22 photos
Bosch Serie 8 Front Load Washing Machines

Bosch Serie 8 Front Load Washing Machines

WAW28460AU, WAW32640AU, WAS28440AU, etc...
3.9 from 833 reviews · View Statistics
Listing monitored by Bosch Home Appliances

How to buy the best washing machine

A good washing machine is essential to every household, and while they all serve the same purpose, the variety of machines available can make purchasing one a puzzle. This buying guide will take you through each type of machine, and explain what to look for in each to guarantee you’re making the most informed choice possible when shopping.

Read now
Buying Guide Banner

Pros

  • Easily adjustable settings

  • Consistently cleans well

  • Quiet when spinning

Cons

  • Some components not hard-wearing

Reviews

  • Build Quality
    4.0 (188)
  • Value for Money
    3.6 (189)
  • Ease of Use
    4.2 (185)
  • Cleaning & Maintenance
    4.0 (178)
  • Noise Level
    4.2 (181)
Previous
Next

Reviewer Photos & Videos

  • Thumbnail
  • Thumbnail
  • Thumbnail
  • More
    Thumbnail
Gary L.
Gary L.
  • 3 reviews

Well made machine as you would expect from Germany and Bosch. Very quiet, very clean and very impressive!!

published

Bosch make quality items and this is no exception, quite spin cycle, clean colours and bright whites as well as numerous cycles make it a perfect family machine, load capacity is also a huge bonus.

Purchased in May 2021 at Appliances Online for $799.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Carls
Carls
  • 9 reviews
  • 2 likes

Really great machine, quiet on spin.

published

Purchased in June 2019 at The Good Guys for $1,200.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
chicki09
chicki09Metropolitan Adelaide, SA
  • 2 reviews

It does everything you can think of.

published

I usually only use the short cycle, which is great. But if the clothes are REALLY dirty, there's a long cycle, a hot cycle, a delicate cycle. You name it you can have it. The best washing machine I have had, so far. and I have had auto washers for 45 years. I cannot fault this one.

Purchased in May 2019 for $990.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Front Loading Washing Machines

Find out how Bosch Serie 8 Front Load Washing Machines compares to other Front Loading Washing Machines

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
LJW
LJWSydney, NSW
  • 2 reviews
  • 3 likes

Badly engineered - totally unexpected

published

Cycle times are far too long, drain pump always gets blocked and its only 2.5 years old. Only positive is it is quiet. Recommended by Harvey Norman - last time I will trust their advice.

Purchased in April 2019 at Harvey Norman.

Build Quality
Value for Money
ehmert
ehmertGreater Melbourne (Inner), VIC
  • 12 reviews
  • 3 likes

Does all the things you expect from a washing machine

published

Purchased this in early 2019 to avoid buying a washing machine that was Chinese made and owned.

It operates how it is supposed to, however on occasion when only washing one article of clothing (because it requires a separate wash) it comes out soaking wet even with increased RPM and selecting an additional rinse and spin cycle. Would be good to just have an extra spin cycle by itself. Not sure if this is a fault or we're using it incorrectly. Other than that and bubble residue inside the door (even when using very little detergent, it has been great.

Purchased in February 2019.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Bosch Home Appliances
BSH Home AppliancesBosch Home Appliances

Related Articles

Previous

The best kitchen appliances in 2020!

Whether you love or loath being in the kitchen, our community of reviewers have determined that out of almost 5,000 appliances on ProductReview.com.au, these are the best available!

Nathan S.
Nathan S.1 Nov 2019
the-best-kitchen-appliances-in-2020

Best Fridges and Dishwashers in 2020!

These large kitchen appliances are the backbone of your kitchen, meant to last you many years. The initial cost of a fridge or dishwasher is high, so to make sure you're not buying a lemon, here are the best fridges and best dishwashers of 2020. Our reviewers have provided detailed ratings for important factors to consider when choosing a refrigerator or dishwasher, such as Noise Level and Internal Layout.

Wendy Z.
Wendy Z.12 Nov 2019
best-fridges-and-dishwashers-in-2020

Here are 5 affordable kitchen appliances for making delicious winter warmers with

If you're craving winter comfort food made at home-sweet-home, these kitchen appliances can do the trick. They offer good value for money, too.

Avleen M.
Avleen M.23 July 2021
here-are-5-affordable-kitchen-appliances-for-making-delicious-winter-warmers-with
Next
LCC
LCC
  • 3 reviews
  • 1 like

Was disappointed but now...........

published

I do like the options on this machine and it does produce a very clean wash, HOWEVER, it has randomly shrunk a number of articles...........
This was the review I was going to submit, however, Bosch responded promptly, offering to resolve the problem. It was determined that the computer or the thermostat were the only possible cause and both were replaced at Bosch's expense. I am impressed with their customer service, I was treated with courtesy and respect, and at no stage did they try to fob me off with excuses. It's early days yet but so far, so good, no shrinkage and beautifully clean wash.

