?
? !
4 photos
Ford Focus LS

Ford Focus LS (2005-2007)

3.7 from 15 reviews · View Statistics

Reviews

  • Build Quality
    3.3 (3)
  • Value for Money
    3.3 (3)
  • Cleaning & Maintenance
    4.3 (3)
  • Noise Level
    3.7 (3)
  • Braking
    4.3 (3)
  • Acceleration / Power
    4.7 (3)
  • Gear Shifting
    4.7 (3)
  • Suspension
    4.7 (3)
  • Fuel Efficiency
    4.3 (3)
  • Handling
    4.7 (3)
  • Interior Design
    4.0 (3)
  • Boot Size
    3.3 (3)
  • Comfort
    4.3 (3)
  • Features
    3.0 (2)
Previous
Next
Michael

MichaelPerth, WA

  • 3 reviews
  • 1 like

Good enough that I traded it in for another Focus

published

Purchased for $17,000.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
See all answers
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Ben Ash

Ben AshHunter Region, NSW

  • 8 reviews

2009 Ford Focus sedan -Ford Australia uninterested

published

Purchased in September 2017 at Private for $5,400.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
See all answers
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Benzev

BenzevWhangarei

  • 4 reviews
  • 14 likes

Pleasantly surprised!

published

Purchased in April 2019 for $2,000.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
See all answers
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Hatchbacks

Find out how Ford Focus LS compares to other Hatchbacks

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Hayden

HaydenMelbourne

  • 5 reviews
  • 5 likes

Engine Light

published

I purchased a second hand 2005 Ford Focus for my wife as a learning purpose. I purchased it from a car yard dealer. It was in good condition although it was a 12 years old car. After I purchased, in the second week, transmission light was on and off. I spend a few hundred to fix it. A few months later, the engine light was on. I spend another few hundreds to fix that too. However, the car itself works well. Just the computer things got issues. Hopefully, just my bad luck to purchase such an issued car. I already get rid of it at a low price.

BodySedan
BadgeCL
Engine Size2.0
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedNov 2017
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Crystal WILD

Crystal WILD

  • 4 reviews

GREAT CAR

published

I brought my ford focus in 2007 brand new it was sitting on the lot but yes at the time I was looking at another car at that time I was looking at a Holden at the time cause I am a big holden fan I found the ford focus sitting on the lot and it just caught my eye. and friend of mine owned one of the previous models and yes I fell in love so I wen't to the car dealer to start the process by it end of the day I had the finance and started signing the contract I love my ford focus since having my car I have started spending money on it buy buying new alloy's beefing up the suspension tinting the windows and a lot more but no I would not update to the current model as the boot is smaller as well as the engine.

BodyHatch
BadgeCL
Engine Size2.0
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedSept 2007
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Angela L

Angela LAU

  • 4 reviews

User friendly

published

We've had this car for a few years now. It's reliable and is easy to manoeuvre. The boot is surprisingly very spacious for a hatchback. We've looked at other cars and none of them have boots as spacious as the focus. Drives very smoothly too. We're planning to buy a newer version of the focus soon.

BodyConvertible
BadgeCL
Engine Size2.0
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedNov 2013
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Sean

SeanCanberra

  • 8 reviews

Average car with various annoyances

published

I owned this car after buying it second hand. The aux port was inside the glove box for some strange reason which was not only impractical but difficult to plug in. The side skirting was cheap and easily came loose. Apart from that the fuel mileage was good but the suspension could have been better.

BodySedan
BadgeLX
Engine Size2.0
TransmissionManual
Date PurchasedFeb 2011
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Dazza

DazzaNewcastle NSW

  • 6 reviews
  • 3 likes

Nice car, handles & drives well

published
BodyHatch
BadgeRS
Engine Size2.0
TransmissionManual
Date PurchasedSept 2008
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Rug61

Rug61Melbourne

  • 6 reviews

Ford Focus. Sporty and efficient.

published

The Ford Focus is a really fuel efficient car that has the best of both worlds. It is an amazing first car for a learner driver. It has a strong engine with a strong Ford backing behind it. The costs are low for fuel and the benefits are endless. It is really cheap on tyre's as well. The design is sleek and modern, the shifting between gears is smooth and it is a really quiet car with multiple benefits.

