??!
8 photos
Holden Captiva
2.8 from 475 reviews

TERRIBLE, Regretful buy, worst car ever!

Bought brand new LEMON Captiva in June 2008. It was supposed to be the most luxury Captiva, paid $44,000 cash and traded Commodore Executive valued at $12,000, so all up $56,000. For that amount we thought that we will really get the top of the range as the salesperson promised,sunroof, side steps etc... however what we didn't know is he did not put that into detail in the contract and when we questioned it he simply said "BAD LUCK". What was worse was as soon as we drove the car out of the salon it did not show the right temperature outside, did not show the proper mileage and there was this terrible diesel fuel smell inside the car.Went back to the salon, promised it's a minor issue, went to the repairer numerous times over so many years, and they kept on promising it's fixed sending the car back in the same condition. AT ONE STAGE WHEN WE LEFT THE CAR FOR FEW DAYS AT DONCASTER REPAIR CENTRE THEY SWAPPED OUR GOOD TIRES WITH SOMEBODY ELSE'S VERY OLD TIRES WHERE YOU COULD SEE THE FABRIC COMING OUT OF THE TIRES and also our ABS BRAKES so it was already LESS of a HOLDEN !!!!! After wasting years at the repair centre, inhaling the diesel fumes while we drive, loss of fuel (driving only 350-400km in one tank!!!), then, it took years before we received a recall letter for Captivas 60th anniversary due to the faulty DIESEL pump and hose. They FINALLY admitted that there is a problem with 60th Anniversary cars!!! Half of the problem was fixed after the recall 10 years later after we bought it, the rest is still FAULTY!!!! THIS IS THE LAST TIME WE BUY HOLDEN!!! WOULD NOT RECOMMEND IT TO ANYONE!!! I still suffer from LUNG problems due to inhaling of diesel fumes while driving in the car!!! Terrible repair service, terrible CUSTOMER SERVICE!!! DODGY SALES PEOPLE!!!

BadgeLX
Seats7
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedJun 2008
DriveAWD

Worst experience, ever high interest and so much money wasted on repairs, warranty fraud

Bad servicing of car,poor communication not honouring warranty, poor workmanship, really short life span on parts have paid over 2000 dollars in repairs, cigarette lighter in front never worked, rear suspension points worn out at 50.000kms also left arm on front has to be replaced at 50'000kms,, two new front tyres at 15'000 kms not tyre company's fault it was Holden s fault as they had told me in the service that they checked the wheel alignment and balance then 4 weeks later I'm buying new tyres
Please. Then also charge me 9 percent interest on my car finance through ANZ then change my finances over to Macquarie bank instantly without a phone call, and have a negative experience with warranty for the arm and suspension because I chose to go to pedders,
Do you blame me for getting the repairs somewhere else.

BadgeLS
Seats7
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedNov 2014
DriveFWD

Great Captiva

Despite what some people have said I love my 2018 LTZ Captiva 7. The leather trim, and just the size of the car feels great. I average about 450 kms per week and driving this car is so comfortable doing these trips to and from work and I really appreciate the reasonable price. The car has everything I could ever want and this car really does not deserve the reputation it has. There is definitely nothing wrong with the V6 model and the ones that I know that have the same model love them also. The only downside is the fuel consumption, but it is a V6 after all.

BadgeLTZ
Seats7
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedDec 2018
DriveAWD

Love ours!

You see bad reviews or people tell you terrible things about Captivas, but we have never had an issue with ours.
I have owned it for more then 4 years, driven all around the countryside, I towed a horse and float with no issues whatsoever, everywhere from small trips to huge ones. (Can tow 2 tonne, horse approx 600kg and float was about 1000kg) It did hold it's own towing, I had no loss of power or speed etc (it did slow on huge hills a little but no different to everything else. )
On longer trips, anything over an hour, it is exceptionally fuel efficient!!
Kids loved that they are USB ports etc so they could charge electronics without handing them up the front.
With a bad back, the heated front seats are fantastic! It feels really good when your sore.
There is so many things I personally love about this car, I have only now upgraded my tow vehicle because my new float is over the Captivas tow limit, but if the captiva was able to tow a bigger load i would of gladly kept using it .

