??!
1 photo
Highland HP6SS N/L

Highland HP6SS N/L

HP6SSN, HP6SSL
3.4 from 16 reviews · View Statistics

Reviews

Previous
Next
Kerri

KerriSydney, NSW

First hiccup in 13 years. Love this stove top.

published

I need to service my Highland cook top for the 2nd time in 13 years and was really surprised when I saw some of the recent poor reviews. I love this cook top. It has hardly missed a beat since we purchased it & the flat stainless steel makes it easy to clean and maintain. I cook for lots of people all of the time so it works hard. Perhaps the manufacturer has changed.

Purchased in May 2007 at Winnings.

Incentivised ReviewNo
Scott

ScottSydney, NSW

  • 3 reviews
  • 5 likes

If you maintain it it works just fine!

published

Purchased in April 2012 at Winning Appliances NSW, Crows Nest for $3,800.00.

Incentivised ReviewNo
HEJ

HEJSydney, NSW

We haven't had any problems ....

published

We haven't had any problems with our 13 year old Highland cook-top HP6SSN, but ..... it's the only natural gas appliance we have, the bill is about $6 for gas and $50 "Daily charge. We looked into converting it to LPG /propane, but can't find the conversion kit!
Any suggestions?

Purchased in November 2006 at Winnings.

Incentivised ReviewNo
Gas Cooktops

Find out how Highland HP6SS N/L compares to other Gas Cooktops

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
P.W. Smith

P.W. Smith

  • 3 reviews
  • 7 likes

Terrible. Do Not Buy One.

published

Constant problems, clicking, failure to light, gas remains on when it should off and shorting in the igniter that has blown the entire kitchen circuit. But worse is the fact that there are simply no parts available. I have had the local service agent out four times now but he cannot get parts anywhere. Now I have to use a BBQ lighter. I managed to buy from EBay - for a hugely expensive cooktop this is just not good enough. Do not buy one.

Date PurchasedMar 2014

Please don't buy

published
Date PurchasedMay 2018
Andrew

AndrewMelbourne

  • 2 reviews
  • 2 likes

Fantastic performer

published

This is the second cooktop we have had from highland. The first was so good we ordered the same one for our new build. The new one had the click as reported by many here. However once advised highland sent a tech out who replaced it with a new improved system which has been faultless.
Great customer service, great product.

Date PurchasedJuly 2016

Igniters not working on 2 yr old stove just like everyone else!

published
Date PurchasedApr 2015
Debs

Debsballarat

Solid, hardworking cooktop

published

Our Highland Cooktop has been installed for four months now. We had an initial problem with sparking igniters as others have had, but it was very quickly and professionally addressed even though we live 60km from the nearest regional centre. We do a lot of cooking and so far this cooktop has delivered beautifully. After having owned an Ilve cooktop, I would never go back...the quality and robustness of the Highland is far superior. I do wish the trivets were level all the way across so I could put more big pots on! The control of gas level is really good, and the power of full wok burn is awesome! I am really happy I was able to buy an Australian made product. Keep up the good work Highland!

Date PurchasedFeb 2017
jaspar

jasparSydney

igniters keep ticking

published

I always had Ilve Cook tops and ovens but wanted the low setting for gas these have. works great except 1 or the 2 wok burners keeps ticking. had several service calls which came when they scheduled but telling me its the pots i use or the size of pans and other rubbish did not wash. just booked another service call today and they say the part has been redesigned and they will swap both wok burners parts out under warranty. not sure what parts but suspect the gas reader or the igniters.
Will update this post after they finish the service. I will also expect they restart the warranty on all the parts they have been servicing and replacing !

Date PurchasedMar 2016
1 comment
jaspar
jaspar
Gas Cooktops

Find out how Highland HP6SS N/L compares to other Gas Cooktops

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Happy

HappyBlue Mountains

  • 2 reviews
  • 2 likes

Have had this for years and still love it!!

published

I purchases this cooktop many years ago when we renovated our kitchen. It has given me such joy over the years. It has all worked perfectly from day one. So much room and easy to keep clean. There is a gas burner for every need. I was cooking on it tonight and though I should write something positive about this product i love.

Date PurchasedApr 2005
BobJ

BobJSydney

Poor quality and poor service

published

Purchased the Highland cooktop, it was the worst decision I made for my new kitchen. It was sold to me as being a premium product, but after 3 service calls later and having to wait for 3 months for parts and for me to do all the follow up, I would recommend buying another brand.

