??!
2 photos
Garmin Vivosmart HR

Garmin Vivosmart HR

MPNs: 36506590, 36506591 and 36506592
3.6 from 73 reviews · View Statistics

How to find the best smart watch or fitness tracker

Choosing a new smartwatch can be both exciting and overwhelming - Read on for information to help point you in the right direction.

Read now

Reviews

  • Value for Money
    1.0 (2)
  • Build Quality
    1.0 (2)
  • Ease of Use
    3.5 (2)
  • Battery Life
    3.5 (2)
Previous
Next
mars0903

mars0903South-Eastern Region, NSW

  • 9 reviews
  • 3 likes

Watch Very Good- Band and construction Hopeless

published

As a watch it was very good. Data monitoring on a Smartwatch is great.
But the Band is definitely designed to make the watch useless.
Changing the band with the small screws is a nightmare.
After replacing the band a few times the screw holes get larger and eventually the body breaks so a band can't be fitted to the watch.
This should be a replace at no charge or moderate upgrade charge.
This product should never have made it to the market.

Value for Money
Build Quality
Ease of Use
Battery Life
Incentivised ReviewNo
See all answers

Problems with the Watch Band

published

This product was discontinued for a reason. The screws are too small so the band pulls away from the screws. The first time this happened Garmin offered a replacement free. The second time they refused. On closer examination, I noticed the area where the screw seats has chipped off so it is impossible to replace the band. It is very disappointing that Garmin will not offer some good will towards a replacement for this product. It does not speak well for their customer relations.

Purchased in September 2017 for A$200.00.

Value for Money
Build Quality
Ease of Use
Battery Life
Incentivised ReviewNo
See all answers
Chris carroll

Chris carrollCentral Highlands and Goldfields, VIC

2nd Replacement watch.

published

I am returning my 2nd garmin watch vivosmartHr because the band broke. I am disappointed with this product as it didnt even last for 2years. I needed to pay for upgrade 1st time due to lack of replacement of original model Vivosmart. I am one very unhappy customer. I have a relative who has just organised a replacement for same problem.

Purchased in December 2017.

Incentivised ReviewNo
Smart Watches / Fitness Trackers

Find out how Garmin Vivosmart HR compares to other Smart Watches / Fitness Trackers

Know better, choose better.

Compare all

Super disappointed

published

I love my Garmin but the band broke after 8 months and Garmin can't fix it. They can only offer me a refurbished replacement for $60 less than the price of a new watch! So I have a perfectly functioning watch that I'll have to throw away for the lack of a replaceable brand. Very poor sustainability, very poor design and very poor customer service Garmin.

Date PurchasedDec 2017

OK but not as great as its made out to be

published

At first I thought this was a great product, I have never owned any other tracking device so I have nothing to compare it against, so I believe what it tells me. However as time has gone on the info stored on my watch does not transfer onto the app - either not at all or it is very inaccurate with dates, times & activity.

Date PurchasedAug 2016
BJK

BJK

  • 6 reviews

Not great but not bad

published

Pros- long battery life
Accurate step counting

Cons: strap broke and difficult to replace
Heart rate monitor often innacurate
Stair counter rarely correct
Unable to change skin colour like you can with Fitbit
It often thought I was asleep when I was just sitting on the couch
I had to disable the reminder to move as it was distracting in meetings

Date PurchasedApr 2016
Mary	Falconer

Mary FalconerRedondo Beach

  • 4 reviews
  • 1 like

Good

published

I had a Fitbit previously and I gave up on it once the button console fell apart for a 2nd time. I decided to go with Garmin as I figured it would be better quality and tracking but I'm not convinced. It will only require charging after a week and i love how little notification pops up for me once synched with my smartphone.

Date PurchasedJan 2016
K.V.K

K.V.KFremantle

  • 7 reviews
  • 2 likes

This was my first foray to step counting

published

As i do not have anything else to compare with i took to the Vivosmart HR happily. After weeks playing with the HR monitor, i find it not as accurate as I'd like and turning it off saves a battery. It will only require charging after a week and i love how little notification pops up for me once synched with my smartphone.

Date PurchasedApr 2017
NicP

NicPPerth

  • 2 reviews
  • 1 like
  • Verified purchase

Not impressed

published
Date PurchasedNov 2017
Smart Watches / Fitness Trackers

Find out how Garmin Vivosmart HR compares to other Smart Watches / Fitness Trackers

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
HRM74

HRM74Tasmania, 7051

  • 16 reviews
  • 6 likes

Good entry level for step counting and heart rate

published
Date PurchasedMar 2017
Harlee

HarleeGreenbushes

  • 3 reviews

I love it

published

After I looked at alot of the smart watches around I decided on the garmin the guy at the shop said it was great and he was right I have enjoyed mine everyday, the battery is amazing lasts longer then expected and the functions are all good I like that I can track my sleep and know when i receive phone calls and messages.
All round wonderful product.

