18 photos
Fisher & Paykel ActiveSmart 519L Bottom Freezer (RF522B Series)
See the Best Bottom Mount Fridges / Refrigerators in 2022 as rated by Australians on ProductReview.com.au.
Listing monitored by Fisher & Paykel

Pros

Long-lasting fridge known to last for years
Easy to clean

Reviews

  • Build Quality
    3.8 (32)
  • Value for Money
    3.6 (33)
  • Ease of Use
    4.2 (32)
  • Cleaning & Maintenance
    3.7 (32)
  • Noise Level
    3.5 (34)
  • Internal Layout
    4.4 (30)
Previous
Next

Reviewer Photos & Videos

  • Thumbnail
  • Thumbnail
  • Thumbnail
  • More
    Thumbnail

The door won’t self close as our previous F & P fridge did. This is particularly annoying as the left hand hinge models doesn’t come with a surface mounted handle as per the model right hand hinged door models do. This makes it difficult to keep the stainless steel door surface free from finger marks.

Purchased in March 2022 at The Good Guys for $2,199.

Build Quality
5/5
Value for Money
4/5
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
solemn dawn
solemn dawnWatson 2602, ACT
  • 3 reviews
  • 2 likes

Very happy with this 18 months in… so much better than the kelvinator we inherited. Quiet, efficient and effective.

Purchased in June 2020.

Build Quality
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Stephen F.
Stephen F.Greater Melbourne (Inner), VIC

Noisy, poorly designed, prone to failure.

published

Purchased in August 2020.

Build Quality
1/5
Noise Level
1/5
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Welt
WeltSydney, NSW
  • 4 reviews

Great performing fridge, apart from the occasional soft humming noise and creak.

published

Purchased in September 2019 at Bing Lee Physical store for $1,380.

Build Quality
4/5
Value for Money
5/5
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Bottom Mount Fridges / Refrigerators

Find out how Fisher & Paykel ActiveSmart 519L Bottom Freezer (RF522B Series) compares to other Bottom Mount Fridges / Refrigerators

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Sue Ball
Sue BallMetropolitan Adelaide, SA
  • 2 reviews
  • 2 likes

Love my new fridge/freezer

published

Had a very similar size from Electrolux which lasted a long time. But to be honest I truly love the look of this unit. The freezer layout is very easy to use and much more practical than my previous fridge - Easy to see everything and plenty of room. The fridge section is roomy and easy to reach all that it contains

Purchased in March 2021 at Appliances Online for $1,800.

Build Quality
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Jasmina
JasminaSydney, NSW

The fridge itself is ok. Does what it's meant to do however that stupid plastic crisper cover is THE WORST design ever. For the money paid, why would someone think it's ok to have 2 little plastic clips in place to hold up yet another and slightly heavier piece of plastic up. This gives me endless anxiety when it falls not place...I think I've sworn each time it falls down. Please rethink future designs as I bought the fridge based on reputation on good quality and this feature is most definitely not any good.

  • Thumbnail
  • Thumbnail
  • Thumbnail
  • Thumbnail

Purchased in December 2017 at Bing Lee for $1,400.

Build Quality
5/5
Value for Money
3/5
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Mark
MarkGreater Melbourne (Inner), VIC
  • 3 reviews

Horrendous Build Quality and Horrible Customer Service.

published
  • Thumbnail
  • Thumbnail
  • Thumbnail

Purchased in March 2021 at The Good Guys for $1,679.

Build Quality
1/5
Value for Money
1/5
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!

Related Articles

Previous
Smart shopping tips to help you make the most of Black Friday sales

With Black Friday coming up on the 26th of November (and some deals starting well before), we’ve got some smart shopping tips to help you make the most of sales.

Clara V.
Clara V.15 Nov 2021
smart-shopping-tips-to-help-you-make-the-most-of-black-friday-sales
Christmas Gift Ideas for Mum

Since many mothers tend to spout selfless phrases like ‘please don’t spend any money on me,’ Christmas is a great opportunity to spoil your Mum. However, this can be a tricky feat if your mum hasn’t told you what kind of gift she’d be happy with.

