??!
2 photos
Gasmate Cruiser BBQ

Gasmate Cruiser BBQ

MPN: G2017
3.2 from 18 reviews

Gas BBQs Buying Guide

Our buying guide will explain which type of gas bbq would suit you most, how much you can expect to pay for one, and which features are worth looking out for.

Reviews

3.2

18 reviews
5
(3)
4
(6)
3
(3)
2
(3)
1
(3)
    Previous
    Next

    Its OK but the bolts rattled apart.

    published

    I keep it in the camping trailer and it literally rattled itself to bits after a year or so. It was getting shonky then one day it was falling apart. I checked the bolts and some had already gone, the rest weren't far off. Cheaply made and the plate is too thin, plus a lot of space is wasted under the plate. Light though.

    Date PurchasedApr 2016
    Karie

    KariePerth

    • 2 reviews

    Great little cooker

    published

    Had it for 3 years now....the regulator is stuck on high have contacted Gasmate for solution and hoping to hear back soon ..we use it in the caravan all the time ..really hope gasmate can let us know the outcome of our regulator appart from that no other problems ..for the price it’s a great performer think they stopped making them

    Date PurchasedJan 2015
    E Smart

    E SmartBaldivis

    • 7 reviews
    • 2 likes
    • Verified purchase

    Love it!

    published

    We absolutely love our Gasmate, it was recommended by friends and we couldn't be happier with it.
    We always take it camping & use it for majority of our meals. The weather isn't an issue with it due to the cover. We even have it set up out the back of our house since we don't have a BBQ and use it when cooking big breakfasts/meat for dinner.
    Best part is it is super easy to use & clean.

    Date PurchasedMay 2017
    Gas BBQs

    Find out how Gasmate Cruiser BBQ compares to other Gas BBQs

    Know better, choose better.

    Compare all
    Paloma

    PalomaKew

    • 4 reviews
    • 1 like

    Great on the road.

    published

    Nothing like enjoying a BBQ by the beach as the sun sinks in far north queensland. We took this all the way up[ the coast and enjoyed using it in so many places. Its cooks beautifully considering how light it is. - good on gas too - didn't get through a whole refill the entire trip.best to clean it directly after use so it doesn't smell in the van

    Date PurchasedAug 2017
    Toolio

    ToolioLilydale

    • 4 reviews
    • 2 likes

    Excellent travelling BBQ

    published

    I like the idea of this little barbie more than the reality of it. Its true that it packs ip neatifulland you can store in in the boot but the reality is you need to fully clean it too of you will be smeling chop grease all the way home. UIt cooks pretty well and is easy to set up and was reasonably cheap to buy. Would I buy the same ne again? Maybe, not definitely.

    Date PurchasedApr 2018
    Jimbo

    JimboPerth, WA

    • 49 reviews
    • 34 likes

    I like it

    published

    The BBQ is only used for camping and is OK for that. I run it on the large disposable cylinders. The fat system is not the best and the whole unit gets messy, so I carry some garbage bags to store it in when travelling. Plus paper towel to clean up. It gets Hot enough to cook a good steak and the non stick is working so far.

    Date PurchasedMar 2016
    emm

    emmAlbany

    gasmate cruiser bbq

    published

    Is a great bbq have cooked many things on it. Its very easy to clean and still looks like new. A little hard to boil water or cook in a pan on as not on direct heat. We take the flatplate off and use it with a custom mount i got made up something they should consider adding it.

    Date PurchasedNov 2016
    Hayley S

    Hayley SAU

    • 9 reviews
    • 2 likes

    Legs constantly come undone

    published

    Would love this product more if it was smaller in height because on short camping trips it takes up alot of room and makes me not want to take it away.
    On numerous occasions the legs "give way" and the food pretty much rolls off and if we arnt quick enough we will loose whatever we are cooking and when this happens the little box that collects the fat/oils also falls and spills everywhere.

    Date PurchasedDec 2016
    Yoshi

    YoshiAustralia, 6044

    • 6 reviews
    • 2 likes

    Should have read the reviews first

    published
    Date PurchasedOct 2017
    Gas BBQs

    Find out how Gasmate Cruiser BBQ compares to other Gas BBQs

    Know better, choose better.

