??!
22 photos
Bosch Serie 8 Front Load Washing Machines

Bosch Serie 8 Front Load Washing Machines

WAW28460AU, WAW32640AU, WAS28440AU, etc...
3.9 from 812 reviews · View Statistics

How to buy the best washing machine

A good washing machine is essential to every household, and while they all serve the same purpose, the variety of machines available can make purchasing one a puzzle. This buying guide will take you through each type of machine, and explain what to look for in each to guarantee you’re making the most informed choice possible when shopping.

Read now
Buying Guide Banner

Reviews

  • Build Quality
    4.0 (171)
  • Value for Money
    3.7 (171)
  • Ease of Use
    4.3 (167)
  • Cleaning & Maintenance
    4.1 (160)
  • Noise Level
    4.3 (164)
Previous
Next

Reviewer Photos & Videos

  • Thumbnail
  • Thumbnail
  • Thumbnail
  • More
    Thumbnail
HillBilly

HillBillyPerth, WA

  • 28 reviews
  • 12 likes

Great

published

My basic Bosch washing machine served me well. Had it for over 10 years and so far, touch wood, not a single fault. Will definitely buy again hopefully they keep up the quality.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Incentivised ReviewNo
See all answers
Saikat

SaikatSouth East Queensland, QLD

  • 2 reviews

Just stopped working after 3 years

published

I bought the 8 series washing machine from JBHiFi exactly 3 years back. This afternoon it stopped working and the door is locked with cloths locked inside. German make and technology is known around the world and I went for it but I now feel betrayed.

Purchased in February 2017 at jbhifi for $1,014.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Incentivised ReviewNo
See all answers

3.5 years out of a $1200 machine

published

Door lock blown / jammed. Replaced $100
Now looks like power module board is also blown which are $400. If you have to pay appliance repair its cheaper to buy a new machine which costs less every few years. Otherwise its been a decent washer.

Purchased in May 2017 for $1,200.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Incentivised ReviewNo
See all answers
1 comment
Bosch Home Appliances
BSH Home AppliancesBosch Home Appliances
Front Loading Washing Machines

Find out how Bosch Serie 8 Front Load Washing Machines compares to other Front Loading Washing Machines

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Marie

MarieIllawarra, NSW

  • 2 reviews
  • 2 likes

Doesn't live up to expectations.

published

There are numerous wash cycles however there is only one cycle that takes 8kg of washing (cotton) So effectively you can only use one cycle.
The buttons are too easy to accidentally touch as you walk past, changing the settings inadvertently.
The rubber door seal holds a lot of water after the cycle, requiring everyday maintenance to prevent mould.
This machine is marketed as being very quiet, and it is true that the motor is. However I don't believe the machine is insulated well enough. While in the wash cycle the noise is loud enough to disturb us watching tv.
The clothes do come out very clean however.

Purchased in June 2019 for $985.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Incentivised ReviewNo
See all answers
1 comment
Bosch Home Appliances
BSH Home AppliancesBosch Home Appliances

Hi Marie,
Thanks for your review, we appreciate the feedback.
If we can be of any help to you feel free to call us on 1300 369 744 with your model number.
Regards, Bosch Home Australia.

Melbourne_3000

Melbourne_3000Greater Melbourne (Inner), VIC

  • 63 reviews
  • 48 likes

German made 10kg Washer WAX32K41AU

published

Purchased in January 2021.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Incentivised ReviewNo
See all answers
1 comment
Bosch Home Appliances
BSH Home AppliancesBosch Home Appliances
Sengster

SengsterSouth East Queensland, QLD

  • 2 reviews
  • 2 likes

Good for 3 years only

published

Purchased in March 2017 at The Good Guys for $1,077.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Incentivised ReviewNo
See all answers
1 comment
Bosch Home Appliances
BSH Home AppliancesBosch Home Appliances
seawardbb

seawardbb

  • 3 reviews

Quite a bit better than its predecessor

published

We had the 8 Kg Bosch WAS28440AU for about 8 years of fairly heavy use before it died ( caution: empty pockets of small metallic objects as eventually it will kill the pump which makes it not worth repairing especially after 8 years). It did a great wash but the 8 kg limit was always a bit of a pain as it just would not go if you went over.
This 9kg load model (Serie 8 WAW28420AU) is much better for family use - never seems to get overloaded and is very quiet. Only problem we found was deactivating the child lock button - there's a long, wide button labelled 'finished in' that you have to press in 3 places (left middle and right) to deactivate (instructions do not make this very clear).