Avleen M.
Avleen M.29 Nov 2021
christmas-gift-ideas-for-mum
The top-rated kitchen appliances for 2022!

Whether you love or loathe being in the kitchen, our community of reviewers have determined that out of over 9,000 appliances on ProductReview.com.au, these are the best available!

Avleen M.
Avleen M.14 Dec 2021
the-top-rated-kitchen-appliances-for-2022
Next
Nick
NickCooma
  • 14 reviews
  • 6 likes

The freezer is full of frost and ice builds up

published

Our old F&P fridge lasted a fair number of years, after some small warranty repair, and we got used to the layout so the new one had to be F&P again. Similar experience to the last purchase, a brand new fridge has issues. This time it's an ice builds up inside the freezer, which gets open once a day, with room temperature around 20-25 degrees and low Canberra humidity. Obviously, the door seal is faulty on the two weeks old fridge. I think that's the last product we bought of this brand, Fisher & Paykel.

Purchased in February 2021 at Appliances Online for $1,970.

Build Quality
3/5
Value for Money
2/5
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Jamie
Jamie
  • 2 reviews

Terrible Long-Term Fridge

published

Purchased in September 2018 at Harvey Norman.

Build Quality
2/5
Value for Money
2/5
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Bottom Mount Fridges / Refrigerators

Find out how Fisher & Paykel ActiveSmart 519L Bottom Freezer (RF522B Series) compares to other Bottom Mount Fridges / Refrigerators

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Leo
LeoSydney, NSW
  • 14 reviews
  • 6 likes

Great looks and layout, Poor build quality

published

Purchased in February 2018 at Harvey Norman for $1,900.

Build Quality
1/5
Value for Money
2/5
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
MareeR
MareeRRichmond-Tweed, NSW

12 months on I still love my F/P fridge/freezer

published

It is super quiet, easy to clean.
Plenty of door compartments. Love drawers in freezer so easy to sort things
Door alarm is handy
Temp consistent though can slightly freeze products at the back of fridge
Keeps fruit and veg fresh for longer
Just love my fridge It works as hard as I do in the kitchen. I'm so glad it performs well and looks great too

Purchased in January 2020 at The Good Guys.

Build Quality
5/5
Value for Money
4/5
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
G. S
G. S
  • 3 reviews
  • 4 likes

Noisy rattler from Haier. Not the F&P quality of old. Lots of Quality issues

published
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Bottom Mount Fridges / Refrigerators

Find out how Fisher & Paykel ActiveSmart 519L Bottom Freezer (RF522B Series) compares to other Bottom Mount Fridges / Refrigerators

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Mothersreview
MothersreviewAU
  • 4 reviews
  • 2 likes

Worst fridge. Didn’t last more than 3.5 years

published

Ongoing problems with this fridge from the beginning. Loud noises and had it serviced 3 times and eventually died last week of only have it for 3.5 years and was told to fork out $500 for parts and no guarantee it will fix the problem.
Will never purchase a F&P fridge again.

Purchased in April 2017 at The Good Guys for $1,800.

Value for Money
1/5
Noise Level
1/5
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Robby
RobbyPerth, WA
  • 8 reviews

I love this fridge/freezer. It is energy efficient, quiet and keeps everything at a great temp, especially with the control drawers in the crispers. The lighting is so bright making it easy to see what you have. So easy to use the freezer with the easy glide out drawers. It even has a thin draw to store pastry sheets or pizzas. Great buy.

Purchased in January 2020 at The Good Guys for $1,355.

Build Quality
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Greg L
Greg LSydney
  • 16 reviews
  • 8 likes

Good fridge but faulty when left factory

published

I purchased this fridge 2 1/2 years ago , unpacked and installed by Good Guys and never moved by me since. I recently discovered a sizeable gap in top door when cleaning which FP technician said must have left factory like that. After adjustment to close gap requiring considerable brute force by FP I can notice a much heavier pull required to open the door now. So how much extra electricity was wasted before restoring the door to how it should have been in the first place? Not happy to pay $170 for shoddy assembly.

