?
? !
18 photos
Fisher & Paykel ActiveSmart 519L Bottom Freezer (RF522B Series)

Pros

  • Long-lasting fridge known to last for years

  • Easy to clean

Reviews

  • Build Quality
    3.7 (26)
  • Value for Money
    3.4 (28)
  • Ease of Use
    4.1 (27)
  • Cleaning & Maintenance
    3.6 (27)
  • Noise Level
    3.5 (28)
  • Internal Layout
    4.5 (24)
Previous
Next

Reviewer Photos & Videos

  • Thumbnail
  • Thumbnail
  • Thumbnail
  • More
    Thumbnail
Mark

MarkGreater Melbourne (Inner), VIC

  • 3 reviews

Horrendous Build Quality and Horrible Customer Service.

published
  • Thumbnail
  • Thumbnail
  • Thumbnail

Purchased in March 2021 at The Good Guys for $1,679.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
See all answers
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Nick

NickCooma

  • 11 reviews
  • 5 likes

The freezer is full of frost and ice builds up

published

Our old F&P fridge lasted a fair number of years, after some small warranty repair, and we got used to the layout so the new one had to be F&P again. Similar experience to the last purchase, a brand new fridge has issues. This time it's an ice builds up inside the freezer, which gets open once a day, with room temperature around 20-25 degrees and low Canberra humidity. Obviously, the door seal is faulty on the two weeks old fridge. I think that's the last product we bought of this brand, Fisher & Paykel.

Purchased in February 2021 at Appliances Online for $1,970.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
See all answers
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Jamie

Jamie

  • 2 reviews

Terrible Long-Term Fridge

published

Purchased in September 2018 at Harvey Norman.

Build Quality
Value for Money
See all answers
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Bottom Mount Fridges / Refrigerators

Find out how Fisher & Paykel ActiveSmart 519L Bottom Freezer (RF522B Series) compares to other Bottom Mount Fridges / Refrigerators

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Leo

LeoSydney, NSW

  • 12 reviews
  • 3 likes

Great looks and layout, Poor build quality

published

Purchased in February 2018 at Harvey Norman for $1,900.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
See all answers
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
MareeR

MareeRRichmond-Tweed, NSW

12 months on I still love my F/P fridge/freezer

published

It is super quiet, easy to clean.
Plenty of door compartments. Love drawers in freezer so easy to sort things
Door alarm is handy
Temp consistent though can slightly freeze products at the back of fridge
Keeps fruit and veg fresh for longer
Just love my fridge It works as hard as I do in the kitchen. I'm so glad it performs well and looks great too

Purchased in January 2020 at The Good Guys.

Build Quality
Value for Money
See all answers
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
G. S

G. S

  • 3 reviews
  • 4 likes

Noisy rattler from Haier. Not the F&P quality of old. Lots of Quality issues

published
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Mothersreview

MothersreviewAU

  • 3 reviews
  • 2 likes

Worst fridge. Didn’t last more than 3.5 years

published

Ongoing problems with this fridge from the beginning. Loud noises and had it serviced 3 times and eventually died last week of only have it for 3.5 years and was told to fork out $500 for parts and no guarantee it will fix the problem.
Will never purchase a F&P fridge again.

Purchased in April 2017 at The Good Guys for $1,800.00.

Value for Money
Noise Level
See all answers
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Robby

RobbyPerth, WA

  • 8 reviews

My best friend

published

I love this fridge/freezer. It is energy efficient, quiet and keeps everything at a great temp, especially with the control drawers in the crispers. The lighting is so bright making it easy to see what you have. So easy to use the freezer with the easy glide out drawers. It even has a thin draw to store pastry sheets or pizzas. Great buy.

Purchased in January 2020 at The Good Guys for $1,355.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
See all answers
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Greg L

Greg LSydney

  • 16 reviews
  • 8 likes

Good fridge but faulty when left factory

published

I purchased this fridge 2 1/2 years ago , unpacked and installed by Good Guys and never moved by me since. I recently discovered a sizeable gap in top door when cleaning which FP technician said must have left factory like that. After adjustment to close gap requiring considerable brute force by FP I can notice a much heavier pull required to open the door now. So how much extra electricity was wasted before restoring the door to how it should have been in the first place? Not happy to pay $170 for shoddy assembly.

