??!
4 photos
ALDI Ferrex / Gardenline 53cc Chainsaw (Mar 2018, Mar 2019, Mar 2020)

ALDI Ferrex / Gardenline 53cc Chainsaw (Mar 2018, Mar 2019, Mar 2020)

3.1 from 9 reviews

Reviews

3.1

9 reviews
5
(2)
4
(3)
3
(1)
2
(0)
1
(3)
  • Build Quality
    2.3 (3)
  • Value for Money
    3.3 (3)
  • Ease of Use
    3.0 (3)
  • Cleaning & Maintenance
    2.0 (2)
  • Safety
    3.0 (1)
Previous
Next

cheap and does the job

published

the chain lube is way too much from factory but you can just adjust the screw so less comes out. really powerful and in my experience starts within 3 pulls

Purchased in March 2020 for A$149.00.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Value for Money

Gutsy unit .....so far so good

published

Purchased in March 2019 at Aldi Carnegie for A$150.00.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Safety
Value for Money
See all answers

Wow - how dodgy

published

fuel priming problem - The priming pump seems to pressurise the fuel tank no problem but absolutely no fuel to the carby. And the chain lube leaks oil everywhere! Cant get a service shop to even look at it.

Purchased in December 2017 at ALDI.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Value for Money
See all answers
Petrol Chainsaws

Find out how ALDI Ferrex / Gardenline 53cc Chainsaw (Mar 2018, Mar 2019, Mar 2020) compares to other Petrol Chainsaws

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Rocko Wallaby

Rocko WallabyGold Coast

  • 12 reviews
  • 41 likes

Useless product, and forget any warranty claim!

published
Date PurchasedApr 2018
Sandy

SandyThe Mallee, VIC

  • 2 reviews

Fabulous Buy

published
Date PurchasedMar 2018

Plenty of power starts easy

published

Gor my 53cc aldi chainsaw for $100... was on the clearance rack to start it i dont listen to the instructions i turn the ignition switch off give it 2 pulls with the choke on then turn ignition switch on with no choke & it starts easy although the bar is 16 inch ive been cutting hardwood logs up 20 inch thick wirh no problems the stated 2.2kw of power isnt to be laughed at anyway so far so good

Date PurchasedApr 2018
Sully62

Sully62

  • 2 reviews
  • 1 like

Chain will not tighten

published

Started my chainsaw up on Saturday no problem, eventually chain loosened, read the instructions how to tighten, unlocked it but the dial won't turn to tighten or to loosen, cane home very disappointed. Anyone any ideas ??? Struggled for ages trying to tighten it. Will have to buy firewood now. Wife not impress.

Date PurchasedFeb 2018
Greybeard

GreybeardUpper Coomera, Qld

  • 6 reviews
  • 5 likes

A great Chainsaw

published

Although I have only have had my ALDI Gardenline 53 cc Chainsaw for a few weeks I have found it to be a great piece of equipment, but must admit the spark plug connection is badly designed, while checking the spark plug gap the clip came off with the rubber boot, could be the problem why some don't start, a new clip fixed the problem.

Date PurchasedMar 2018
klr_rider1

klr_rider1Canberra

Aldi Gardenline 53cc Chainsaw

published

I bought this chainsaw for $A149. I tried unsuccessfully to start it for 4 days. I even changed the sparkplug. I also tried Start ya aerosol spray.The Manual contradicts itself on the starting procedure. The Manual does not provide information on options to replace the Chinese sparkplug, After 4 days, I returned it to Aldi and received a full refund. With my refund, I bought a Stihl Mini Boss MS 170 chainsaw which does start.

Date PurchasedMar 2018
Petrol Chainsaws

Find out how ALDI Ferrex / Gardenline 53cc Chainsaw (Mar 2018, Mar 2019, Mar 2020) compares to other Petrol Chainsaws

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
See all ALDI Petrol Chainsaw reviews

Questions & Answers

phil

philasked

1 answer
Vkoio4
Vkoio4

Use the adjustment wheel on the side where the bar and chain are. It's the big round blob hanging off the side with gradations around its edge. You first loosen it by sliding the central arm thingy out with your thumb. This makes an extended lever that acts as a built-in spanner, and you can rotate the arm counter-clockwise to loosen the chain bar enough to allow it to move - but not too much or the bar will come off. Then click the outer rim of the wheel around clockwise (it's on a ratchet, so it only turns clockwise unless you pull the little ratchet device out of the way). Turning the wheel clockwise will tighten the chain. Don't overdo it. You want a bit of slack in the chain. Once you have it adjusted right, tighten the built-in spanner arm again by rotating it clockwise, nice and tight, then slide the arm back into place.

Hans

Hansasked

Ferrex / Gardenline 53cc Chainsaw (Mar 2018, Mar 2019, Mar 2020)

Have fueled the chainsaw and followed the starting instructions. The engine won't kick over. Had a look in the book and checked the spark plug lead, reconnected and tried again, still no start, there is no indication of engine firing. What is the next step?

2 answers
Rowena
Rowena

Hi, my Dad has the exact same problem with his. We couldn't start it on the weekend and he called warranty service this morning - waiting for a call back I'll keep you posted.

Hans
Hans

I contacted support by phone the same day and got a reply, went through a few tests by phone and they advised to take it back and exchange. Did that and the new one sfarted ok.

Michae

Michaeasked

Ferrex / Gardenline 53cc Chainsaw (Mar 2018, Mar 2019, Mar 2020)

Can I buy parts for for hedge trimmer attachment for brush cutter

No answers

Get an answer from our members

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.