Purchased in September 2020 at Harvey Norman for $1,200.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Incentivised ReviewNo
See all answers
Ron

RonPerth, WA

  • 19 reviews
  • 40 likes

Design problems poor service - Bosch replies with a same content to all the complaints with no follow up actions

published

Purchased in July 2020 at Appliances Online for $1,117.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Incentivised ReviewNo
See all answers
2 comments
Bosch Home Appliances
BSH Home AppliancesBosch Home Appliances
Ron
Ron

Hi,
As requested I emailed you yesterday with the details and I’m hoping to hear back.

Alex

AlexIllawarra, NSW

Hot water not working

published

Hi. My washing machine bought in 2018 no longer heats the water.Every load the water is cold. Should I contact the place of purchase or Bosch or is there a quick fix? Thanks

Purchased in August 2018 at Harvey Norman.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Incentivised ReviewNo
See all answers
Front Loading Washing Machines

Find out how Bosch Serie 8 Front Load Washing Machines compares to other Front Loading Washing Machines

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Mary

MarySouth East Queensland, QLD

  • 2 reviews

FABULOUS washing machine

published

Purchased in November 2020 for $1,400.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Noise Level
Incentivised ReviewNo
See all answers
3 comments
Bosch Home Appliances
BSH Home AppliancesBosch Home Appliances
Mary
Mary
Bosch Home Appliances
BSH Home AppliancesBosch Home Appliances

Hi Mary,
9kg is our largest washing machine. Unfortunately there is no spin only option for this appliance.
If you have any questions feel free to call us on 1300 369 744.
Regards, Bosch Home Australia.

Mark R.

Mark R.

  • 6 reviews

Constantly stops midwash

published

This washing machine complains of blocked outflow every 4 or 5 loads, which in a house of 2 adults and 4 children is at least twice per week. Each time the wash cycle stops and can ot be restarted. We need to open the lower right corner of the machine which despite our best efforts results in water (often soapy) spilling all over the floor. After this process we have only on one occasion found an object in here - a coin. Every other time we go through the motions, make a mess and then restart the wash. For such an expensive machine this is ridiculous. We have also had trouble with our Bosch drier and replaced with another brand. Will be doing the same with the washing machine and will never go back!

Purchased in August 2019.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Incentivised ReviewNo
See all answers
1 comment
Bosch Home Appliances
BSH Home AppliancesBosch Home Appliances
Judi

JudiSydney, NSW

TIP: How to spin only!

published

Bosch couldn’t help me.
Technicians couldn’t help me either.
Select Rinse/spin then deselect Rinse Plus.
Eh voila... it now spins with no rinse.
Happy spinning.
A great washing machine. Extremely reliable

Purchased in September 2016.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Incentivised ReviewNo
See all answers
sucker

sucker

  • 8 reviews
  • 6 likes

Great machine. Love the idos

published

Purchased in March 2020.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Incentivised ReviewNo
See all answers
1 comment
Bosch Home Appliances
BSH Home AppliancesBosch Home Appliances
Zilch

ZilchMelbourne

  • 9 reviews
  • 1 like

Great quiet machine that cleans well.

published

Purchased in October 2019.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Incentivised ReviewNo
See all answers
1 comment
Bosch Home Appliances
BSH Home AppliancesBosch Home Appliances
Anonymous buyer

Anonymous buyerSydney

  • 3 reviews

Not very happy

published

Paid top dollar when we cud have bought another vendor for half of the price, Clothes comes out mostly dirty and smelly, user manual lacking info (no proper information on how to use the machine correctly)

Purchased in February 2020 at Harvey Norman.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Incentivised ReviewNo
See all answers
1 comment
Bosch Home Appliances
BSH Home AppliancesBosch Home Appliances
Front Loading Washing Machines

Find out how Bosch Serie 8 Front Load Washing Machines compares to other Front Loading Washing Machines

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
hmmm

hmmm

  • 3 reviews
  • 1 like

Really expected better

published

Door handle broke and Bosch service/spare parts were patronising and defensive AND offensive. Hardly a great example of quality service. Poorly engineered as the plastic piece of the door handle that presses up to unlock the door breaks off.

Purchased in September 2013.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Incentivised ReviewNo
See all answers
3 comments
hmmm
hmmm

Inadequate response from Bosch...very disappointing

Bosch Home Appliances
BSH Home AppliancesBosch Home Appliances
hmmm
hmmm

I have already contacted your social media team and got nowhere!

WORST EQUIPMENT EVER - DO NOT BUY - email me for a video after visits from a Tech..

published

In < than 1 year
Had 3 techs visit,
(a) 1st to change IDOS
(b) 2nd to change Belt
(c) Telling me that IDOS is not working but telling BOSCH all is fine.