Purchased in March 2018 for $900.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Lilabet
LilabetGreater Melbourne (Outer), VIC
  • 3 reviews
  • 4 likes

Great machine!

published

Love my new Bosch 9kg washing front loader washing machine. Chosen with great consideration after my previous Hoover 7kg died. We are a small household but the extra 2kg capacity allows me to wash larger items (eg doonas). (BTW, you can SPIN ONLY with program Rinse/Spin by deactivating the "Rinse Plus" button - see manual page 29.) I have owned various brands of f/ls for over 40 years, and this machine's operating and spin cycle noise is by far the quietest. So far, so good.

Purchased in June 2021 at e&s for $1,199.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Kat_Meow66
Kat_Meow66Greater Melbourne (Outer), VIC
  • 4 reviews

Good but some flaws!

published

Overall I find this machine is good but there are a few issues I have with the programs.

First of all, WHY ON EARTH DOESN’T IT HAVE A SPIN ONLY FUNCTION??? This is absolutely ridiculous and frustrating!

Secondly, why does the kids wash run for nearly 4 hours? That’s crazy!

Finally, please make your manual more user friendly. The instructions are overly complicated.

Purchased at e&s for $898.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Never Again
Never AgainSydney, NSW

Over hyped, under delivers, prone to blockages

published

Have to be absolutely scrupulous about emptying pockets because the pump filter gets blocked so easily but you can't get the plug out of the filter to clean the blockage. The water inlet hose has also started leaking and needs replacing. Its only 4 years old. Will never buy another Bosch.

Noise Level
Incentivised Review No
Front Loading Washing Machines

Find out how Bosch Serie 8 Front Load Washing Machines compares to other Front Loading Washing Machines

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Pennie
PennieSydney, NSW

Leaking machine after 6 months

published

After 6 months the rubber seal split and warranty wasn’t honoured. Another $400 to replace the seal.

Bosch is not made like they used too.

They provided care instructions in the reply to decline my request for a claim.

I have been a bosch customer for over 20 years, and now will never buy a bosch appliance again. Just isn’t worth the extra money you pay for quality if a seal can easily tear and cause to leak after 6 months.

Save your cash and buy a cheaper product.

Purchased in June 2020 at Appliances Online for $1,600.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Bosch Home Appliances
BSH Home AppliancesBosch Home Appliances
Pennie
Pennie
Pauletta W
Pauletta WPerth, WA

Extremely happy with this product

published

I am so satisfied with this machine. I love all the features - short wash with the speed perfect function, the ability to select spin speed, eco wash for small loads, rinse plus for larger loads. So quiet when spinning that I hardly know it’s on. Cleans beautifully.

Purchased in April 2021 at The Good Guys for $1,288.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Bosch Home Appliances
BSH Home AppliancesBosch Home Appliances
Michael P
Michael PGreater Melbourne (Outer), VIC
  • 2 reviews

Bosch Blame everything else

published
  • Thumbnail
  • Thumbnail
  • Thumbnail
  • +1Thumbnail

Purchased in November 2018.

Incentivised Review No
Danielle S.
Danielle S.Sydney, NSW

Absolutely rubbish - Don’t buy

published

Machines pump broke after about six months now the brown wires have snapped off the motor washing machine repairer said wires were too tight when manufactured. Will never buy another Bosch product nor recommend to anyone I know.

Purchased in February 2019 for $1,400.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Bosch Home Appliances
BSH Home AppliancesBosch Home Appliances
Mahboubeh
MahboubehGreater Melbourne (Inner), VIC
  • 3 reviews

Terrible experience

published

Our washing machine had lots of noise and shake during warranty. We asked for repair. A technician came and damaged it completely. Now there is no power in that!!! I called Bosch again and they can someone else after 7 days! They are awful. One worse than another!!!

Purchased in September 2019 at Harvey Norman for $770.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Bosch Home Appliances
BSH Home AppliancesBosch Home Appliances

Great machine until it broke

published

I bought the 8 series washing machine from Good Guys. I absolutely loved it! However after 2.5 years it started leaking underneath when the cycle was running. Checked the drainage plug and nothing blocking it. The machine was not even 3 years old and stopped working. Motor seems to not spin at all and the door is locked with cloths inside. There is a lot of water damage inside the bottom of the machine and around the electrics, it appears to be leaking around the back of the detergent dispenser. We were expecting a German made machine to last, so was happy to pay a premium. Very disappointed to not even reach 3 years before having to buy another washing machine, and unsure if it’s worth trying to fix the Bosch.

