13 photos
Holden Captiva

Holden Captiva

CG Series II, CG
2.8 from 500 reviews · View Statistics
See the Best Large / 7 Seater SUVs in 2021 as rated by Australians on ProductReview.com.au.
Brand Manager for Holden? Register now and take advantage of ProductReview's Brand Management Platform!

Reviews

  • Build Quality
    3.1 (27)
  • Value for Money
    3.0 (27)
  • Cleaning & Maintenance
    3.3 (27)
  • Noise Level
    3.3 (26)
  • Braking
    3.6 (22)
  • Acceleration / Power
    3.1 (22)
  • Gear Shifting
    3.5 (20)
  • Suspension
    3.4 (21)
  • Fuel Efficiency
    2.7 (23)
  • Handling
    3.5 (20)
  • Interior Design
    3.4 (23)
  • Boot Size
    4.3 (24)
  • Comfort
    4.0 (23)
  • Features
    3.6 (23)
Previous
Next
Reg T
Reg TMid West, WA

Lock out problem

published

My 2014 HOLDEN CAPTIVA locked all doors and would not respond to the is electronic nor manual keys , Naturally I phoned our local ex Holden Dealer Young Motors Geraldton from whom it was purchased .The service manager said the vehicle would have to be carried to them via towing co . On the of chance i spoke to a local auto election ,within 30 minutes a young lad attended ,ten minutes later the car was unlocked and purring away .. cost 75 dollars

Purchased in May 2015 for $24,000.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Johan Bezuidenhout
Johan BezuidenhoutMedowie
  • 2 reviews

Dont buy this is a piece of crap

published

I am driving the 2.2tdi and this car does not have the power. Its really heavy on diesel. My Captiva have 75000 km on the clock and the transmission failed. Do not buy

Purchased in November 2019 at Holden Dealers for $15,000.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Adrian7
Adrian7Greater Melbourne (Metropolitan), VIC
  • 12 reviews
  • 6 likes

Great value 7 seater SUV

published

Bought the car 2017 and so far love this car. It has everything with a low price tag. Leather seats, 7 seaters, Android auto, reverse camera, sunroof, keyless entry. It drives well and felt better with the eco button on. High driving seat as well, so it is easy to see your surrounding. When I bought this, it comes with 7 years warranty and capped service, so that is a big bonus.

Purchased in June 2017 at Holden Dealers for $27,000.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Large / 7 Seater SUVs

Find out how Holden Captiva compares to other Large / 7 Seater SUVs

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Brenden finn
Brenden finnCentral West, NSW

Captiva keeps stalling n wont regen

published

Just had throttle body replaced, egr valve and a force burn at the mechanic on the 2010 turbo diesel cg captiva. Captiva done a few in-regular burns, since then captiva hasn't done anymore burns and will stall while driving almost every time we drive. Have to turn ignition off n back on starts straight away, also noticed when restarting car the traction control lights stay on after stalling. It did throw a code once it was P02E1 diesel intake air flow control performance, i plugged a spc tools scan tool in and the misses cleared it by accident code hasnt came back since and car will still stall and help would be appreciated thanks

Purchased in February 2020.

Build Quality
Value for Money

Love my 7 seater Captiva

published

Bought 2015 brand new, petrol, automatic. My Captiva has never given me a problem. This is my 2nd Captiva. Love the space, sunroof, leather seats/interior, rear camera & sensor.... love this car. No regrets purchasing this Captiva. I’ve looked after this car well. Staff at Castle Hill Holden very helpful & friendly BUT Holden Blacktown staff are so opposite.

Purchased in August 2015.

Build Quality
Value for Money

Related Articles

Previous

Our Latest Expert Car Reviews

A complete list of all our most recent car reviews by our resident car expert. Every review has both a detailed article and an accompanying video, so you can find out all the specs and then see them in action. Whether you're looking for a family car, a 4X4, or a performance vehicle, we cover everything in the Australian market.

Cameron S.
Cameron S.12 Jan 2021
our-latest-expert-car-reviews
Next
Trevor D.
Trevor D.Northern Region, NSW
  • 2 reviews
  • 1 like

Auto Transmission total meltdown at 127,000klm.. Holden don't want to know about it

published

My wife's car. 2013 model, 127,000klms. Dealership carried out the 130,000klm service, and skipped the now known to be crucial 120,000klm auto oil change service because they serviced according to time rather than distance. Transmission total meltdown failure. Have had oil laboratory tested, and found to be well within DX6 specification and clean, apart from huge amount of metal fragments. Numerous exchanges with the dealership and Holdencare, but all to no avail. Next step is N.C.A.T. I'm not paying an $8,000 repair bill for a piece of junk that is a VERY well known and documented failure with this product. If anybody can add any supporting evidence or experiences, would be much appreciated.

Purchased in July 2013.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Nina
NinaPerth, WA

Served us well for 12 years Best Car Ever

published

2008 Captiva
Used daily for work and towing
Serviced kept up regularly
Finally saying goodbye at 308,000kms
Only to upgrade
No major issues over our 12 years
Thankyou Holden it wasn't a Craptiva for us !

Purchased in September 2008.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Rhys
RhysSouth East Queensland, QLD

A practical and great looking wagon/suv

published

Purchased in September 2019.