Date PurchasedJan 2016
ronaldot

ronaldotGreater Melbourne (Metropolitan), VIC

  • 2 reviews
  • 1 like

Poor attention to details in workmanship

published

Within few months of installing the cooktop, the igniters on the wok burners became faulty - they would keep sparking even though flame was on. It took 3 visits from technician to fix it. Now my warranty has expired, the igniter on medium burner works intermittently. The black coating on the trivet where wok sits has started to come off. The knobs were always loose and wobbly when it was new and technician never bothered to fix it. For such an expensive cooktop, the quality doesn't match it. I wish I had stuck to ILVE cooktop which I was very happy with.

Mike

MikeAdelaide

  • 3 reviews
  • 12 likes

Promise of so much but in the end Australian build quality and service disappoint.

published
1 comment
Gdady
Gdady

Been having similar issues as you Mike, plus some more with mine.

humphrisclan

humphrisclanAU

  • 2 reviews
  • 2 likes

Excellent

published

High quality product. Gas control is very good, the wok burners do everything from a blast furnace to the gentlest of simmer settings. I looked at everything prior to this purchase and this cook top is the closest you will get to a fully professional unit.
Great unit, well built and made in Oz
Expensive but worth it

HisssParadise

HisssParadiseAU

  • 3 reviews
  • 4 likes

Got it for my Chef wife.. Love the stirfries

published
3 comments
xirom
xirom

I bought the cooktop last year and I am very happy with the product. I was glad that I made the right decision to choose this cooktop. The great thing about it is the gas output is really strong and it is so easy to clean. Love it!

munipuss
munipuss

Agree with you about the Ilve free standing - their marketing dept would have to be one of the best in the world to induce so many to believe its a good product

Gas Cooktops

Find out how Highland HP6SS N/L compares to other Gas Cooktops

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
yhwong

yhwongAU

  • 2 reviews
  • 6 likes

Break down after 4 years

published

Has cook top for 4 years. One of the wok burners became faulty. After 2 visits from repairer recommended by Highlander and $500, burner worse than ever and more parts became faulty from the repairer. Do not know whether should continue to spend money on a repair that may cost me as much as a new unit
Love the wok burners
Only last 4 years

Questions & Answers

Russell

Russellasked

HP6SS N/L

The igniters all go on together and won’t stop even when gas has ignited? How to fix

2 answers
Kerri
Kerri

I have never had that issue

Russell
Russell

I’m not asking if you have that issue....I have...and I need a fix. Driving me mad!

Mick j

Mick jasked

HP6SS N/L

What product should be used to clean burners etc

1 answer
P.W. Smith
P.W. Smith

Heavy duty oven cleaner - I cannot recall the name, but it is available at supermarkets in a small white box. very powerful acidic cleaner - will return any oven or stove rack or burner to new condition..

Mick j

Mick jasked

HP6SS N/L

I have a HIG906s1N cook top
Do you have a Replacement ignition kit as this does not work
Also wok burner lights but goes out as soon as you release knob ?
Can burners be Recoated as they have discoloured with cleaning ?

1 answer
P.W. Smith
P.W. Smith

Mick,

As a matter of fact I have a brand new igniter, but I cannot tell you what my model was as I now my cook top as a boat anchor. That is all it is good for.

I got this through a small dealer in Melbourne I think it was. It is still in the packet - never opened. OI will sell it for what it cost me - $400, but I cannot give any guarantees that it is the right kit, that it will do what you need or even fit your model.

The wok burner problem is one of proper cleaning. I use a commercial oven cleaning kit - place the burners in the plastic bag provided and soak them in the solution for several hours. Then clean off and take a small wire and clean each small gas outlet hole individually. It is a pain, but that is the only way I could keep them alight.

I rcoated by using simple stove black - availabe at BUnnings. That seemed to work OK.

Good luck!

Get an answer from our members

Details

Compare both Highland HP6SS N/L
Highland HP6SSL
  • Discontinued

Highland HP6SSL

4.3
(4)
Highland HP6SSN
  • Discontinued

Highland HP6SSN

2.2
(6)
CategoryGas CooktopsGas Cooktops
Width985mm985mm
Price (RRP)$3185$3185
Depth505mm505mm
Weight41kg41kg
Cutout Width960mm960mm
Cutout Depth470mm470mm
Cutout Height60mm60mm
Elements66
Primary Element6 x Gas6 x Gas
Control PositionFrontFront
Release dateMay 2005May 2005
Compare both Highland HP6SS N/L

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.