  • Thumbnail

Purchased in March 2018 at The Good Guys Physical store for $1,545.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
See all answers
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Bottom Mount Fridges / Refrigerators

Find out how Fisher & Paykel ActiveSmart 519L Bottom Freezer (RF522B Series) compares to other Bottom Mount Fridges / Refrigerators

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
lynp

lynpSouth East Queensland, QLD

  • 13 reviews
  • 6 likes

Great looking fridge.

published

This is a replacement fridge F&P fridge that was 15years old. It it a great fridge, lots of room. Big deep freezer, much more quiet than our old model. Ss is easy to keep clean. Great price. Highly recommend.

Purchased in November 2019 at The Good Guys for $1,200.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
See all answers
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Tim C.

Tim C.Greater Melbourne (Metropolitan), VIC

  • 6 reviews
  • 2 likes

Great Fridge great size

published

We have had the fridge for 10 months and it is just right for our family. Temperature for winter and summer is just right and easily adjustable if necessary. Plenty of room and good sized vegetable drawers. The stainless steel needs occasional cleaning but that is a simple wipe job. I'm pleased with this purchase.

Purchased in January 2020 at Appliances Online for $1,362.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
See all answers
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Skiibunny

SkiibunnyMid North Coast, NSW

  • 14 reviews
  • 12 likes

Love F & P

published

This was to replace my 18y.o. Fisher & Paykel which was great. This upside down model had proven to be even better. 519lt gives ample fridge and freezer space. Extremely quiet motor. Maintains constant temperature. Have now had it for 4 months and cannot yet fault it. Very happy with my purchase.

Purchased in June 2020.

Build Quality
Value for Money
See all answers
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Ray C

Ray CSouth East Queensland, QLD

  • 7 reviews
  • 1 like

Good frig.

published

Purchased in September 2020 at Appliances Online for $1,907.00.

Value for Money
Ease of Use
See all answers
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Denise

DeniseSouthwest, VIC

WHERES MY FRIDGE?

published

Purchased at e&s for $1,400.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
See all answers
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!

Very noisy fridge

published

Great design very happy with look and function wise,
bottom freezer is perfect.
However, main problem is the horrible bang noise which keep increasing speciallY in Night time.
After every 8 to 10 minutes you can hear the horrible loudest bang in my house. Sooo annoying
F&P help line centre: such a bad attitude.

Totally wasted my money in this fridge.

Purchased in March 2018 at Harvey Norman.

Build Quality
Value for Money
See all answers
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Bottom Mount Fridges / Refrigerators

Find out how Fisher & Paykel ActiveSmart 519L Bottom Freezer (RF522B Series) compares to other Bottom Mount Fridges / Refrigerators

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Tina Watkins

Tina WatkinsSouth East Queensland, QLD

  • 3 reviews

Absolutely Love It

published

This fridge is so roomy and the temp inside just amazing. The freezer on the bottom makes life so much easier for me. My ice is frozen so much faster and the fridge opens and closes so much easier, it doesnt slam shut and the open fridge door alarm is really good not annoying. There is nothing about this fridge I dont like to be honest its simply stunning.

Purchased in July 2020 at Appliances Online for $1,670.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
See all answers
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Shannon H.

Shannon H.

  • 5 reviews

Great Fridge

published

Works great
have had it for 3 years and not 1 issue
has senses in both the fridge and freezer part for if its left open which helps alot with kids
holds a decent amount

Purchased in November 2017 at Harvey Norman for $1,000.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
See all answers
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Binu M.

Binu M.Darwin, NT

  • 4 reviews
  • 3 likes

Perfect fridge for a home

published

Excellent design with plenty of space. Always maintains consistent temperature and bottom freezer is very handy to use. Water is dispenser is an excellent feature with very easy filter replacement settings. Ice dispenser is also very reliable with a quality design. Everything works perfectly.

Purchased in April 2019 at Harvey Norman for $1,600.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
See all answers
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!

Can't believe Fisher & Paykel are still selling VERY NOISY 'activesmart' fridges!!!

published

Purchased in January 2014 at Winning Appliances NSW for $1,800.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
See all answers
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!

