??!
4 photos
Fisher & Paykel WashSmart Top Loader

Fisher & Paykel WashSmart Top Loader

1st Gen
3.4 from 348 reviews

Washing Machines Buying Guide

Our buying guide will explain which type of washing machine would suit you most, how much you can expect to pay for one, and which features are worth looking out for.

Reviews

3.4

348 reviews
5
(141)
4
(60)
3
(26)
2
(39)
1
(82)
  • Build Quality
    3.5 (23)
  • Value for Money
    3.4 (24)
  • Ease of Use
    4.0 (24)
  • Cleaning & Maintenance
    3.8 (19)
  • Noise Level
    3.5 (22)
Previous
Next
Zakir

ZakirSydney, NSW

  • 2 reviews

Excellent washing machine!

published

After long investigation and even though this washing machine didn't have a great review but still I have decided to purchase this machine on the basis of its specifications.
I have made a great decision purchasing this machine. This is a fabulous machine. It's just perfect in every way possible!!
Excellent performance, extremely quite and use very little water.

Purchased at Harvey Norman Online for A$1,500.00.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
See all answers

The reviewer stated that an incentive was offered for this review

Sharon

SharonMetropolitan Adelaide, SA

Fins Again

published

1 of the fins broke but I’ve had the machine 7 years. Having said that I’m still surprised. I’ve had several machines & did the washing for my family from age of 12 & I’ve never seen or know of a fin breaking in any other machine I’ve worked with. In the first 6 years I had a service man out because the rinse cycle was too quick. I considered buying a replacement agitator but I feel from the other reviews that would be a waste of money
Won’t buy another F&P

Purchased in February 2013 for A$559.00.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
See all answers
Naka E

Naka E

  • 5 reviews

User friendly

published

Always bought this brand. User friendly. Easy to keep clean. Lasts and lasts. Parents bought it too. Cares for your clothes. Trust this brand. Cant go wrong. Good price too

Purchased in January 2018 for A$800.00.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
See all answers
Top Loading Washing Machines

Find out how Fisher & Paykel WashSmart Top Loader compares to other Top Loading Washing Machines

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Andrew

AndrewDarling Downs, QLD

  • 4 reviews

Fisher & Paykel Washing machine

published

I have purchased a few of these machines over the last 20 years both for myself and my family and keep coming back to them because any service required on them is relatively inexpensive. I have a serviceman who knows the machines inside out and repairs them at a reasonable price. Items stuck in the pump is common but less than 3 minutes to fix. They are reasonably priced and of good quality.

Purchased in February 2019 at The Good Guys.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
See all answers

The reviewer stated that an incentive was offered for this review

Cameron Robinson

Cameron RobinsonWide Bay-Burnett, QLD

  • 5 reviews

First and only washing machine I have owned lasted more than 13years and still going.

published

Intuitive, ergonomic, easy to use, quiet, intelligent. Set out to buy modern quality washing machine and, with the exception of an initial faulty circuit board which was replaced free of charge under warranty, have not been disappointed. 13 plus years and still going strong !

Purchased in January 2007 at RetraVision for A$500.00.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
Dryer TypeFisher & Paykel 4.5kg ED56
See all answers
Cameron Robinson

Cameron RobinsonWide Bay-Burnett, QLD

  • 5 reviews

My First Washing Machine 13 Years Old and Still Going Strong.

published

Intuitive, ergonomic, intelligent, quiet, easy to use, modern, stylish, quality. I set out to buy a modern, quality washing machine that would last for more than 10plus years and, with the exception of having the circuit board replaced under warranty at about the 12 month mark, I have not been disappointed. 13 plus years on it is still going strong my first and only washing machine so far.

Purchased in January 2007 at RetraVision for A$500.00.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
Dryer TypeFisher & Paykel 4.5kg ED56
See all answers
Maz

Maz

  • 5 reviews

Not the quality it use to be

published

After 21 years of raving about my F and P top loader it's not the same story with the new one. My brand new machine was starting to rust at the bottom of the bowl after 2 weeks of use. F and P were only willing to replace the bowl which was unacceptable to me. So, I phoned Harvey Norman and they were willing to replace it with a new one. Thank you. The quality of the past has gone. The machine washes well but I can not see it being long lasting. I don't think I will buy F and P again.

Purchased in December 2019 at Harvey Norman Retail Stores - Electronics for A$760.00.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Noise Level
Value for Money
See all answers
elizabeth

elizabethGreater Melbourne (Outer), VIC

  • 2 reviews

Ready for the Tip after 3 years

published

Purchased in August 2016 at The Good Guys for A$900.00.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Noise Level
Value for Money
See all answers

Not very Smart!

published

This is my third Fisher and Paykel washing machine.
As far as smartness goes this is way behind my previous machine.
You cannot change any settings eg spin speed or temperature, once the cycle has started, you need to go back to the beginning of the wash cycle.
You cannot step through any of the wash cycles.
You cannot put the fast spin speed on the delicate cycle.
If you add more clothes once the cycle has started it won't add any more water.
If you put water in the machine to try and soak something it drains by itself.
I'm not happy with all of the restrictions.
And apart from not being able to change settings through a cycle it also leaves lint on the clothes!

