??!
8 photos
Ford EcoSport
3.1 from 18 reviews

See the Best Small / Compact SUVs in 2019 as rated by Australians on ProductReview.com.au.


Missis got one of these

Came home from work and a blue ecosport was in the driveway. Thought the missis was having a fling with someone and the culprit was still over. Was kind of relieved when she said that it was “ours”. That means it’s really hers but I have to pay for it.

It’s at 20,000km and So far so good, transmission has the usual crap but nothing too bad. Ford dealers are always awesome to deal with and ford are fantastic at policing their rogue dealers. Like the one in Melton that was less than average at best.

Missus has been unable to drive lately so I’ve been leaving my car at home and driving “ours” to the depot. Ride position is nice, features are nice stereo is nice. It’s just nice all round. I Can’t complain about anything yet. The boot space is small and the rear swing door is a pain in the backside when you are in reverse only car parks. If you are shopping for a family of 8 or have to carry a heap of tools it may be an issue, otherwise it’s fine.

It’s not a top of the line luxury car however it’s not priced as one. After driving around in trucks all day it sure does feel like one though.

Purchased in March 2018 at Ford Dealers.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtNew
Year2018
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort

Concerns of feeling movement under excelarator area.

Only 4 days old unknown movement felt when steering the car underneath the excelarator does anyone know why this is in the EcoSport BL suv model 2018. Really feeling unsure about the suv now. Has anyone had this happen in there new suv and if so do you know why?

BadgeTrend
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedDec 2018

good car

Good car bought from Ford Morley,Giving me 13 to 14 kms per litre so good on mileage Very good view when driving Very good pickup Only thing i don’t like front light doesn’t not have automatic sensor. As all other cars do have this facility in these days. I bought from morley The salesman was very helpful to choose car

BadgeTrend
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedAug 2018

Good Car but don't expect much

Had this car for a year now and our first family car.

Pros - good car handling, good engine response (sometimes) when engine is hot, fuel economy (spends $200 per month, everyday driving to work Liverpool to Camden), good boot space, auto head light, rear sensor and auto wiper.

Cons - Agree with others that the engine and gear box are sluggish (which I highlighted don't expect much), after 6 months interior starts to rattle when going to rough road, engine shakes when pressing accelerator from slowing down, slow or sluggish on the get go (after full stop), and no satnav/gps for titanium range.

Overall we are still happy with the performance as a family car, but don't expect it to run like a performance car as you will be disappointed. The 1.5 petrol engine do helps a lot in when i comes to fuel economy as we are just spending slightly over $50 a week driving from home to work.

BadgeTitanium
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedJun 2017

Good for the month I've had it

Pro's... I like being treated like a princess! And the Ecosport SES does just that with its heated steering wheel, mirrors, seats, and wipers. I also love the controls being right at your finger tips along with that 8" screen and all it's options.
I also like how the steering feels (sporty).
I feel very safe in it. And with the automatic off when you're stopped I feel it's very economical.
My biggest 2 disappointments ... 1)SQUEAKS, RATTLES, and CREAKING noises. Along with the fact that the Ford dealer had my car for 2hrs one day and 10 hrs another day and can't fix the problem.
2) after the car has been washed and you think it's clean, you go to unroll the window and roll it back up only to find vertical streaks with dirt on the inside of the window. Which again the Ford dealer said they cannot fix. The answer they gave me was that they ran a car just like mine, brand new through the wash and it did the same exact thing on that car...very frustrating:(

Badge28,000
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedMar 2018

Worst car ever!

I bought the ex-demo model and if it wasn't still under ford's warranty i would have to spend thousands fixing the issues. I can't believe Ford has designed such a bad car. The interior is cheap and nasty, engine is sluggish. car has been to the dealer 4 times to fix clutch and gear issues (very common on ecosport). would never buy a Ford again (mustang excluded).

BadgeTrend
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedJan 2016

Worst car!

Had issues with this car from day one. Have taken it in for repairs on numerous occasions with no apparent long-term solution to the ongoing issue. Unfortunately the car is part of the recalled vehicles, but there is nothing Ford has been able to us offer to fix the issues.

BadgeTitanium
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedApr 2015

Good not Great

Handles well and easy to drive, but struggles up any incline. Front is comfy, but not very much space in the back especially with a baby seat. When the silver plastic of the dash catches the sun it's absolutely blinding. I like this car in general but like everything it has areas to improve. However, for the price I can't really complain at all!

BadgeAmbiente
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedNov 2017

Great small car

As a Small SUV it feels very spacious on the inside. A tank of petrol goes really far and I haven't experienced any problems with reliability of the vehicle. I really like the Bluetooth and the added feature where the vehicle calls emergency services if you don't respond to prompts due to being injured. The car has a very slight delay in acceleration compared to an all wheel drive.

BadgeTrend
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedJan 2016

Great car. Love it

We are driving our 2014 1.5l auto titanium ecosport for last one year. It's an excellent city compact suv. Not so powerful suv. In fact you will get what you will pay. But still we are loving it. Driving experience is good, boot is spacious, leg room is reasonable. So far not a single problem at. We drove more than 10,000 kilos within one year.