Great interior layout - absolutely awful constant high-pitched noise!

published

Purchased in December 2019 at Winning Appliances WA, O'Connor for $1,570.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
See all answers
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Page 1 of 5

Questions & Answers

Wayne S.

Wayne S.asked

2 answers
Robby
Robby

HI Wayne. I don't think it did but if so I would have put them out. I prefer to get my eggs fresh that have not been in the fridge and then they can stay on the bench or in my cupboard. of course once they have been refrigerated then you need to place them in the fridge but with so many compartments and shelf adjustments then I would use an egg carton or an egg holder from the market . Hope this helps. Cheers

Reviewer R.
Reviewer R.

Answer is in the manual

GGA

GGAasked

ActiveSmart 519L Bottom Freezer (RF522B Series)

All my appliances are fisher and paykel so buying a new fridge of the same brand was a no brainer, however, the so called active smart fridge is anything but! Items freeze in the centre top shelf, and if you lower the temperature, the items in the door are warm. Very disappointing fridge.

No answers
Kburra

Kburraasked

ActiveSmart 519L Bottom Freezer (RF522B Series)

Fisher & Paykel ActiveSmart 519L Bottom Freezer (E522B Standard Series)Have this refrigerator is it possible to purchase two NEW crisper drawers for same,ours have broken.
Thank you
Barry Coaker (Victoria)

No answers
See all Fisher & Paykel ActiveSmart 519L Bottom Freezer (RF522B Series) questions

Get an answer from our members and Fisher & Paykel representatives

Fisher & Paykel ActiveSmart 519L Bottom Freezer (RF522B Series)

Details

Features:

  • This range of fridges is suitable for a household of around 4 to 5 people
  • Like many other bottom mount fridges, this Fisher & Paykel has been awarded an impressive 4.5 energy rating
  • The fridge adapts to your usage to conserve energy - so the fridge will only defrost and cool when necessary
  • To keep food fresh and organised, this fridge includes various types of shelves, crispers, and bins
  • The stainless steel body of the fridge in conjunction with solid glass shelving makes this fridge durable and easy to clean

What reviewers liked about this fridge?

  • Adjustable temperature makes this fridge suitable for a range of different foods and external temperatures. For example, in summer this fridge can be made colder to cool food efficiently.
  • Many reviewers have owned this fridge for lengthy periods of time, stating that their fridges were durable enough to stand the test of time. One reviewer mentioned that they had owned their previous Fisher & Paykel fridge for over 12 years.
  • This Fisher & Paykel fridge is spacious and can fit a decent amount of food. Reviewers mentioned that they had plenty of space to pack away groceries for the whole family.
  • The sleek stainless steel finish made a stylish addition to many kitchens - it was easy to work the fridge into the existing decor.
Compare all 9 Fisher & Paykel ActiveSmart 519L Bottom Freezer (RF522B Series)
CategoryBottom Mount Fridges / RefrigeratorsBottom Mount Fridges / RefrigeratorsBottom Mount Fridges / RefrigeratorsBottom Mount Fridges / Refrigerators
Price (RRP) $2,099.00$2,099.00$1,849.00$2,099.00
Dimensions 1720 x 790 x 695 mm1720 x 790 x 695 mm1720 x 790 x 695 mm1720 x 790 x 695 mm
Energy Rating3 star(s)3 star(s)3 star(s)3.5 star(s)
Household Size 4-5 people4-5 people4-5 people4-5 people
FeaturesDoor Alarm and Frost FreeDoor Alarm and Frost FreeDoor Alarm and Frost FreeDoor Alarm, Frost Free, Ice Dispenser and Water Dispenser
Colour / FinishStainless SteelStainless SteelWhiteBlack
Handle Type RecessedRecessedRecessedExternal
Smart Fridge NoNoNoNo
Shelf MaterialGlassGlassGlassGlass
Number of Shelves4444
Number of Fruit & Vegetable Bins2222
Door Hinge LeftRightRightRight
Manufacturer Warranty2 year(s)2 year(s)2 year(s)2 year(s)
Capacity
Total Capacity 519 L519 L519 L519 L
Fridge Capacity 360 L360 L360 L360 L
Freezer Capacity 159 L159 L159 L159 L
Compare all 9 Fisher & Paykel ActiveSmart 519L Bottom Freezer (RF522B Series)

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.