BadgeLX
Seats7
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedJun 2015
DriveAWD

Love my car.

I purchased my 2011 lx diesel awd second hand with less than 100xxx on the odometer. It is a great car paint work in great condition also inside and out is great what more could u want! Engine runs fine no mechanical issues. A lot of people are complaining about this car if you're looking to purchase second hand check the log book history to see how often it was serviced because if you look after your car it will look after you..simple.

BadgeLX
Seats7
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedNov 2018
DriveAWD

Absolutely hate it now

Bought car from new. great car for 4 years. Then all went to crap. Problem after problem even blown transmission. Stranded on side of road twice with children last due to fire under bonnet, should have watched it burn completely would be free of all problems and the fight with Holden. Thankfully all has happened under warranty and extended warranty so hasn’t cost me anything. Holden still insist on replacing parts. car will not return to my household.

BadgeLX
Seats7
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedJun 2013

Dreadful

There is no air conditioning in the back so our kids swelter on road trips, which seems ludicrous for a 7 seater. Parts are expensive & we found it hard to find an honest review. Dash lights come on frequently & Holden charge a fortune to turn them off. Have had a fuel line break, a radiator hose break & timing belt issues in the past 2 months, despite frequent servicing. That’s not to mention the minor issues, like the front driver seat slides back & forth, DVD player randomly stops working & other inconveniences. We truly dislike this car

BadgeLX
Seats7
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedApr 2018

Love this car

Love this car , although the boot is small but sometimes I like the fact that it isn’t so big, when you have a 7 seater you think you will be driving around a bus but this car is great all the features I love without the extreme price tag and the interior trims are beautiful.

BadgeLTZ
Seats7
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedJan 2018
Drive4WD

car idiling to high

Just wondering does anyone else have an idling problem to high and then the thermostat fan cuts in what would cause that problem the car apart from runs really nice the fuel consumption is great we bought it second hand ,it is very comfortable goes great out on the open road

BadgeLS
Seats5
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedMay 2018

Fan running after switching off engine

Hi 2013 Diesel. After turning off the engine, it appears the fan continues to run for up to a minute. The series 2 drives very nicely, has plenty of power and stops nicely also.
It’s just the fan running on, but not all the time
It’s very noisy when it happens if parking in traffic. Any advice please. KP

BadgeSX
Seats7
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedApr 2013

Great car Captiva

Have owned the captiva for a year now, had not missed a beat. Comfy seats!!! Economical.
Fits all our gear for a week away, including our two dogs!! The boot is well equipped will places to hook strechy straps to hold your shopping in place for a not squashed trip home.
The sound system is ok too

BadgeCX
Seats5
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedDec 2017
DriveAWD

This car is perfect

The captivas are amazing.we just love it .It has everything you need plus more.Goes great no problems.has a lot of power. Steering is great .good fuel consumption. looks very classy inside and out.we cant talk our car up enough.Its a shame there now obsolete and it's a shame to hear all the negativity on the captivas.theres mixed reviews on every car you Google. Give the captivas a break there truly great cars with all the extras at a lower cost compared to other new SUVs

BadgeLTZ
Seats7
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedMay 2017

Crappy captiva

I purchased this car in 2013 and I'm still paying it off. Its been nothing but useless for my family. I have gotten in many life threatening accidents due to this crappy car and would never purchase anything under the name of holden again. The workers were extremely rude and definitely used me as i payed 50,000+ while i had it. My kids hated it sooo much they lied and said they had a ferrari. that tells you something!

