?
? !
8 photos
Crossray Infrared
4.9 from 51 reviews · View Statistics

Gas BBQs Buying Guide

A gas bbq can help you get sizzling. But would you prefer a portable bbq or a freestanding one? What about LPG or natural gas? This buying guide will help answer your burning questions.

Read now
Buying Guide Banner

Pros

  • Swift pre-heating speed

  • 2 or 4 burner option

  • Easy to use

  • Competitive prices

Reviews

4.9

51 reviews
  • Build Quality
    4.8 (46)
  • Value for Money
    4.6 (47)
  • Ease of Use
    4.9 (46)
  • Cleaning & Maintenance
    4.7 (45)
  • Preheating Speed
    4.9 (44)
  • Even Heat DistributionYes (43) · No (1)
  • Safety
    4.9 (42)
Previous
Next

Reviewer Photos & Videos

  • Thumbnail
  • Thumbnail
  • Thumbnail
  • More
    Thumbnail
Alistair Black

Alistair BlackLaunceston, TAS

The Best BBq In Australia

published

The Crossray BBQ cooking system is the best i haved used. No burners to worry about, the BBQ provides incredile heat and very quick cooking times.It has a top level good for sausages and vegtables etc and the main level for meats etc. Windy days does not worry, it no burners blowing out etc. All meats dont dry out because there are no flames to burn and dry the meat out , only infrared heat . You can cook anything , pizza, cakes , roasts and anything you can cook in your inside oven.
I would recommend this BBQ system to anyone, its absolutely fantastic.

Purchased in February 2021 at Crossray website for $1,299.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
See all answers
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Michael H.

Michael H.Southwest, VIC

Leaves our guests wanting more

published

We have had the crossray now for five months and never had a bad meal - from delicate fish to large steaks this BBQ is amazing. Leaving the food moist and with so much flavour.

Purchased in November 2020 at Bunnings Warehouse.

Build Quality
Value for Money
See all answers
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
two30v

two30vMelbourne

  • 3 reviews
  • 1 like

Great Customer Support

published

Purchased in January 2021.

Build Quality
Value for Money
See all answers
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Gas BBQs

Find out how Crossray Infrared compares to other Gas BBQs

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Stefan

StefanSydney Surrounds, NSW

  • 2 reviews
  • 1 like

This BBQ is by far the best one I've ever had.

published

The heat is even throughout the surface and it gets very hot so I often end up using the top shelf instead. Quality seems to be spot on as well, but I've only had it for 6 weeks, but so far so good.

Purchased in December 2020 for $4,500.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
See all answers
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Peter Barton

Peter BartonBonner 2914, ACT

Best BBQ I have ever had.

published

My Pizza was done in 8 minutes. Excellent
Cooked a whole chicken on the rotisserie. 1 hour. Perfect
Veggies were beautiful, but had to keep an eye on them, so they didn’t burn
Had trouble getting it above 220 degrees C after 20 minutes on high. Emailed Crossray, and Berndon was very helpful, and sent me new jets. Now it gets to 300 degrees C in under 10 minutes.

Purchased in January 2021 at Bunnings Warehouse Retail Stores for $1,299.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
See all answers
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Paul

Paul Hunter Region, NSW

  • 3 reviews
  • 1 like

Love the new barbie.

published

I bought the 2 burner through Bunnings at the end of November and love it. The heat is generates is amazing and so quick to get to premium cooking temp. We do a lot of steaks, pork, chicken and lamb and we have noticed a very big difference in the flavour we get. I have just bought the rotisserie and it does pork perfectly. I had a small problem with a screw not fitting in the fat tray. Spoke to Brandon at Crossray and received a replacement in the post immediately. Top product top service. Cant go wrong.

Purchased in November 2020 at Bunnings Warehouse.

Build Quality
Value for Money
See all answers
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Matthew

MatthewGreater Melbourne (Outer), VIC

  • 2 reviews
  • 2 likes

So good.

published

If I could give this ten stars I would have. build quality is great, you have to build the cabinet, but it was easy enough. As soon as I built it, I put a steak on it for lunch. And I was gobsmacked and very excited, with my first bite, it retains a lot more juice than an ordinary gas barbie. you get restaurant Quality taste, and I am one happy chappy.

Purchased in December 2020 for $1,299.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
See all answers
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!

Customer Service

published

Not only is the bbq great, the customer service is exceptional. My hood was damaged and Brandon Lee from customer service sorted it out straight away. Great product backed by great after service.

Purchased in November 2020.

