?
? !
8 photos
Weber Baby Q Series
4.5 from 453 reviews · View Statistics

Gas BBQs Buying Guide

A gas bbq can help you get sizzling. But would you prefer a portable bbq or a freestanding one? What about LPG or natural gas? This buying guide will help answer your burning questions.

Read now
Buying Guide Banner

Pros

  • Compact and portable

  • Long lasting and durable

  • More affordable than other BBQs

Cons

  • Larger Weber BBQs may be more effective

Reviews

  • Build Quality
    4.7 (85)
  • Value for Money
    4.4 (81)
  • Ease of Use
    4.7 (86)
  • Cleaning & Maintenance
    4.5 (84)
  • Preheating Speed
    4.4 (79)
  • Even Heat DistributionYes (78) · No (7)
  • Safety
    4.6 (79)
Previous
Next

Reviewer Photos & Videos

  • Thumbnail
  • Thumbnail
  • Thumbnail
  • More
    Thumbnail
ChrisL

ChrisLPerth, WA

The grill plates are disappointing

published

Purchased for $305.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
See all answers
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
clarkey

clarkeyGreater Melbourne (Outer), VIC

  • 3 reviews
  • 2 likes

One month old Webber baby q 1200

published

I had a Webber baby q 1200 as a birthday present just over a month ago 2021
When I first used it no issues
Since then it won’t heat up to the required temperature , I have changed the gas bottle no difference
I contacted the support centre at Webber after emails back and forwards they have decided there is nothing wrong with the bbq
I will never buy another Webber product

Purchased in January 2021.

Build Quality
Value for Money
See all answers
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
cobber

cobberGreater Melbourne (Metropolitan), VIC

  • 4 reviews
  • 7 likes

AWESOME BABYQ

published

great for cooking roast and veges for two, bacon and eggs and also toasts the bread. cooks steaks ,chops, etc to perfection every time. keep out of the wind if possible, every now and then i use a pin to clear fat out of the gas burner holes. i purchased an aftermarket bayonet 2mtr long hose for the caravan.

Purchased in January 2020 at The Good Guys for $329.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
See all answers
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Gas BBQs

Find out how Weber Baby Q Series compares to other Gas BBQs

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Richardbailey B.

Richardbailey B.Richmond-Tweed, NSW

My Webber doesn’t get hot enough

published

Even with the lid down it doesn’t get hot enough. Nothing else wrong with it but I have to write thirty words or they won’t except my review. The fact it doesn’t get hot enough is not great

Incentivised ReviewNo
1 comment
Weber
Weber Barbecues A.Weber
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!

Unreliable & dangerous.

published

Our weber goes out all the time... several times in a row. Gas continues to flow under lid.. dangerous if we hit the ignition button!
Purchased in 2018 for $ 329 dollars.

Purchased in April 2018 at Wangaratta for $329.00.

Value for Money
Ease of Use
See all answers
1 comment
Weber
Weber Barbecues A.Weber
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Rachey

RacheyMelbourne

  • 12 reviews
  • 8 likes

Broke down after minimal use

published

Purchased in December 2016.

Build Quality
Value for Money
See all answers
1 comment
Weber
Weber Barbecues A.Weber
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!

Love my Baby Q

published

love my Baby Q used it so much I have burnt out the Burner tube. Have just replaced it at a reasonable cost with fantastic service from Webber plus the igniter electrode was replaced free of charge. this is the second time Webber have done this , a few years back they replace the hose and regulator free of charge when it stopped working arrived by currier the next day, Many thanks.................Dave (NZ)

Purchased in December 2012 for $499.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
See all answers
1 comment
Weber
Weber Barbecues A.Weber

Hi Dave, thanks for your review! We are glad to hear you are loving your Baby Q!

Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Steve

SteveGreater Melbourne (Inner), VIC

Long live the Baby Q

published

Purchased in October 2007 for $320.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
See all answers
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Tony

TonySouth East Queensland, QLD

  • 3 reviews

Love it

published

Best thing invented since sliced bread.
My only complaint is that the Webber "baby" Q ie generally speaking does not get hot enough to make great pork crackling.
Ive tried everything. Best results generally are a result of pre salting and leaving pork in fridge 24 h.
Pre heat bbq 15 min in wind sheltered area.
Its hit and miss.
Just my opinion.
Overall.......we love it

Purchased in April 2008 for $350.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
See all answers
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Gas BBQs

Find out how Weber Baby Q Series compares to other Gas BBQs

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Wayne P.

Wayne P.Central Queensland, QLD

Doesn't get hot enough!

published

I like our Baby Q (Q100) which is great for steaks and snags, but it doesn't get hot enough for crackling on a roast pork. Tried many times without success. If there is the slightest breeze around, it even struggles with a few steaks on and ends up broiling them rather than grilling. It needs a bit more oomph!!

Purchased in March 2013 at Barbeques Galore for $300.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
See all answers
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Chris

ChrisSydney, NSW

  • 3 reviews
  • 1 like

Love it

published

Perfect for my camper trailer. It sits well on the slide area and connects to the gas already in the trailer. Grill is easy to clean. Perfect for roast and for steaks/hamburgers

Would recommend

Purchased in February 2020 at The Good Guys for $349.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
See all answers
1 comment
Weber
Weber Barbecues A.Weber

Thanks for your review Chris and glad to hear you're enjoying your Baby Q! Happy Barbecuing!

Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Ash

AshMetropolitan Adelaide, SA

  • 9 reviews
  • 1 like

Versatile bbq, portable for picnics

published

Such a great addition to our home! We like to cook juicy steaks, whole roasts, pizza on a stone, amazing bbq chicken and stock standard bbq meat. Haven't had a single issue with the bbq and we are super happy with the build quality.
Cleaning isn't too bad, a quick scrape once it's heated up; every few months a "deep" clean with a bit of hot water and elbow grease.
We plan to get a full size Webber q for our outdoor kitchen and keep the baby q for camping and picnic lunches... can't wait!

Purchased in January 2017 at The Good Guys for $300.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
See all answers
1 comment
Weber
Weber Barbecues A.Weber

Hi Ash, glad to hear you're loving your Baby Q and thanks for the review! Happy Barbecuing!

Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Charli R.

Charli R.

  • 13 reviews
  • 6 likes

Such a great bbq

published

We love doing all kinds of food on the baby-q. It would be better if they sold the split plate as standard because you absolutely need it, I guess that’s why they don’t). But this is such a solid little bbq. We do roasts and veggies and slow cooked ribs. Plus the gas bottle lasts forever. Well worth the money

Purchased in January 2020 at Dune for $349.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
See all answers
1 comment
Weber
Weber Barbecues A.Weber

Hi Charli, thanks for your review! Glad to hear you are loving your Baby Q! Happy Barbecuing!

Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Mal

MalMetropolitan Adelaide, SA

  • 2 reviews

Perfect for a family of three!

published

We cook steak, pork crackling, beef roast, sausages, and a lot more perfectly with it. Very easy to keep it clean, just clean as you go. We keep it under a roof but sure can cope with a mild wind.

Purchased in December 2019 at BCF Online Store for $271.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
See all answers
1 comment
Weber
Weber Barbecues A.Weber

Hi Mal, thanks for your review! Glad to hear you are loving the cooks from your Baby Q! Happy Barbecuing!

Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Tara Nolan

Tara NolanDarling Downs, QLD

  • 2 reviews
  • 1 like

Our First Weber!

published

We purchased a baby Weber for our caravan - but it's become a staple in our home too.

It's a great size (we have the Duffle bag for storage and well as the half hotplate). It's easy to clean and heats up quickly and evenly.

My husband also cooks our homemade scones in the weber. Wish we got one sooner!

Initially we also bought the Weber branded convection alfoil trays - however Now I just get the cheapo ones from the grocery store and they do just as well.

Purchased in November 2019 at BCF Online Store for $377.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
See all answers
1 comment
Weber
Weber Barbecues A.Weber

Hi Tara, thanks for your review! Fantastic to hear you are loving your Baby Q. If you ever need inspiration for some cooks check out our recipes https://www.weber.com/AU/en/recipes/weber-31811.html. Happy Barbecuing!

Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Gas BBQs

Find out how Weber Baby Q Series compares to other Gas BBQs

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Saurabh Kohli

Saurabh KohliGreater Melbourne (Outer), VIC

  • 5 reviews
  • 1 like

Amazing!

published

We bought a Weber Baby Q Standard from. It is really easy to clean, and it it is very convenient. It really does cook the veggies quite quickly and well. Overall, I really do recommend the Weber.

Purchased in July 2019 for $320.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
See all answers
1 comment
Weber
Weber Barbecues A.Weber

Hi Saurabh, thanks for your review! Glad to hear you're loving your Baby Q!

Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Adrian

AdrianSouth West, WA

  • 2 reviews

Use it for every dinner!

published

This it the best cooker we’ve ever purchased! We use it every evening preparing dinner! The flavours it produces, when cooking meat is absolutely amazing!
The ease of packing it up and taking camping is just another benefit, and now all of my children have one due to the samples of dinners we’ve had.
Recommend to get one, you’ll won’t turn back!

Purchased in February 2015 at Reward offer.

Build Quality
Value for Money
See all answers
1 comment
Weber
Weber Barbecues A.Weber

Hi Adrian, thanks for your fantastic review and happy to hear how much you have loved your Baby Q! If you ever need inspiration for a cook on your Q check out our recipes here https://www.weber.com/AU/en/recipes/weber-31811.html

Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Leen

LeenSydney, NSW

  • 9 reviews

Works well and excellent purchase

published

Wanted a small bbq for occasional grilling and it works perfectly. Bought the weber cart as the table. Easy to use and easy to clean. Even bought the cover to protect it from the rain and dust.

Purchased in December 2019.

Build Quality
Value for Money
See all answers
1 comment
Weber
Weber Barbecues A.Weber

Hi Leen, thanks for your review. Glad to hear you are enjoying your Baby Q! Happy Barbecuing!

Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
TimBurgie

TimBurgieBiloela

  • 6 reviews
  • 5 likes

Compact, great cooking, not disappointed

published

Purchased at BCF for $299.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
See all answers
1 comment
Weber
Weber Barbecues A.Weber

Hi Tim, thanks for your review! So glad to hear that you're loving your Baby Q. Happy barbecuing!

Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Handyman Dad

Handyman DadCentral Queensland, QLD

  • 12 reviews
  • 2 likes

High Lid model worth it

published

Great little cooker. Purchased the High Lid model mainly for roasting purpose. It comes with piezo electric starter and a temp gauge incorporated in the hood. Cooking on the Weber is different to your conventional barbq ovens. Always cook with the lid close. You can go crazy buying accessories for your Weber. We bought a trolley/stand for stability and ease of transport.

Purchased in November 2014 at Gladstone Camping Centre for $299.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
See all answers
1 comment
Weber
Weber Barbecues A.Weber

Thanks for your review! Glad to hear you are loving your Baby Q!

Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Page 1 of 23

Questions & Answers

Carl C.

Carl C.asked

Baby Q Series

I’ve owned the baby q for about 3 years and only used it 3 times outside my caravan. However, it never seems to get hot enough to cook steaks properly. The flame from the burner appears to be very weak and even the slightest breeze blows the flame around almost blowing it out and making it very ineffective. Is this normal and are there any satisfactory solutions to this problem?

3 answers
ChrisL
ChrisL

Yes the flame will be blown out if you have the lid up. Light the bbq first and then close the lid, let it heat up for 10-15 mins. Then put food on bbq adjusting the heat low-high, close lid and let food cook.

Carl C.
Carl C.

I’ve done what recommended but it still tends to broil the steaks rather than searing them (even when on high heat).

Weber
Weber Barbecues A.Weber

Hi Carl, thanks for reaching out. There could be a few things which could be causing this issue for you and we will definitely help you with this.

