1 photo
Fisher & Paykel WashSmart WA8560G1 (8.5kg)

Fisher & Paykel WashSmart WA8560G1 (8.5kg)

MPN: 36374509
3.5 from 119 reviews · View Statistics
See the Best Top Loading Washing Machines in 2021 as rated by Australians on ProductReview.com.au.
Listing monitored by Fisher & Paykel

How to buy the best washing machine

A good washing machine is essential to every household, and while they all serve the same purpose, the variety of machines available can make purchasing one a puzzle. This buying guide will take you through each type of machine, and explain what to look for in each to guarantee you’re making the most informed choice possible when shopping.

Read now
Buying Guide Banner

Reviews

  • Build Quality
    3.2 (26)
  • Value for Money
    2.4 (29)
  • Ease of Use
    3.5 (28)
  • Cleaning & Maintenance
    3.3 (23)
  • Noise Level
    3.0 (27)
Previous
Next
Marie Denny
Marie DennySouthwest, VIC

VERY DISAPPOINTED CUSTOMER

published

My F & P 8.5 KG after 2 years started flashing too full even if it had 6 items in it. After having service guy come out $155 later with no result. He said throw it away. All I can say very poor product & absolute waste of $860 if it can only last 2years. We had a F&P for 15 years it was fabulous. But this model is a lemon. I will never buy F & P again. Very annoyed customer!!!!!

Build Quality
Value for Money

Does not use enough water to agitate the clothes when on automatic.

published

Does not use enough water when on Automatic. It resets itself at every wash. Clothes are barely covered if at all with water, so it does not wash or rinse clean. No lint filter so black and dark clothing are noticeably lint covered. Very disappointing as we are retirees and our wash is not a heavy soiled one. Heaven forbid the results if it were not so. I bought it on the recommendation of my daughter who has an older model and says hers is fantastic.

Purchased in April 2020 at Harvey Norman.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Sime
SimeSouthwest, VIC
  • 2 reviews

Absolute rubbish

published

Don't waste your money on this machine. Had an old Fischer & Paykel that lasted about 17 years. The new one has that many problems that I just want to throw it off my balcony. Will never buy another.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Top Loading Washing Machines

Find out how Fisher & Paykel WashSmart WA8560G1 (8.5kg) compares to other Top Loading Washing Machines

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Danell
DanellGreater Melbourne (Outer), VIC
  • 2 reviews

This was a total waste of money with a useless customer support.

published

Purchased in October 2016 at The Good Guys Online store.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Online shopper
Online shopperPeel, WA
  • 12 reviews
  • 4 likes

Very disappointing

published

Purchased in July 2020 for $945.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money

Related Articles

Previous

The best kitchen appliances in 2020!

Whether you love or loath being in the kitchen, our community of reviewers have determined that out of almost 5,000 appliances on ProductReview.com.au, these are the best available!

Nathan S.
Nathan S.1 Nov 2019
the-best-kitchen-appliances-in-2020

Best Fridges and Dishwashers in 2020!

These large kitchen appliances are the backbone of your kitchen, meant to last you many years. The initial cost of a fridge or dishwasher is high, so to make sure you're not buying a lemon, here are the best fridges and best dishwashers of 2020. Our reviewers have provided detailed ratings for important factors to consider when choosing a refrigerator or dishwasher, such as Noise Level and Internal Layout.

Wendy Z.
Wendy Z.12 Nov 2019
best-fridges-and-dishwashers-in-2020

Here are 5 affordable kitchen appliances for making delicious winter warmers with

If you're craving winter comfort food made at home-sweet-home, these kitchen appliances can do the trick. They offer good value for money, too.

Avleen M.
Avleen M.23 July 2021
here-are-5-affordable-kitchen-appliances-for-making-delicious-winter-warmers-with
Next
Tivani W
Tivani WFar North Queensland, QLD

Stopped working after 2 years (Out of Balance issue)

published

Purchased in August 2018 at Harvey Norman for $797.00.

Incentivised Review No
boosilhen
boosilhenSouthern and Hills, SA
  • 5 reviews

Not Happy Fisher & Paykel

published

Purchased in July 2020 at Harvey Norman Retail Stores.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Sammie
SammieGold Coast
  • 21 reviews
  • 26 likes

Lint remaining on every wash

published

This was a very disappointing purchase. I read after buying it that you need to buy a separate lint filter. I haven't done that yet as I thought - why on Earth would you need to buy extra parts for a machine to work to a basic level of quality

Build Quality
Value for Money
Kiwi
Kiwi
  • 2 reviews

A must Have

published

The timer means when I wake up my washing is ready to hang out, done to my commercial laundry standard, be it
Tradies gear, delicates or blankets.
No hand washing for me.

Purchased in December 2019.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Top Loading Washing Machines

Find out how Fisher & Paykel WashSmart WA8560G1 (8.5kg) compares to other Top Loading Washing Machines

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Keena
KeenaSouth East Queensland, QLD

Disappointed

published

Don’t expect to get a long time out of this washer. After 4 years the washer continually kept going out of balance, even with a very small load. 2 friends with the same machine also had the same issue.