BadgeLS
Seats5
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedMar 2012

Mechanical Nightmare

Brought the car 6 weeks ago.
Got half way to Sydney from Maitland got stranded on the side of the m1 with my 3 kids. DPF light came on quickly followed by the engine light, over heated and started smoking...
we were in perfect driving conditions for it to do a regen but for some reason it didn’t..
Turns out the turbo has been spitting oil into the air intake

BadgeLX
Seats7
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedSep 2018

Ok but dreadful resale

We purchased a Captiva 5 new in 2013 with the 2.4lt petrol and 6spd manual just as a means of transport for the wife to use daily to travel to work.
Overall it was ok and we never experienced any faults with the car in the 5yrs and 53,000klms of ownership however the 2.4l 4cyl engine is very underpowered and at hwy spds it struggled on big hills.
Fuel consumption avg was 8.5l/100 on a hwy run and always sat around 12.5-13l/100klm in city traffic which is terrible for a 4cyl.
Overall it was a very comfortable car to travel in but they are basic and the fit and finish is avg.

The worse was yet to come when we decided to sell it recently for an automatic car. The service history was up to date and the car was still like new inside and out as I am very particular when looking after them and we still struggled to sell it and only managed to recoup 25% of what we paid for it 5 years earlier. It appears their reputation had caught up with it and we practically had to give it away to offload it. Buyer beware!

BadgeLT
Seats5
TransmissionManual
Date PurchasedDec 2013

7 seater holden captivia petrol auto

so this car has been really got spite the fuel, but the other day i had a bad encounter. my son was crying in the back so iv gorn and parked the car put it in park left key on got out to attend to him in the back.. all of a sudden the car started to move..... iv pannicked ran to the front and grabbed the wheel turned it quickly before going into on comming traffic.. and hit a parked car. i took to the mechanics and no faults showed. why has this happened what can I do?

Badgeactive
Seats7
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedMay 2018

Great value for what you pay

Bought Captiva Active 7 seater on May First trip was from Melbourne to Sydney and Return. 7 People were there on the trip (3 kids). Though we had problem with the luggage space, but the ride was really good. Economy of average 11L/100KM for overall trip we got.
This car was really cheap in initial price compared to its competitors. Leather seat, Sun roof are included in the value. Android /Apple Auto is really a add on feature. The A/C vent in the last row make sure that the kids are kept in right temperature. Zone climate control is really a good feature. Good reversing camera add value to the car.

BadgeActive
Seats7
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedMay 2018

Love this car

Have bought a Captiva despite its reputation and after doing my homework. Love this car! It’s comfortable and great value. Leather seats, good sound system, easy to use 7 seven. Just a great functional family car and so far so good with Holden servicing. Courtesy car and free coffee and capped price.

BadgeLTZ
Seats7
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedMar 2018

Only 16,000km with issue after issue. Holden is reluctant to fix!

I have the Holden Captiva Active 7 seat SUV and its been nothing but trouble. We purchased it brand new in 2017 and so far we have had sunroof electronics fail, and the rubber deteriorate. The clock spring needed replacing as the complete front dash lights were flickering. The two front wheel bearings needed replacement as well.
All this with only 16,000km on the odo and being purchased and only serviced at Holden. I have also been told by Holden mechanics the Diesels are even worse and to steer clear.

BadgeActive
Seats7
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedAug 2017

Excellent Customer Service

My Captiva 2014 had timing belt snapped in 2018 despite just having 60 K on the clock. I took it to Holden and even though warranty was finished a year and so ago and I was the third owner, they installed a brand new engine on it that they had to manufacture in Korea and ship to Australia. For the time that the car was under repair, I had 2018 top of the range Captiva LTZ turbo diesel as courtesy car that I enjoyed driving more than my original car. Luckily, I did not have to pay a cent for the work done on my car. I don't claim that it was stress free process but excellent customer service at Sutton City Roseberry made it as bareable as possible for me. I really appreciate these guys care and professionalism.

BadgeLT
Seats5
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedDec 2017

Page 1 of 24

Questions & Answers

How do I turn in key alarm when keys are left in the car ?
No answers

Hi got a holden captiva 2008 td the traction controll lights come on and service light then goes into limp mode i turn off get out and then it starts and drives good for a bit then happens again...any ideas
No answers

MY REAR WINDOW ON MY CAPTIVA IS STUCK NOTHING MOVES COULD IT BE THE SWITCH
No answers

Similar listings