BadgeTitanium
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedMay 2016

the car so far is great but its only 2 years old

the car does tend to shudder at a low speed ,the interior on the passenger side no hand rail or nothing to hold onto,leg room plenty, running cost is great so low on petrol and costs.easy parking with the short front ,the bleeting noises that the car makes when something is near people and cars any object

BadgeTrend
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedApr 2015

Extremely underrated vehicle.

I absolutely love this car. It is roomier than a standard sedan but not a large car in its external dimensions like many similar models. The manual Titanium model has an award-winning engine and drives smoothly, is gutsy and economical. The driver seat has excellent visibility all around the car, without the big columns in the back that other compact SUVs often have. Works well with my Iphone. Has a good high ground clearance. Be aware - the auto is a totally different driving experience, so there's no comparison. Extras like the leather seats and push-button start are a nice touch. Only needed one repair and Ford agreed to pay for it even though my warranty had ended.
My only quibble is that the stereo and dash display are old-fashioned and basic compared to the colour screens available in other cars. However, the driving experience makes up for that. Ford have also been excellent to deal with.
Check out the critics' reviews for the MANUAL Titanium that started to come out about a year after the Australian release - they acknowledge it is a good performer.

BadgeTitanium
TransmissionManual
Date PurchasedFeb 2014

If you want a SUV then don't buy this car

It is classified as a SUV car for the people that like to pay less for a SUV but it is not 4WD and is actually 2WD in the dimensions of SUV. Anyway when sitting on the driver sit you will have a good feeling of being above sedan cars and obviously better view of front road.
The Automatic transmission model is not actually auto. It is manual that with the trick of software and some extra staff is working as auto. It has clutch but not same as all manual cars, it is hidden and is internal but the concept is same as manual so the software will command a pump or something similar to push the clutch and disk engaged and gear changed and this is where the problem starts. This system did not work good and customers had to return the car for changing the clutch.
Other problems is that the startup torque and pickup is slow and it takes time to get speed, if it is on a upward road or/and the air condition system is on then you will have a worse condition and the engine cannot move the car body quickly and you need to learn to be very patient when driving this car. The good point about this car is that looks good inside and out and for Trend model that I own you can get plenty information on display at the top of what any normal car shows that the most important ones are petrol consumption per 100 km, and the distance that you can travel with the petrol left in your tank.
Sync system is also a good thing same as Siri in apple iphone and ipad that assist you choose your audio source by speaking and without touching any push button, also the air condition system works well in Australian hot summer but still the problem of power and speed is the big issue that if I knew I never bought this car.
This car has 2 size motor 1.0 L petrol that coming only in manual transmission and 1.6 L petrol that has both manual and auto versions but good to know that 1.0 l model gives you more power.

BadgeTrend
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedDec 2016

Worst experience

I bought this car brand new and it has always given me trouble. The rattle noise came after few days of driving it and ford tried to help but got tired of the problem and after few efforts of trying to fix it, they didn't bother. So disappointing and ford metro has the worst customer service.

BadgeTitanium
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedJun 2014

Regrated buying Ford Ecosport

Performance wise okay. Interior finishing not really good, too congested space wise. Recalled twice. Once for Air bag. second for ABS. After these recall again an ABS malfunction came on the vehicle which cause my vehicle almost towed away, lucky road side assistant got it fixed after 2 hours of investigation. Took to Ford dealer to make sure everything okay. They change the alternator.Now Again seat belt indicator is not working and have booked my car with ford dealer to look at it. I suggest not to buy this car as when ever I am driving I worry if it break down again. I bought the brand new car to have peace of mind when I am driving but in this case it's completely opposite.

BadgeTitanium
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedFeb 2015

Nice and reliable, but gutless

Like most modern Fords it drives and handles pretty well, and certainly gets decent fuel economy. I personally dislike the way these cars are allowed to swap the column controls - indicators on the left of the wheel, etc - but thats a minor problem.
The largest problem with this car is that it's too heavy and under-powered. It's a slug, and I normally regard power as a low priority in a car. It seems Ford were determined to puff up this little thing into a high-riding sport chariot, and add more feature weight, but forgot you need more power to push it all. With a little Ford engine that has a very narrow power band you'll find you have to rev it pretty hard to get enough power to take off, so most of the time you spin the wheels. It accelerates slowly and swings around corners due to the high centre of gravity (though the suspension does a fairly good job of compensating this).
Sure, the interior is plastic - I don't mind this as it's durable and easy to clean. And it's well laid out, so I can control the air and temperature easily.
The euro-style dash controls for music/phone/etc is still a mess, with too many buttons and some silly arrangement of functions, like they still have a dedicated button for CD (which has to be just about obsolete) and this confusing sharing of USB and smartphone connection via an "AUX" input - like it's been tacked on to a 1990's design. It's got the typical SYNC controls which duplicate most functions using voice, but also typical in the modern european designed Fords it's nowhere near as reliable as the version used in previous Australian designs.
Hate the fact you cant fold seats right down or remove headrests; stops you packing much cargo in these. So it seems they're just designed for people to go to the beach..
I'd buy the Festiva - essentially the same car but lower and lighter and much more fun to drive.