Purchased in November 2016 for $899.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Jam
JamSydney, NSW

Fisher & Paykel WashSmart WA8560G1 8.5kg 4 year lifespan

published

Purchased in September 2016 at The Good Guys.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Dr Garry
Dr GarrySydney, NSW
  • 3 reviews

May have to rethink my loyalty to F&P products

published

Lint Over EVERYTHING

published

I used to always buy Fisher any Paykel washing machines, but changed to another brand a few years ago when I bought a front loader. When the front loader died this week, I decided to go back to a Fisher and Paykel top loader - quicker wash cycle, quiet run cycle and clothes come out much drier. Sorry, have to say that I am so disappointed with this machine. Every wash, every time, everything is covered in lint, takes me 20 minutes a night to brush the lint off my work clothes. I have had it for less than a week and if I could take it back I would.

Purchased in August 2020 at Harvey Norman for $1,050.00.

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Therese B
Therese BAU
  • 3 reviews
  • 1 like

Extremely unhappy with purchase - does not clean!!

published

Bought this about 3 months ago.
My previous smaller F&P machine of 15 years died - unfortunately.
And - unfortunately - we bought this new F&P machine - larger to cope with pillows etc. Clothes just do not come out clean!! I have to soak so stuff in a bucket - before I put in washing machine. Can't just leave clothes in a presoak in washing machine otherwise machine empties the water!!! I use Heavy every time - but that is only 2 minutes longer wash time than Regular.
The Auto fill stops at about 5 inches of water no matter how many items are in the washing machine so I have to choose the actual level each time. Can't seem to be able to spin some items without going through a whole wash cycle.
I am sooooo upset!!!

Purchased in May 2020 at Harvey Norman for $800.00.

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Rita
RitaGreater Melbourne (Metropolitan), VIC
  • 3 reviews

Regret the buy

published

Regrettably I purchased this machine for the soak cycle and according to description the quietness. Too loud and cannot soak with any chemicals, disposed of water if lid left open

Purchased in May 2020 at Harvey Norman for $898.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Top Loading Washing Machines

Find out how Fisher & Paykel WashSmart WA8560G1 (8.5kg) compares to other Top Loading Washing Machines

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Read more reviews - page 2See all Fisher & Paykel Series 5 Top Loader Washing Machines reviews

Questions & Answers

Eve D.
Eve D.asked
WashSmart WA8560G1 (8.5kg)

How do I clean the inlet hose filter?

No answers
Rach
Rach asked
WashSmart WA8560G1 (8.5kg)

My machine is 4 years old it is stopping half way through a cycle (even with nothing in it) code says too full then beeping. Their is lots of clanging and banging. Could the barrel be loose?

3 answers
Sime
Sime

Mine is the same. Absolute peice of rubbish.

OnlineShopper
OnlineShopper

We're you able to get an answer as to why this is happening and we're you able to fix it? Mine started doing this last week also!!!

Sue
Sue

My machine is brand new ( 3 weeks old). I have had the service technician out already, as it was making many noises, going out of balance, not spinning, not rinsing, not going past rince/ spin cycle and making a constant background whiring noise until I turn it off myself without washing being spun. Sometimes realising it was stuck for 2-3 hours!! Technician left and adjusted the balance and said the machine is running as it should. 3 weeks later I have had same problems constantly and have just booked technician to come back. I won't be happy until I get a refund. I suggest to not buy this machine. I have had many top loaders before and my last was a fisher and paykle I had for 11 years. This one is RUBBISH.

Marc K.
Marc K.asked
WashSmart WA8560G1 (8.5kg)

Washing machines timer is counting down sometimes 10 minutes instead of 1 inconsistently. Sometimes skipping spin cycles. Any ideas of what could be wrong?

2 answers
Sammie
Sammie

Sounds glitchy, hopefully it would be a warranty fix if you contact the seller. Good luck

Marc K.
Marc K.

Thank you, it's not under warranty anymore but will give them a call and see what I can do. :)

See all Fisher & Paykel WashSmart WA8560G1 (8.5kg) questions

Get an answer from our members and Fisher & Paykel representatives

Fisher & Paykel WashSmart WA8560G1 (8.5kg)

Details

Compare all 5 Fisher & Paykel Series 5 Top Loader Washing Machines
CategoryTop Loading Washing Machines
Price (RRP) $999.00
Capacity8.5 kg
Household Size 3-4 people
FeaturesAuto Balancing, Auto Dispense and Door/Lid Lock (Child-proof)
Energy Rating2.5 star(s)
Water Rating3.5 star(s)
Drum MaterialStainless Steel
Dimensions 1045-1075 x 600 x 600 mm
Motor TypeSmartDrive
Max Spin Speed 1,000 rpm
Number of Spin Speeds3
Number of Wash Cycles6
MechanismAgitator
Open Lid Height 1,350 mm
Manufacturer Warranty2 year(s)
Colour / FinishWhite
Compare all 5 Fisher & Paykel Series 5 Top Loader Washing Machines
Visit official website
  • MPN: 36374509
  • GTIN13: 9415112932322

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.