Purchased in November 2019 at Appliances Online.

Ease of Use
Value for Money
Top Loading Washing Machines

Find out how Fisher & Paykel WashSmart Top Loader compares to other Top Loading Washing Machines

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Kookla

KooklaPerth, WA

Faulty Product

published

This machine has put holes in our tshirts since we started using it, wish I could add photos, had it checked for issues but it's a design fault apparently, the agitator is dragging the fabric & its pinching causing holes in the fabric. The more we wash our tshirts holes get worse

Purchased at Harvey Norman Retail Stores - Appliances.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
See all answers
ross

rossHunter Region, NSW

  • 4 reviews

Knotting, wringing & creasing sheets & clothing

published
Cathy19

Cathy19Central Highlands and Goldfields, VIC

  • 8 reviews
  • 1 like

So disappointed

published

I have had Fisher and Paykel washing machines for as long as I can remember.
Our old one packed it in after more than 15 years so of course, with such a great track record, we purchased another...
Bad decision.
The components under the lid are cheap and tacky. The lid where the powder is placed does not fit well. A service technician is coming out on Wednesday to see why the auto water level only fills to a small wash level. Clothes dont wash as well and the spin cycle is not as good as it has been in the past. Clothes used to be quite dry, not any more.
It is also ver noisy on the spin cycle. One of the reasons I loved my previous machines was the quiet...not any more.
I would recommend you buy something else.

Purchased in April 2019.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
See all answers
trial-error

trial-errorSouth East Queensland, QLD

  • 2 reviews
  • 1 like

Buy something else

published

Purchased in March 2016.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
See all answers
Henri

HenriMid North Coast, NSW

  • 7 reviews
  • 1 like

Perfect clean clothes all the time, easy to use

published

Great little machine its 6 yrs old now Ive had no problems with it, its easy to use and washes really well, it gets used every second day, washes summer doonas no problems, great little machine, I would recommend it to anyone.

Purchased in March 2013 at Beta Electrics for A$499.00.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
See all answers
Barbara Ryan

Barbara RyanDarling Downs, QLD

  • 2 reviews

Not a washing machine for people who step off the concrete

published

Purchased in March 2019 at Joyce Mayne for A$934.00.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Noise Level
Value for Money
See all answers
Top Loading Washing Machines

Find out how Fisher & Paykel WashSmart Top Loader compares to other Top Loading Washing Machines

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
CCc

CCcSouth East Queensland, QLD

  • 2 reviews

Good machine

published

Love this machine. Very helpful, and smart. Makes it easier doing my washing and it doesnt stop and pause every 2 seconds like some do, this is also second hand from someone else and still works no issues.

Purchased in August 2019.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
See all answers
AMG38

AMG38Perth, WA

  • 2 reviews

good reliable system

published

i have used it for 4 years and i think its great and reliable for its price ! People shouldn't buy all those cheap brands anymore and start investing in the better quality ones, it will not only improve your lifestyle but also will last a long time therefore making your money worth !

Purchased in July 2015.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
See all answers
Adele

AdeleGoulburn Valley, VIC

  • 2 reviews

Great washing machine

published

I have just purchased my 2nd machine. First one lasted forever, so I bought another one the same. Never had a problem with it. Best machine ever. Thanks Fisher and Paykel

Purchased in July 2019 at The Good Guys Physical store for A$699.00.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
Dryer TypeFisher & Paykel 6.2kg DE62T27GW2
See all answers
Michael H

Michael HFar West, NSW

  • 2 reviews

Great washing machine

published

from heavy to light clothing washes , this machine excels the only fault are selection instructions for the elderly can be improved, as some need simple selection like light through to heavy washing as an example

Purchased in January 2018 at Harvey Norman.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
See all answers
Rob

RobSouth East Queensland, QLD

  • 2 reviews

Wife off Back

published

We previously had a front loader with 1.5 hour plus programs, this Machine has easy to run cycles half the time and just as good if not better, Did I mention my Wife is off my back.

Purchased at The Good Guys for A$1,200.00.

Page 1 of 18

Questions & Answers

Kyneur D.

Kyneur D.asked

WashSmart Top Loader

My control panel is not lighting up and unable to turn machine on

No answers
Olivia X

Olivia Xasked

WashSmart Top Loader

I have just purchased a Washsmart clothes washer WA1068G1 assuming that it would wash with hot water when I select the hot water cycle. This is not the case the drum fills with cool water.
I need to be able to wash a regular wash cycle with Hot water and cold rinse, according to the manual this is only possible on the allergy cycle in which case I can not use fabric softner am I correct.
Please get back to me asap

1 answer
stan
stan

After reading the manual i would say you are incorrect

Nicole H.

Nicole H.asked

WashSmart Top Loader

How long should the cold water value last? Purchased in August 2018 had first valve replaced in June 2019 and it's gone again! Just waiting on a F&P service person to come this week. Hoping that I don't need this part replaced yearly.... Very disappointment with machine.

No answers

Get an answer from our members and Fisher & Paykel representatives

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.