BadgeTrend
TransmissionManual
Date PurchasedMay 2016

Mostly good, occasionally annoying, but reliable and efficient

The good: the high driving position, fuel economy (my long term average after 100,000 KM is 5.8L/100KM), reliability (I've had no issues), and performance (contrary to another review here, mine is always responsive and drives very nicely).
The bad: the interior is all hard plastics, has developed several annoying (but minor) rattles in the dashboard, the tail-gate opens the wrong way (only really an issue if you're parallel-parked), the "SYNC" sound-system is pretty awful (advertises iPhone compatibility, but every time I plug in the usb it issues a verbal warning about having too many tracks for certain features to work - you can't turn this warning off, and it happens even if the auxiliary input is not active, so it regularly interrupts the radio news), and it is not exactly pretty (if that bothers you at all).

Summary: It's like a high-riding Fiesta, but that's a good thing. It's been reliable and economical for me, though niggling interior issues make me wonder about the build quality. Mechanically though its been great, and I can even verify Ford's claims about a 550mm wading depth - scary, but it came through.

BadgeTrend
TransmissionManual

Looks great performance is terrible

I was so excited to finally be able to buy a brand new car. The ecosport looks great however the engine and General performance has been terrible. It has had to go back to the dealer numerous times and still more issues arise. It shudders whenever you accelerate and then sometimes won't atarr when you turn the key. Ford seemed willing to fix it but I don't have the time to keep taking my brand new car back to the dealer. That's not what I expected when I bought a brand new car. Very very upsetting and ruined the experience.

TransmissionAuto

Questions & Answers

Would u buy this again?
3 answers
No NeverNever ever again.Very unlikely.. like I said the Fiesta is much better value (I'm driving one at the moment.. and love it)

What badge Brooke, Ambiente, Trend or Titanium?
1 answer
It's a Trend.

What year was this car and was it automatic? I was thinking about looking at buying one so that is why I am asking this.
1 answer
Hi Lynne it is a 2014 automatic.

Details

Ford EcoSport BL Ambiente (2017-2019)Ford EcoSport BL Trend (2017-2019)Ford EcoSport BL Titanium (2017-2019)Ford EcoSport BK (2012-2017)
CategorySmall / Compact SUVsSmall / Compact SUVsSmall / Compact SUVsSmall / Compact SUVs
Starting Price $22,790$24,490$28,990
TransmissionAutomaticAutomaticAutomatic
Drive TypeFront Wheel Drive (FWD)Front Wheel Drive (FWD)Front Wheel Drive (FWD)
Fuel TypePetrolPetrolPetrol
Wheels16" Alloy16" Alloy17" Alloy
Doors555
Seats555
Fuel Consumption6.9 L/100km6.7 L/100km6.7 L/100km
Fuel Tank Capacity 52 L52 L52 L
Engine3 Cylinder 1.5L3 Cylinder 1.0L3 Cylinder 1.0L
Max Power90kW @ 6500rpm92kW @ 6000rpm92kW @ 6000rpm
Max Torque150Nm @ 4500rpm170Nm @ 1500-4500rpm170Nm @ 1500-4500rpm
Country of ManufactureIndiaIndiaIndia
Safety Features
  • ABS (Antilock Braking System)
  • AEB (Auto Emergency Braking)
  • ESC (Electronic Stability Control)
  • ISO-fix Compatible
  • Reversing Camera
  • Seat Belt Reminders
  • Traction Control
  • ABS (Antilock Braking System)
  • AEB (Auto Emergency Braking)
  • ESC (Electronic Stability Control)
  • ISO-fix Compatible
  • Reversing Camera
  • Seat Belt Reminders
  • Traction Control
  • ABS (Antilock Braking System)
  • AEB (Auto Emergency Braking)
  • Blindspot Warning System
  • ESC (Electronic Stability Control)
  • ISO-fix Compatible
  • Reversing Camera
  • Seat Belt Reminders
  • Traction Control
Extra Features
  • Android Auto / Apple Carplay
  • Bluetooth Connectivity
  • Immobilizer
  • USB Port
  • Voice Control
  • Android Auto / Apple Carplay
  • Bluetooth Connectivity
  • Built-In Navigation System
  • Immobilizer
  • USB Port
  • Voice Control
  • Android Auto / Apple Carplay
  • Automatic Wipers
  • Bluetooth Connectivity
  • Built-In Navigation System
  • Immobilizer
  • Keyless Entry
  • Sunroof
  • USB Port
  • Voice Control
Maximum Towing Capacity (braked)900 kg900 kg900 kg
Maximum Towing Capacity (unbraked)750 kg750 kg750 kg
Manufacturer Warranty3 year(s)3 year(s)3 year(s)
Release dateJan 2017Jan 2017Jan 2017Jan 2012
Discontinuation dateDec 2017

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.