Build Quality
Value for Money
See all answers
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Jack

JackSouthwest, VIC

What a BBQ!!!!!!!

published

Wow what a BBQ, from the classy construction and modern look, down to the ease of assembly.
But is it cracked up to all the talk, yes! yes! yes!
We have cooked magnificent rib eye steak on it, never tasted better, lamb chops, butterfly chicken, salmon, kebabs, snags and hamburgers and never owned a BBQ that cooks better pizza than this baby, it heats up quickly, cooks the meat even throughout and seems to retain the juices so well.
Also cleaning really is a breeze if you follow the instructions, can"t stop cooking on it!!!
Brandon from Crossray was so helpful and knowledgeable every step of the way, from the order and delivery and the best way how to use and cook on the BBQ.

Thanks so much.

Purchased in November 2020 for $1,299.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
See all answers
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Gas BBQs

Find out how Crossray Infrared compares to other Gas BBQs

Know better, choose better.

Compare all

Best BBQ available

published

Reviewed BBQ options across all brands to replace our Webber. We bought the Crossray 2 burner about a month ago: used most nights instead of the stove, so gets a lot of use: The two burner gives about the same cooking area as our old 4 burner because the Crossray heating means we are cooking on the racks more effectively.
Pork ribs: 45 min; Portuguese chicken: 20 min; Porterhouse steak: 2min each side max
Weight is not excessive, so it can easily be moved around but not move while being used
Easy to put together- yes it is IKEA proof and the directions work
Easy to clean compared to both the Webber and standard 4 burner we had.
Very quick to reach cooking temp and does not burn the food.
Easily the best bbq we have ever had

Purchased in September 2020 for $799.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
See all answers
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!

Absolutely devastated.

published
Build Quality
Value for Money
Incentivised ReviewNo
1 comment
Crossray
HEATSTRIP A.Crossray
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!

Amazing design with a competitive pricing

published

I’m really happy with my outdoor kitchen design, the build and thought in this outdoor kitchen was amazing. I would recommend this outdoor kitchen and the CROSSRAY bbq to anyone on the market for a new bbq or kitchen. Thumbs up CROSSRAY !!!

Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!

What an upgrade

published

After 14 Years of cooking on an old style of BBQ it was time for a new & up to date one, that I could build into a outdoor kitchen. The guys at Crossray were very helpful. Thank. I am looking forward to show it off to my mates.

  • Thumbnail

Purchased in October 2020.

Build Quality
Value for Money
See all answers
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!

Great Customer Service

published

We purchased the 4 burner trolley BBQ and have had it for approx 3 weeks. We have cooked steaks, sausages and pork ribs and have been totally impressed. We did have a problem with number 4 burner initially, one phone call and 24 hours later a new burner was delivered and no further issues. Love the BBQ and great customer service!

Purchased in September 2020 at Bunnings Warehouse.

Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
See all answers
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Jesse

JesseSouth East Queensland, QLD

  • 2 reviews
  • 1 like

This BBQ keeps getting better and so does the service...

published

When we first got the BBQ we thought it was good but now we think - WOW!!!
It cooks everything so much better and I've had some nice BBQ's over the years. Steak was amazing, we had a roast lamb the other night and the tuna steaks were superb. It cooks so well and so fast!

The service from these guys has been outstanding as well. Brandon is excellent. Always helpful and just keeps on trying to help.

Purchased in October 2020.

Build Quality
Value for Money
See all answers
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Gas BBQs

Find out how Crossray Infrared compares to other Gas BBQs

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Moochie000

Moochie000Melbourne

  • 17 reviews
  • 11 likes

Everything we wanted in a bbq

published

This bbq is everything we were looking for. After hours of research on a bbq. We decided this is exactly what we wanted.
It has so many options in the way of cooking and the food tastes amazing. It is compact but can fit so much on it. A lot more than our old 4 burner. We were going to get a 6burner until we found this. We dealt with Michelle from Crossray/Heatstrip
Michelle has been nothing but amazing and her customer service is amazing, Michelle goes above and beyond for her customers which is greatly appreciated.
We couldn’t be happier with our purchase and our customer service! Thank you

Purchased in September 2020 at Bunnings Warehouse for $1,700.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
See all answers
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!

Best BBQ I have ever owned

published

The Crossray 4 burner is a fantastic BBQ. I love using it. The heat it generates and the speed at which it heats up is unparalled. I use it for cooking steaks, pizzas, slow cooking ribs and making unbelievable moist and tasty chickens on the rotisserie. Brandon has provided amazing sales and service support in the year I have had this BBQ . I can't ask for anything better.

  • Thumbnail

Purchased in August 2019.

Build Quality
Value for Money
See all answers
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Miray

MirayMetropolitan Adelaide, SA

  • 2 reviews
  • 2 likes

Excellent - a step change in BBQ technology. Outstanding service support too.

published

Purchased in September 2020 at Pool Room Supplies Physical store for $1,200.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
See all answers
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
nick

nickSouthwest, VIC

BLOODY MARVELOUS

published

i have just recently bought the 2 burner trolley bbq. I am in my 60's so i have had a few bbq's in my life, and i can happily say that this is by far the best bbq i have had. The quality and the ease of assembly is magnificent. once you turn on the bbq you are cooking within minutes. 1inch thick tomahawk steak done in a matter of minutes.
i can go on and on. BLOODY MARVELOUS.
NICK. B

Purchased in September 2020 at bunnings.

