership was crap

published
BadgeVTR+
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedOct 2016
boru
boru
boru
boru

My latest service was 890 $ it’s just a joke

Other Hatchbacks

 
 

0.0
(1,234)
Bec
BecYoung
  • 4 reviews
  • 1 like

Lovee

published

Such a good little car! Beautiful leather interior and great fuel costs. Love the digital speedo and automatic headlights and wipers, so handy.
Only bad thing would be the electronic seat controllers for the driver seat as you don't get many options on how you want your seat and how close to the steering wheel.

BadgeC4
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedFeb 2016
Hatchbacks

Find out how Citroën C4 compares to other Hatchbacks

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Steve
SteveNSW, 2019
  • 29 reviews
  • 16 likes

Great Car but....

published

Purchased in June 2016 for $13,000.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money

C4 Cactus - Great car, silly gearbox

published
Badgee-HDi Exclusive
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedApr 2016
Mr Moe
Mr MoeSydney, NSW
  • 8 reviews
  • 9 likes

C4 has a whole lot more.

published

The value is truly good.Very comfortable and very safe.This little french car is a nice little car with a great sense of security.Not much more that you could ask for...The handling is so enjoyable and the lovely noise from the exhaust is beautiful.The automatic transmission could do with a 5th gear,but otherwise fine.

BadgeExclusive
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedOct 2012

8 years with Citoen C4

published
BadgeHDi 85th Anniversary
TransmissionEGS
Date PurchasedJuly 2008
Charlie
Charlie
Symbol57
Symbol57Sydney, NSW
  • 18 reviews
  • 13 likes

Little Beauty

published

I loved this car and the service from Citroen, it was a 2008 2lt Diesel with all the options and it served me well over the years. I only had one problem that was a a major hassle but could have been avoided which was the air conditioning. The drain pipe blocked up flowing water back into cabin. Otherwise, I didn't have any other problems and rarely opened the bonnet.
1200 kms country and 600 city driving is the best fuel economy I have ever had from any car.
The only down side was the quality wasn't up to the price and after 8 years started to show it age and would require some major servicing. The suspension is a tad hard but otherwise great car. Pity the new ones look like a Toyota copy.

BadgeExclusive HDi
TransmissionAutomatic

Other Hatchbacks

 
 

0.0
(1,234)
trikappa
trikappa
  • 3 reviews
  • 4 likes

Major advance in its time

published
BadgeExclusive
TransmissionAutomatic
Hatchbacks

Find out how Citroën C4 compares to other Hatchbacks

Know better, choose better.

Compare all

Questions & Answers

ralphy
ralphyasked
C4

Hi my C4 Coupe VTS when I picked it yesterday ran perfectly well for the 200 kilometres home. Started the morning ran 1 kilometres and died. Engine light on now. Started after a decent cool down ran about 1 k .
Same again.

Any ideas?

No answers
Marina
Marinaasked
C4

Hey I have a citroën c4 2011 hatchback I’m having trouble makeing the time and date and also I don’t konw the Bluetooth pin code it’s my first car

No answers
Pam v
Pam vasked
C4

Does my Citroen C4 Exclusive MY09 have a timing belt or chain?

No answers
See all Citroën C4 questions

Get an answer from our members

Citroën C4

Details

Compare all 5 Citroën C4
Citroën C4 Aircross
  • Discontinued

Citroën C4 Aircross (2012-2018)

No reviews yet
Citroën C4 Mk.1
  • Discontinued

Citroën C4 Mk.1 (2005-2011)

4.2
(25)
CategoryHatchbacksHatchbacksHatchbacksHatchbacks
Starting Price $28,490$40,990$33,990$27,990
TransmissionAutomatic and ManualAutomaticContinuously Variable (CVT)Automatic and Manual
Drive TypeFront Wheel Drive (FWD)Front Wheel Drive (FWD)Four Wheel Drive (4WD) and Front Wheel Drive (FWD)Front Wheel Drive (FWD)
Fuel TypePetrolDiesel and PetrolPetrolDiesel and Petrol
Wheels17" Alloy17" Alloy18" Alloy16" Alloy
Fuel Consumption4.7 L/100km5.6 L/100km8.1 L/100km4.2 L/100km
Fuel Tank Capacity 50 L57 L60 L60 L
Engine3 Cylinder 1.2L4 Cylinder 1.6L4 Cylinder 2.0L4 Cylinder 1.6L
Max Power81kW @ 5500rpm121kW @ 6000rpm110kW @ 6000rpm82kW @ 3600rpm
Max Torque205Nm @ 1500rpm240Nm @ 1400rpm197Nm @ 4200rpm270Nm @ 2000rpm
Country of ManufactureSpainFranceFranceFrance
Manufacturer Warranty3 year(s)3 year(s)3 year(s)3 year(s)
Release dateJan 2015Jan 2015Jan 2012Jan 2005
Discontinuation dateDec 2018Dec 2011
Compare all 5 Citroën C4

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.