??!
27 photos
Ford Mustang

Ford Mustang

FM, FN
4.8 from 24 reviews

See the Best Sports Cars in 2019 as rated by Australians on ProductReview.com.au.

Reviews

Review distribution

5 star
19
4 star
5
3 star
0
2 star
0
1 star
0

Gurpreet Singh

Gurpreet SinghSydney, NSW

Mustang IS Muscle

published

I use the car for leisure as well as going to work. It is such a pleasure to drive.
I bought this from Cumberland ford blacktown. Very friendly staff.
The only thing which bothers me is the wiper.. When cleaning the windshield manually and lifting the wiper it scratches the hood. I think this a design flaw and Ford should take care of it.

Purchased in April 2018 at Cumberland Ford - Blacktown for $53,000.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtNew
Year2017
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers

Amanda Ng

Amanda Ng

  • 13 reviews
  • 2 likes

Definitely a Head Turner

published
BadgeGT Convertible
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedApr 2017
Ads L

Ads LBrisbane

  • 7 reviews
  • 5 likes

Nothing puts a smile on your face like this car!

published

This thing is just so much fun. Got the GT (v8) manual and it puts a silly grin on my face every time I drive it.

Unlike 99% of the bland econoboxes and pretend suv's dotting our streets this thing has personality. Is it loud? Yup, and it doesn't care. Obviously it's fast, but any car can be fast, it's more about the sounds, the attitude, the feel.

It is the most refined exquisitely engineered car in the world? Nope, and when you drive it you won't care a bit - it's a traditional American muscle car, and proud of it.

BadgeGT Fastback
TransmissionManual
Date PurchasedDec 2016
Allie Nix

Allie NixSmithfield

  • 4 reviews
  • 1 like

Perfect sports car drives supa fast

published

Bought this off a mate for half the cost of new. Handles very well on highways but won't take it out if it's raining so I don't damage the paint. Turning is good and parts are easy to find online. Had a faulty headlight plug but was easy to fix myself cut and connect a new one

TransmissionManual
Date PurchasedFeb 2016

Dean

Dean

  • 4 reviews

Lots of fun

published

I bought the GT manual mustang bout 8 months ago. It's a great car, and lot's of fun. I have two children, and they both fit in the back quite easily. My sister has a toyota 86 and my children would have no chance of fitting into the back of that.

BadgeGT Fastback
TransmissionManual
Date PurchasedSep 2017

Blathudda

BlathuddaSydney

  • 8 reviews
  • 6 likes

Instant classic. Tickford modified.

published
BadgeGT Fastback
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedApr 2018

Yas

Yas

  • 5 reviews
  • 4 likes

Awesome car - Don't worry about silly ANCAP rating!

published

Had my Mustang for 12 months now and still get the same thrill of driving it as I did when leaving the dealership. I noticed much improved fuel efficiency and performance from 3,000kms - after the engine had run in properly. Had the scheduled service and nil issues since purchase. Do yourself a favour and live out the dream - Buy a Mustang!

BadgeGT Fastback
TransmissionManual
Date PurchasedMay 2017

Dave English

Dave EnglishBray park

  • 4 reviews

If you don't enjoy driving one of these....ya not alive!

published

Awesome.... awesome and awesome..... the yanks know how to make a V8 and the 6speed works In with the well tuned coyote.....

Build quality is ok at best....

Is great value for how much car you get...

Aftermarket parts are expensive but I still buy em...

Our oz mustang has had quite a few things taken out compared to the US version

TransmissionManual
Date PurchasedJun 2016
Niko T

Niko TGreater Melbourne (Inner), VIC

  • 25 reviews
  • 17 likes

Absolutely love my GT, but it isn't perfect

published
BadgeGT Fastback
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedApr 2018
1 comment
Niko T
Niko T

No regrets here

published
BadgeGT Fastback
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedJul 2017

Jane S

Jane SAU

  • 9 reviews
  • 9 likes

The most fun you can have in a car!

published

How do you describe a mustang? Exhilarating, fun, adrenaline, ?? yes all of the above, this car is simply the most fun you can have in a car, it drives like a dream, has enough power to shoot you to the moon, and gets the most stares from the people walking by than any car on the road. The cockpit.. I mean drivers seats feels like an aircraft, and simply looks divine, all the little touches make the interior look like its from a car costing twice as much. If you can afford it, don't care about having anymore than one passenger then go get one !

Even the 4CL turbo kicks ! Handles better and uses less fuel !

TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedJul 2017

san

sanflemington

  • 5 reviews
  • 1 like

Dream car

published
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedSep 2016

Andrew H

Andrew HMelbourne

  • 5 reviews
  • 3 likes

Amazing car and a lot of fun

published
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedOct 2017

Riley

Riley

  • 6 reviews

Good car

published

We have not had this car for long although it's a good car and my parents have fun driving it.. its good quality and I feel safe to be in the car
The overall ride is pretty smooth
Its a great car I love most ford brands and especially this specific car

TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedOct 2017
Orvis

OrvisSydney

  • 20 reviews
  • 17 likes

Try wiping the smile off your face

published
BadgeGT Fastback
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedDec 2017
Pren

PrenGold Coast

  • 5 reviews

Miles of Smiles.

published

The car is absolutely amazing to drive. It is a high performance vehicle with great handling abilities. The start up noise together with the exhaust sound is perfect. It has great features. The cabin is comfortable and it feels like you are in an Aircraft. If you are worried about the fuel, by a Prius. The power is enormous. It is value for money!!!

BadgeGT Fastback
TransmissionManual
Date PurchasedJun 2017

B2B

B2BPerth

  • 11 reviews
  • 11 likes

Best Car I Have Owned

published

It's a great car I love driving it. It's extremely fun and every time I walk to get in it puts a smile on my face.
Yes it's thirsty
Yes it's chunky
It doesn't have million driving assist gadgets
And it won't park itself
But it's a dream V8 with a beautiful sound I love it!

BadgeGT Fastback
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedJun 2017

_shane

_shaneGreater Melbourne (Inner), VIC

  • 17 reviews
  • 16 likes

Has the Presence

published
BadgeGT Fastback
TransmissionManual
Date PurchasedJan 2017

Bavin

BavinPerth

  • 6 reviews
  • 6 likes

Dream come true

published

This car is absolutely a bullet. I owned this as 62nd order in Australia. 2016 version. I love this beast and also amount of power it has, just simply pure. I have recommended few other friends and insisted to purchase this ride as well. And they have.

Next dream would be to grab a latest Shelby GT500. And would be a great experience.

TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedAug 2016

Jimmy

Jimmybrisbane

  • 4 reviews
  • 1 like

Mustang is happiness

published

We purchased the 4 cylinder version, leading up to the release of the car, we have been a little unsure of the some of the things being said on the internet about this car, in particular the lack of noise and interior cabin quality. When we finally got our car, we were overwhelmed, all our concerns turned into joy. Every time we ride in the car, it bring a huge smile to our face. The styling is just amazing, like a work of art. Interior is all leather, although there are still plastic pieces here and there, but they have been cleverly positioned, wherever you touch there won't be much plastic. For a 4 cylinder, it sounds GREAT, it sounds like a WRX. It drives very very quick as well.

BadgeEcoBosot Fastback
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedAug 2016

Page 1 of 2

Questions & Answers

nimesh

nimeshasked

Any reason why they don't make a manual in the convertible for the Oz market?

2 answers
Amanda Ng
Amanda Ng

they do... it's cheaper than the auto.. although the auto has like a tip-tronic function .. basically you can switch to manual mode

nimesh
nimesh

I just went to the Ford website and the only option for the convertible is the 10 speed auto. Only the Fastback has the 6 speed manual.


Paladin

Paladinasked

To any Mustang owner who changed tyres. Do you have to do it at the dealer to reset tpms? Or do Tyre shop do it? My tyres are soon due for a change and would like to hear insights?

1 answer
Amanda Ng
Amanda Ng

No you don't have to. You can adjust the pressure in the system manually.


Andy

Andyasked

Did any of the owners who left comments worry about not having a full-sized spare ? All my larger cars over the years have and I would consider that essential when buying.

4 answers
Paladin
Paladin

I have a space saver 18" spare with my Ecoboost Mustang. Even then I would not use it if I get a flat around urban areas. I will call roadside assist of which I have it for free for 7 years with unlimited call outs (comes quite often on offer when Ford does offers in conjunction with RACV). Better putting back a stock tyre than risk ruining the limited slip diff the car is equipped with. Reason I have the space saver (or if you buy a GT get a full size one) is in the unlikely event of breaking down in the bush (who takes a mustang to the bush really?!) I would put space saver one and slowly wheel it to nearest tyre shop.

Blathudda
Blathudda

Hi Andy, I do worry, a bit, but then the car from new comes with Roadside assist that is supposed to get you home if you get a flat. You also get a compressor and a bottle of tyre goo that is supposed to fix a flat.
I have many other cars and I can say I have changed a tyre on the side of the road only once in my 30 years of driving. Sure I have had tyres replaced at the tyre shops due to slow leaks or tears. If the Pony is to be a daily driver and this is still a problem there are Australian companies that have spare manufactured for exactly this and it fits neatly in the hole in the boot. I would have preferred a bigger fuel tank to go with the deleted spare.

Lizzy
Lizzy

It does come with the can of goo and a compressor, but we chose to buy the Aussie made spare wheel kit. Fits into wheel well OK, comes with the factory jack kit.
So far haven't needed it. At least there is the peace of mind it's there if needed.


Get an answer from our members and Ford representatives

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.