Build Quality
Value for Money
George
GeorgeMetropolitan Adelaide, SA
  • 3 reviews
  • 2 likes

Great to drive and reliable

published

We purchased the car brand new in 2008, an AWD turbo Diesel. its been the most reliable car we have ever had, and that's from me who has owned Toyota's for most of his life, with issus I might add.. One problem last year with the brake line on the Captiva at $230 cost. Otherwise, in the last 12 yrs it's been brilliant. But, we have serviced it too the book (every 12 months) for the first 6 yrs (extended warranty), then have serviced every 6 months.

Purchased in December 2008.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Large / 7 Seater SUVs

Find out how Holden Captiva compares to other Large / 7 Seater SUVs

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Sakip A.
Sakip A.Western District, VIC

This is my ever day car

published

I drive the car every day and l always service it on time but l have a oil leak from turbo just gotta fix that aswell but besides that it's a very good car

Purchased in November 2018 for $8,500.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
katty_murt
katty_murtNorth Queensland, QLD
  • 17 reviews
  • 5 likes

It’s comfortable

published

Use my car to drop kids at school and drove them to curricular activities. Very high fuel consumption.
The car itself is very comfortable and leather seats are great with kids. Plenty of room in the boot and in the back. Wish it had aircon in the back though for the kids.

Purchased in May 2017.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ozzesty t.
Ozzesty t.Sydney, NSW
  • 6 reviews
  • 9 likes

Captiva crap

published

Bought the diesel turbo .all wheel drive.89,000km. 6 years old. Problem with smoke comming from under bonnet when it starts cleaning the particle filter. Told dealer when serviced but never seams to fix the problem. Replaced shock absorbers. Replaced tension pulley. Had oil leaks from pipe to turbo. Always been serviced regularly. Endless money pit. Stay away.

Purchased in August 2017 for $22,000.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money

Bad buy

published

Paid 8500 5mths later 3000 for transfer now shift problems. Drops hard going down shift between 4th to 3rd, it's like goes into early.I don't want to be up for a gearbox now.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Mumma88
Mumma88Central Queensland, QLD
  • 2 reviews
  • 6 likes

Disappointed

published

Purchased in May 2014 for $40,000.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money

Run away

published

It has been nothing but trouble since purchase.
Transmission went at 40,000 kms and was replaced under warranty, it went again at 93,000 kms and replaced 2nd time out of warranty. After warranty expired the transmission went again and had to pay $7000 to have it replaced out of pocket. I am working with a group of other captiva owners to SUE Holden for selling a faulty product. Spent nearly $20,000 on repairs for this vehicle and it has only done 130,000 kms.

Purchased in June 2013.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Large / 7 Seater SUVs

Find out how Holden Captiva compares to other Large / 7 Seater SUVs

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Read more reviews - page 2

Questions & Answers

Sarah T.
Sarah T.asked
Captiva CG (2006-2018)

I have a 2010 diesel lx captiva which makes almost like a whistling noise when under rev replaced the turbo and still making the noise any ideas, checked belts as well

No answers
David P.
David P.asked
Captiva

hi my holden captiva 2009 cg diesel starts and stops straight away why

No answers
Leticia Dixon
Leticia Dixonasked
Captiva

If I replace the passenger rear door with another one do I have to have it coded to the car

1 answer
Reg T
Reg T

Not sure on this, however i feel that you may need to swap any door electronics if there any Good luck R

See all Holden Captiva questions

Get an answer from our members

Holden Captiva

Details

Compare all 12 Holden Captiva
CategoryLarge / 7 Seater SUVsLarge / 7 Seater SUVsLarge / 7 Seater SUVsLarge / 7 Seater SUVs
Starting Price $32,490$44,490$41,490$33,490
TransmissionAutomatic and ManualAutomaticAutomaticAutomatic
Drive TypeFour Wheel Drive (4WD) and Front Wheel Drive (FWD)Four Wheel Drive (4WD)Four Wheel Drive (4WD)Front Wheel Drive (FWD)
Fuel TypeDiesel and PetrolPetrolDiesel and PetrolPetrol
Wheels17" Alloy18" Alloy19" Alloy18" Alloy
ANCAP Safety Rating5 Stars4 Stars5 Stars
Fuel Consumption9 L/100km11.6 L/100km8.5 L/100km9.7 L/100km
Fuel Tank Capacity 65 L65 L65 L65 L
Engine4 Cylinder 2.4L6 Cylinder 3.2L4 Cylinder 2.2L4 Cylinder 2.4L
Max Power123kW @ 5600rpm167kW @ 6600rpm135kW @ 3800rpm123kW @ 5600rpm
Max Torque230Nm @ 4600rpm297Nm @ 3200rpm400Nm @ 1750-2750rpm230Nm @ 4600rpm
Country of ManufactureSouth KoreaSouth KoreaSouth KoreaSouth Korea
Manufacturer Warranty3 year(s)3 year(s)3 year(s)3 year(s)
Release dateJan 2006Jan 2006Jan 2006Jan 2006
Discontinuation dateDec 2018Dec 2018Dec 2018Dec 2018
Compare all 12 Holden Captiva

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.