Purchased in April 2018.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Bosch Home Appliances
BSH Home AppliancesBosch Home Appliances
Front Loading Washing Machines

Find out how Bosch Serie 8 Front Load Washing Machines compares to other Front Loading Washing Machines

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Read more reviews - page 2

Questions & Answers

GeoKar
GeoKarasked
Serie 8 WAW28460AU

Why are there different kg loads for different programs, as an example, the "mix" program has a 4 kg load setting. Is there a risk of damage to the machine if it is loaded to the machine's maximum rating of 8 kg or is it it just that wash integrity is comprised for that particular program?

1 answer
Bosch Home Appliances
BSH Home AppliancesBosch Home Appliances

Hi GeoKar, Thank you for your question. Our recommendation would be to observe the maximum load for the program, and to not exceed it. Overfilling adversely affects the washing result and promotes
creasing. The automatic unbalanced load detection system detects imbalances, and ensures even distribution of the laundry by repeatedly starting and stopping drum spinning. If the laundry is extremely unevenly distributed, the speed is reduced or the spin cycle is not performed for safety reasons. If you would like further information for this appliance, please feel free to call our team on 1300 369 744 (select option 2). Kind regards Bosch Home Australia.

Laura inc
Laura incasked
Serie 8 Front Load Washing Machines

Even with the child lock on, when the wash finishes and the machine turns off, you can open the door.
Is there a way to always keep it locked?

Also what setting would I use on quilts with down?

Thanks

No answers
Jarka
Jarkaasked
Serie 8 WAX32K41AU

Is the EcoSilence Drive™ Motor the same as the Inverter one used by Samsung?

No answers
See all Bosch Serie 8 Front Load Washing Machines questions

Get an answer from our members and Bosch Home Appliances representatives

Bosch Serie 8 Front Load Washing Machines

Details

Features:

  • Different models in the Bosch Serie 8 Front Loading Washing Machines have varying capacities ranging from 7.5kg to 10kg, so you can find a size right for your household.
  • A time delay function on the machine lets you set your cycle to start at a time that’s convenient for your routine.
  • It has a child lock, giving you extra peace of mind for the safety of your little ones.
  • ActiveWater Plus technology on the machine measures the size of the load and adjusts the water intake accordingly, so it uses only what it needs, helping save water and your next bill.
  • The washing machine has SpeedPerfect and EcoPerfect functions that can wash your load in either 65% less time or by using 50% less energy.

Points of praise:

  • Most reviewers found that the settings on the Bosch Serie 8 Front Loaders were easy to navigate and adjust.
  • They also said that the machine’s programs consistently cleaned all types of fabrics well.
  • According to reviewers, the machine is quiet when it spins clothes.

A point of pain:

  • Some reviewers noted that certain parts of the machine weren’t particularly hard-wearing. A few, for example, said that the rubber door seal only lasted a few years before it needed to be replaced.
Compare all 13 Bosch Serie 8 Front Load Washing Machines
Bosch Serie 8 WAW28460AU
  • Award Winner 2018

Bosch Serie 8 WAW28460AU

4.2
(387)
Bosch Serie 8 WAW28620AU
  • Award Winner 2020

Bosch Serie 8 WAW28620AU

3.9
(42)
CategoryFront Loading Washing MachinesFront Loading Washing MachinesFront Loading Washing MachinesFront Loading Washing Machines
Price (RRP) $1,599.00$1,649.00$2,149.00$1,749.00
Capacity8 kg9 kg9 kg9 kg
Household Size 3-4 people3-4 people3-4 people3-4 people
FeaturesAuto Balancing and Door/Lid Lock (Child-proof)Auto Balancing and Door/Lid Lock (Child-proof)Auto Balancing and Door/Lid Lock (Child-proof)Auto Balancing and Door/Lid Lock (Child-proof)
Energy Rating4 star(s)4.5 star(s)4.5 star(s)4.5 star(s)
Water Rating5 star(s)4.5 star(s)4.5 star(s)4.5 star(s)
Drum MaterialPlasticPlasticPlasticPlastic
Dimensions 848 x 598 x 590 mm848 x 598 x 590 mm848 x 598 x 590 mm848 x 598 x 590 mm
Motor TypeDirect Drive (Inverter)
Max Spin Speed 1,400 rpm1,400 rpm1,400 rpm1,400 rpm
Number of Spin Speeds5
Maximum Noise Level71 db71 db71 db71 db
Weight73.03 kg72 kg82 kg71.8 kg
Country of ManufactureGermanyGermanyGermanyGermany
StackableYesYesYesYes
Manufacturer Warranty2 year(s)2 year(s)2 year(s)2 year(s)
Colour / FinishWhiteWhiteWhiteWhite
Release dateDec 2014
ManualDownload manualDownload manualDownload manualDownload manualDownload manualDownload manualDownload manualDownload manualDownload manualDownload manualDownload manualDownload manual
Compare all 13 Bosch Serie 8 Front Load Washing Machines

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.