Date PurchasedJun 2017
Ann

Ann

  • 4 reviews
  • 11 likes

Do Not Buy Vivosmart HR - I am throwing mine in the bin after the band broke in less than 12 months

published

Not covered by warranty. I took it off to shower and swim, and yet it fell apart. Useless without the band and replacement is 60% of new price. I am spending my money on an Apple watch and throwing this in to the garbage. Even though the Garmin site says they offer call or online chat, you can't actually talk to anyone or even online chat in Australia because their site doesn't have the option and you just go around in circles wasting time. I would give this zero stars if that was possible - a company that actually holds their customers in contempt - good luck making that work in the long term.

Date PurchasedNov 2016
Bernie

BernieVic, 3184

  • 7 reviews
  • 6 likes
  • Verified purchase

Very Good but bulky

published

The Garmin Vivosmart HR+ whilst having many valuable features is somewhat bulky and unattractive. Very good GPS for tracking distance and pace as well as heart rate monitor which i found very useful. I receive notification of phone calls, text messages when i have achieved goals for the day such as steps, stairs climbed etc.

Date PurchasedJun 2017
Bec

BecAdelaide

  • 5 reviews
  • Verified purchase

Its okay

published

Purchased the garmin vivosmart hr after having a cheaper smartwatch. I found it very bulky and the back part digs into my skin. I was satisfied with the technology part it was not bad (doesnt pick up me riding on a stationery bike) the looks and bulkyness lets it down. I dont wear it anymore as it use to hurt my son when carrying him so if your looking for something slim dont purchase this.

Date PurchasedJun 2017
Simon m

Simon mAdelaide

  • 2 reviews

Good could be better

published

Not the prettiest accessory to be flaunting while running laps around the block. Big bulky design is very masculine for a danty wrist. The heart rate sensors on the bottom side do a great job at gripping onto your wrist. All the functions work as they should with apparent great accuracy.

Date PurchasedFeb 2017
Smart Watches / Fitness Trackers

Find out how Garmin Vivosmart HR compares to other Smart Watches / Fitness Trackers

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Jax

Jax

  • 7 reviews

Good watch

published

Good watch, handy that it counts your steps and km’s, and how many calories you’ve burnt in a day. Has a back light which makes it good at night but it isn’t always turned on which could be a slight downfall as you need to press the button and hold.

Date PurchasedDec 2016
Alex

Alex

  • 5 reviews
  • 3 likes

Love my Garmin!

published

I love my little Garmin which I got in purple! Seems pretty accurate with distance, has a decent battery life (up to 5 days, depending how much I use it!) and a good range of settings to go through (I.e steps, calories burnt etc.). Only down side is it's a little thick, so Rome ones have r to take collared shirts off. But I like that it's a little smaller than other ones!

Date PurchasedDec 2016
Desleigh Clarke

Desleigh ClarkeSouth East Queensland, QLD

  • 4 reviews

great little gadget

published

Love my new Garmin , it allows me to keep track of my steps and sleep patterns (or lack of sleep), very interesting info. I have an app on my phone that allows me to sync whenever I want and the actual device monitors sot just steps but heart rate, time, goal, so much I don't even know what some of it is!! I got it as a gift and love it to bits.

Date PurchasedAug 2017
1 comment
Desleigh Clarke
Desleigh Clarke

...and I just discovered that when it "dies" it only needs new batteries which are very long life so no recharging all the time required.

Nlventu

NlventuSydney Surrounds, NSW

  • 18 reviews
  • 14 likes

Loved it but band didn’t last long

published

I had this for just over 12 months before the band broke. I had already had part of the band break after a few months and got a replacement part fitted from a watch repairer. The band completely broke and I can’t buy genuine spare parts for it. Ended up getting an Apple Watch in the end. It did what it says it does and was ok but in the end. Does not last very long but what does these days.

Date PurchasedDec 2015
ssschen

ssschenPerth, WA

  • 2 reviews

Firmware upgrade bricks the device, and Garmin Support refuses to fix/replace it

published
Date PurchasedJul 2017
Page 1 of 4

Questions & Answers

Elsie W.

Elsie W.asked

Where to get the things you need to install to get this up and running please

No answers
Ken Plunkett

Ken Plunkettasked

can you work an app from a computor after install on phone

No answers
Lee

Leeasked

Are these waterproof?? So I can swim in it

No answers

Get an answer from our members

Details

CategorySmart Watches / Fitness Trackers
Price (RRP) A$189.00
ConnectivityBluetooth
Construction MaterialPlastic
Colour / FinishBlack
Display TechnologyLCD
Voice AssistantNone
SensorsHeart Rate Sensor
InterfaceButtons
LoudspeakerNo
WaterproofingSwim-proof
Battery Life5 days
Weight31.8 g
Manufacturer Warranty1 year(s)
ManualDownload manual

Visit official website
  • MPN: 36506590, 36506591 and 36506592
  • GTIN12: 753759150716, 753759150723 and 753759150730

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.