??!

Reviews

4.3

20 reviews
5
(11)
4
(6)
3
(2)
2
(0)
1
(1)
  • Build Quality
    5.0 (2)
  • Value for Money
    4.5 (2)
  • Ease of Use
    5.0 (2)
  • Cleaning & Maintenance
    5.0 (2)
  • Noise Level
    3.7 (3)
  • Internal Layout
    5.0 (2)
Previous
Next
Annie

Annie

  • 7 reviews
  • 4 likes

Perfect fridge

published

Bought this brand as our last fridge lasted 20 years. Our new Fisher Paykel is beautiful to look at and very functional on the inside. It is also very quiet with very little operational noise

Purchased in March 2020.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
Internal Layout
Household Size 4 person(s)
See all answers
Pam

PamGreater Melbourne (Outer), VIC

  • 4 reviews
  • 1 like

Very impressed

published

I am impressed. I had read reviews that said this fridge was noisy. No so. It is very quiet. I love everything about it. The lay out, roll out drawers, shelving and bright light. Hope it last 20 years like my previous fridge.

Purchased in January 2020 at The Good Guys for A$1,250.00.

Household Size 2 person(s)
Kat1968

Kat1968Perth, WA

  • 17 reviews
  • 9 likes

Excellent Fridge!

published

Purchased in November 2018 at Harvey Norman for A$1,350.00.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
Internal Layout
Household Size 4 person(s)
See all answers
Bottom Mount Fridges / Refrigerators

Find out how Fisher & Paykel ActiveSmart 442L Bottom Freezer (RF442 Series) compares to other Bottom Mount Fridges / Refrigerators

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
James

JamesSydney, NSW

  • 2 reviews

Would never buy again

published

Bought this fridge as my apartment has a nook and door which seems to have been designed only for this fridge. Plus I read all these great reviews online.
Immediately upon arrival I noticed a strange rattle noise when cooling. Have had multiple visits from F&P to be told this is the natural noise made by the new hard gas systems. Rattles for a couple of hours at a time, definitely not good in area with hard surfaces to bounce sound off.
Technician quoted me “you’re not the first to complain and you won’t be the last. You should speak to your retailer about exchanging for a different manufacture”.

Purchased in February 2019.

Noise Level
Nicole

NicoleBrisbane

  • 5 reviews
  • 5 likes

Love it, Love it, Love it.

published

I got this fridge just before Christmas and I couldn't be happier with it. It is very quiet. Just the right size for the space with plenty of room inside for parties. Every time I open the door and look inside I fall in love with it again. The layout is so clean and orderly I can see everything easily. The vegetable trays are at waist height and so easy to use. We went away for a week and when we got back the fruit and vegetables were just as fresh and good as when we left. No hint of freezing products in the fridge area. The freezer is great too and very good layout which will even allow me to store an ice-cream cake.

Date PurchasedDec 2018
Ghi Vee

Ghi VeeMelbourne

  • 5 reviews

Great fridge that fitted right in with our apartment!

published

This fridge was recommended to us when we moved in to a new flat as it was left hand side open and it fitted in with the kitchen door and the specific requirements. I like the freezer being at the bottom of the fridge as it is easier to access the fridge itself and the doors easily open and close. The freezer has practical compartments as well as the fridge with a spacious design as well. Very happy with the purchase indeed!

Date PurchasedDec 2017
Mazza

MazzaMelbourne

  • 4 reviews

Wonderful design,and extremely quiet.

published

I am very happy with my Fisher and Paykel fridge, but I find the only small drawback is that the door will not stay open when putting food away, and keeps closing, which can be annoying.I like the design, and the food is kept nice and cold, and it is very quiet during operation.

Date PurchasedJul 2018
Nick

NickSydney

  • 5 reviews
  • 2 likes

Decent features at a reasonable price

published
Date PurchasedSep 2017
dijoca

dijocaVictoria

  • 93 reviews
  • 13 likes

Fisher Paykel Fridge with ice maker

published

Great refrigerator. Works well and keeps balanced temperature in all compartments. It makes a slight noise when it's running but nothing unacceptable. Been using it for 24 months now. The ice maker is great and chilled water wonderful without loosing the shelves in the door.
only complaint is filter needs changing ever 6 months.

Date PurchasedMar 2016
Bottom Mount Fridges / Refrigerators

Find out how Fisher & Paykel ActiveSmart 442L Bottom Freezer (RF442 Series) compares to other Bottom Mount Fridges / Refrigerators

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
IronMaiden

IronMaidenBowral

  • 24 reviews
  • 5 likes

Excellent 442L Fridge

published

This is my second F&P fridge in this design, the other is the 519L model, I purchased this one for my holiday home after being unable to fault the 519L model. I really enjoy the internal design and layout of shelves, large capacity door storage and pullout freezer baskets.
Keeps good temperature control on hot days, no evidence of fridge freezing, is very silent and reasonable energy consumption.
Unboxing and installation was a breeze, instruction on packing and it rolled easily into its cavity.
I found the SS surface of the 519L very easy to maintain, this one is the same, a simple wipe over with a damp cloth no need for special SS cleaning sprays.

Date PurchasedJan 2018
Venkata Vidya

Venkata VidyaSydney

  • 5 reviews
  • 3 likes

Works well but slightly noisy.

published

Good refrigerator. Works well and keeps to required temperature in all compartments. It makes a slight noise when it's trying to cool things inside but very quiet when the cycle is complete. Been using it for 8 months now. The only complaint I have with fisher and paykel is their customer service. They charge 150$ just too send too her technician out.