  • Thumbnail

Purchased in March 2018 at The Good Guys Physical store for $1,545.

Build Quality
3/5
Value for Money
4/5
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!

Questions & Answers

Wayne S.
Wayne S.asked
1 answer
Robby
Robby
GGA
GGAasked
ActiveSmart 519L Bottom Freezer (RF522B Series)

All my appliances are fisher and paykel so buying a new fridge of the same brand was a no brainer, however, the so called active smart fridge is anything but! Items freeze in the centre top shelf, and if you lower the temperature, the items in the door are warm. Very disappointing fridge.

No answers
Kburra
Kburraasked
ActiveSmart 519L Bottom Freezer (RF522B Series)

Fisher & Paykel ActiveSmart 519L Bottom Freezer (E522B Standard Series)Have this refrigerator is it possible to purchase two NEW crisper drawers for same,ours have broken.
Thank you
Barry Coaker (Victoria)

No answers
See all Fisher & Paykel ActiveSmart 519L Bottom Freezer (RF522B Series) questions

Get an answer from our members and Fisher & Paykel representatives

Fisher & Paykel ActiveSmart 519L Bottom Freezer (RF522B Series)

Details

Features:

  • This range of fridges is suitable for a household of around 4 to 5 people
  • Like many other bottom mount fridges, this Fisher & Paykel has been awarded an impressive 4.5 energy rating
  • The fridge adapts to your usage to conserve energy - so the fridge will only defrost and cool when necessary
  • To keep food fresh and organised, this fridge includes various types of shelves, crispers, and bins
  • The stainless steel body of the fridge in conjunction with solid glass shelving makes this fridge durable and easy to clean

What reviewers liked about this fridge?

  • Adjustable temperature makes this fridge suitable for a range of different foods and external temperatures. For example, in summer this fridge can be made colder to cool food efficiently.
  • Many reviewers have owned this fridge for lengthy periods of time, stating that their fridges were durable enough to stand the test of time. One reviewer mentioned that they had owned their previous Fisher & Paykel fridge for over 12 years.
  • This Fisher & Paykel fridge is spacious and can fit a decent amount of food. Reviewers mentioned that they had plenty of space to pack away groceries for the whole family.
  • The sleek stainless steel finish made a stylish addition to many kitchens - it was easy to work the fridge into the existing decor.
Compare all 9 Fisher & Paykel ActiveSmart 519L Bottom Freezer (RF522B Series)
CategoryBottom Mount Fridges / RefrigeratorsBottom Mount Fridges / RefrigeratorsBottom Mount Fridges / RefrigeratorsBottom Mount Fridges / Refrigerators
Price (RRP) $2,099.00$2,099.00$1,849.00$2,099.00
Dimensions 1720 x 790 x 695 mm1720 x 790 x 695 mm1720 x 790 x 695 mm1720 x 790 x 695 mm
Energy Rating3 star(s)3 star(s)3 star(s)3.5 star(s)
Household Size 4-5 people4-5 people4-5 people4-5 people
FeaturesDoor Alarm and Frost FreeDoor Alarm and Frost FreeDoor Alarm and Frost FreeDoor Alarm, Frost Free, Ice Dispenser and Water Dispenser
Handle Type RecessedRecessedRecessedExternal
Smart Fridge NoNoNoNo
Shelf MaterialGlassGlassGlassGlass
Number of Shelves4444
Number of Fruit & Vegetable Bins2222
Door Hinge LeftRightRightRight
Manufacturer Warranty2 year(s)2 year(s)2 year(s)2 year(s)
Colour / FinishStainless SteelStainless SteelWhiteBlack
Capacity
Total Capacity 519 L519 L519 L519 L
Fridge Capacity 360 L360 L360 L360 L
Freezer Capacity 159 L159 L159 L159 L
Compare all 9 Fisher & Paykel ActiveSmart 519L Bottom Freezer (RF522B Series)

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.