Still have issues

Purchased in December 2019 for $1,500.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Incentivised ReviewNo
See all answers
2 comments
Ben S.
Ben S.

For those buying if you need a log of issues mail me at [Email Removed]. I will send you the log Of issues and the video after the company claim to have fixed the issue. Ben

Bosch Home Appliances
BSH Home AppliancesBosch Home Appliances

Hi Ben S,
We're sorry to hear that you're having issues with your appliance. We will be in contact with you today . Kind Regards Bosch Home Australia

Kalven

Kalven

  • 2 reviews
  • 1 like

Decent value for money product

published

Quick wash setting cleans the clothes pretty well, although have had a few issues with the timer. Sometimes it goes on for longer than it predicts and ends up taking forever so I just do quick wash now.

Purchased in June 2020 at The Good Guys for $643.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
See all answers
1 comment
Bosch Home Appliances
BSH Home AppliancesBosch Home Appliances

Hi Kalven,
Thanks for your review, we appreciate the feedback. We'd like to help, if you email us at socialmedia.au@bshg.com, quoting BSH11286 in the subject line with your contact number. We’ll investigate for you.
Regards, Bosch Home Australia.

The reviewer stated that an incentive was offered for this review

BHo

BHoGreater Melbourne (Metropolitan), VIC

Noisy machine and well over-rated

published

Purchased in October 2020 at Appliances Online for $1,484.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Incentivised ReviewNo
See all answers
1 comment
Bosch Home Appliances
BSH Home AppliancesBosch Home Appliances
Candace

Candace

  • 4 reviews

Game changer for our household!

published
  • Thumbnail

Purchased in October 2020 at Appliances Online.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Incentivised ReviewNo
Dryer TypeBosch Serie 8 WTW87564AU
See all answers
Page 1 of 41

Questions & Answers

Christina M

Christina Masked

Serie 8 WAW32640AU

The DOS lights keep flashing. I have cleaned the drawer several times and the detergent and conditioner are at the maximum level.

No answers
June kirkham

June kirkhamasked

Serie 8 WAW32640AU

I do t seem to be using any laundry liquid detergent help please

No answers
BondiJags

BondiJagsasked

Serie 8 WAW28460AU

Hi, is there any way to have the Speed Perfect = off by default and avoid remembering the extra key-press this requires before starting?

1 answer
Reviewer R.
Reviewer R.

If it is not in the manual contact the service number

Get an answer from our members and Bosch Home Appliances representatives

Details

Compare all 13 Bosch Serie 8 Front Load Washing Machines
Bosch Serie 8 WAW28460AU
  • Award Winner 2018

Bosch Serie 8 WAW28460AU

4.2
(380)
Bosch Serie 8 WAW28620AU
  • Award Winner 2020

Bosch Serie 8 WAW28620AU

4.1
(39)
CategoryFront Loading Washing MachinesFront Loading Washing MachinesFront Loading Washing MachinesFront Loading Washing Machines
Price (RRP) $1,599.00$1,649.00$2,149.00$1,749.00
Capacity8 kg9 kg9 kg9 kg
Household Size 3-4 people3-4 people3-4 people3-4 people
FeaturesAuto Balancing and Door/Lid Lock (Child-proof)Auto Balancing and Door/Lid Lock (Child-proof)Auto Balancing and Door/Lid Lock (Child-proof)Auto Balancing and Door/Lid Lock (Child-proof)
Energy Rating4 star(s)4.5 star(s)4.5 star(s)4.5 star(s)
Water Rating5 star(s)4.5 star(s)4.5 star(s)4.5 star(s)
Drum MaterialPlasticPlasticPlasticPlastic
Colour / FinishWhiteWhiteWhiteWhite
Dimensions 848 x 598 x 590 mm848 x 598 x 590 mm848 x 598 x 590 mm848 x 598 x 590 mm
Motor TypeDirect Drive (Inverter)
Max Spin Speed 1,400 rpm1,400 rpm1,400 rpm1,400 rpm
Number of Spin Speeds5
Maximum Noise Level71 db71 db71 db71 db
Weight73.03 kg72 kg82 kg71.8 kg
Country of ManufactureGermanyGermanyGermanyGermany
StackableYesYesYesYes
Manufacturer Warranty2 year(s)2 year(s)2 year(s)2 year(s)
Release dateDec 2014
ManualDownload manualDownload manualDownload manualDownload manualDownload manualDownload manualDownload manualDownload manualDownload manualDownload manualDownload manualDownload manual
Compare all 13 Bosch Serie 8 Front Load Washing Machines

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.