What type of gas bottle are you using when you cook? Have you performed a soapy water test recently on your barbecue hose?

rose

roseasked

Baby Q Premium (Q1200)

Is there any reason that we cannot use a 2kg gas bottle with our baby q when away camping? Is there a safety issue, or is just about the gas lasting longer that 4kg is recommended? Thanks.

4 answers
clarkey
clarkey

Hi Rose I found this on the Webber Australia web site
We recommend the 4.5-9kg bottles to ensure that you have plenty of gas to get through a great number of cooks before you have to change it over. Just a question Rose what size gas bottle do you use at home ?

rose
rose

Thanks heaps for that info!
At home we have a 9kg bottle. For camping we usually take a 2kg bottle for a gas stove (but now have the baby q instead). We have just filled the 2kg bottle & its a space issue in the car to take anything bigger. I was just worried it could be a safety issue. If its just to cook plenty of times we should be sweet as only away for a weekend. U think? Thanks heaps for your help! ☺️

Weber
Weber Barbecues A.Weber

Hi Rose, often we recommend the larger gas bottles for their longevity but also with some small bottles the fittings can be too small for our barbecue hose to connect. If you do have a smaller sized gas bottle that fits the hose fitting then it is fine to use when you are away camping and there is no safety issue, just be aware that with a lower amount of gas this can sometimes impact the pressure of your barbecue.

Hope this information helps and please let us know if you have any further questions!

Ces D.

Ces D.asked

Baby Q Standard (Q1000)

Hi I have been using my Baby q for baking cakes and sausage rolls however am disappointed to find they are burnt on the bottom when baked. Is anyone finding this problem. Vonne

No answers
See all Weber Baby Q Series questions

Get an answer from our members and Weber representatives

Weber Baby Q Series

Details

The popular Weber Baby Q Series is recommended for outdoor areas with limited space. This is a portable BBQ that you can take on holidays without it weighing you down.

Features:

  • Compact BBQ designed for travel but still large enough to roast a whole chicken
  • More affordable than other Weber BBQs, which are usually around $100 more expensive
  • Stainless steel burner tubes provide an even distribution of heat
  • Available in red, black and cream

Points of praise for the Weber Baby Q Series:

  • Winner of the ProductReview Award for the BBQ category for multiple years in a row, proving to be a reliable and trustworthy choice for consumers
  • Longevity was a point of praise amongst reviewers - with one reviewer claiming that they had been using their Weber Baby Q for the past 13 years
  • Many reviewers loved to take their BBQ camping, reporting that it was the perfect size.
Compare all 4 Weber Baby Q Series
Weber Baby Q Standard (Q1000)
  • Award Winner 2020
  • 2019
  • 2017

Weber Baby Q Standard (Q1000)

4.5
(213)
Weber Baby Q Premium (Q1200)
  • Award Winner 2020
  • 2019
  • 2017

Weber Baby Q Premium (Q1200)

4.6
(120)
Weber Baby Q Q100
  • Discontinued
  • Award Winner 2020
  • 2019
  • 2017

Weber Baby Q Q100

4.5
(48)
Weber Baby Q Q120
  • Discontinued
  • Award Winner 2020
  • 2019
  • 2017

Weber Baby Q Q120

4.6
(10)
CategoryGas BBQsGas BBQsGas BBQsGas BBQs
Price (RRP) $339.00$349.00
TypePortablePortable
Cooking Plate / Grill MaterialCast IronCast Iron
FeaturesGrillGrill and Temperature Gauge
Colour / FinishBlack, TitaniumBlack, Red, Titanium
Dimensions 600 x 690 x 520 mm620 x 690 x 520 mm
Weight10.8 kg11.25 kg
Gas TypeLPGLPG
Number of Burners/Zones 11
Gas Rate 9 mJ/hr9 mJ/hr
Manufacturer Warranty5 year(s)5 year(s)5 year(s)5 year(s)
Release dateSept 2006Sept 2006
Replaced byWeber Baby Q Standard (Q1000)Weber Baby Q Premium (Q1200)
Compare all 4 Weber Baby Q Series

Visit official website

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.