Date PurchasedJul 2017
jd4free

jd4freeSydney

  • 4 reviews
  • 2 likes

Fisher & Paykel ActiveSmart 442L Bottom Freezer

published

Overall really happy with this purchase, well designed unlike the last WRID Westinghouse rubbish I bought online. which had limited shelving options / slots and only lasted 4 years after 2 repairs and a new controller
This one is perfect and runs very well, just notice some noise when open but apart from that small issue nothing major and a good buy from the Good guys

Date PurchasedOct 2017
Emma B

Emma BSydney, NSW

  • 5 reviews
  • 1 like

Perfect fridge freezer

published

This fridge is perfect for us. It’s 442L so there’s a lot of space and the shelves are very strong so won’t crack like some of the cheaper fridges you can get. I love that the freezer is at the bottom instead of the top as it’s more useful to have the more frequently used fridge at eye level. It’s also one of the few fridges I could find that has the option of opening to the left.
Bought about ten months ago, no issues with temperature, drawers are removable so easy to clean, nice and quiet, perfect!

Date PurchasedApr 2017
Vic

VicMetropolitan Adelaide, SA

  • 32 reviews
  • 5 likes

Typical quality

published

We had to purchase a new refrigerator right on Christmas, so many to choose from. How ever we decided to go with what we had owned once before. Great to have the fridge on top, and the freezer below. Much better for older Aussie's. I love the fact that it has a pastry draw, in the freezer, and that it has smart technology, as to keeping your goods at the right temp.

Date PurchasedDec 2017
Emm

Emm

  • 8 reviews
  • 3 likes

Great fridge

published

My partner and I purchased this fridge a few weeks ago.

It runs well (we actually had to turn the temperature up as it was very chilly), is quiet, and is a good size for 2 people and maybe small families.

It came with a couple of fridge organiser trays and ice cube trays which was nice. So far, very happy with it.

Date PurchasedOct 2014
Bottom Mount Fridges / Refrigerators

Find out how Fisher & Paykel ActiveSmart 442L Bottom Freezer (RF442 Series) compares to other Bottom Mount Fridges / Refrigerators

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
gifer

giferRozelle

  • 4 reviews
  • 3 likes

Good all rounder and space saver!

published

This fridge was a replacement for a 10-year-old fridge. Initially, I wanted to buy something bigger, investigated lots of models and I need kitchen reno to be able to fit most of the fridges that I like. This 442 L fridge just fits and I still have room for everything. Happy with the purchase. Was not sure if stainless steel is magnetic and rang the company to find out. It is magnetic and keeps my magnets secure and fun to use!

Date PurchasedMar 2017
BEN

BENsydney

  • 5 reviews
  • 3 likes

good simple fridge

published

this fridge was to replace another model i had because it was too loud. this model, doesn't have the bells and whistles but... it's quiet!
it's just a simple fridge. no egg tray, no ice maker. the shelves don't really offer too much room. in fact, the fridge doesn't really offer much room. it's not very efficient with its use of space. it's only a 3 star rating which is average. the fridge is fine, however i'm sure there's better out there for this price range. i was limited to choice because of small kitchen space. all in all.. it's quiet.. big plus!!

Date PurchasedOct 2017
Hannah T

Hannah T

  • 2 reviews
  • 1 like

Huge & Very Effective Fridge

published

I love this fridge! In a nutshell:

-It runs very quietly and beeps if you accidentally leave a door open which is very handy!
-The freezer drawers are very practical and easy for sorting frozen food
-There's a separate ice block tray which is also very handy
-The fridge section is very roomy with flexible shelving
-The coldest settings are incredible
-Sleek and attractive (although it also integrates well so can be hidden if needed)

Only downside is its so deep it can be hard to clean (but i have short limbs!)

Date PurchasedJun 2017
Roger

RogerGreater Melbourne (Inner), VIC

  • 6 reviews
  • 4 likes

Good looking with flexible storage

published
Date PurchasedJun 2017
Lesh

LeshBowral

  • 6 reviews
  • 6 likes

Great fridge

published

Great fridge
Easy to use and easy to clean
So quiet....I love this fridge and freezer
The fast freeze option is great for when I make home made icecream...
It lights up perfectly,,I love how I don't have to bend to find something in the fridge
So much room in the freezer

Date PurchasedMay 2017

Questions & Answers

froffytop

froffytopasked

ActiveSmart RF442BRPX6 (Stainless Steel, Right Flat Door)

Thinking of purchasing this fridge, but have read some reviews saying it's quite noisey.
Any opinions?

No answers
SusieQ

SusieQasked

ActiveSmart 442L Bottom Freezer (RF442 Series)

Where is this specific fridge model actually made?

No answers
Janice Cornell

Janice Cornellasked

ActiveSmart RF442BRPW6 (White, Right Flat Door)

Are these fridges quiet? I have read a number of reviews stating they are quite noisy, so I am quite concerned. Also, is it possible to turn off the beeping when the door is open?

2 answers
Pam
Pam

I was concerned about those reviews also but it is a very quiet fridge. I can't really even hear the motor running.

Pam
Pam

Yes you can turn off the beeping.

Get an answer from our members and Fisher & Paykel representatives

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.