    Compare all
    shamus

    shamusauckland

    • 9 reviews
    • 10 likes

    It was cheap

    published

    I bought this last year and it is still working, but the quality is awful. We had it in the car on a camping trip and it rattled so bad it drove us nuts. I wrapped its parts up in towels to stop the noise. The light alloy hot plate is about as hot as using a alloy frying pan, gas output BTU is way less than a normal BBQ, I think it's only about 8 BTU and a normal portable is around 14 to 15 BTU. The thing will collapse if the pins holding the legs are not just right, you need to check that every time you put it up. Why do I buy Cheap junk, I should know better by now.

    Date PurchasedDec 2016
    Glenn

    GlennSouth East Queensland, QLD

    • 2 reviews

    Good but spares hard to get.

    published

    The BBQ is great but the regulator/valve has failed unsafe, explosive situation if not careful.
    Trying to get a new valve/regulator and its like finding rocking horse sh$t. All from over seas and google flags up that the gasmate web site is unsafe!!!
    It's lasted a couple of years but would expect more from the components.

    Date PurchasedApr 2014
    Andrew

    AndrewSydney, NSW

    • 19 reviews
    • 12 likes

    Poor pin design

    published
    John C Albany

    John C Albany

    • 3 reviews
    • 4 likes

    Great BBQ until the regulator failed

    published

    The foldup concept is great and this is a neat little unit, even has a heating rack at the back. Cooks well and is ideal for camping. Unfortunately the regulator failed and it only runs on low, could be very expensive for a new one. Will now have to find a new regulator.

    SharonSpen

    SharonSpenPerth, WA

    • 2 reviews
    • 2 likes

    The pins are an issue when they pull out

    published

    Only took one pin to pop out to cause the BBQ to collapse. Poorly built and the non stick coating came away after two uses. Contacted Gasmate and got the run around. Took three returns to BCF to get refund/store credit. Great concept unfortunately the cheap build has wrecked it!

    Great

    published

    Works a treat cooks anything easy to set up and pack away has come a regular cooker at picnics and camping trips

    Gas BBQs

    Find out how Gasmate Cruiser BBQ compares to other Gas BBQs

    Know better, choose better.

    Compare all
    Bill

    BillTamworth

    Rubbish

    published

    Probably the worst BBQ i have used in 40 years, tinny and poorly built, the Non Stick coating came of the plate after 4 uses, the regulator failed after 14 months, contacted Gasmate $46 for replacement regulator, no way, threw it in the garbage and will never buy the Gasmate brand again.

    Eveything when the regulator fails you can only replace with genuine

    coli60simmons

    coli60simmonsPerth, WA

    • 3 reviews
    • 6 likes

    crap

    published

    First the lid hinges broke off.2nd the nonstick came off 3rd time i used it.3rd then it apparently moisture got into the regulator and stuffed that, got new one it did not work either.And finally the legs do not lock in properly and collapses when you less expect it.
    cheap and nasty heap of sit

    This is perfect! Can't live without it.

    published
    1 comment
    Alan Yule
    Alan Yule

    Best barbeque I've every owned and peformed equally as well as our home barbie. Used every night on camping trips.

    Questions & Answers

    Lara

    Laraasked

    We have changed the bottle connector to a push one so will go directly from caravan gas outlet but will gas does not come thru to light or run bbq there does not seem to be enough pressure any reason why??

    No answers
    Paul

    Paulasked

    Where can we get the regulator/controller for the cruiser bbq please?
    We are in Albany, WA

    2 answers
    Karie
    Karie

    Paul you need to contact gasmate in Melbourne direct they send via post...good luck

    Paul
    Paul

    Thanks Katie, all sorted

    Sandra

    Sandraasked

    Is there meant to be a gap between regulator and bbq, in gas valve?

    2 answers
    Bach N.
    Bach N.

    why is there no answers here ...I have the same question of the hole in the connection piece connected to the gas valve??
    does gas leak through there ???

    Paul
    Paul

    Yes there is meant to be a hole there, it allows air to mix with the gas

    Get an answer from our members

    ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.