Build Quality
Value for Money
See all answers
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Noisyfridge

Noisyfridgesyd

  • 23 reviews
  • 23 likes

A few issues but outstanding customer service so all fixed

published

Purchased in September 2020.

Build Quality
Value for Money
See all answers
1 comment
Crossray
HEATSTRIP A.Crossray
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Page 1 of 3

Questions & Answers

Dave

Daveasked

Infrared

How much smoke do they make? Are they good for apartment balconies

1 answer
Crossray
HEATSTRIP A.Crossray

Hi Dave,

These BBQ can be used on Balconies the smoke will emit depending on what is being cooked. We also have an Electric version for balcony locations. I have listed the model number below:

TCE15F

If you require further information, please feel free to email sales@thermofilm.com.au

Best regards,

Dave

Daveasked

2-Burner Trolley

Is this ok for apartment balconies? How much smoke?

1 answer
Crossray
HEATSTRIP A.Crossray

Hi Dave,

These BBQ can be used on Balconies the smoke will emit depending on what is being cooked. We also have an Electric version for balcony locations. I have listed the model number below:

TCE15F

If you require further information, please feel free to email sales@thermofilm.com.au

Best regards,

Noula

Noulaasked

Infrared

How easily can this be converted to natural gas?

2 answers
Michael H.
Michael H.

I am not sure. they have now brought out an electric version. I dont feel its too hard to convert.

Crossray
HEATSTRIP A.Crossray

Hi Noula,

You can purchase a national gas conversion kit, a licensed plumber will need to do the conversion for you.

If you require further information, please do not hesitate to contact sales@thermofilm.com.au

Best regards,

See all Crossray Infrared questions

Get an answer from our members and Crossray representatives

Crossray Infrared

Details

Features:

  • As a default, the Crossray Infrared is powered by LPG bottles (liquid petroleum gas) but can be converted to natural gas
  • 2 or 4 burner options available, depending on how much cooking space you require. More burners allow you to cook a greater quantity and variety of foods.
  • The BBQ is portable, so you can cook up a feast on a day trip to the park or while away on holidays

Points of praise for the Crossray Infrared:

  • The Crossray Infrared heats up quickly, allowing many people to get their BBQ up and running without leaving their family and friends to wait around impatiently
  • Reviewers who purchased this product were impressed with the outstanding customer service they received when contacting the company about any issues they encountered
  • Many reviewers thought the BBQs were great value for money and appreciated the competitive pricing.

2021 ProductReview Awards logo

The Crossray Infrared BBQ range has made quite the impression on reviewers, with an outstanding 4.9-star overall rating. Standout factors which helped to achieve the 2021 ProductReview award include a fast-heating speed, effortless ease of use and reassuring safety features.

Compare all 5 Crossray Infrared
Crossray 2-Burner Built-In
  • Award Winner 2021

Crossray 2-Burner Built-In

5.0
(1)
Crossray 2-Burner Trolley
  • Award Winner 2021

Crossray 2-Burner Trolley

4.8
(11)
Crossray 4-Burner Trolley
  • Award Winner 2021

Crossray 4-Burner Trolley

5.0
(8)
Crossray 4-Burner Built-In
  • Award Winner 2021

Crossray 4-Burner Built-In

4.8
(29)
CategoryGas BBQsGas BBQsGas BBQsGas BBQs
Price (RRP) $899.00$1,299.00$1,399.00$1,299.00
TypeBuilt-InFreestandingFreestandingBuilt-In
Cooking Plate / Grill MaterialAluminium and Porcelain / CeramicAluminium and Porcelain / CeramicCast IronCast Iron
FeaturesGrill, Hooded, Infrared Cooking, Temperature Gauge and Warming RackGrill, Hooded, Infrared Cooking, On Wheels, Storage Cabinet and Temperature GaugeGrill, Hooded, Infrared Cooking, On Wheels, Storage Cabinet, Temperature Gauge and Warming RackGrill, Hooded, Infrared Cooking and Temperature Gauge
Colour / FinishStainless SteelStainless SteelStainless SteelStainless Steel
Dimensions 560 x 635 x 505 mm1255 x 1405 x 505 mm1255 x 1685 x 505 mm560 x 910 x 505 mm
Weight28 kg38 kg48 kg33 kg
Gas TypeLPGLPGLPGLPG
Number of Burners/Zones 2244
Gas Rate 26 mJ/hr26 mJ/hr13 mJ/hr13 mJ/hr
Manufacturer Warranty2 year(s)2 year(s)2 year(s)2 year(s)
Compare all 5 Crossray Infrared

Visit official website

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.