BodyHatch
BadgeZetec
Engine Size1.8
TransmissionManual
Date PurchasedMay 2017
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Hatchbacks

Find out how Ford Focus LS compares to other Hatchbacks

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Bittersweet

BittersweetGold Coast

  • 5 reviews
  • 1 like

Pleasantly suprised. Economical. Hardy & cheap to repair

published

Suprisingly tough car, economical on fuel, minimal issues & all able to be repaired quite promptly & financially competitive. Feels safe & perfect for a family car. Quite spacious interior & generous boot. Obviously works better with 6 monthly services or starts to guzzle fuel & try & steer clear of white. They tried to think of all convenient extra functions

BodySedan
BadgeTDCi
Engine Size1.8
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedAug 2016
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
mazstar1980

mazstar1980Perth, WA

  • 20 reviews
  • 30 likes

One of the best cars I've owned

published
BodyHatch
BadgeXR5 Turbo
TransmissionManual
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Brian

BrianChristchurch

  • 5 reviews
  • 2 likes

Nice car, but........

published

I had a 2007 Ford Focus 2ltr tiptronic for 3 years. Lovely car, easy to drive, parking a breeze, comfortable, plenty of punch......but the constant road noise/rumble was awful for a car of that age. I changed the tyres, and front shock absorbers, but to no avail. Two people I work with also had the same make/model and year, and had the same issue. Investigation showed that the sound-proofing was woefully inadequate and for me to rectify this would have cost around the $NZ2000 mark, so I sold the car which was a shame considering all the other positives about it. Here's hoping they addressed this problem with later models.

BodyHatch
BadgeZetec
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Happy Owner

Happy OwnerHobart

  • 3 reviews
  • 2 likes

Terrible road noise

published

I owned a 2006 LS Ford Focus LX sedan for 2 years.I sold the car because of the road noise.It had very uncomfortable seats, the build quality was terrible.Front wheel bearings failed at 125000 ks.Fuel economy was good for an auto.Shocking car on a long trip,space saver spare was useless.Best thing about it was the stereo.By far the worst Ford i have ever owned.Drive a Corolla or Mazda 3 before you think about a Focus,mine was a dud

Engine Size2 litre petrol
TransmissionAutomatic
BadgeLX
BodySedan
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
JH999

JH999Greater Melbourne (Metropolitan), VIC

  • 6 reviews
  • 2 likes

Wonderful hot hatch

published

Having owned 3 new XR8 Falcons and numerous other European "luxury" cars, the Focus delivers a level of quality, power and refinement I'd expect to find only in far more exotic vehicles. The wonderfully tourquey engine combines with the slick six speed gearbox to provide an easy and relaxed drive during the daily commute, and plenty of surprises for other "hot" hatches when the need arises. Ford has done wonders with the exhaust and it produces a fantastic sound inside and out of the car when the pedal is pushed.
Focus XR5 Turbo: Awesome vehicle! Smooth, powerful, deceptively fast, excellent handling, and brilliant value for money.
Nothing yet!

BodyHatch
BadgeXR5 Turbo
Engine Size2.5 litre 5 cylinder turbo
TransmissionManual
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Miss e

Miss eGold coast, QLD

  • 53 reviews
  • 22 likes

7 years on and still going strong

published
BodyHatch
BadgeCL
Engine Size2.0l
TransmissionManual
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Hatchbacks

Find out how Ford Focus LS compares to other Hatchbacks

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
See all Ford Focus reviews

Questions & Answers

James S.

James S.asked

Focus LS (2005-2007)

Does this model have a timing chain or a timing belt

1 answer
Berty
Berty

timing Chain

amelia

ameliaasked

Focus LS (2005-2007)

Given all the issues with the 2009-onwards focus cars, would you say that buying a 2006 Ford Focus LX LS auto is a massive risk and not worth it??

3 answers
Geoff19
Geoff19

The 2006 ford focus offers a 2L engine bolted to a 4speed automatic torque converter transmission, they are a strong reliable car, they offer a decent amount of room for a car in this class and have fairly cheap service intervals.

So what I'm trying to say is ford had a good thing going with there focus range but once they introduced the dual clutch automatic system it went down hill there LW range is only really good if your looking at purchasing a manual.

Mark
Mark

Assuming you are looking at a LS Focus with automatic transmission, this model was fitted with a proven low tech 4 speed automatic box. As with any vehicle over 10 years old a full mechanical check is worth considering. Check the paint work ( especially silver ) this can be the models weak point. If possible try and find a 2006 / 2007 build.

Trudy M.
Trudy M.

Any Ford Focus is a risk i woukd say

Tammy

Tammyasked

Focus LS (2005-2007)

What km’s is the major services for the Ford Focus 2006 CL LS Manual?

No answers
See all Ford Focus LS (2005-2007) questions

Get an answer from our members

Ford Focus LS (2005-2007)

Details

Compare all 20 Ford Focus
CategoryCars, Hatchbacks and Sedans
Starting Price $20,990
TransmissionAutomatic and Manual
Drive TypeFront Wheel Drive (FWD)
Fuel TypePetrol
Wheels15" Steel
ANCAP Safety Rating4 Stars
Fuel Consumption7.1 L/100km
Fuel Tank Capacity 55 L
Engine4 Cylinder 2L
Max Power107kW @ 6000rpm
Max Torque185Nm @ 4500rpm
Country of ManufactureSouth Africa
Manufacturer Warranty3 year(s)
Release dateJan 2005
Discontinuation dateDec 2007
Compare all 20 Ford Focus

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.